DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, 11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by document CN 106559177A, English translation also provided by the examiner).
As to claim 1, document CN 106559177A discloses a method comprising: transmitting an initial charging frame, the initial charging frame comprising a payload for charging (see “query frame” in paragraphs [0010], [0039]; see also paragraph [0028] which discloses a RF energy provider for wireless charging a sensor); detecting a Backscatter Device (BKD) in response to transmitting the initial charging frame (see paragraphs [0004], [0010], and [0011]); determining a new payload for a new charging frame to charge the BKD (see paragraph [0040] which discloses “as well as the frame payload length”); and transmitting the new charging frame to charge to the BKD (see paragraph [0040]; see also paragraph [0043] which discloses “The sensor node calculates the charging time”).
As to claims 4, 11, document CN 106559177A discloses modulating the new payload (see at least paragraph [0004] which discloses “backscatter modulation technology”).
As to claims 7, 14, document CN 106559177A discloses detecting one or more additional BKDs (see paragraphs [0010], [0011], [0038], [0039]); and assigning segments for encoding data to the BKD and the one or more BKDs. See at least paragraphs [0002], [0028].
As to claim 8, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, 15-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over document CN 106559177A.
As to claims 2, 9, 16, the document CN 106559177A fails to disclose one or both of the initial charging frame and the new charging frame, comprises any one of: (i) a Legacy Short Training Field (L-STF); (ii) a Legacy Long Training Field (L-LTF); (iii) a Legacy Signal Field (L-SIG); (iv) a Charge Signal Field (C-SIG) operable to enable communication with the BKD; (v) a Frame Check Sequence (FCS); or (vi) any combination of (i)-(v). Those skilled in the art would recognize that these claimed limitations do not involve any inventive concept. They merely depend on arbitrary charging frames to be used. The specification of the instant application fails to disclose any unexpected results obtained from using such frames. In addition, the examiner takes Official Notice that such frames are known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the document CN 106559177A as claimed, in order to yield predictable results such as improving charging rate of the sensor.
As to claim 15, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above. Document CN 106559177A fails to disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores a set of instructions as claimed. The examiner, however, takes Official Notice that such a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores a set of instructions is known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the document CN 106559177A as claimed, in order to yield predictable results such as reducing the weight, size, and implementing cost of the transmitting device.
As to claim 17, document CN 106559177A discloses modulating the new payload (see at least paragraph [0004] which discloses “backscatter modulation technology”).
As to claim 20, document CN 106559177A discloses detecting one or more additional BKDs (see paragraphs [0010], [0011], [0038], [0039]); and assigning segments for encoding data to the BKD and the one or more BKDs. See at least paragraphs [0002], [0028].
Claims 5, 12, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over document CN 106559177A in view of Hoss (US 2023/0057092).
As to claims 5, 12, 18, document CN 106559177A fails to disclose receiving feedback from the BKD; in response to the feedback, generating an additional charging frame, comprising: when the new charging frame was not effective to charge the BKD, structuring the additional charging frame to have one or both of a longer duration and increased power compared to the new charging frame, and when the new charging frame was above a power threshold, structuring the additional charging frame to have one or both of a shorter duration and a reduced power compared to the new charging frame; and transmitting the additional charging frame. Hoss discloses receiving feedback from a BKD; in response to the feedback, generating an additional charging frame, comprising: when the new charging frame was not effective to charge the BKD, structuring the additional charging frame to have one or both of a longer duration and increased power compared to the new charging frame, and when the new charging frame was above a power threshold, structuring the additional charging frame to have one or both of a shorter duration and a reduced power compared to the new charging frame; and transmitting the additional charging frame. See paragraph [0264]. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Hoss to document CN 106559177A, in order to ensure that the sensor is charged up to a certain power.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 10, 13, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claims 3, 10, the prior art of record fail to disclose setting a field of one or both of an initial charging frame L-SIG and a new charging frame L-SIG to indicate one or both of the initial charging frame and the new charging frame can used for charging.
As to claims 6, 13, 19, the prior art of record fail to disclose coordinating with an additional transmitting device to charge the BKD, wherein the coordinating comprises: sending a charging assistance request to the additional transmitting device; receiving a charging assistance response accepting the charging assistance request from the additional transmitting device; and sending a trigger frame to the additional transmitting device to jointly transmit additional charging frames with the additional transmitting device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang (US 2022/0263351); Melgar (US 2019/0052113); Riehl (EP 3118633 A1); Gupta (US 2023/0254886) disclose wireless charging.
/NGUYEN T VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646