DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communications filed on 10/30/2023.
Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abedini et al. (US 2022/0053486: hereinafter “Abedini”).
With regards to claim 1, Abedini teaches an intelligent signal amplifier operation mode configuration method (see figs. 7-18 and 20 in regards to the disclosed smart/intelligent signal repeater/amplifier. Additionally, the smart repeater of Abedini has various configurations/modes which are set/controlled by the network base station (e.g. see [0120-0122]) and figs. 14+15+20). Moreover, the repeater also performs signal amplification regardless of the configuration (see [0120-0122]). Where the method steps are implemented as functions of the cited hardware of the Abedini reference), comprising (addressed below):
receiving, by an intelligent signal amplifier, operation mode configuration information from a network-side device (figs 7-18 and 20: the repeater receives at least one control signal from the network-side base station (BS) that control the operational mode (and nested parameters) of the repeater as shown by figs. 11+14+15+20 and addressed by [0162], [0120-0122], and [0233-0235].
For example, paragraph [0162] states (with emphasis added):
[0162] At call 1114, the BS 1102 and the repeater device 1104 perform an RU configuration procedure. Here, the BS 1102 may send control information (e.g., control messages) to configure the operation of an RU. For example, the BS 1102 may send configuration information for an RU (e.g., for RU 1104a and/or RU 1104b) of the repeater device 1104 to the MT unit (not shown) of the repeater device 1104. Thus, in some examples, the RU configuration procedure may control the operation of a first RU 1104a (as represented by a line 1116) for DL traffic and control and may control the operation of a second RU 1104b (as represented by a line 1118) for UL traffic. New messages may be defined to configure the RU operation. The new messages may be communicated within an allocated BWP of an MT, for example. The configuration may include, for example, beamforming configurations and TDD configurations (e.g., Rx & Tx (forwarding) beamforming) and/or time-domain resource allocation (e.g., identify the resources used to adopt the indicated configuration or the indicated BF configuration). The configuration may also include TX power configuration. The configuration may also provide for a configurable operating bandwidth (which may utilize RF processing and/or filtering).
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent); and
setting, by the intelligent signal amplifier based on the operation mode configuration information, a target operation mode (figs. 7-18 and 18: where the RU/repeater implements the selected/target operation mode configuration information/parameters (from the plurality of the total possible operation modes) as indicated by the at least one received control information (previously sent from the BS to the repeater); see figs. 11+14+15+20 as well as paragraphs [0162], [0120-0122], and [0233-0235]. The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent);
wherein the operation mode configuration information is used for configuring N operation modes for the intelligent signal amplifier (figs. 7-18 and 18: where figs. 14-17 logically show multiple (i.e. ‘N’) possible operational modes for the RU/repeater. Additionally (when given proper context) figures 15 shows multiple/different TDD configurations (including different TCI states) within the received control information (sent by the BS to the repeater) and figure 17 shows a plurality of changing TDD configurations (including different TCI states over time/slots) as controlled/conveyed/indicated by ‘the at least one received control information (previously sent from the BS to the repeater)’.
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent);
the N operation modes (previously addressed) comprise at least one of the following: frequency-domain operation mode (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to the phrase “at least one of the following”) or time-domain operation mode (previously addressed and/or readily apparent); and
the target operation mode is at least one of the N operation modes (previously addressed and/or readily apparent).
With regards to claim 2, Abedini teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Abedini further teaches wherein one frequency-domain operation mode corresponds to one set of frequency-domain operating subband configuration parameters (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to being directed to the unselected option (see the phrase “at least one of the following” in the parent claim 1)); and
one time-domain operation mode (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) corresponds to one set of operation window configuration parameters (figs. 7-18 and 20: where the start and duration/stop in the time configuration(s) of figs. 14+15 meet the instant limitation(s), which are also concurrently meet by the start and stop/duration lengths of the slots of figure 17 (implementing the control values of figure 15+16a/b)).
With regards to claim 3, Abedini teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Abedini further teaches wherein the setting, by the intelligent signal amplifier based on the operation mode configuration information, a target operation mode (figs. 7-18 and 20: again the instant TDD configuration (including instant TCI state) is mapped to the target operation mode, where the setting (as well as the repeater switching/changing) between operational modes (based on the received ‘operational mode configuration information’ sent from the BS) was previously addressed. Also see figs. 15+17 shows changing TDD operational modes at different time periods (based on the received ‘operational mode configuration information’ sent from the BS).
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent) comprises: activating, deactivating, or switching to, by the intelligent signal amplifier based on the operation mode configuration information, the target operation mode (figs. 7-18 and 20: again the instant TDD configuration (including instant TCI state) is mapped to the target operation mode, where the setting (as well as the repeater switching/changing) between operational modes (based on the received ‘operational mode configuration information’ sent from the BS) was previously addressed. Also see figs. 15+17 shows changing TDD operational modes at different time periods (based on the received ‘operational mode configuration information’ sent from the BS).
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
With regards to claim 4, Abedini teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Abedini further teaches wherein in a case that the operation modes comprise the frequency-domain operation mode (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to being directed to the unselected option (see the phrase “at least one of the following” in the parent claim 1). Where the instant claim/limitations are met by the merits of the rejection of parent claim 1, as addressed above), the operation mode configuration information comprises at least one of the following (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to being directed to the unselected option (see the phrase “at least one of the following” in the parent claim 1). Where the instant claim/limitations are met by the merits of the rejection of parent claim 1, as addressed above):
a start point and an end point of an operating subband corresponding to the frequency-domain operation mode (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to being directed to the unselected option (see the phrase “at least one of the following” in the parent claim 1). Where the instant claim/limitations are met by the merits of the rejection of parent claim 1, as addressed above); or power spectral density, transmit power, or signal amplification multiple of the operating subband (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to being directed to the unselected option (see the phrase “at least one of the following” in the parent claim 1). Where the instant claim/limitations are met by the merits of the rejection of parent claim 1, as addressed above).
With regards to claim 5, Abedini teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Abedini further teaches wherein in a case that the operation mode (previously addressed) comprises the time-domain operation mode (previously addressed), the operation mode configuration information (previously addressed) comprises at least one of the following:
a start point and an end point of an operation window corresponding to the time-domain operation mode (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to the phrase “at least one of the following”);
a length of the operation window (see at least figure 14+15 and 17, where figure 14+15 each include start symbol/time and duration (i.e. length in time) as part of the ‘time configuration’, which are implemented and change between time slots/windows as shown by figure 17); or
a cycle of the operation window (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to the phrase “at least one of the following”); wherein
the start point of the operation window is configured with respect to an offset parameter for a time point (see at least figure 14+15 and 17, where figure 14+15 each include start symbol/time and duration as part of the ‘time configuration’, which are implemented and change between time slots/windows as shown by figure 17).
With regards to claim 6, Abedini teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Abedini further teaches wherein the time-domain operation mode (previously addressed) comprises at least one of the following:
first time-domain operation mode (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to the phrase “at least one of the following”);
discontinuous operation mode (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to the phrase “at least one of the following”); or
composite time-domain operation mode (figs figs. 7-18 and 20 in regards to the disclosed smart/intelligent signal repeater/amplifier. Additionally, the smart repeater of Abedini has various configurations/modes which are set/controlled by the network base station (e.g. see [0120-0122]) and figs. 14+15+20). Moreover, the repeater also performs signal amplification regardless of the configuration (see [0120-0122]. Where the composite time-domain operation mode is a combining/combination of the TDD configuration values shown by at least figure 15 (with different TDD states and different TCI states) and/or also in combination with the selectively configurated (via control information sent by the BS) of Layer-1 (L1), Layer-2 (L2), and mixed L1+L2 repeater operational modes [0120-122]);
wherein the first time-domain operation mode (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to the phrase “at least one of the following” stated earlier/above) satisfies any one of the following: in downlink it is only for amplification or forwarding during a transmit interval of SSB or CSI-RS signal for discovery (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to the phrase “at least one of the following”); and in uplink it is only for amplification or forwarding in a PRACH transmit window (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to the phrase “at least one of the following”);
the composite time-domain operation mode is a time-domain operation mode obtained by combining multiple time-domain operation modes that are configured by the network-side device for the intelligent signal amplifier (figs. 7-18 and 20 in regards to the disclosed smart/intelligent signal repeater/amplifier. Additionally, the smart repeater of Abedini has various configurations/modes which are set/controlled by the network base station (e.g. see [0120-0122]) and figs. 14+15+20). Moreover, the repeater also performs signal amplification regardless of the configuration (see [0120-0122]. Where the composite time-domain operation mode is a combining/combination of the TDD configuration values shown by at least figure 15 (with different TDD states and different TCI states) and/or also in combination with the selectively configurated (via control information sent by the BS) of Layer-1 (L1), Layer-2 (L2), and mixed L1+L2 repeater operational modes [0120-122]); and
each time-domain operation mode (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) comprises at least one operation window (note that each time-domain/TDD operational mode inherently has a finite operational duration/window (in time), e.g. supporting evidence being shown by figs. 15+17).
With regards to claim 7, Abedini teaches the limitations of claim 6 above.
Abedini further teaches wherein an operation window corresponding to the first time-domain operation mode is determined (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to being directed to the unselected option (see the phrase “at least one of the following” in the parent claim 6). Where the instant claim/limitations are met by the merits of the rejection of parent claim 6, as addressed above) based on any one of the following (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to being directed to the unselected option (see the phrase “at least one of the following” in the parent claim 6). Where the instant claim/limitations are met by the merits of the rejection of parent claim 6, as addressed above): a window for forwarding target information that is determined by the intelligent signal amplifier based on the detected target information (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to being directed to the unselected option (see the phrase “at least one of the following” in the parent claim 6). Where the instant claim/limitations are met by the merits of the rejection of parent claim 6, as addressed above); and a PRACH resource window of a cell detected by the intelligent signal amplifier (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to being directed to the unselected option (see the phrase “at least one of the following” in the parent claim 6). Where the instant claim/limitations are met by the merits of the rejection of parent claim 6, as addressed above); wherein the target information comprises at least one of the following: SSB, CSI-RS, PRACH signal, or cell broadcast information (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to being directed to the unselected option (see the phrase “at least one of the following” in the parent claim 6). Where the instant claim/limitations are met by the merits of the rejection of parent claim 6, as addressed above).
With regards to claim 8, Abedini teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Abedini further teaches wherein the setting, by the intelligent signal amplifier based on the operation mode configuration information, a target operation mode (previously addressed) comprises:
receiving, by the intelligent signal amplifier, a target instruction from the network-side device (figs. 7-18 and 20: see figures 15+17(and figs. 16a/b), where the target instructions are mapped to the control information (sent by the BS and received by repeater) shown by figure 16a/b (which specify the Active TCI state values). The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent), wherein the target instruction is used to indicate the intelligent signal amplifier to perform a target operation (figs. 7-18 and 20: see figures 15+17(and figs. 16a/b), where the target instructions are mapped to the control information (sent by the BS and received by repeater) shown by figure 16a/b (which specify the Fronthaul Active TCI state values); which when combined with the received control information of figure 15 implements the ‘target operation’ (i.e. slot based switching TCI/beamforming states) of figure 17 (when combined with the TDD states (and other control information) shown by figure 15).
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent); and
performing, by the intelligent signal amplifier, the target operation based on the target instruction and the operation mode configuration information (figs. 7-18 and 20: see figures 15+17(and figs. 16a/b), where the target instructions are mapped to the control information (sent by the BS and received by repeater) shown by figure 16a/b (which specify the Fronthaul Active TCI state values); which when combined with the received control information of figure 15 implements the ‘target operation’ based on the ‘target instructions’ (i.e. slot based switching TCI/beamforming states) of figure 17 (when combined with the TDD states (and other control information) shown by figure 15).
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent);
wherein the target operation comprises activating, deactivating, or switching to the target operation mode (figs. 7-18 and 20: see figures 15+17(and figs. 16a/b), where the target instructions are mapped to the control information (sent by the BS and received by repeater) shown by figure 16a/b (which specify the Fronthaul Active TCI state values); which when combined with the received control information of figure 15 implements the ‘target operation’ (i.e. slot based switching TCI/beamforming states) of figure 17 (when combined with the TDD states (and other control information) shown by figure 15).
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
With regards to claim 9, Abedini teaches the limitations of claim 3 above.
Abedini further teaches wherein the switching (previously addressed), by the intelligent signal amplifier based on the operation mode configuration information (previously addressed), to the target operation mode (previously addressed) comprises (addressed below):
switching, by the intelligent signal amplifier, to the target operation mode based on bandwidth scheduled by the network-side device and the operation mode configuration information (figs. 7-18 and 20: see paragraph [0162]:
[0162] At call 1114, the BS 1102 and the repeater device 1104 perform an RU configuration procedure. Here, the BS 1102 may send control information (e.g., control messages) to configure the operation of an RU. For example, the BS 1102 may send configuration information for an RU (e.g., for RU 1104a and/or RU 1104b) of the repeater device 1104 to the MT unit (not shown) of the repeater device 1104. Thus, in some examples, the RU configuration procedure may control the operation of a first RU 1104a (as represented by a line 1116) for DL traffic and control and may control the operation of a second RU 1104b (as represented by a line 1118) for UL traffic. New messages may be defined to configure the RU operation. The new messages may be communicated within an allocated BWP [Bandwidth Part] of an MT, for example. The configuration may include, for example, beamforming configurations and TDD configurations (e.g., Rx & Tx (forwarding) beamforming) and/or time-domain resource allocation (e.g., identify the resources used to adopt the indicated configuration or the indicated BF configuration). The configuration may also include TX power configuration. The configuration may also provide for a configurable operating bandwidth (which may utilize RF processing and/or filtering).).
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
With regards to claim 12, Abedini teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Abedini further teaches wherein each operation mode corresponds to a forwarding power configuration parameter (figs. 7-18 and 20, moreover see at least paragraph [0162], which states (with emphasis added):
[0162] At call 1114, the BS 1102 and the repeater device 1104 perform an RU configuration procedure. Here, the BS 1102 may send control information (e.g., control messages) to configure the operation of an RU. For example, the BS 1102 may send configuration information for an RU (e.g., for RU 1104a and/or RU 1104b) of the repeater device 1104 to the MT unit (not shown) of the repeater device 1104. Thus, in some examples, the RU configuration procedure may control the operation of a first RU 1104a (as represented by a line 1116) for DL traffic and control and may control the operation of a second RU 1104b (as represented by a line 1118) for UL traffic. New messages may be defined to configure the RU operation. The new messages may be communicated within an allocated BWP of an MT, for example. The configuration may include, for example, beamforming configurations and TDD configurations (e.g., Rx & Tx (forwarding) beamforming) and/or time-domain resource allocation (e.g., identify the resources used to adopt the indicated configuration or the indicated BF configuration). The configuration may also include TX power configuration. The configuration may also provide for a configurable operating bandwidth (which may utilize RF processing and/or filtering).
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
With regards to claim 13, Abedini teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Abedini further teaches wherein in a case that the operation mode comprises the time-domain operation mode (previously addressed), the method further comprises:
adjusting, by the intelligent signal amplifier, a parameter of an operation window corresponding to the target time-domain operation mode (figs. 7-18 and 20, moreover see at least paragraph [0162], which states (with emphasis added):
[0162] At call 1114, the BS 1102 and the repeater device 1104 perform an RU configuration procedure. Here, the BS 1102 may send control information (e.g., control messages) to configure the operation of an RU. For example, the BS 1102 may send configuration information for an RU (e.g., for RU 1104a and/or RU 1104b) of the repeater device 1104 to the MT unit (not shown) of the repeater device 1104. Thus, in some examples, the RU configuration procedure may control the operation of a first RU 1104a (as represented by a line 1116) for DL traffic and control and may control the operation of a second RU 1104b (as represented by a line 1118) for UL traffic. New messages may be defined to configure the RU operation. The new messages may be communicated within an allocated BWP of an MT, for example. The configuration may include, for example, beamforming configurations and TDD configurations (e.g., Rx & Tx (forwarding) beamforming) and/or time-domain resource allocation (e.g., identify the resources used to adopt the indicated configuration or the indicated BF configuration). The configuration may also include TX power configuration. The configuration may also provide for a configurable operating bandwidth (which may utilize RF processing and/or filtering).
Additionally see figures 14+15 and 17, figures 14+15 each including a ‘time configuration’ with the ‘start symbol and duration’, as implemented by figure 17. Where the claimed ‘operation window’ is mapped to the temporal operation/window length of each configuration of Abedini; and the parameter is any of the allocated/scheduled values.
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
With regards to claim 14, Abedini teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Abedini further teaches wherein the time-domain operation mode and the frequency-domain operation mode are allowed to be configured simultaneously and to be in an active state simultaneously (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to being directed to the unselected option (see the phrase “at least one of the following” in the parent claim 1). Where the instant claim/limitations are met by the merits of the rejection of parent claim 1, as addressed above).
With regards to claim 15, Abedini teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Abedini further teaches wherein the operation mode configuration information is activated or deactivated by the network-side device through system information (figs. 7-18 and 20: see [0184-0185] where the operation mode configuration information (for the repeater) is stated to be activated using MAC-CE signaling),
RRC signaling (NOT given patentable weight due to the “OR” statement), MAC signaling (previously addressed), or PHY signaling (NOT given patentable weight due to the “OR” statement);
wherein the PHY signaling is a PDCCH order (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to being directed to the unselected option (see the “OR” statement above)), the PDCCH order is used to define a target RNTI (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to being directed to the unselected option (see the “OR” statement above)), and the target RNTI is used to activate or deactivate the operation mode configuration information (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to being directed to the unselected option (see the “OR” statement above)).
With regards to claim 16, Abedini teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Abedini further teaches wherein the operation mode configuration information is at least used to configure an operation mode of a radio frequency unit for signal forwarding in the intelligent signal amplifier (figs. 7-18 and 20, moreover see at least paragraph [0162], which states (with emphasis added):
[0162] At call 1114, the BS 1102 and the repeater device 1104 perform an RU configuration procedure. Here, the BS 1102 may send control information (e.g., control messages) to configure the operation of an RU. For example, the BS 1102 may send configuration information for an RU (e.g., for RU 1104a and/or RU 1104b) of the repeater device 1104 to the MT unit (not shown) of the repeater device 1104. Thus, in some examples, the RU configuration procedure may control the operation of a first RU 1104a (as represented by a line 1116) for DL traffic and control and may control the operation of a second RU 1104b (as represented by a line 1118) for UL traffic. New messages may be defined to configure the RU operation. The new messages may be communicated within an allocated BWP of an MT, for example. The configuration may include, for example, beamforming configurations and TDD configurations (e.g., Rx & Tx (forwarding) beamforming) and/or time-domain resource allocation (e.g., identify the resources used to adopt the indicated configuration or the indicated BF configuration). The configuration may also include TX power configuration. The configuration may also provide for a configurable operating bandwidth (which may utilize RF processing and/or filtering).
Additionally, see [0120-0122] which address signal amplification and RF forwarding operational states of the repeater as configurated/controlled by the network side BS. Furthermore, the repeater of figure 18 includes RF transceiver 1810 and antenna array 1820.
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
With regards to claim 17, Abedini teaches an intelligent signal amplifier operation mode configuration method (see figs. 7-18 and 20-22 in regards to the disclosed smart/intelligent signal repeater/amplifier as well as the network side Base Station (BS). Additionally, the smart repeater of Abedini has various configurations/modes which are set/controlled by the network base station (e.g. see [0120-0122]) and figs. 14+15+20). Moreover, the repeater also performs signal amplification regardless of the configuration (see [0120-0122]). Where the method steps are implemented as functions of the cited hardware of the Abedini reference), wherein the method (previously addressed) comprises (addressed below):
sending, by a network-side device, operation mode configuration information to an intelligent signal amplifier (figs 7-18 and 20: the repeater receives at least one control signal from the network-side base station (BS) that control the operational mode (and nested parameters) of the repeater as shown by figs. 11+14+15+20+22 and addressed by [0162], [0120-0122], and [0233-0235].
For example, paragraph [0162] states (with emphasis added):
[0162] At call 1114, the BS 1102 and the repeater device 1104 perform an RU configuration procedure. Here, the BS 1102 may send control information (e.g., control messages) to configure the operation of an RU. For example, the BS 1102 may send configuration information for an RU (e.g., for RU 1104a and/or RU 1104b) of the repeater device 1104 to the MT unit (not shown) of the repeater device 1104. Thus, in some examples, the RU configuration procedure may control the operation of a first RU 1104a (as represented by a line 1116) for DL traffic and control and may control the operation of a second RU 1104b (as represented by a line 1118) for UL traffic. New messages may be defined to configure the RU operation. The new messages may be communicated within an allocated BWP of an MT, for example. The configuration may include, for example, beamforming configurations and TDD configurations (e.g., Rx & Tx (forwarding) beamforming) and/or time-domain resource allocation (e.g., identify the resources used to adopt the indicated configuration or the indicated BF configuration). The configuration may also include TX power configuration. The configuration may also provide for a configurable operating bandwidth (which may utilize RF processing and/or filtering).
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent);
wherein the operation mode configuration information is used for configuring N operation modes for the intelligent signal amplifier (figs. 7-18 and 18+20+22: where figs. 14-17 logically show multiple (i.e. ‘N’) possible operational modes for the RU/repeater. Additionally (when given proper context) figures 15 shows multiple/different TDD configurations (including different TCI states) within the received control information (sent by the BS to the repeater) and figure 17 shows a plurality of changing TDD configurations (including different TCI states over time/slots) as controlled/conveyed/indicated by ‘the at least one received control information (previously sent from the BS to the repeater)’.
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent);
the N operation modes (previously addressed) comprise at least one of the following: frequency-domain operation mode (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to the phrase “at least one of the following”) or time-domain operation mode (previously addressed and/or readily apparent); and
a target operation mode is at least one of the N operation modes (figs. 7-18 and 20-22: see at least figs. 14+15+17, where multiple TDD modes (including TCI states) are configured by the control information (sent by the BS to the repeater) and one of the implemented (at the given/current time instant) is mapped to the ‘target operation mode’. The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
With regards to claim 18, Abedini teaches an intelligent signal amplifier (see figs. 7-18 and 20 in regards to the disclosed smart/intelligent signal repeater/amplifier. Additionally, the smart repeater of Abedini has various configurations/modes which are set/controlled by the network base station (e.g. see [0120-0122]) and figs. 14+15+20). Moreover, the repeater also performs signal amplification regardless of the configuration (see [0120-0122]). Where figure 18 shows an example of the smart repeater of the Abedini reference), comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor (figs. 7-18 and 20: where figure 18 shows the example of the smart repeater that includes at least one processor and memory which stores software/program instruction that when executed by the at least one processor controls the hardware of Abedini to implement the steps/functions according the invention of Abedini, also see [0203-0214]), wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor (previously addressed), following steps are implemented (addressed below):
receiving operation mode configuration information from a network-side device (figs 7-18 and 20: the repeater receives at least one control signal from the network-side base station (BS) that control the operational mode (and nested parameters) of the repeater as shown by figs. 11+14+15+20 and addressed by [0162], [0120-0122], and [0233-0235].
For example, paragraph [0162] states (with emphasis added):
[0162] At call 1114, the BS 1102 and the repeater device 1104 perform an RU configuration procedure. Here, the BS 1102 may send control information (e.g., control messages) to configure the operation of an RU. For example, the BS 1102 may send configuration information for an RU (e.g., for RU 1104a and/or RU 1104b) of the repeater device 1104 to the MT unit (not shown) of the repeater device 1104. Thus, in some examples, the RU configuration procedure may control the operation of a first RU 1104a (as represented by a line 1116) for DL traffic and control and may control the operation of a second RU 1104b (as represented by a line 1118) for UL traffic. New messages may be defined to configure the RU operation. The new messages may be communicated within an allocated BWP of an MT, for example. The configuration may include, for example, beamforming configurations and TDD configurations (e.g., Rx & Tx (forwarding) beamforming) and/or time-domain resource allocation (e.g., identify the resources used to adopt the indicated configuration or the indicated BF configuration). The configuration may also include TX power configuration. The configuration may also provide for a configurable operating bandwidth (which may utilize RF processing and/or filtering).
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent); and
setting, based on the operation mode configuration information, a target operation mode (figs. 7-18 and 18: where the RU/repeater implements the selected/target operation mode configuration information/parameters (from the plurality of the total possible operation modes) as indicated by the at least one received control information (previously sent from the BS to the repeater); see figs. 11+14+15+20 as well as paragraphs [0162], [0120-0122], and [0233-0235]. The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent);
wherein the operation mode configuration information is used for configuring N operation modes for the intelligent signal amplifier (figs. 7-18 and 18: where figs. 14-17 logically show multiple (i.e. ‘N’) possible operational modes for the RU/repeater. Additionally (when given proper context) figures 15 shows multiple/different TDD configurations (including different TCI states) within the received control information (sent by the BS to the repeater) and figure 17 shows a plurality of changing TDD configurations (including different TCI states over time/slots) as controlled/conveyed/indicated by ‘the at least one received control information (previously sent from the BS to the repeater)’.
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent);
the N operation modes (previously addressed) comprise at least one of the following: frequency-domain operation mode (This limitation is NOT given patentable weight due to the phrase “at least one of the following”) or time-domain operation mode (previously addressed and/or readily apparent); and
the target operation mode is at least one of the N operation modes (previously addressed and/or readily apparent).
With regards to claim 19, Abedini teaches the limitations of claim 17 (see above).
Abedini further teaches a network-side device (e figs. 7-18 and 20-22 in regards to the disclosed smart/intelligent signal repeater/amplifier as well as the network side Base Station (BS). Where an example of the network-side BS is shown in figure 21), comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor (figs. 7-18 and 20: where figure 21 shows the example of the smart repeater that includes at least one processor and memory which stores software/program instruction that when executed by the at least one processor controls the hardware of Abedini to implement the steps/functions according the invention of Abedini, also see [0247-0254]), wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor (previously addressed), the steps of the intelligent signal amplifier operation mode configuration method according to claim 17 are implemented (previously addressed in the rejection of claim 17 (see above)).
With regards to claim 20, Abedini teaches the limitations of claim 1 (see above).
Abedini further teaches a non-transitory readable storage medium (figs. 7-18 and 20: where figure 18 shows the example of the smart repeater that includes at least one processor and memory (i.e. non-transitory computer readable storage medium) which stores software/program instruction that when executed by the at least one processor controls the hardware of Abedini to implement the steps/functions according the invention of Abedini, also see [0203-0214]), wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or instructions (previously addressed), and when the program or instructions are executed by a processor (previously addressed), the steps of the intelligent signal amplifier operation mode configuration method according to claim 1 are implemented (previously addressed in the rejection of claim 1 (see above)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and all intervening claims; for example, the limitations of instant claims 10+9+3+1 being combined and rewritten into independent form.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and are cited in the attached PTO-892 form.
/JAMES M PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635 2/7/2026