DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/26/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chavan et al. (US 2014/0014649).
Regarding claim 1, Chavan discloses an induction hob (Fig. 1, “cooking appliance 2 depicted as an induction cooktop” [0028]), comprising:
a cover plate (Fig. 1, “cooktop 26” [0029]) having at least one cooking area (Fig. 1, “cooking zones 29-33” [0029]);
a holding plate (Figs. 1 and 2, holding plate / “interior cover 136” [0033]) arranged parallel to the cover plate (Figs. 1 and 2 show wherein holding plate / interior cover 136 is parallel to cover plate / cooktop 26);
at least one inductive heating coil arranged in an intermediate space between the cover plate and the holding plate (inductive heating coil / “heating elements (not separately labeled)” [0029] corresponding to cooking zones 32 and 33 shown in Fig. 1; cooking appliance 2 is an “induction cooktop” [0028], indicating that the heating elements are inductive heating coils; “Cooktop 26 may be provided with a plurality of cooking zones 29-33 containing heating elements (not separately labeled), illustrated as sheathed, electric heating elements, which are selectively operated by a corresponding plurality of control elements, illustrated as knobs 34-38” [0029]; this passage, combined with Figs. 1 and 2, indicate that the heating coils are arranged in an intermediate space between cover plate / cooktop 26 and holding plate / interior cover 136);
at least one electronics housing (Fig. 2, “housing 59”; “control box 53 including a bottom 54 and a plurality of side walls 55-58 that collectively define a housing 59” [0030]) having electronics for the heating coil (“Arranged within housing 59 are various electronic components, such as generally indicated at 61 and 62, that are associated with control elements 34-38” [0030]), which at least one electronics housing is arranged on a side of the holding plate facing away from the heating coil (Fig. 2, electronics housing 59 is arranged on the left side of holding plate / interior cover 136 facing away from the heating coils at cooking zones 32 and 33 shown in Fig. 1);
a lower casing that delimits the induction hob at a bottom thereof (Figs. 1-4, lower casing / chassis 4); and
at least one fan by which a cooling air flow for cooling the electronics is generatable in the lower casing (Fig. 2, “ fan or blower assembly 48” [0029]),
wherein the at least one electronics housing is arranged in the lower casing (Fig. 2), which is open at a top thereof, the holding plate covering the lower casing in an essentially airtight manner (Fig. 4 shows wherein holding plate / interior cover 136 covers lower casing / chassis 4);
wherein a particular inlet opening in the lower casing is assigned to each fan of the at least one fan (Fig. 3, inlet / opening 65; “chassis 4 is provided with an opening 65 in bottom 6. Blower assembly 48 is positioned directly above opening 65 and leads to an inner duct 72” [0032], and
wherein, in a region of the inlet opening, a particular air duct is arranged in the lower casing such that ambient air from an environment of the induction hob is guidable through the particular inlet opening via the corresponding air duct by the particular fan so that a guided cooling air flow of ambient air is provided for each fan (Fig. 2, air duct / inner duct 72; “Inner duct 72 is shown to be formed from an upper plate 76 and side plates 77 and 78 which are interconnected to establish a substantially inverted, U-shape” [0032]) and is carried out by a heat sink located behind the particular fan (Fig. 2, “heat sink 63”; [0032]).
Regarding claim 5, Chavan discloses wherein the cooling air flow is guidable behind the heat sink (Figs. 2 and 3, heat sink 63) to a particular outlet opening of the lower casing (Fig. 3, outlet of “outer duct 85” [0037]).
Regarding claim 6, Chavan discloses wherein at least one outlet opening is arranged on a side of the lower casing opposite at least one inlet opening (see Fig. 3, showing locations of outlet opening / outlet of outer duct 85, and inlet opening 65).
Regarding claim 7, Chavan discloses wherein an air guide plate (Fig. 4, air guide plate / “outer duct 85” [0037]) configured to homogenize a temperature in an interior of the lower casing is arranged in a region of at least one outlet opening (outlet opening is outlet of outer duct 85) on an outer side of the lower casing (Fig. 4; the structure of the air guide plate / outer duct 85 is capable of homogenizing a temperature in an interior of the lower casing).
Regarding claim 8, Chavan discloses wherein the air guide plate is arranged at an angle relative to the lower casing such that cooling air flow exiting at at least one outlet opening is backscattered to an outside of the lower casing after hitting the air guide plate (Fig 4 shows wherein air guide plate / outer duct 85 is arranged at an angle relative to the bottom 6 of lower casing / chassis 4; this structure is capable of resulting in cooling air flow exiting at at least one outlet opening being backscattered to an outside of the lower casing after hitting the air guide plate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chavan et al. (US 2014/0014649).
Regarding claim 2, Chavan discloses wherein the particular air duct (inner duct 72, formed from plates 76, 77, and 78) between the inlet opening (opening 65) and the fan (fan 48) defines a duct cross-sectional area through which the cooling air flow is flowable (inner duct 72 necessarily has a duct cross-sectional area).
Chavan does not expressly disclose wherein the duct cross-sectional area is less than 50 cm2.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the duct cross-sectional area is less than 50 cm2, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05-II-A.
Regarding claim 3, Chavan does not expressly disclose wherein the duct cross-sectional area has a maximum width of at most 10 cm.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the duct cross-sectional area has a maximum width of at most 10 cm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05-II-A.
Regarding claim 4, Chavan does not expressly disclose wherein the respective air duct is integrally formed in the lower casing.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the respective air duct is integrally formed in the lower casing, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article that has formerly been formed in more than one piece and put together involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04-V-B.
Regarding claim 9, the first embodiment of Chavan does not expressly disclose wherein the air guide plate has a plurality of outflow openings configured to homogenize exiting cooling air flow in a region of the air guide plate.
However, the embodiment of Figs. 15 and 16 of Chavan discloses wherein a “trim piece 270” [0041] associated with an air guide plate 104 has a plurality of outflow openings 279 [0041]. The outflow openings 279 are capable of homogenizing exiting cooling air flow in a region of the air guide plate.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the air guide plate has a plurality of outflow openings configured to homogenize exiting cooling air flow in a region of the air guide plate. This is known configuration of a ventilation system, applied to a known cooktop, to achieve predictable results.
Regarding claim 10, Chavan does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one fan comprises at least two fans, and wherein the at least two fans are arranged within the lower casing and are configured to suck in a particular guided cooling air flow via a particular air duct and a particular inlet opening.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the at least one fan comprises at least two fans, and wherein the at least two fans are arranged within the lower casing and are configured to suck in a particular guided cooling air flow via a particular air duct and a particular inlet opening, because “the courts have held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-B.
Regarding claim 11, the first embodiment of Chavan does not expressly disclose wherein at least one air chamber is arranged between the lower casing having the electronics on one side and the holding plate on an other side, and wherein the air chamber extends parallel to the holding plate essentially over an entire clear surface area of the lower casing.
However, Chavan discloses a second embodiment in Fig. 6 wherein at least one air chamber (Fig. 6, air chamber of “inner duct sections 152 and 153” [0035]) is arranged between the lower casing / chassis 4 having the electronics (shown within housing 59) on one side and the cover plate / cooktop 26 on an other side, and herein the air chamber extends parallel to the cover plate / cooktop 26 essentially over an entire clear surface area of the lower casing (shown in Fig. 6).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein at least one air chamber is arranged between the lower casing having the electronics on one side and the cover plate on an other side, and wherein the air chamber extends parallel to the cover plate essentially over an entire clear surface area of the lower casing. This is known configuration of a ventilation system, applied to a known cooktop, to achieve predictable results. Additionally, the first embodiment of Chavan discloses a holding plate parallel to the cover plate as described in the rejection of claim 1. Accordingly, in the combination of the air chamber of the second embodiment with the structure of the first embodiment, the air chamber is arranged between the lower casing and the holding plate.
Regarding claim 12, Chavan does not expressly disclose wherein the duct cross-sectional area is less than 40 cm2.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the duct cross-sectional area is less than 40 cm2, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05-II-A.
Regarding claim 13, Chavan does not expressly disclose wherein the duct cross-sectional area is less than 25 cm2.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the duct cross-sectional area is less than 25 cm2, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05-II-A.
Regarding claim 14, Chavan does not expressly disclose wherein the maximum width is at most 8 cm.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the maximum width is at most 8 cm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05-II-A.
Regarding claim 15, Chavan does not expressly disclose wherein the maximum width is at most 6 cm.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the maximum width is at most 6 cm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05-II-A.
Regarding claim 16, Chavan does not expressly disclose wherein the at least two fans comprises at least three fans.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the at least two fans comprises at least three fans, because “the courts have held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-B.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761