DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is final office action in response to the communication filed on 10/21/2025.
Claims 1, 4, 6-16, and 18-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claims 2-3, 5, and 17 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 4, 6-16, and 18-20 are either amended directly or vi a claim they depend from.
Claims 1, 4, 6-16, and 18-20 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim objections for minor informalities: The previous objections are moot in view of the amendments. Accordingly, the objections are withdrawn.
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 § USC 101: The previous rejections are moot in view of the amendments due to the amended claims providing specific weight determinations applied to ride height adjustment devices. Accordingly, the rejections are withdrawn.
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 § USC 102 and 35 § USC 103: Applicant’s arguments and corresponding amendments, see pages 6-8, filed on 10/21/2025, have been fully considered and are moot in view of the amendments. Newly cited prior art has been applied in an obviousness type rejection to address the amendments to independent claims 1 and 16 in the Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 14, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mossau, (EP4026722A1, hereinafter Mossau) in view of Greenwood. (GB 2387582 A, hereinafter Greenwood)
Claim 1 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“A method for determining range for a vehicle connected to a trailer,”
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0001]) “The present invention relates to a method for determining an expected range of a vehicle and a range determination device for a vehicle in trailer operation. In particular, it is a method for calculating the range when towing a trailer.”
“comprising: determining connection of a trailer to the vehicle;”
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0030], Lines 1-2) “Preferably, a determination of the at least one expansion variable is triggered when the vehicle detects the coupling of a trailer.”
“… determining a size of at least part of the trailer by interpretation of data from a camera or a reflective sensor;”
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0041], Lines 1-5) “The use of a radar scanner and/or laser scanner offers the advantage that a very precise determination of the spatial structure, in particular of the trailer, and thus a very precise determination of a geometric extent is possible. In particular, both the width and height of the trailer can be determined primarily using radar or camera.”
“and determining a reduction in vehicle range as a function of the determined weight and determined size
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0003]) “A trailer significantly influences the fuel consumption of a vehicle. Increased weight and greater air resistance increase fuel consumption and thus reduce the vehicle's range.”
Mossau additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0060]) “Preferably, a consumption is estimated (preferably by the range determination device) on the basis of the (determined and/or recorded and/or entered) trailer data, preferably dimensions and/or weight and/or number of axles, which consumption is then included in the calculation.”
“determining at least one trailer parameter relating to a size, shape or a weight of the trailer using a ride height adjustment device by which a ride height of the vehicle is adjusted, wherein the weight of the trailer is determined as a function of a force from the ride height adjustment device that is needed to increase the ride height of the vehicle with the trailer connected to the vehicle;”
Mossau does not teach an explicitly teach the preceding limitations.
However, Mossau does teach determining at least one tailer parameter, such as size or weight.
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0060]) “Preferably, a consumption is estimated (preferably by the range determination device) on the basis of the (determined and/or recorded and/or entered) trailer data, preferably dimensions and/or weight and/or number of axles, which consumption is then included in the calculation.”
Greenwood does teach the preceding limitations.
Greenwood teaches, (Abstract, Line 1) “A vehicle air suspension system comprises a control unit 24,” wherein, (Page 1, Line 13-20) “The present invention comprises apparatus for measuring a load exerted by a trailer on a towing vehicle fitted with air springs, the Apparatus including; 15 means for monitoring air pressure in at least one of said air springs, means for varying a ride height of the towing vehicle, means for monitoring the ride height of the towing vehicle, and means for detecting a step change in the relationship between monitored air pressure and monitored ride height as the ride height is 20 varied, thereby to measure said load,” and that the invention, (Page 4, Lines 7-15) “enables the user to lower the ride height to its lowest level, move the trailer 46 so that the socket 48 is positioned - above the tow ball 42 with the front of the trailer supported on the jockey 10 wheel 50, and then raise the vehicle body and tow ball 42 so that the tow ball comes into contact with the socket and then lifts the front end of the trailer 46, lifting the jockey wheel 50 off the ground 26. During this operation the control unit 24 is arranged to measure the change in the vertical load, or nose weight, exerted by the front end of the trailer 46 on 15 the tow ball 42.”
Greenwood additionally teaches, (Page 5, Lines 19-28) “The control unit 24 is arranged, in response to a command from the remote 20 control unit 34 to raise the vehicle, to control the flow if air into the air springs 16, 18 to increase the ride height and, as the air is being pumped into the air springs, to monitor the changes in air pressure P and ride height D. The control unit 24 then analyses the signals from the sensors 28, 30 to detect the occurrence of a step change in pressure, and, if such a step 25 change is detected, to measure its height. From this measurement the nose weight of the trailer can be determined. The control unit 24 then transmits a signal to the remote control unit 34 indicating the measured nose weight, which is displayed to the user on the display 40.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle-trailer range determination system which is capable of measuring trailer weight of Mossau, with the ride height adjustment device through which the weight of a trailer is determined as taught by Greenwood, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of implementing a well-known trailer weight measurement methodology as evidenced by at least the 2003 publication year of Greenwood, into the range-determination methodology of Mossau. As Greenwood describes, (Page 1, Lines 6-11) “The stability of a trailer when being towed by a towing vehicle is affected by a number of factors, one of which is the vertical load exerted on the tow ball or other towing attachment by the front end of the trailer. This load is referred to as the trailer nose weight. It is therefore desirable that the driver 10 of a towing vehicle can determine the nose weight of a trailer that the vehicle is towing.”
Claim 4 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 1,wherein the step of determining the size includes determining[[the]]a size of [[the]]a front end of the trailer.”
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0022], Lines 2-3) “it is also conceivable that the geometric extension only applies to a part or an area of the trailer, such as a front or rear area or only one side of the trailer.”
Claim 6 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 4, wherein the size of the front end of the trailer includes a height and a width of the front end of the trailer.”
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0022], Lines 2-3) “it is also conceivable that the geometric extension only applies to a part or an area of the trailer, such as a front or rear area or only one side of the trailer.”
Mossau additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0041], Lines 1-5) “The use of a radar scanner and/or laser scanner offers the advantage that a very precise determination of the spatial structure, in particular of the trailer, and thus a very precise determination of a geometric extent is possible. In particular, both the width and height of the trailer can be determined primarily using radar or cameras.”
Claim 7 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 1,wherein the step of determining the size includes determining a length between a front end and a rear end of the trailer.”
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0025]) “With regard to a preferred determination of at least one expansion variable, particular reference is made to the published patent application DE 10 2015 210 816 A1, the content of which is hereby incorporated into this application. It describes the determination of the length of a trailer that can be coupled to a vehicle to form a combination. In the method, a side view of the trailer is captured using a vehicle detection device and the length of the trailer is determined depending on the captured side view.” A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a length determined from the side view of a trailer would be the length between the trailer’s front and rear ends.
Claim 14 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 1, which also includes determining a path of travel and determining an adjustment to the vehicle range as a function of the path of travel.”
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0017]) “Preferably, the range determination device is suitable and intended to calculate and/or determine a route and/or a route section and/or at least one (next) charging stop and/or refueling stop, in particular on the basis of the at least one expansion variable and preferably on the basis of a plurality of expansion variables.”
Claim 16 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“A system for determining range of a vehicle when the vehicle is connected to a trailer,”
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0015]) “A range determination device, in particular of the vehicle, determines a range value which is characteristic of the expected range of the combination consisting of the vehicle and the trailer, on the basis of the at least one extension variable.”
“… a trailer size sensor adapted to detect at least one parameter related to the size of the trailer and providing a trailer size sensor output; … and also responsive to the trailer size sensor output to estimate a range of the combination of the vehicle and trailer.”
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0041], lines 1-5) “The use of a radar scanner and/or laser scanner offers the advantage that a very precise determination of the spatial structure, in particular of the trailer, and thus a very precise determination of a geometric extent is possible. In particular, both the width and height of the trailer can be determined primarily using radar or a camera.
Mossau additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0060]) “Preferably, a consumption is estimated (preferably by the range determination device) on the basis of the (determined and/or recorded and/or entered) trailer data, preferably dimensions and/or weight and/or number of axles, which consumption is then included in the calculation.”
“comprising; a load sensor adapted to detect a load of a trailer connected to a vehicle and providing a load sensor output, wherein the load sensor is part of a suspension system of the vehicle and includes a ride height adjustment device by which a ride height of the vehicle can be adjusted; … a controller communicated with the load sensor and the trailer size sensor, and responsive to a force from the ride height adjustment device needed to increase a ride height of the vehicle with the trailer connected to the vehicle”
Greenwood teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-3) “A vehicle air suspension system comprises a control unit 24 which controls the flow of air to and from the air springs 16, 18 via a valve block 22. Pressure sensors 28 and ride height sensors 30 enable the control unit 24 to measure the air pressure in the air springs 16, 18 and the ride height at each of the wheels,” wherein, (Page 1, Line 13-20) “The present invention comprises apparatus for measuring a load exerted by a trailer on a towing vehicle fitted with air springs, the Apparatus including; 15 means for monitoring air pressure in at least one of said air springs, means for varying a ride height of the towing vehicle, means for monitoring the ride height of the towing vehicle, and means for detecting a step change in the relationship between monitored air pressure and monitored ride height as the ride height is 20 varied, thereby to measure said load,” and that the invention, (Page 4, Lines 7-15) “enables the user to lower the ride height to its lowest level, move the trailer 46 so that the socket 48 is positioned - above the tow ball 42 with the front of the trailer supported on the jockey 10 wheel 50, and then raise the vehicle body and tow ball 42 so that the tow ball comes into contact with the socket and then lifts the front end of the trailer 46, lifting the jockey wheel 50 off the ground 26. During this operation the control unit 24 is arranged to measure the change in the vertical load, or nose weight, exerted by the front end of the trailer 46 on 15 the tow ball 42.”
Greenwood additionally teaches, (Page 5, Lines 19-28) “The control unit 24 is arranged, in response to a command from the remote 20 control unit 34 to raise the vehicle, to control the flow if air into the air springs 16, 18 to increase the ride height and, as the air is being pumped into the air springs, to monitor the changes in air pressure P and ride height D. The control unit 24 then analyses the signals from the sensors 28, 30 to detect the occurrence of a step change in pressure, and, if such a step 25 change is detected, to measure its height. From this measurement the nose weight of the trailer can be determined. The control unit 24 then transmits a signal to the remote control unit 34 indicating the measured nose weight, which is displayed to the user on the display 40.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle-trailer range determination system which is capable of measuring trailer weight of Mossau, with the ride height adjustment device through which the weight of a trailer is determined as taught by Greenwood as a combined controller, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of implementing a well-known trailer weight measurement methodology as evidenced by at least the 2003 publication year of Greenwood, into the range-determination methodology of Mossau. As Greenwood describes, (Page 1, Lines 6-11) “The stability of a trailer when being towed by a towing vehicle is affected by a number of factors, one of which is the vertical load exerted on the tow ball or other towing attachment by the front end of the trailer. This load is referred to as the trailer nose weight. It is therefore desirable that the driver 10 of a towing vehicle can determine the nose weight of a trailer that the vehicle is towing.”
Claim 19 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The system of claim 16, wherein the trailer size sensor includes at least one camera or at least one reflective sensor, and wherein the controller is connected with the at least one camera or the at least one reflective sensor and the controller determines a size of a front end of the trailer.”
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0022], Lines 2-3) “it is also conceivable that the geometric extension only applies to a part or an area of the trailer, such as a front or rear area or only one side of the trailer.”
Mossau additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0041], Lines 1-5) “The use of a radar scanner and/or laser scanner offers the advantage that a very precise determination of the spatial structure, in particular of the trailer, and thus a very precise determination of a geometric extent is possible. In particular, both the width and height of the trailer can be determined primarily using radar or camera.”
Claim 20 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The system of claim 19, wherein the controller determines a length of the trailer based at least in part upon data from the at least one camera or the at least one reflective sensor.”
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0025]) “With regard to a preferred determination of at least one expansion variable, particular reference is made to the published patent application DE 10 2015 210 816 A1, the content of which is hereby incorporated into this application. It describes the determination of the length of a trailer that can be coupled to a vehicle to form a combination. In the method, a side view of the trailer is captured using a vehicle detection device and the length of the trailer is determined depending on the captured side view.” A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a length determined from the side view of a trailer would be the length between the trailer’s front and rear ends.
Mossau additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0040], Lines 1-5) “In a further preferred method, the detection device of the vehicle comprises an image detection device (in particular as mentioned above) (in particular a camera and in particular a CCD color camera) and/or a radar scanner and/or a laser scanner, wherein the radar scanner and/or laser scanner detects a spatial structure of a rear environmental area of the vehicle, in particular a spatial structure of the trailer.”
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mossau in view of Greenwood, further in view of Pearson et al. (US 2020/0055521 A1, hereinafter Pearson)
Claim 12 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 1, which also includes determining at least one environmental parameter and determining an adjustment to the vehicle range as a function of the at least one environmental parameter.”
Mossau and Greenwood do not explicitly teach making an adjustment to the vehicle range based upon an environmental parameter.
However, Mossau does teach the following.
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0037], lines 1-3) “a detection device of the vehicle detects a rear environment of the vehicle including the trailer and the at least one extension variable is determined on the basis of the image detected by the detection device.”
Pearson does explicitly teach making an adjustment to the vehicle range based upon an environmental parameter.
Pearson teaches, (Paragraph [0040]) “FIG. 3 is a block diagram of the example compensation calculator 206 of FIG. 2. The compensation calculator 206 of the illustrated example includes an example driving surface compensator 302, an example load sharing compensator 304, an example vehicle state compensator 306, an example environmental compensator 308, and an example vehicle lifecycle compensator 310. Each of the driving surface compensator 302, the load sharing compensator 304, the vehicle state compensator 306, the environmental compensator 308, and the vehicle lifecycle compensator 310 is composed of multiple compensators that use sensor data (e.g., from the vehicle CAN bus 116 of FIGS. 1 and/or 2) to calculate a compensation factor to be applied to the relationship between ride height and weight.”
Pearson additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0039], Lines 1-9) “The instruction generator 212 can further determine adjustments to system calculations, such as an electric vehicle range estimation (e.g., a number of miles the vehicle 102 can be driven before charging is needed). The electric vehicle range estimation is dependent on vehicle weight (e.g., a lighter vehicle can travel farther), and the weight information output by the compensation calculator 206 can be used to provide adjustments to improve the accuracy of the electric vehicle range estimation.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle-trailer range determination system which is capable of determining characteristics of the environment as taught by Mossau, with the explicit teachings of making an adjustment to vehicle’s range calculation based upon environmental parameters as taught by Pearson, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of a more accurate weight calculation by having the ability to compensate for environmental conditions in real time. As Pearson describes, (Paragraph [0084]) “it will be appreciated that example methods, apparatus and articles of manufacture have been disclosed that calculate weight information for a vehicle based on ride height information. The examples disclosed herein further compensate for changes to the vehicle (e.g., changes in suspension components), and/or external factors (e.g., temperature, driving surface conditions, etc.) using build parameters of the vehicle (e.g., characteristics of the vehicle dependent on a make and/or model of the vehicle) and/or sensor data from sensors already utilized by the vehicle. The compensation factors account for changes based on driving situations (e.g., driving surface conditions) and/or changes that occur over time (e.g., aging and/or degradation of a suspension). These adjustments provide accurate weight information to a driver because the variations in the original weight information calculations are offset by the compensation factors, eliminating the adverse effects these variations would have on the weight information calculations.”
Claim 13 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 12, wherein the at least one environmental parameter includes one or both of an ambient temperature and a road friction estimation.”
Mossau and Greenwood do not explicitly teach making an adjustment to the vehicle range based upon an environmental parameter such as ambient temperature or a road friction estimation.
However, Mossau does teach the following.
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0037], lines 1-3) “a detection device of the vehicle detects a rear environment of the vehicle including the trailer and the at least one extension variable is determined on the basis of the image detected by the detection device.”
Pearson does explicitly teach making an adjustment to the vehicle range based upon an ambient temperature and a road friction estimation.
Pearson teaches (Paragraph [0050]) “The environmental compensator 308 of the illustrated example includes an example temperature compensator 332 and an example humidity compensator 334. In some examples, the environmental compensator 308 compensates for conditions outside of the vehicle, such as weather conditions. For example, the temperature compensator 332 uses a known influence of temperature on suspension to provide a compensation value to be applied to the relationship developed by the weight calculator 204. In some examples, ambient temperature changes a compliance of suspension components (e.g., a stiffness of the suspension). In such examples, the temperature compensator 332 calculates a compensation factor based on temperature to account for the changes in suspension component compliance. For example, Equation 8 below can be used by the temperature compensator 332 to adjust the relationship of ride height and weight based on temperature:”
Pearson additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0070], Lines 9-20) “the example driving surface compensator 302 of FIG. 3 calculates compensation factors based on conditions of a driving surface (e.g., a road) that a vehicle (e.g., the vehicle 102 of FIG. 1) is on (e.g., parked on). In some examples, the driving surface compensator 302 compensates for a grade of the driving surface (e.g., with the contact grade compensator 312 of FIG. 3), an uneven driving surface from one side of the vehicle 102 to the other side of the vehicle 102 (e.g., with the contact roll compensator 314 of FIG. 3), and/or bumps (e.g., a curb) or pitfalls (e.g., a pothole) in the driving surface (e.g., with the local bump compensator 316 of FIG. 3).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle-trailer range determination system which is capable of determining characteristics of the environment as taught by Mossau, with the explicit teachings of making an adjustment to vehicle’s range calculation based upon environmental parameters such as ambient temperature or a road friction estimation as taught by Pearson, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of a more accurate weight calculation by having the ability to compensate for environmental conditions such as an ambient temperature or a road friction estimation in real time. As Pearson describes, (Paragraph [0084]) “it will be appreciated that example methods, apparatus and articles of manufacture have been disclosed that calculate weight information for a vehicle based on ride height information. The examples disclosed herein further compensate for changes to the vehicle (e.g., changes in suspension components), and/or external factors (e.g., temperature, driving surface conditions, etc.) using build parameters of the vehicle (e.g., characteristics of the vehicle dependent on a make and/or model of the vehicle) and/or sensor data from sensors already utilized by the vehicle. The compensation factors account for changes based on driving situations (e.g., driving surface conditions) and/or changes that occur over time (e.g., aging and/or degradation of a suspension). These adjustments provide accurate weight information to a driver because the variations in the original weight information calculations are offset by the compensation factors, eliminating the adverse effects these variations would have on the weight information calculations.”
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mossau in view Greenwood, further in view of Mossau et al. (DE102015210816A1, hereinafter referred to as Mossau, Huger, and Burger for clarification over the shared inventor with the primary reference).
Claim 8 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 7, wherein the vehicle includes a trailer reverse steering control system that controls at least part of a vehicle steering assembly when the vehicle is operated in reverse, and wherein the length is determined by the trailer reverse steering assist system.”
Mossau and Greenwood do not explicitly teach the preceding limitations. However, Mossau does teach the following.
Mossau additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0024], Lines 1-6) “Preferably, the detection device can be part of a trailer maneuvering assistant (abbreviated to "ARA"). For example, the determination device can determine at least one extension variable for a trailer coupled to the vehicle and/or to be coupled thereto and use this at least one extension variable to determine a steering command, such as a driving angle and/or a steering wheel angle.”
Mossau additionally incorporates by reference the following.
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0025]) “With regard to a preferred determination of at least one expansion variable, particular reference is made to the published patent application DE 10 2015 210 816 A1, [Mossau, Huger, and Burger] the content of which is hereby incorporated into this application. It describes the determination of the length of a trailer that can be coupled to a vehicle to form a combination. In the method, a side view of the trailer is captured using a vehicle detection device and the length of the trailer is determined depending on the captured side view.”
Mossau, Huger, and Burger do teach the preceding limitations.
Mossau, Huger, and Burger teach, (Paragraph [0001]) “The present invention relates to a method for determining a length of a trailer which can be coupled to a vehicle to form a combination. The present invention relates in particular to a trailer maneuvering assistant for a vehicle, which is capable of determining the length of a trailer and assisting maneuvering of the trailer taking the length of the trailer into account, for example when parking the combination consisting of a trailer and a vehicle coupled thereto.”
Mossau, Huger, and Burger additionally teach, (Paragraph [0002]) “To vehicles such as: For example, a passenger car or a truck, a trailer can be coupled via a so-called trailer coupling, so that the combination of vehicle and trailer forms a combination. However, driving such a combination places increased demands on the driver of the vehicle, especially when maneuvering and reversing the combination. Therefore, various driver assistance systems are known that can support a driver when driving a trailer.”
Mossau, Huger, and Burger additionally teach, (Paragraph [0016], Lines 4-10) “Depending on the specific length of the trailer, automatic longitudinal and/or transverse control of the vehicle is carried out to automatically park the trailer in a parking space. For example, the length of a parking space can be determined using the vehicle's sensors as it drives past, and based on the determined length of the trailer and information about the length of the vehicle, it can be determined whether the trailer will fit into the parking space and a corresponding trajectory can be calculated to park the trailer into the parking space. Parking can, for example, be carried out automatically by a parking steering assistant.”
Mossau, Huger, and Burger additionally teach, (Paragraph [0015], Lines 4-7) “The camera may, for example, be provided on the vehicle to capture an area behind the vehicle and display it on a screen inside the vehicle in order to provide a driver with information about the area behind the vehicle, such as the parking space, when parking. B. to show a distance to obstacles behind the vehicle.” A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand a vehicle driver assistance system capable of calculating trajectory towards a parking space behind the vehicle is an example of a reversing operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle-trailer range determination system of Mossau, with the vehicle-trailer with parking steering assistant which can be implemented in a reversing operation as taught by Mossau, Huger, and Burger, in order to yield predictable results.
Evidence of the rationale to combine can be explicitly seen by the common author of the references Mossau incorporating by reference the disclosure of Mossau, Huger, and Burger.
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0025], Lines 1-3) “With regard to a preferred determination of at least one expansion variable, particular reference is made to the published patent application DE 10 2015 210 816 A1, [Mossau, Huger, and Burger] the content of which is hereby incorporated into this application.
Claim 9 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 8, wherein the trailer reverse steering assist system includes one or more cameras or one or more reflective sensors that are used to detect the presence of the trailer and the length of the trailer.”
Mossau and Greenwood do not teach a reverse steering assist system, but Mossau does teach determining presence and length of a trailer by one or more cameras or one or more reflective sensors.
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0070]) “It is therefore also proposed within the scope of the invention that a range calculation is carried out by determining the dimensions of the trailer, primarily using radar or a camera, such as the width or height.”
Mossau additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0024, Lines 1-2]) “Preferably, the detection device can be part of a trailer maneuvering assistant (abbreviated to "ARA").”
Mossau, Huger, and Burger teach the trailer reverse steering assist system as described within the mapping of claim 8 and additionally teach determining presence and length of a trailer by one or more cameras or one or more reflective sensors.
Mossau, Huger, and Burger teach, (Paragraph [0027], Lines 10-11) “The detection device 13 may, for example, comprise a rear view camera, a laser scanner or a radar scanner.”
The rationale for combining the references is identical to the incorporation by reference described with reference to claim 8.
Claim 10 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 8, wherein the trailer reverse steering assist system also determines a width of the front end of the trailer.”
Mossau and Greenwood do not explicitly teach a reverse steering assist system, but Mossau does teach determining a width of the front end of the trailer.
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0022], Lines 2-3) “it is also conceivable that the geometric extension only applies to a part or an area of the trailer, such as a front or rear area or only one side of the trailer.”
Mossau additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0043], Lines 1-5) “The use of a radar scanner and/or laser scanner offers the advantage that a very precise determination of the spatial structure, in particular of the trailer, and thus a very precise determination of a geometric extent is possible. In particular, both the width and height of the trailer can be determined primarily using radar or cameras.”
Mossau additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0024, Lines 1-2]) “Preferably, the detection device can be part of a trailer maneuvering assistant (abbreviated to "ARA").”
Mossau, Burger, and Huber teach the trailer reverse steering assist system as described within the mapping of claim 8.
The rationale for combining the references is identical to the incorporation by reference described with reference to claim 8.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mossau in view of Greenwood, further in view of Hoetzer et al. (US 9,211,889 B1, hereinafter Hoetzer).
Claim 11 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 7, wherein the vehicle includes a blind spot monitoring system including one or more cameras that determine the location of opposite sides of the trailer between a front end of the trailer and a rear end of the trailer,”
Mossau and Greenwood do not teach the preceding limitation. However, Mossau does teach the following.
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0041], Lines 5-7) “By using a combination of camera with at least one other sensor device or several other sensor devices (radar scanner and/or laser scanner), the precision of determining the geometric extent can be further increased.”
Mossau additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0025]) “With regard to a preferred determination of at least one expansion variable, particular reference is made to the published patent application DE 10 2015 210 816 A1, the content of which is hereby incorporated into this application. It describes the determination of the length of a trailer that can be coupled to a vehicle to form a combination. In the method, a side view of the trailer is captured using a vehicle detection device and the length of the trailer is determined depending on the captured side view.” A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a length determined from the side view of a trailer would be the length between the trailer’s front and rear ends.
Hoetzer does teach the preceding limitations.
Hoetzer teaches, (Abstract) “A driver assistance method and system senses the presence of a trailer secured to a host vehicle and provides an indication thereof … the system determines the length of the trailer. To determine trailer length, reflection points from an output of a rear sensor unit are sensed to detect a side wall of the trailer … From the trailer length, the system provides combined blind spot detection zones adjacent the host vehicle, and adjacent to the side of and extending beyond the rear of the trailer.”
Hoetzer additionally teaches, (Page 13, Column 3, Lines 56-60) “FIG. 1 illustrates a driver's assistance system 20 for a host vehicle such as a four-wheeled car or truck. The system 20 includes a vehicle object left rear sensor unit 22 having an electronic control unit (ECU) 24 and a vehicle object right rear sensor unit 28.”
Hoetzer additionally teaches, (Pag 13, Column 4, Lines 6-11) “FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an individual rear sensor unit 22, 28 … The rear sensor unit 22 includes the electronic control unit 24 and a sensor 25,” and that, (Page 13, Column 4, Lines 31-37) “In other constructions, the sensor 25 may include other sensor technologies including, for example, a light detecting and ranging (LIDAR) sensor, an ultrasonic sensor or a video camera. In some embodiments, multiple sensors of different types are provided in the sensor units 22, 28 or in separate additional sensor units disposed at different locations of the host vehicle.”
“and wherein the cameras are used to provide an alert to a driver of the vehicle when an object is detected at one of the opposite sides of the trailer,”
Hoetzer teaches, (Page 12, Column 1, Lines 12-43) “the invention provides a vehicle blind spot detection system for host vehicles with attached trailers comprising: at least two vehicle object rear sensor units located at a rear of a host vehicle, the sensor units disposed at opposing edges of the rear for detecting data regarding presence and location of objects relative to the host vehicle … the host vehicle having a host vehicle blind spot detection zone to provide, in combination with the enhanced blind spot detection zone, a combined blind spot detection zone for the host vehicle and the trailer; and execute a blind spot detection to determine the presence of an object in the combined blind spot detection zone.”
Hoetzer additionally teaches, (Page 12, Column 2, Lies 9-14) “the enhanced blind spot detection zone extends at least two meters beyond a rear of the trailer attached to the host vehicle and the human-machine interface includes a warning unit for providing a vehicle operator with at least one warning selected from a group of: optical, acoustical and haptic warnings.”
“and wherein the length is determined by the blind spot monitoring system.”
Hoetzer teaches, (Page 14, Column 6, Lines 22-25) “FIG. 8 is a flowchart 80 illustrating one method in which the sensor unit 22 of the vehicle blind spot detection system 20 of FIG. 1 determines a longitudinal distance of a trailer 44 attached to the host vehicle 40.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle-trailer range system capable of measuring the length of a trailer as taught by Mossau, with the trailer blind spot monitoring system of Hoetzer, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of avoiding dangerous collisions, such as in a lane changing situation wherein a vehicle is located within a trailer blind spot. As Hoetzer describes, (Page 12, Column 1, Lines 44-48) “a human/machine display interface notifies a vehicle operator whether changing a lane is available in response to the determination of the presence of an object in the combined blind spot detection zone of the host vehicle and the trailer.”
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mossau in view of Greenwood, further in view of Geuß et al. (US 10,336,213 B2, hereinafter Geuß).
Claim 15 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The method of claim 14, which includes determining … and a number of stops along the path of travel.”
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0017]) “Preferably, the range determination device is suitable and intended to calculate and/or determine a route and/or a route section and/or at least one (next) charging stop and/or refueling stop, in particular on the basis of the at least one expansion variable and preferably on the basis of a plurality of expansion variables.”
“determining information about speed limits of roads in the path of travel”
Mossau does not teach the preceding limitation. However, Mossau does reference Geuß.
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0010]) “US 10,336,213 B2 [Geuß] describes a method for operating an electrically powered vehicle with an electrical energy storage device. This calculates a target charge level and a strategy for operating the vehicle based on a given route. Before the journey, the total mass of the vehicle, optionally with a trailer attached to it, and/or the vehicle's air resistance coefficient can be taken into account.”
Geuß does teach the preceding limitation.
Geuß teaches, (Page 10, Column 4, Lines 57-59) “data can be used for determining the given total mass of the vehicle, including a trailer optionally connected to the motor vehicle.”
Geuß additionally teaches, (Page 12, Column 8, Lines 55-67 & Pag 13, Column 9, Lines 1-8) “It is well known that the speed of an electrified motor vehicle at which the vehicle travels or can travel a on certain section of the route can be an important criterion for the electric energy requirements of an electrified motor vehicle. The speed at which the vehicle enters a downhill descent section (for example a downhill slope) can also have an influence of the requirements for deceleration in a downhill slope section and thus also on the amount of electric energy that can be obtained with recuperative deceleration (which can be sometime also “destroyed”). It is also well known that the permissible highest speed and/or the average speed to be expected with an electrified motor vehicle depend on the category of the road section on which the electrified motor vehicle is traveling (for example a highway, a country road, a city street, a street in a residential area, etc.).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle-trailer range determination system which is capable of calculating a number of stops on a route as taught by Mossau, with the vehicle-trailer range determination system which is capable of incorporating maximum speed limits of route segments of Geuß, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would be to yield the data accuracy benefit of utilizing a well-known factor in determining energy requirements, and therefore the potential range of a vehicle. As Geuß describes, (Page 12, Column 8, Lines 55-67 & Pag 13, Column 9, Lines 1-8) “It is well known that the speed of an electrified motor vehicle at which the vehicle travels or can travel a on certain section of the route can be an important criterion for the electric energy requirements of an electrified motor vehicle … It is also well known that the permissible highest speed and/or the average speed to be expected with an electrified motor vehicle depend on the category of the road section on which the electrified motor vehicle is traveling (for example a highway, a country road, a city street, a street in a residential area, etc.).”
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mossau in view of Greenwood, further in view of Weston et al. (US 2023/0339455 A1, hereinafter Weston).
Claim 18 Discloses: (Currently Amended)
“The system of claim [[17]]16, which also includes a ride height sensor … and wherein, to estimate the load of the trailer on the vehicle, the controller is responsive to
Mossau does not explicitly teach the preceding limitation. Greenwood does teach the preceding limitation.
Greenwood teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-3) “A vehicle air suspension system comprises a control unit 24 which controls the flow of air to and from the air springs 16, 18 via a valve block 22. Pressure sensors 28 and ride height sensors 30 enable the control unit 24 to measure the air pressure in the air springs 16, 18 and the ride height at each of the wheels,” wherein, (Page 1, Line 13-20) “The present invention comprises apparatus for measuring a load exerted by a trailer on a towing vehicle fitted with air springs, the Apparatus including; 15 means for monitoring air pressure in at least one of said air springs, means for varying a ride height of the towing vehicle, means for monitoring the ride height of the towing vehicle, and means for detecting a step change in the relationship between monitored air pressure and monitored ride height as the ride height is 20 varied, thereby to measure said load,” as well as, (Page 4, Lines 20-21) “the volume of the air in the springs will change as the vertical displacement D of the body, i.e. the ride height, changes.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle-trailer range determination system which is capable of measuring trailer weight of Mossau, with the ride height adjustment device through which the weight of a trailer is determined via ride height displacement and load determination as taught by Greenwood, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of implementing a well-known trailer weight measurement methodology as evidenced by at least the 2003 publication year of Greenwood, into the range-determination methodology of Mossau. As Greenwood describes, (Page 1, Lines 6-11) “The stability of a trailer when being towed by a towing vehicle is affected by a number of factors, one of which is the vertical load exerted on the tow ball or other towing attachment by the front end of the trailer. This load is referred to as the trailer nose weight. It is therefore desirable that the driver 10 of a towing vehicle can determine the nose weight of a trailer that the vehicle is towing.”
“ and wherein the ride height sensor detects a decrease in ride height when the trailer is connected to the vehicle”
Mossau does not teach the preceding limitation. However, Mossau does teach the following.
Mossau teaches, (Paragraph [0016], Line 1) “the dimensions of the trailer, such as width and/or height, are determined.”
Greenwood does not teach the preceding limitations. However, Greenwood does teach the following.
Greenwood teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-3) “A vehicle air suspension system comprises a control unit 24 which controls the flow of air to and from the air springs 16, 18 via a valve block 22. Pressure sensors 28 and ride height sensors 30 enable the control unit 24 to measure the air pressure in the air springs 16, 18 and the ride height at each of the wheels,” wherein, (Page 1, Line 13-20) “The present invention comprises apparatus for measuring a load exerted by a trailer on a towing vehicle fitted with air springs, the Apparatus including; 15 means for monitoring air pressure in at least one of said air springs, means for varying a ride height of the towing vehicle, means for monitoring the ride height of the towing vehicle, and means for detecting a step change in the relationship between monitored air pressure and monitored ride height as the ride height is 20 varied, thereby to measure said load.”
Weston does teach the preceding limitations.
Weston teaches, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 1-4) “In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the stability control circuitry 208 controls the load distribution on the vehicle 100 based on the vehicle stability condition detected by the stability monitoring circuitry 206.”
Weston additionally teaches, “In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the sensor interface circuitry 202 obtains and/or otherwise receives sensor data from the vehicle sensors 108 and/or the trailer sensors 110 of FIG. 1. For example, the sensor interface circuitry 202 obtains at least one of a tongue load of the trailer 102 on a tongue of the vehicle 100 from the load sensor(s) 108A, image data from the backup camera 108B, a front ride height and/or a rear ride height from the ride height sensor(s) 108C.”
Weston additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 27-32) “when the vehicle stability condition indicates oversteer of the vehicle 100, the target load distribution is a rearward-shifted load distribution (e.g., having reduced tire contact forces on the front wheels 106A, 106B and increased tire contact forces on the rear wheels 106C, 106D).” A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand a rearward shifted distribution would lower the relative height of the rear of the trailer.
“and the control system actuates the ride height adjustment device to increase the ride height,”
Weston teaches, (Paragraph [0018], Lines 11-17) “the suspension system 116 can direct flow of air into the first and second air springs 118, 120 to cause extension thereof. In response to extension of the first and second air springs 118, 120, a rear ride height of the vehicle 100 increases, where the rear ride height corresponds to a distance from the ground to a rear end 122 of the vehicle 100.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the systems of Mossau, Greenwood, and Pearson, Pearson being specifically capable of determining a suspension position through ride height sensors, with the vehicle-trailer suspension system capable of altering ride height and pitch angle based upon applied force, therefor altering the load distribution, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefit of being able to adjust a suspension setup automatically in order to adjust for desired oversteer/understeer parameters in order to maintain vehicle stability. As Weston describes, (Paragraph [0015], Lines 21-24) “Advantageously, examples disclosed herein automatically control the load distribution without manual input by the operator, thus reducing instability and/or improving steering capabilities of the vehicle during travel.”
RELEVANT, BUT NOT CITED PRIOR ART
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant'sdisclosure.
Brinkman et al. (US 2024/0317228 A1) teaches, (Abstract) “Methods and systems determine resistance related constants for use by a vehicle towing a trailer. A system for controlling functions of the vehicle and the trailer includes sensors that provide sensor data. A processor performs a readiness check, based on the sensor data, by determining whether the sensor data exceeds predetermined thresholds. When the readiness check is passed, meaning the thresholds are not exceeded, and based on the sensor data, the processor computes values for constants that represent aerodynamic resistance and rolling resistance of the vehicle and the trailer. Based on the constants, the processor controls functions of the vehicle.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER V GENTILE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664