DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Itou (US 2020/0144758).
Regarding claim 1: Itou teaches a terminal insert 200 for an unshielded cable 80, the terminal insert 200 being configured to be inserted into an insert receptacle 370 of a connector 300 (see Fig. 3 and 13 and Para. 0079), the terminal insert 200 comprising: an insert receptacle fitting section (at 222; Fig. 8) that is adapted to be fittingly received in at least a part of the insert receptacle (see Figs. 28 and Para. 0091), a terminal receptacle 210 that is adapted to fittingly receive at least parts of a cable terminal 100 (see Fig. 26), and a touch protection section 214 at least at a first end (see Fig. 26), wherein the insert receptacle fitting section (at 222; Fig. 8) and the touch protection section 214 are located on one monolithic piece (see Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 2: Itou teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the terminal receptacle 210 is substantially complementary to the parts of the cable terminal 100 (see Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 3: Itou teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the terminal receptacle 210 is also located on the monolithic piece (see Figs. 10-11).
Regarding claim 4: Itou teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the terminal insert 200 further comprises at least one terminal insert securing element 228 for securing the terminal insert to the insert receptacle 370 (see Fig. 28 and Para. 0091).
Regarding claim 5: Itou teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the terminal insert 200 further comprises at least one cable terminal securing element (at 218; Fig. 26) for securing the cable terminal 100 to the terminal insert 200 (see Fig. 26 and Para. 0087).
Regarding claim 6: Itou teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the terminal insert 200 further comprises at least one terminal insert securing element 228 for securing the terminal insert 200 to the insert receptacle 370 (Fig. 28) and at least one cable terminal securing element (at 218; Fig. 26) for securing the cable terminal 100 to the terminal insert 200 (Fig. 26), wherein at least one of the at least one terminal insert securing element and the at least one cable terminal securing element is a latching element (see Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 7: Itou teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the terminal insert 200 comprises at least one spacing element 232 adapted for spacing the remainder of the terminal insert 200 from an inner wall of the insert receptacle (see Fig. 29).
Regarding claim 8: Itou teaches all the limitations of claim 7 and further teaches wherein an outer face of the spacing element 232 is parallel to a terminal insert insertion direction (e.g. along the x-direction; see Fig. 29).
Regarding claim 9: Itou teaches all the limitations of claim 7 and further teaches wherein the spacing element 232 extends along a terminal insert insertion direction (see Fig. 29).
Regarding claim 10: Itou teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the terminal insert 200 comprises a base body (at 222; Fig. 10), the base body comprising a first tube section (at 210; Fig. 10) at which the terminal receptacle 210 is located (see Figs. 10-11) and a second tube section (at 226; Fig. 10) at which at least a part of the insert receptacle fitting section (at 222; Fig. 8) is located (see Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 11: Itou teaches all the limitations of claim 10 and further teaches wherein the base body comprises a third tube section (at 228; Fig. 10) between the first tube section and the second tube section (see Figs. 10-11).
Regarding claim 12: Itou teaches all the limitations of claim 11 and further teaches wherein the terminal insert 200 comprises at least one spacing element 232 adapted for spacing the remainder of the terminal insert 200 from an inner wall of the insert receptacle (see Fig. 28), the spacing element 232 extending along the second tube section and the third tube section (see Figs. 10-11).
Regarding claim 13: Itou teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the terminal insert 200 comprises a stop face 230 facing in the terminal insert insertion direction (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 14: Itou teaches a connector 10 comprising: a terminal insert 200 for an unshielded cable 80, the terminal insert 200 including an insert receptacle fitting section (at 222; Fig. 8), a terminal receptacle 210 that is adapted to fittingly receive at least parts of a cable terminal 100 (see Fig. 26), and a touch protection section 214 at least at a first end (Fig. 26), wherein the insert receptacle fitting section and the touch protection section are located on one monolithic piece (see Figs. 10-11); and an insert receptacle (at 358; Fig. 3) adapted to mate with the terminal insert 200 and with at least one further terminal insert 200 (see Figs. 3 and 28), wherein the insert receptacle fitting section is adapted to be fittingly received in at least a part of the insert receptacle (see Fig. 28).
Regarding claims 15-19: Rejected for substantially the same reasons as claims 2 , 4-5, 7, and 10, respectively.
Regarding claim 20: Itou teaches a set (Fig. 1) comprising: a connector 10 comprising an insert receptacle (at 370; Fig. 13), a terminal insert 200 for an unshielded cable 80, and a further terminal insert 200 for a shielded cable (e.g. connector 10 has two terminal inserts 200 and connect with cables 80 and portions of said cable are shielded by an insulator and some portions are not; see Fig. 3 and 32), the terminal insert 200 includes an insert receptacle fitting section (at 222; Fig. 8) that is adapted to be fittingly received in at least a part of the insert receptacle (see Fig. 28 and Para. 0091), a terminal receptacle 210 that is adapted to fittingly receive at least parts of a cable terminal 80 of the unshielded cable (Fig. 1), and a touch protection section 214 at least at a first end (Fig. 11), wherein the insert receptacle fitting section and the touch protection section are located on one monolithic piece (see Figs. 10-11); the further terminal insert 200 (e.g. other insert 200) includes a shielding part (at 220; Fig. 26) that is configured to be connected to a shielding of the shielded cable (see Fig. 26); and the insert receptacle (at 370; Fig. 13) is configured to receive selectively the terminal insert or the further terminal insert (e.g. the insert receptacle receives one or both terminal inserts 200).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for pertinent prior art, the following references being of closest relevance:
Kanemura (US 2019/0199008) teaches a terminal insert connecting a terminal within and having various portions that mate with the terminal and an exterior connector;
Yoshida (US 2003/0224656) teaches a terminal insert connecting a terminal within and having various portions that mate with the terminal and an exterior connector;
Evans (US 2021/0257786) teaches a terminal insert connecting to two terminals and having portions of varying dimensions;
/OSCAR C JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896