DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11-14, 17, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a reusable carrier insert” in line 2 and should be “the reusable carrier insert”.
Claim 11 recites “a belt” in line 4 and should be “the belt”.
Claim 12 recites “a pouch” in line 1 and should be “the pouch”.
Claim 13 recites “a belt” in line 4 and should be “the belt”.
Claim 14 recites “the first flat” in line 3 and should be “the first flap”.
Claim 17 recites “a reusable absorbent carrier insert” in line 8 and should be “the reusable absorbent carrier insert”.
Claim 17 recites “a disposable insert” in line 13 and should be “the disposable insert”.
Claim 21 recites “a disposable insert” in line 3 and should be “the disposable insert”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20220087873 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Chen” and Roe (US 20120022492 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen teaches a reusable absorbent carrier insert and disposable insert combination (two-piece absorbent article 12, see Paragraph [0026]), comprising:
a reusable absorbent carrier insert (outer cover 20), the reusable absorbent carrier insert comprising a carrier portion (a pocket 45 in which the absorbent insert resides during use, see Paragraph [0027]), a first length measured along a central longitudinal axis of the reusable absorbent carrier insert (a length Lc extending in a longitudinal direction 21 between the front and rear lateral ends, see Figure 2), and a first width measured along a central lateral axis of the reusable absorbent carrier insert (the width of the outer cover Wcv as measured between the longitudinal edges along a line parallel to the lateral axis, see Paragraph [0028]); and
a disposable insert (absorbent insert 30), the disposable insert comprising an absorbent material (the insert 30 may have an absorbent core 64 wherein the absorbent core 64 may comprise materials suitable for absorbency and for washing and reuse of the insert. In nonlimiting examples, the insert may be formed of cotton, fleece, flannel, felt, nylon, polyester, terry cloth and combinations thereof, see Paragraph [0071]), a second length measured along a central longitudinal axis of the disposable insert (the insert 30 comprises a length L from the outboard-most portion of front edge 31 to the outboard-most portion of the rear edge 33. The lateral axis equally divides the length Li, see Paragraph [0057]; Figure 3), and a second width measured along a central lateral axis of the disposable insert (the width of the insert, Wi, measured on lateral axis 60, see Paragraph [0058]; Figure 3);
wherein the reusable absorbent carrier insert is configured to receive and retain the disposable insert (the insert 30 may be placed into the outer cover through one or more openings 40, see Paragraph [0027]);
wherein the disposable insert is configured to be received and contained within the carrier portion of the reusable absorbent carrier insert to form the reusable absorbent carrier insert and disposable insert combination (in the in-use configuration, the outer cover may at least partially enclose the absorbent insert 30, see Figure 4);
wherein the first length is greater than the second length (the insert length L is less than the length of the outer cover Lc., see Paragraph [0057]); and
wherein the first width is greater than the second width (the width of the insert, Wi, is less than the width of the outer cover, Wcv, at one or more longitudinal positions, see Paragraph [0058]).
However, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the reusable absorbent carrier insert has a first capacity-to-caliper ratio, wherein the disposable insert has a second capacity-to-caliper ratio; and wherein the first capacity-to-caliper ratio is less than the second capacity-to-caliper ratio.
Roe teaches a high-capacity disposable absorbent inserts for reusable outer covers (see Abstract) comprising: wherein the reusable absorbent carrier insert has a first capacity-to-caliper ratio (a reusable outer cover configured for use with a disposable absorbent insert can have a unitized outer cover absorbent capacity, defined as the ratio of the outer cover absorbent capacity to the outer cover mass, based on any combination of outer cover absorbent capacity and outer cover mass described herein, the value being 0.46 grams/gram, see Paragraph [0054]; Table 1; there is a correlation of mass to caliper, a higher mass has a higher capacity-caliper ratio versus a lower mass given that the materials, density being the same);
wherein the disposable insert has a second capacity-to-caliper ratio (a disposable absorbent insert, configured for use with a reusable outer cover, can have a unitized insert absorbent capacity, defined as the ratio of the insert absorbent capacity to the absorbent insert mass, based on any combination of insert absorbent capacity and absorbent insert mass described herein, the value being 5.90 grams/gram, see Table 2; Paragraph [0097]);
and wherein the first capacity-to-caliper ratio is less than the second capacity-to-caliper ratio (the unitized outer cover capacity is less than the unitized insert absorbent capacity, see Tables 1 and 2; there is a correlation of mass to caliper, a higher mass has a higher capacity-caliper ratio versus a lower mass given that the materials and density being the same, see Paragraph [0036] and [0092]).
Chen and Roe are analogous art because both teach a reusable carrier insert and a disposable insert combination.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the first/second capacity-to-caliper ratio of Chen and further include wherein the first capacity-to-caliper ratio is less than the second capacity-to-caliper ratio, as taught by Chen. Chen teaches if the inner surface of the outer cover cannot absorb the fluid, the fluid may move along the surface of the outer cover and breach the perimeter of the article, thereby leaking onto clothing or other surfaces in the environment such as bedding, carpeting, or the caregiver. While the outer cover may not be designed with an absorbent capacity as great as that of the disposable insert, the ability of the inner surface of the outer cover to quickly absorb small quantities of fluid may prevent such instance (see Paragraph [0051]).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen and Roe teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Chen further teaches wherein the reusable absorbent carrier insert is configured to be inserted into an interior pocket (pocket 45) of an outer shell (wearer-facing surface 9) of an absorbent pant (absorbent article 10), on top an interior portion of the outer shell, or combinations thereof (see Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 3, Chen and Roe teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Chen further teaches wherein the carrier portion of the reusable absorbent carrier insert comprises elastomeric material (outer cover may comprise one or more waist features 50. The waist feature may be elastic and may provide better fit about the waist of the wearer. See Paragraph [0037]).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen and Roe teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Chen further teaches wherein the carrier portion of the reusable absorbent carrier insert comprises at least a belt with two open ends, at least a pouch, or combinations thereof (openings 40 which are capable of receiving an absorbent insert 30, as shown in FIGS. 4 and 6), wherein the at least a pouch comprises a longitudinal incision or a diagonal incision (one longitudinally-extending opening 42, see Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen and Roe teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 4 and Chen further teaches wherein the longitudinal incision extends at least partially across the reusable absorbent carrier insert (longitudinally-extending opening 42 may be present in the crotch region 16, see Figure 2 and 6).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen and Roe teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 4 and Chen further teaches wherein the diagonal incision extends at least partially across the reusable absorbent carrier insert (the longitudinal direction includes directions within 40 degrees of the maximum linear dimension in the x-y plane of the outer cover, see Paragraph [0045].
Regarding Claim 7, Chen and Roe teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Chen further teaches wherein the carrier portion of the reusable absorbent carrier insert is attached to the reusable absorbent carrier insert via a fastening mechanism comprising an overstitch, a flat seam, an adhesive, or combinations thereof (layers or other elements of the outer cover may be joined to each other via any suitable mechanism, including, for example, adhesives, mechanical bonding, ultrasonic bonding, sewing, stitching, merging, edging, and the like, see Paragraph [0036]).
Regarding Claim 8, Chen and Roe teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Chen further teaches wherein the carrier portion of the reusable absorbent carrier insert prior to receiving the disposable insert comprises an exterior portion that is exterior facing (a first exterior surface 22) and an interior portion that is interior facing (interior surface 27).
Regarding Claim 9, Chen and Roe teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 8 and Chen further teaches wherein, when the reusable absorbent carrier insert and disposable insert combination is formed, the interior portion is folded over the disposable insert and is exterior facing (interior surface integral to the first 44 may be capable of wrapping about the longitudinal edge and being secured to an exterior surface, see Paragraph 0053].
Regarding Claim 10, Chen and Roe teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 8 and Chen further teaches wherein the disposable insert is configured to be received within the interior portion to form the reusable absorbent carrier insert and disposable insert combination (the insert fastening and/or receiving components may be disposed on an interior surface 27 of the outer cover within a pocket 45, see Paragraph [0042]).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen and Roe teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 10 and Chen further teaches wherein the carrier portion of the reusable absorbent carrier insert comprises at least a belt with two open ends (opening 40 with first edge 44 and second edge 46, see Figure 6), and the disposable insert is configured to be received within the interior portion of the at least a belt (openings 40 which are capable of receiving an absorbent insert 30m see Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen and Roe teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 10 and Chen further teaches wherein the carrier portion of the reusable absorbent carrier insert comprises at least a pouch, and the disposable insert is configured to be received within the interior portion of the at least a pouch (openings 40 which are capable of receiving an absorbent insert 30, as shown in Figures 4 and 6).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen and Roe teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 10 and Chen further teaches wherein the carrier portion of the reusable absorbent carrier insert comprises at least a belt with two open ends (opening 40 with first edge 44 and second edge 46, see Figure 6) and a pouch (interior pouch through opening 40, see Figure 6), and the disposable insert is configured to be received within the interior portion of the at least a belt (see Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 14, Chen and Roe teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 10 and Chen further teaches wherein the carrier portion of the reusable absorbent carrier insert comprises at least a first flap and a second flap (opening 40 with first edge 44 and second edge 46, see Figure 6), the first flat longer than the second flap and configured to overlap the second flap (the first edge 44 may be capable of wrapping about the longitudinal edge and being secured to an exterior surface, see Paragraph [0053]), and the disposable insert is configured to be received within the interior portion of the second flap and covered by the first flap (the opening may be sealable, such that it may be closed or repeatedly opened and reclosed. In nonlimiting examples, the first edge 44 and/or the second edge 46 may include means for attaching to each other, see Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding Claim 15, Chen and Roe teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Chen further teaches wherein the absorbent material comprises an absorbent gelling materials (AGM) (the absorbent core 64 may comprise absorbent gelling materials (AGM), see Paragraph [0072]), and the reusable absorbent carrier insert comprises one or more textile fabrics and does not comprise AGM (outer cover 20 and/or layers or portions thereof may be made of any durable or semi-durable knitted, woven or nonwoven textile or textile-like material, see Paragraph [0030]).
Regarding Claim 16, Chen and Roe teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Chen further teaches wherein at least a portion of the reusable absorbent carrier insert is disposed between the disposable insert and a skin surface of a wearer, when the reusable absorbent carrier insert and disposable insert combination is in a wear configuration (the article may be placed on a wearer by wrapping the outer cover 20 between the wearer's legs and under the buttocks such that the crotch region 16 is between the wearer's legs. When the insert 30 has been installed into or onto the outer cover 20, the insert 30 will then be disposed proximate to the wearer, see Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding Claim 17, Chen teaches an absorbent pant (absorbent article 10, see Paragraph [0002]), comprising:
an outer shell (wearer-facing surface 9, see Figure 6) comprising an interior pocket (pocket 45), an interior portion (interior surface 27), or combinations thereof; and
a reusable absorbent carrier insert (outer cover 20) and disposable insert (absorbent insert 30) combination configured to be received at least one of in the interior pocket of the outer shell of the absorbent pant, on top of the interior portion of the outer shell, or combinations thereof (the insert 30 may be placed into the outer cover through one or more openings 40, see Figure 6; Paragraph [0027]), the reusable absorbent carrier insert and disposable insert combination comprising:
a reusable absorbent carrier insert (outer cover 20), the reusable absorbent carrier insert comprising a carrier portion (a pocket 45 in which the absorbent insert resides during use, see Paragraph [0027]), a first length measured along a central longitudinal axis of the reusable absorbent carrier insert (a length Lc extending in a longitudinal direction 21 between the front and rear lateral ends, see Figure 2), and a first width measured along a central lateral axis of the reusable absorbent carrier insert (the width of the outer cover Wcv as measured between the longitudinal edges along a line parallel to the lateral axis, see Paragraph [0028]), and
a disposable insert (absorbent insert 30), the disposable insert comprising an absorbent material (the insert 30 may have an absorbent core 64 wherein the absorbent core 64 may comprise materials suitable for absorbency and for washing and reuse of the insert. In nonlimiting examples, the insert may be formed of cotton, fleece, flannel, felt, nylon, polyester, terry cloth and combinations thereof, see Paragraph [0071]), a second length measured along a central longitudinal axis of the disposable insert (the insert 30 comprises a length L from the outboard-most portion of front edge 31 to the outboard-most portion of the rear edge 33. The lateral axis equally divides the length Li, see Paragraph [0057]; Figure 3), and a second width measured along a central lateral axis of the disposable insert (the width of the insert, Wi, measured on lateral axis 60, see Paragraph [0058]; Figure 3);
wherein the reusable absorbent carrier insert is configured to receive and retain the disposable insert (the insert 30 may be placed into the outer cover through one or more openings 40, see Paragraph [0027]);
wherein the disposable insert is configured to be received and contained within the carrier portion of the reusable absorbent carrier insert to form the reusable absorbent carrier insert and disposable insert combination (in the in-use configuration, the outer cover may at least partially enclose the absorbent insert 30, see Figure 4); wherein the first length is greater than the second length (the insert length L is less than the length of the outer cover Lc., see Paragraph [0057]); and
wherein the first width is greater than the second width (the width of the insert, Wi, is less than the width of the outer cover, Wcv, at one or more longitudinal positions, see Paragraph [0058]).
However, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the reusable absorbent carrier insert has a first capacity-to-caliper ratio, wherein the disposable insert has a second capacity-to-caliper ratio; and wherein the first capacity-to-caliper ratio is less than the second capacity-to-caliper ratio.
Roe teaches a high-capacity disposable absorbent inserts for reusable outer covers (see Abstract) comprising: wherein the reusable absorbent carrier insert has a first capacity-to-caliper ratio (a reusable outer cover configured for use with a disposable absorbent insert can have a unitized outer cover absorbent capacity, defined as the ratio of the outer cover absorbent capacity to the outer cover mass, based on any combination of outer cover absorbent capacity and outer cover mass described herein, the value being 0.46 grams/gram, see Paragraph [0054]; Table 1; there is a correlation of mass to caliper, a higher mass has a higher capacity-caliper ratio versus a lower mass given that the materials, density being the same);
wherein the disposable insert has a second capacity-to-caliper ratio (a disposable absorbent insert, configured for use with a reusable outer cover, can have a unitized insert absorbent capacity, defined as the ratio of the insert absorbent capacity to the absorbent insert mass, based on any combination of insert absorbent capacity and absorbent insert mass described herein, the value being 5.90 grams/gram, see Table 2; Paragraph [0097]);
and wherein the first capacity-to-caliper ratio is less than the second capacity-to-caliper ratio (the unitized outer cover capacity is less than the unitized insert absorbent capacity, see Tables 1 and 2; there is a correlation of mass to caliper, a higher mass has a higher capacity-caliper ratio versus a lower mass given that the materials and density being the same, see Paragraph [0036] and [0092]).
Chen and Roe are analogous art because both teach a reusable carrier insert and a disposable insert combination.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the first/second capacity-to-caliper ratio of Chen and further include wherein the first capacity-to-caliper ratio is less than the second capacity-to-caliper ratio, as taught by Chen. Chen teaches if the inner surface of the outer cover cannot absorb the fluid, the fluid may move along the surface of the outer cover and breach the perimeter of the article, thereby leaking onto clothing or other surfaces in the environment such as bedding, carpeting, or the caregiver. While the outer cover may not be designed with an absorbent capacity as great as that of the disposable insert, the ability of the inner surface of the outer cover to quickly absorb small quantities of fluid may prevent such instance (see Paragraph [0051]).
Regarding Claim 18, Chen and Roe teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 17 and Chen further teaches wherein the carrier portion comprises an exterior portion that is exterior facing (a first exterior surface 22) and an interior portion that is interior facing prior to receipt of the disposable insert (interior surface 27).
Regarding Claim 19, Chen and Roe teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 18 and Chen further teaches wherein, when the reusable absorbent carrier insert and disposable insert combination is formed, the interior portion is folded over the disposable insert and is exterior facing (interior surface integral to the first 44 may be capable of wrapping about the longitudinal edge and being secured to an exterior surface, see Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding Claim 20, Chen and Roe teach all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 18 and Chen further teaches wherein, when the reusable absorbent carrier insert and disposable insert combination is formed, the disposable insert is received into the interior portion that remains interior facing (the opening may be sealable, such that it may be closed or repeatedly opened and reclosed. In nonlimiting examples, the first edge 44 and/or the second edge 46 may include means for attaching to each other, including any of the fastening components and/or receiving components described above, as well as pressure sensitive adhesive, see Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding Claim 21, Chen teaches a method of forming a reusable absorbent carrier insert and disposable insert combination (wearable absorbent articles having absorbent inserts and reusable outer covers, and more particularly, systems for combining the inserts into the outer covers, see Paragraph [0002]), the method comprising:
receiving a disposable insert (absorbent insert 30) comprising an absorbent material (the insert 30 may have an absorbent core 64 wherein the absorbent core 64 may comprise materials suitable for absorbency and for washing and reuse of the insert. In nonlimiting examples, the insert may be formed of cotton, fleece, flannel, felt, nylon, polyester, terry cloth and combinations thereof, see Paragraph [0071]) within a carrier portion of a reusable absorbent carrier insert (in the in-use configuration, the outer cover may at least partially enclose the absorbent insert 30, see Figure 4); and
containing the disposable insert in the carrier portion in a self-locking configuration upon receipt (The opening 40 may be sized and shaped such that the absorbent insert 30 will remain in the pocket once inserted. For example, the opening may be smaller in one or more dimensions than the insert, see Paragraph [0052]).
However, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the reusable absorbent carrier insert has a first capacity-to-caliper ratio, wherein the disposable insert has a second capacity-to-caliper ratio; and wherein the first capacity-to-caliper ratio is less than the second capacity-to-caliper ratio.
Roe teaches a high-capacity disposable absorbent inserts for reusable outer covers (see Abstract) comprising: wherein the reusable absorbent carrier insert has a first capacity-to-caliper ratio (a reusable outer cover configured for use with a disposable absorbent insert can have a unitized outer cover absorbent capacity, defined as the ratio of the outer cover absorbent capacity to the outer cover mass, based on any combination of outer cover absorbent capacity and outer cover mass described herein, the value being 0.46 grams/gram, see Paragraph [0054]; Table 1; there is a correlation of mass to caliper, a higher mass has a higher capacity-caliper ratio versus a lower mass given that the materials, density being the same);
wherein the disposable insert has a second capacity-to-caliper ratio (a disposable absorbent insert, configured for use with a reusable outer cover, can have a unitized insert absorbent capacity, defined as the ratio of the insert absorbent capacity to the absorbent insert mass, based on any combination of insert absorbent capacity and absorbent insert mass described herein, the value being 5.90 grams/gram, see Table 2; Paragraph [0097]);
and wherein the first capacity-to-caliper ratio is less than the second capacity-to-caliper ratio (the unitized outer cover capacity is less than the unitized insert absorbent capacity, see Tables 1 and 2; there is a correlation of mass to caliper, a higher mass has a higher capacity-caliper ratio versus a lower mass given that the materials and density being the same, see Paragraph [0036] and [0092]).
Chen and Roe are analogous art because both teach a reusable carrier insert and a disposable insert combination.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the first/second capacity-to-caliper ratio of Chen and further include wherein the first capacity-to-caliper ratio is less than the second capacity-to-caliper ratio, as taught by Chen. Chen teaches if the inner surface of the outer cover cannot absorb the fluid, the fluid may move along the surface of the outer cover and breach the perimeter of the article, thereby leaking onto clothing or other surfaces in the environment such as bedding, carpeting, or the caregiver. While the outer cover may not be designed with an absorbent capacity as great as that of the disposable insert, the ability of the inner surface of the outer cover to quickly absorb small quantities of fluid may prevent such instance (see Paragraph [0051]).
Conclusion
/ERIC RASSAVONG/ (3/21/2026) /JACQUELINE F STEPHENS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3781 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781