DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boily et al. US 20040149685 A1 in view of Sachs et al. US 20180097295 A1.
In reference to claim 1, Boily teaches contact element (shown in figure 5) comprising:
an electrically conductive carrier body (24 fig. 5) with at least one contact surface for contacting at least one electrical conductor (38, 38’ fig. 5); coating (40, 40’, 28, 28’) made of electrically conductive solid particles distributed over said at least one contact surface.
However Boily does not teach spray coating made of electrically conductive solid particles distributed over said at least one contact surface.
Sachs teaches of spray (see [0018], lines 1-3) coating made of electrically conductive solid particles distributed over said at least one contact surface.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Sachs, as taught by Sachs [0018], lines 7-9, in order to improve how deep the particles penetrate into the contact area and how well they adhere thereto.
In reference to claim 2, Boily teaches contact element according to claim 1, wherein said solid particles (28, 28’) protrude from an oxide layer (42, 42’) which may be present on said carrier body (24) and at the same time contact a non-oxidized region (i.e. the region where 28, 28’ contact 24 and the region where 28, 28’ contact 38, 38’) of said carrier body and of said conductor to be contacted.
In reference to claim 3, Boily teaches contact element according to claim 1, wherein the average particle diameter of said solid particles is larger than the average surface roughness of said at least one contact surface and of said possible oxide layer thickness on said carrier material/component to be connected (see fig. 5, where 28, 28’ is notably larger than the average surface roughness of said at least one contact surface and of said possible oxide layer thickness on said carrier material/component to be connected.).
In reference to claim 4, Boily teaches contact element according to claim 1, wherein said solid particles are configured to be edged (see fig. 5), spattered, and/or spherical.
In reference to claim 5, Boily substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Boily does not teach wherein said solid particles have a greater hardness than said carrier body.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Changing the material of the solid particles so that they have a greater hardness than said carrier body is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material of the solid particles to arrive at the results of claim 5. The solid particles still penetrate the oxide films to make electrical contact with the contacts, therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 7, Boily teaches contact element according to claim 1, wherein said solid particles are distributed uniformly or aperiodically over said at least one contact surface and/or cover less than 10% of the surface of said at least one contact surface.
In reference to claim 8, Boily substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Boily does not teach wherein said spray coating contains a material with an affinity for oxygen.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Changing the material so that the spray coating contains a material with an affinity for oxygen is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material of the spray coating to arrive at the results of claim 8. The spray coating still adheres to the electrical contact surface, therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 9, Boily teaches contact element according to claim 1, wherein said carrier body (24) comprises two contact surfaces pointing away from one another for contacting one electrical conductor each (see fig. 5).
In reference to claim 10, Boily substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Boily does not teach said solid particles consist of one or more of the elements Ti, W, Ru, Cr, W, Fe, Ag, Co, Pt, Ni, Mg or a Cu alloy and are optionally coated.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Changing the material of the solid particles so that the solid particles consist of one or more of the elements Ti, W, Ru, Cr, W, Fe, Ag, Co, Pt, Ni, Mg or a Cu alloy and are optionally coated is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material of the solid particles to arrive at the result of claim 10. The solid particles still pierce the oxide layer and establish electrical connection with the contacts, therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 11, Boily teaches Connection assembly (shown in figure 5) comprising: a contact element (22’; fig. 5) including an electrically conductive carrier body (24) with at least one contact surface for contacting at least one electrical conductor (38) and a coating (40, 40’) made of electrically conductive solid particles (28, 28’) distributed over said at least one contact surface; and at least one electrical conductor (38), wherein said contact element is pressed against said at least one conductor and wherein said solid particles of said coating penetrate at least in part into the material of said at least one conductor.
However Boily does not teach spray coating made of electrically conductive solid particles
distributed over said at least one contact surface.
Sachs teaches of spray (see [0018], lines 1-3]) coating made of electrically conductive solid particles distributed over said at least one contact surface.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Sachs, as taught by Sachs [0018], lines 7-9, in order to improve how deep the particles penetrate into the contact area and how well they adhere thereto.
In reference to claim 12, Boily teaches wherein said solid particles of said coating have such a high strength that said oxide layer present on said at least one conductor is shattered.
However Boily does not teach of a spray coating.
Sachs teaches of a spray coating (see [0018], lines 1-3). Using the teachings of Sachs to arrive at the results of claim 12 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Sachs, as taught by Sachs [0018], lines 7-9, in order to improve how deep the particles penetrate into the contact area and how well they adhere thereto.
In reference to claim 13, Boily substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Boily does not teach wherein the spray coating is applied using a spray medium containing a carrier gas and the solid particles.
Sachs teaches the spray coating is applied using a spray medium containing a carrier gas and the solid particles (see [0018], lines 1-2 teaches of depositing the particles by gas dynamic cold spraying).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Sachs, as taught by Sachs [0018], lines 7-9, in order to improve how deep the particles penetrate into the contact area and how well they adhere thereto.
In reference to claim 14, Boily teaches connection assembly according to claim 11, wherein said solid particles (28, 28’) protrude from an oxide layer (42. 42. 2’) which may be present on said carrier body (24) and at the same time contact a non-oxidized region (i.e. the region where 28, 28’ contact 24 and the region where 28, 28’ contact 38, 38’) of said carrier body and of said conductor to be contacted.
In reference to claim 15, Boily teaches connection assembly according to claim 11, wherein the average particle diameter of said solid particles is larger than the average surface roughness of said at least one contact surface and of said possible oxide layer thickness on said carrier material/component to be connected (see fig. 5, where 28, 28’ is notably larger than the average surface roughness of said at least one contact surface and of said possible oxide layer thickness on said carrier material/component to be connected.).
In reference to claim 16, Boily substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Boily does not teach wherein said solid particles have a greater hardness than said carrier body.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Changing the material of the solid particles so that they have a greater hardness than said carrier body is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material of the solid particles to arrive at the results of claim 16. The solid particles still penetrate the oxide films to make electrical contact with the contacts, therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 17, Boily teaches providing an electrically conductive carrier body with at least one contact surface, electrically conductive solid particles onto said at least one contact surface.
However Boily does not teach spraying electrically conductive solid particles.
Sachs teaches spraying electrically conductive solid particles (see [0018], lines 1-3). Using the teachings of Sachs to modify Boily to arrive at the results of claim 17 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Sachs, as taught by Sachs [0018], lines 7-9, in order to improve how deep the particles penetrate into the contact area and how well they adhere thereto.
In reference to claim 18, Boily teaches method according to claim 13, wherein a spattered (for the purpose of examination, “spattered” understood as something that is scattered over a surface), edged (see fig. 5, where 28, 28’ have edges. Further, 28, 28’ are scattered over the surface of 22’), and/or spherical powder is used as starting material for said electrically conductive solid particles.
In reference to claim 19, Boily substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Boily does not teach wherein the spraying process is carried out using a cold gas spraying method or a plasma spraying method.
Sachs teaches the spraying process is carried out using a cold gas spraying method (see [0018], lines 1-2 teaches of depositing the particles by gas dynamic cold spraying).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Sachs, as taught by Sachs [0018], lines 7-9, in order to improve how deep the particles penetrate into the contact area and how well they adhere thereto.
In reference to claim 20, Boily substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Boily does not teach wherein said solid particles consist of one or more of the elements Ti, W, Ru, Cr, W, Fe, Ag, Co, Pt, Ni, Mg or a Cu alloy and are optionally coated.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Changing the material of the solid particles so that the solid particles consist of one or more of the elements Ti, W, Ru, Cr, W, Fe, Ag, Co, Pt, Ni, Mg or a Cu alloy and are optionally coated is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material of the solid particles to arrive at the result of claim 20. The solid particles still pierce the oxide layer and establish electrical connection with the contacts, therefore new results are not produced.
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boily and Sachs as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of SUENAGA et al. US 20180358712 A1.
In reference to claim 6, Boily substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Boily does not teach wherein said solid particles comprise a core and a coating.
SUENAGA teaches solid particles comprise a core (31; fig. 3A) and a coating (32; fig. 3A).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings SUENAGA to arrive at the results of claim 6. The solid particles will still pierce the oxide layer and establish electrical connection, therefore new results are not produced.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS S CHAMBERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 04/30/2026