DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges the response filed 8/31/2026. Claim 12 was added. Claims 2, 4-6, and 9-11 remain withdrawn. Claims 1, 3, 7-8, and 12 are prosecuted below.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 8/31/2026. These drawings are approved and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bien et al. (US 4370794).
Re Clm 1: Bien et al. disclose a fastening structure (20), applicable to a first object (62 or 74), the fastening structure comprising: an anti-rotation segment (planar sides) for preventing the fastening structure from rotating relative to the first object (complementary rectangular shapes prevent relative rotation); and a joining segment (bottom section of 20) adapted to be fitted to the first object (see figs), the joining segment being a riveting portion (see figs), wherein the joining segment has a pressing segment (36), a material holding space (between 36 and 22) and a limiting segment (22), the pressing segment pressing the first object, allowing a material of the first object to flow into or enter the material holding space, with the limiting segment confining the fastening structure to the first object, and the anti-rotation segment limiting a limiting direction of the fastening structure (see figs).
Re Clm 3: Bien et al. disclose wherein the fastening structure has another fastener body (68) having an another fastener body anti-rotation segment (70 with 72), allowing the another fastener body anti-rotation segment and the fastening structure to constrain each other or prevent each other from rotating (see anti-rotation fitment of 68 with 20), or wherein the fastening structure has another fastener body having another anti-rotation segment, allowing the another anti-rotation segment and another object to constrain each other or prevent each other from rotating, or the fastening structure having a handle segment (any segment capable of handling), or the fastening structure having a wheel component, an assisting component, an another fastener body, or an another fastening structure with a rotational body, or further comprising a body segment, with the joining segment being disposed at the body segment, the anti-rotation segment being positioned at the joining segment or the body segment,
Examiner notes that the structural elements 20, 68, and 74 of Bien et al. reads on at least one of the many broad alternative claim limitations outlined above.
Re Clm 7: Bien et al. discloses wherein the fastening structure further comprising a fastener segment (any segment of 20 that is inside object 74, see figs 5-7), with the anti-rotation segment positioned at the fastener segment and adapted to limit a rotation prevention direction (via complementary rectangular shapes) or an engagement direction of a corresponding anti-rotation segment of a snap-engagement object (as shown in figs 5-7).
Re Clm 8: Bien et al. discloses wherein the anti-rotation segment is a flat surface portion, step portion, knurled portion, inclined surface portion, dented portion, raised portion, arcuate surface, or curved surface.
Examiner notes that the structural element 20 of Bien et al. reads on at least one of a flat surface, a step surface, an inclined surface portion, dented portion, raised portion, arcuate surface, and curved surface of the alternative claim limitations outlined above.
Re Clm 12: Bien et al. discloses A fastening structure (20), applicable to a first object (74), the fastening structure comprising: a body segment (any segment of 20); a joining segment (bottom section of 20) disposed at the body segment and adapted to be fitted to the first object (see figs 5-7), the joining segment being a fastening segment, a riveting portion, an expanded connection portion, a soldering portion, a welding portion, a locking portion, or a resilient fastener segment (the bottom portion of 20 reads on multiple of the alternative limitations above, see figs 5-7); and an anti-rotation segment (planar surfaces of 20) for preventing the fastening structure from rotating relative to the first object, wherein the anti-rotation segment is a flat surface portion on the joining segment and the body segment (see figs).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 7-8, and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN P MASINICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678