DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nimberger et al (US # 6,485,175). The Nimberger reference discloses a gas meter (Col. 4, ll. 46-67), comprising: a meter body (36F) forming an interior cavity (37f) with a longitudinal axis (Figs. 8 & 9); a temperature sensor (93f) disposed in the interior cavity to measure temperature of fluid proximate the longitudinal axis (Col. 5, ll. 1-10; Col. 8, line 56 to col. 10, line 39).
With respect to claims 2-5, see Figures 8 & 9.
With respect to claim 6, Nimberger discloses that the tube (36f) is at least partially filled with air (Col. 6, ll. 40-41; Col. 7, ll. 58-61)1.
With respect to claims 7-9, the temperature sensor is embedded in thermo-conductive resin (Col. 9, ll. 47-56).
With respect to claim 11, the tube in the various embodiments is comprised of at least two materials that exhibit different rates of thermal conductivity (Col. 2, ll. 55-66).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nimberger et al (US # 6,485,175) in view of Yada et al (US # 4,404,638). The Nimberger reference discloses that the meter (12) that lines upstream (Fig. 1) of the temperature sensor (20) is a differential pressure sensor, instead of an impeller driven sensor, but the use of impeller sensors in conjunction with temperature sensors to monitor flow rate were well known as shown by the example of the Yada reference (Col. 2, ll. 45-61), and it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to substitute the impeller (1) flow meter of Yada for the differential pressure flow meter (12) of Nimberger motivated by its art recognized suitability for its intended use.
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yada et al (US # 4,404,638) in view of Nimberger et al (US # 6,485,175). The Yada reference disclose a gas meter (Col. 1, ll. 6-12) comprising a meter body (3) with a longitudinal axis (inherent, as the fluid is obviously flowing inside of a pipe), impellers (1) disposed in the interior body (3), and a temperature sensor (5). However, the Yada reference does not disclose the specifics of the generic temperature sensor (5).
The Nimberger reference discloses a temperature sensor (20) as part of gas metering system (Fig. 1) comprising of a temperature sensor (93f) inside of a tube (Figs. 8 & 9). It would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to use the temperature probe (20) of Nimberger as the temperature sensor (5) of Yada motivated by its art recognized suitability for its intended use.
With respect to claims 13, 16, & 17, Nimberger discloses that the tube (36f) is at least partially filled with air as an insulator (Col. 6, ll. 40-41; Col. 7, ll. 58-61)2.
With respect to claim 14, the temperature sensor is embedded in thermo-conductive resin (Col. 9, ll. 47-56).
With respect to claim 18, see Figure 8 of Nimberger.
With respect to claim 19, although the controlling circuitry of the temperature sensor of Nimberger is located in the flowmeter housing (12), relocating the electronic control circuitry for the temperature sensor inside of the tube itself (as there is plenty of unused empty space in the air filled region above the sensor) would have been a mere relocation of parts that would not have affected the operation of the device, and would have been obvious for the ordinary practioner to try3.
With respect to claim 20, Nimberger disclose that the temperature sensor (20) is located upstream of the flowmeter (12). A protruding temperature sensor, such as the one shown in Nimberger, could not be located exactly where the impeller of Yada was, as the impeller (1) shown (Fig. 1) takes up the entire interior space of the pipe, and the protruding temperature sensor of Nimberger would have had to have been located either immediately upstream or downstream of the impeller, as there were only two possible locations for the temperature sensor that were plausible, and it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to try either location.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other references cited buy not applied show the general state of the art.
RANDY W. GIBSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2856
/RANDY W GIBSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855
1 The insulative air-filled space seems to be germane to the majority of the embodiments disclosed, including the embodiment shown in Figures 8 & 9. Note that DE 20230130707 A1 also states that it is normal for there to be an air gap between the temperature sensor and the sides of the tubular housing.
2 The insulative air-filled space seems to be germane to the majority of the embodiments disclosed, including the embodiment shown in Figures 8 & 9.
3 In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). See, also, MPEP § 2144.04, subsection (VI).