Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims
6-13) and Species 2 (Figs. 16-21) in the reply filed on 05/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-5 and 14-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37
CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups and Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/22/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12-13 are objected to because of the following informalities: in
claim 1, “received longitudinally extending linear slot” should be --received in the longitudinally extending linear slot--. In claim 12, “of the of the male ferrule” should be --of the male ferrule--. In claim 13, “the distal end female ferrule” should be –the distal end of the female ferrule--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112
(pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, “the tapered insertion end” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claims 9-10, “a pole” is confusing. It should be noted that claim 8 introduces “a pole” in connection with mounting the cutting tool to the pole. However, claims 9 and 10 subsequently recite “a pole” without making clear whether the later-recited pole refers to the same pole introduced in claim 8 or to a different pole.
Regarding claim 11, “cylindrical portion” lacks antecedent basis. Specifically, claim 11 recites "the tapered tip and cylindrical portion of the proximal insertion end of the male ferrule," but neither claim 11 nor any preceding claim from which it depends introduces or defines a "cylindrical portion." Therefore, it is unclear what structure is being referenced by this term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2022/0176477 A1), hereinafter LI, provided with the IDS filled on 04/08/2024. Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a cutting tool system comprising: a cutting tool comprising (cutting assembly 100);
a handle assembly 120 comprising a rearward proximal extension, a forward distal end longitudinally opposite the proximal extension, and a scabbard section (defined by the section which includes the slot 122; Fig. 1) extending from the proximal extension to the distal end, the scabbard section defining a longitudinally extending linear slot 122 (sheath 120 having a first accommodating groove 122 extending longitudinally through the sheath and configured to receive the serrated cutter 110; Figs. 1, 10); a blade 111 comprising a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and a cutting edge 111 extending from proximal the second end toward the first end (serrated cutter 110 including serrated blade 111; Figs. 1, 10);
wherein the first end is pivotally mounted on the distal end of the handle assembly (serrated cutter 110 rotatably connected to sheath 120; Figs. 1, 6, 10); such that the second end travels in an arc around the first end upon pivoting of the blade around the first end between a folded configuration of the cutting tool (serrated cutter 110 rotatable relative to sheath 120 between folded and opened positions; Figs. 1, 6, 10); in which at least the cutting edge is received in the longitudinally extending linear slot of the scabbard section (serrated cutter 110 received within first accommodating groove 122 when in the sheathed/folded position; Figs. 1, 10);
and an unfolded configuration of the cutting tool (opened position of serrated cutter 110 relative to sheath 120; Fig. 6); in which the blade extends at least partially forward from the handle assembly with the cutting edge removed from the scabbard section and exposed (serrated blade 111 extending from sheath 120 and exposed for cutting when the serrated cutter 110 is rotated out of groove 122; Figs. 1, 6, 10).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches everything noted above including a
longitudinally extending pole 200 (support assembly 200 including support rod 210 and telescopic assembly 220; Figs. 1, 7); having a distal portion temporarily connected to the rearward proximal extension of the handle assembly of the cutting tool (sheath 120/cutting assembly 100 removably connected to support assembly 200 through clamping portion 121 and first locking structure 300, permitting attachment and detachment; Figs. 2-5, 7).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches everything noted above including that the
the cutting tool further comprising a ferrule (121, 310, as a male ferrule and a female ferrule 310; Figs. 3-4) mounted on the rearward proximal extension of the handle assembly for mounting the cutting tool to a pole 200 (clamping portion 121 of sheath 120 configured for insertion into and engagement with first locking structure 300 carried by support assembly 200, thereby removably mounting the cutting assembly 100 to the pole assembly; Figs. 2-5, 7). The clamping portion 121 functions as a coupling member for attachment of the cutting assembly 100 to the support assembly 200 and thus corresponds to the claimed ferrule.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
9. Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Hirotoshi et al. (EP 1239761 B1), hereinafter Hirotoshi, or Malone (0,138,338). Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Li teaches everything noted above including that the ferrule defining a male ferrule 121 and comprising: a proximal insertion end for mounting the cutting tool to a pole 200, the proximal insertion end having a tip; and a distal end opposite the insertion end, the distal end connected to the rearward proximal extension of the handle assembly 120. See Figs. 1-4 in LI.
Li does not explicitly teach that the tip is tapered portion the proximal insertion end having a tapered tip. However, Hirotoshi teaches a ferrule system (11, 14) including a male ferrule 11 comprising: a proximal insertion end 13 (capable of mounting to a cutting tool to a pole such as taught in Li), the proximal insertion end having a tapered tip 27; and a distal end opposite the insertion end, the distal end connected (or capable of being connected to) to the rearward proximal extension of the handle assembly (as taught by LI). See Fig. 1 in Hirotoshi. Similarly, Malone also teaches a ferrule system (A, B, C) including a male ferrule (A) comprising: a proximal insertion end 92 (capable of mounting to a cutting tool to a pole such as taught in Li), the proximal insertion end having a tapered tip (as the tapered tip inserted into the space within the female ferrule A,C,B; Fig. 1); and a distal end opposite the insertion end, the distal end connected (or capable of being connected to) to the rearward proximal extension of the handle assembly (as taught by LI). See Fig. 1 in Malone. It would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to replace Li’s ferrule connection mechanism between the handle assembly and the pole with the ferrule connection mechanism, as taught by Hirotoshi or Malone, in order to facilitate guided insertion, reduce insertion force, and improve alignment during coupling of ferrule components.
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Li, as modified by Hirotoshi or Malone, teaches everything noted above including that the proximal extension of the handle assembly, together with the proximal insertion end of the male ferrule (11 in Fig. 1 of Hirotoshi or A in Fig. 1 of Malone), form a handle a user can grasp for use of the cutting tool by hand without a pole.
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Li, as modified by Hirotoshi or Malone, teaches everything noted above including that the proximal insertion end of the male ferrule (11 in Fig. 1 of Hirotoshi or A in Fig. 1 of Malone) comprises a lock hole (defined by the hole 12 in Fig. 1 of Hirotoshi or defined by the hole that receives the pin b’ in Malone) for receiving a fastener (18 in Fig. 1 of Hirotoshi or b’ in Fig. 1 of Malone) when mounting the cutting tool to a pole.
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Li, as modified by Hirotoshi or Malone, teaches everything noted above including a female ferrule (14 in Fig. 1 of Hirotoshi or A,B,C in Fig. 1 of Malone) having a distal end configured to receive the tapered tip and cylindrical portion of the proximal insertion end of the of the male ferrule. See Fig. 1 in Hirotoshi and Malone.
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, Li, as modified by Hirotoshi or Malone, teaches everything noted above including a latch (22 in Fig. 2a of Hirotoshi or B in Fig. 1 of Malone) comprising a lock pin (18 in Fig. 2a of Hirotoshi or b’ in Fig. 1 of Malone) carried by the female ferrule (14 in Fig. 1 of Hirotoshi or A,B,C in Fig. 1 of Malone), the lock pin biased (by the resilient nature of the sleeve or clip 22 in Hirotoshi or by the resilient nature of the spring clip B in Malone) to automatically engage a lock hole (defined as the hole 12 in Fig. 1 of Hirotohsi or defined by the hole in the male ferrule A which receives the lock pin b’ in Fig. 1 of Malone) when the proximal insertion end of the of the male ferrule is inserted into the distal end of the female ferrule. See Fig. 1 in Hirotoshi and Malone.
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Li, as modified by Hirotoshi or Malone, teaches everything noted above including that the latch (22 in Fig. 1 of Hirotoshi or B in Fig. 1 of Malone) further comprising a spring clip attached to the female ferrule (14 in Fig. 1 of Hirotoshi or A,B,C in Fig. 1 of Malone) and carrying the lock pin (18 in Fig. 2a of Hirotoshi or b’ in Fig. 1 of Malone), the spring clip biasing the lock pin into a locking position, and wherein: during insertion of the proximal insertion end of the of the male ferrule (11 in Fig. 1 of Hirotoshi or A in Fig. 1 of Malone) into the distal end female ferrule (14 in Fig. 1 of Hirotoshi or A,B,C in Fig. 1 of Malone), the tapered tip of the male ferrule moves the lock pin from its locking position against a force of the spring clip; and upon the lock pin reaching the lock hole in the lock hole of the male ferrule, the spring clip returns the lock pin to the locking position thereby automatically engaging the lock hole. See Fig. 1 in Hirotoshi or Malone.
Becerra Alvarado et al. (US 2024/0175525 A1) is relied upon in the present rejection as prior art under 35 U.S.C. § 103 based on its status as a published patent application and its effective filing date prior to the effective filing date of the present application. Accordingly, Becerra is combined with Li to establish that the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
10. Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Becerra Alvarado et al. (2024/0175525 A1), hereinafter Becerra. Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Li teaches everything noted above including that the ferrule defining a male ferrule 121 and comprising: a proximal insertion end for mounting the cutting tool to a pole 200, the proximal insertion end having a tip; and a distal end opposite the insertion end, the distal end connected to the rearward proximal extension of the handle assembly 120.
See Figs. 1-4 in LI.
Li does not explicitly teach that the tip is tapered portion the proximal insertion end having a tapered tip. However, Becerra teaches a ferrule system 50 including a male ferrule 90 comprising: a proximal insertion end 92 (capable of mounting to a cutting tool to a pole such as taught in Li), the proximal insertion end having a tapered tip 94; and a distal end opposite the insertion end, the distal end connected (or capable of being connected to) to the rearward proximal extension of the handle assembly (as taught by LI). See Figs. 1-9 in Becerra. It would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to replace Li’s ferrule connection mechanism between the handle assembly and the pole with the ferrule connection mechanism, as taught by Becerra, in order to facilitate guided insertion, reduce insertion force, and improve alignment during coupling of ferrule components.
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Li, as modified by Becerra, teaches everything noted above including that the proximal extension of the handle assembly, together with the proximal insertion end of the male ferrule (90; Fig. 2 in Becerra), form a handle a user can grasp for use of the cutting tool by hand without a pole.
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Li, as modified by Becerra, teaches everything noted above including that the proximal insertion end of the male ferrule (90; Fig. 2 in Becerra) comprises a lock hole 104 for receiving a fastener 132 when mounting the cutting tool to a pole 120 (Fig. 2 in Becerra).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Li, as modified by Becerra, teaches everything noted above including a female ferrule 122 having a distal end 124 configured to receive the tapered tip 94 and cylindrical portion of the proximal insertion end of the of the male ferrule 90. See Figs. 1-4 in Becerra.
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, Li, as modified by Becerra, teaches everything noted above including a latch 130 comprising a lock pin 132 carried by the female ferrule 122, the lock pin biased (by the resilient nature of the spring clip 134) to automatically engage a lock hole 104 when the proximal insertion end of the of the male ferrule is inserted into the distal end of the female ferrule. See Figs. 1-9 in Becerra.
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Li, as modified by Becerra, teaches everything noted above including that the latch 130 further comprising a spring clip 134 attached to the female ferrule 122 and carrying the lock pin 132, the spring clip biasing the lock pin into a locking position, and wherein: during insertion of the proximal insertion end of the of the male ferrule 90 into the distal end female ferrule 122, the tapered tip 94 of the male ferrule 90 moves the lock pin from its locking position against a force of the spring clip 134; and upon the lock pin reaching the lock hole in the lock hole of the male ferrule, the spring clip 134 returns the lock pin to the locking position thereby automatically engaging the lock hole 104. See Figs. 1-9 in Becerra.
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant’s disclosure.
Crates et al. (4,329,078), Johnson (3,830,008), Edward (3,603,628), Belicka et al. (3,244,437), and (Mower (5,090,837) teach a ferrule connection mechanism.
/GHASSEM ALIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724
June 9, 2026