DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges the response filed 12/17/2025. Claims 1-2 and 4-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re Clm 7: This claim recites “wherein a back end of the first connecting apparatus is secured within at least one of a plurality of corner posts”. Firstly, Examiner notes that “a first back end” is set forth in claim 1 and it is unclear as to whether the recitation of “a back end” in claim 7 is referring to this already set froth back end or some other back end structure of the first connecting apparatus. Secondly, claim 1 previously claims that the first connecting apparatus is positioned within an inner channel of a first post of a fence structure, where claim 7 recites that the first connecting apparatus is secured within at least one of a plurality of corner posts. It is unclear as to how the first connecting apparatus can be positioned within two separate posts. Claim 7 is therefore indefinite for the above reasons.
Re Clm 19: This claim recites “the plurality of corner posts”. Examiner notes that there is now a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation, as claim 15 was amended to remove the limitation of a plurality of corner posts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 202012103687, hereafter ‘687.
Re Clm 1: ‘687 discloses (figs 1-14) a system comprising: a board (any middle board 3) configured at an initial position; a first connecting apparatus (5 with 6) positioned at one end of the board, wherein the first connecting apparatus includes a first front end (6) that is configured to be positioned within an opening of the board (6 is located within an opening in the end of the board), and a first back end (5) configured to be positioned within an inner channel of a first post of a fence structure (see figs); a second connecting apparatus (5 and 6 on opposite side of board 3) positioned at a second another end of the board, wherein the second connecting apparatus includes a second front end configured to be positioned within another a second opening of the board, and a second back bottom end configured to be positioned within an inner channel of a second post of the fence structure all similar to first connecting apparatus); and wherein the first post further comprises a first pair of ribs protruding from an inner surface of the inner channel of the first post inwardly directed ribs at recess of post), wherein the first connecting apparatus is positioned behind the pair of ribs within the inner channel of the first post (fig 14).
Re Clm 5: ‘687 discloses wherein the board is positioned horizontally within the fence structure (fig 1).
Re Clm 6: ‘687 discloses wherein the first connecting apparatus is a board cleat apparatus (see figs).
Re Clm 7 (as best understood): ‘687 discloses wherein a back end of the first connecting apparatus is secured within at least one of a plurality of corner posts.
Re Clm 15: ‘687 discloses a method comprising: configuring a board (3) at an initial position (see figs); positioning a first connecting apparatus (5 with 6) at one end of the board (for example, left side of board), wherein the first connecting apparatus includes a first front end (6) configured to be positioned within an opening of the board, and a first back end (5) configured to be positioned within an inner channel of a first post of a fence structure (see figs); configuring a second connecting apparatus (5 with 6 at right side of board) at another a second end of the board, wherein the second connecting apparatus includes a front end configured to be positioned within another a second opening of the board, and a second back end configured to be positioned within an inner channel of a second post of the fence structure; positioning a plurality of corner posts (2) the first post (left post) and the second post (right post) to receive the first connecting apparatus and the second connecting apparatus, respectively; and wherein the first post further comprises a first pair of ribs (inwardly protruding ribs at entrance to post recess) protruding from an inner surface of the inner channel of the first post, wherein the first connecting apparatus is positioned at a depth greater than the depth of the pair of ribs within the inner channel of the first post (see fig 14).
Re Clm 16: ‘687 discloses wherein the second connecting apparatus is configured in a position opposite to the first connecting apparatus to be received in the second end of the board (see figs 1 and 2).
Re Clm 17: ‘687 discloses positioning the second connecting apparatus into the second post (see figs 1, 2, and 14).
Re Clm 18: ‘687 discloses wherein the first connecting apparatus is positioned behind the first pair of ribs within the first post (fig 14).
Re Clm 19 (as best understood): ‘687 discloses positioning one or more additional boards within the plurality of corner posts (fig 1).
Re Clm 20: ‘687 discloses positioning a top rail (top board 3) over the board after the board is configured within the first post and second post (fig 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202012103687, hereafter ‘687, in view of Volin (US 10301842).
Re Clms 4 and 13: ‘717 discloses a plurality of additional boards (bottom two boards 30), but is silent on the material of the board(s).
Volin discloses a similar board and post system, wherein the boards are made of aluminum (bottom col 10). This is taught for the well-known purpose of providing a durable, corrosion-free, rot-proof, and heat resistant, material alternative. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided the boards of ‘687, to be made of aluminum, as taught by Volin with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing a durable, corrosion-free, rot-proof, and heat resistant, material alternative.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 are allowed. Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance / allowable subject matter:
Examiner notes that the prior art fails to disclose of otherwise be combinable to suggest wherein the board is received by a second pair/set of ribs protruding from the inner surface of the inner channel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN P MASINICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678