CTNF 18/497,082 CTNF 87450 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 6-8, 10, 14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 6 recites the limitation “N temperature control systems” and “the N temperature control systems”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how many temperature control systems the claim requires, i.e., whether the N temperature control systems are in addition to, included within or encompassing the ‘temperature control systems’ recited in claim 1. Claim 7 recites the limitation “the temperature control systems”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation refers to the ‘temperature control systems’ recited in claim 1, the “N temperature control systems” recited in claim 6 or a combination of the above. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 7 recites the limitation “the temperature control systems comprise: a first temperature control system; and a second temperature control system”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how many temperature control systems the claim requires, i.e., whether the first and second temperature control systems are in addition to, included within or encompassing the ‘N temperature control systems’ recited in claim 6. Claim 8 recites the limitation “the N temperature control systems”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how many temperature control systems the claim requires, i.e., whether the N temperature control systems are in addition to, included within or encompassing the ‘temperature control systems’ recited in claim 1. Claim 10 recites the limitation “the temperature control systems”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation refers to the ‘temperature control systems’ recited in claim 1, the “N + 1 temperature control systems” recited in claim 9, the “N temperature control systems” recited in claim 9, the “N + 1 th temperature control systems” recited in claim 9 or a combination of the above. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 10 recites the limitation “the temperature control systems comprise: a first temperature control system; and a second temperature control system”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how many temperature control systems the claim requires, i.e., whether the first and second temperature control systems are in addition to, included within or encompassing the ‘N, N + 1, and/or N + 1 th temperature control systems’ recited in claim 9. Claim 14 recites the limitation “the two temperature control systems”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 16 recites the limitation “the power distribution device”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 16 recites the limitation “temperature control systems configured to control first temperature of the N battery racks” followed by “wherein the temperature control systems are configured to control the first temperatures of two different battery racks of the N battery racks” which appears to be redundant. It is unclear whether the latter limitation recites subject matter that is different from the former limitation. Further, dependent claims 17-20 are rendered indefinite due to their dependency on indefinite claim 16 above. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KR20240008576A, see English machine translation by EPO . Regarding claim 1, KR20240008576A discloses an energy storage system (energy storage system [0001]) comprising: N battery racks, wherein each of the N battery racks comprises a plurality of battery packs, and wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 2 (plurality of battery packs 10 [0073], each battery pack including a plurality of battery cells [0082], Fig. 1-19); and temperature control systems configured to control first temperatures of two battery racks of the N battery racks (cooling module 40 including battery cooling plates 50 [0085]-[0086]). Regarding claim 2, KR20240008576A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. KR20240008576A further discloses a power converter, wherein each of the N battery racks is coupled to the power converter (power converter 32 [0039]). Regarding claim 3, KR20240008576A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. KR20240008576A further discloses the temperature control systems comprise: a first temperature control system; and a second temperature control system (cooling module 40 including battery cooling plates 50 [0085]-[0086]), wherein the N battery racks comprise: a first quantity of the N battery racks; and a second quantity of the N battery racks (plurality of battery packs 10 [0073]), wherein the energy storage system further comprises a temperature control and distribution component coupled between the first temperature control system and the second temperature control system (valves 70a,70b [0104]), wherein when the temperature control and distribution component is in a first working state: the first temperature control system is configured to control a second temperature of the first quantity of the N battery racks; and the second temperature control system is configured to control a third temperature of the second quantity of the N battery racks, wherein the first temperature control system is configured to control the second temperature and the third temperature when the temperature control and distribution component is in a second working state; and wherein the second temperature control system is configured to control the second temperature and the third temperature when the temperature control and distribution component is in a third working state (valves are flow control valves that switch coolant flow [0108]). Regarding claim 4, KR20240008576A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. KR20240008576A further discloses a box, wherein the box comprises a door plate comprising an inner side, wherein the temperature control systems are disposed on the inner side, and wherein the N battery racks are disposed in the box (energy box [0063]-[0066], casing and door [0074]-[0075]). Regarding claim 5, KR20240008576A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. KR20240008576A further discloses a controller coupled to the temperature control systems and the power converter and comprising a wireless connection system (battery manager 34 [0062]-[0064]; wireless [0061]). Regarding claim 6, KR20240008576A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. KR20240008576A further discloses a plurality of power converters and N temperature control systems (power converter [0039]), wherein the N temperature control systems are disposed in a one-to-one correspondence with the N battery racks (battery cooling plates 50 [0085]-[0086]), and wherein each of the N temperature control systems is configured to: control a second temperature of a corresponding battery rack; and control a third temperature of a power converter of the power converters that is coupled to the corresponding battery rack (regulate temperature [0083]-[0084]). Regarding claim 7, KR20240008576A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. KR20240008576A further discloses the temperature control systems comprise: a first temperature control system; and a second temperature control system (battery cooling plates 50 [0085]-[0086]), wherein the N battery racks comprise: a first quantity of the N battery racks; and a second quantity of the N battery racks (plurality of battery packs 10 [0073]), wherein the energy storage system further comprises a temperature control and distribution component coupled between the first temperature control system and the second temperature control system, wherein when the temperature control and distribution component is in a first working state: the first temperature control system is configured to control a fourth temperature of the first quantity of the N battery racks; and the second temperature control system is configured to control a fifth temperature of the second quantity of the N battery racks, wherein the first temperature control system is configured to control the fourth temperature and the fifth temperature when the temperature control and distribution component is in a second working state, and wherein the second temperature control system is configured to control the fourth temperature and the fifth temperature when the temperature control and distribution component is in a third working state (valves are flow control valves that switch coolant flow [0108]; regulate temperature [0083]-[0084]). Regarding claim 8, KR20240008576A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. KR20240008576A further discloses a box, wherein the box comprises a door plate comprising an inner side, wherein the N temperature control systems are disposed on the inner side, and wherein the N battery racks are disposed in the box (energy box [0063]-[0066], casing and door [0074]-[0075]). Regarding claim 9, KR20240008576A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. KR20240008576A further discloses N power converters that are centrally disposed and coupled to the N battery racks (power converter [0039]), wherein the temperature control systems comprise N+1 temperature control systems, wherein N temperature control systems of the N+1 temperature control systems are in a one-to-one correspondence with the N battery racks, wherein each of the N temperature control systems is configured to control a temperature of a corresponding battery rack, and wherein an N+1 th temperature control system of the N+1 temperature control systems is configured to control second temperatures of the N power converters (battery cooling plates 50 [0085]-[0086]; separate controller [0094]; control temperature of the power converter [0084]). Regarding claim 10, KR20240008576A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. KR20240008576A further discloses the temperature control systems comprise: a first temperature control system; and a second temperature control system (battery cooling plates 50 [0085]-[0086]), wherein the N battery racks comprise: a first quantity of the N battery racks; and a second quantity of the N battery racks (plurality of battery packs 10 [0073]), wherein the energy storage system further comprises a temperature control and distribution component coupled between the first temperature control system and the second temperature control system, wherein when the temperature control and distribution component is in a first working state: the first temperature control system is configured to control a third temperature of the first quantity of the N battery racks; and the second temperature control system is configured to control a fourth temperature of the second quantity of the N battery racks, wherein the first temperature control system is configured to control the third temperature and the fourth temperature when the temperature control and distribution component is in a second working state, and wherein the second temperature control system is configured to control the third temperature and the fourth temperature when the temperature control and distribution component is in a third working state (valves are flow control valves that switch coolant flow [0108]; regulate temperature [0083]-[0084]). Regarding claim 11, KR20240008576A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. KR20240008576A further discloses a box, wherein the box comprises a door plate comprising an inner side, wherein the N+1 temperature control systems are disposed on the inner side, and wherein the N battery racks are disposed in the box (energy box [0063]-[0066], casing and door [0074]-[0075]). Regarding claim 12, KR20240008576A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. KR20240008576A further discloses the temperature control systems comprise: a first temperature control system; and a second temperature control system (battery cooling plates 50 [0085]-[0086]), wherein the N battery racks comprise: a first quantity of the N battery racks; and a second quantity of the N battery racks (plurality of battery packs 10 [0073]), wherein the energy storage system further comprises a temperature control and distribution component coupled between the first temperature control system and the second temperature control system, and wherein when the temperature control and distribution component is in a first working state: the first temperature control system is configured to control a second temperature of the first quantity of the N battery racks; and the second temperature control system is configured to control a third temperature of the second quantity of the N battery racks, wherein the first temperature control system is configured to control the second temperature and the third temperature when the temperature control and distribution component is in a second working state, and wherein the second temperature control system is configured to control the second temperature and the third temperature when the temperature control and distribution component is in a third working state (valves are flow control valves that switch coolant flow [0108]; regulate temperature [0083]-[0084]). Regarding claim 13, KR20240008576A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. KR20240008576A further discloses each of the temperature control systems is a liquid cooling system or an air-cooling system (water cooling [0084]-[0085]). Regarding claim 14, KR20240008576A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. KR20240008576A further discloses a box, wherein the box comprises a door plate comprising an inner side, wherein the two temperature control systems are disposed on the inner side, and wherein the N battery racks are disposed in the box (energy box [0063]-[0066], casing and door [0074]-[0075]). Regarding claim 15, KR20240008576A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. KR20240008576A further discloses a box, wherein the N battery racks are disposed in the box; and a rotating support disposed in the box, wherein the temperature control systems are disposed on the rotating support (energy box [0063]-[0066], casing and door [0074]-[0075]). Regarding claim 16, KR20240008576A discloses a power supply system (supply power [0002], Fig. 1-19) comprising: an energy storage system electrically coupled to the power distribution device (energy storage system [0001]) and comprising: N battery racks, wherein each of the N battery racks comprises a plurality of battery packs, and wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 2 (plurality of battery packs 10 [0073], each battery pack including a plurality of battery cells [0082]); and temperature control systems configured to control first temperatures of the N battery racks, wherein the temperature control systems are configured to control the first temperatures of two different battery racks of the N battery racks (cooling module 40 including battery cooling plates 50 [0085]-[0086]); and a power distribution device electrically coupled to the energy storage system and configured to: process electricity in the energy storage system; and distribute the electricity that is processed by the power distribution device (control power distribution [0049]). Regarding claim 17, KR20240008576A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. KR20240008576A further discloses a power converter (power converter 32 [0039]). Regarding claim 18, KR20240008576A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. KR20240008576A further discloses each of the N battery racks is further coupled to the power converter (power converter 32 [0039]). Regarding claim 19, KR20240008576A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. KR20240008576A further discloses the energy storage system further comprises a plurality of power converters (power converter 32 [0039]), wherein a quantity of the temperature control systems is N, wherein N temperature control systems are disposed in a one-to-one correspondence with the N battery racks (battery cooling plates 50 [0085]-[0086]), and wherein each of the N temperature control systems is configured to: control a second temperature of a corresponding battery rack; and control a third temperature of a power converter of the power converters coupled to the corresponding battery rack (valves are flow control valves that switch coolant flow [0108]; regulate temperature [0083]-[0084]). Regarding claim 20, KR20240008576A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. KR20240008576A further discloses the energy storage system further comprises N power converters coupled to the N battery racks and centrally disposed (power converter 32 [0039]), wherein the temperature control systems comprise N+1 temperature control systems, wherein N temperature control systems of the N+1 temperature control systems are in a one-to-one correspondence with the N battery racks, wherein each of the N temperature control systems is configured to control a temperature of a corresponding battery rack (battery cooling plates 50 [0085]-[0086]), and wherein an N+1 th temperature control system of the N+1 temperature control systems is configured to control second temperatures of the N power converters (separate controller [0094]; control temperature of the power converter [0084]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAMES LEE whose telephone number is (571)270-7937. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 9AM - 5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, NICOLE BUIE-HATCHER can be reached at (571)270-3879. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /James Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 6/11/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/497,082 Page 2 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/497,082 Page 3 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/497,082 Page 4 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/497,082 Page 5 Art Unit: 1725