DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (Claims 1-13), Species A1 (an oxide of zinc and titanium), and Species B1 (a silane coupling agent having an epoxy group), in the reply filed on 9/10/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “since claims 1-17 [allegedly] belong to the same field of search, there is allegedly no serious examination and search burden on the Examiner to consider all claims in the same field” and that “[a]ccording to MPEP 803, if the search and examination of an entire application can be made without a serious burden, the Examiner must examine it on the merits, even though it includes claims to independent or distinct inventions,” arguing that “[s]ince each of the species have substantially overlapping search and examination issues, the Examiner is [allegedly] necessarily searching all of them when conducting a search for the elected species” and that “the additional species identified by the Examiner could efficiently be examined in this application along with the elected invention without undue burden on the Examiner or the USPTO” (see pages 2-3 of the response filed 9/10/2026). This is not found persuasive because a coated light-emitting device does not belong to the same field of search as a curable coating material, and each of the species are chemically distinct with different classifications in the art, and hence, contrary to Applicant’s arguments, there would be a serious search and/or examination burden as discussed in detail in the prior office action.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5 and 12-17 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species or invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “long carbon chain” in claims 8 and 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “long carbon chain” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Hence, it is unclear as to how long the “long carbon chain” is or how many carbon atoms constitute a “long carbon chain” or order to meet the claimed “long carbon chain” limitation, e.g., 4 carbons, 8 carbons, 10 carbons, 20 carbons, etc.? Further, each of claims 8 and 10 also recites “a viscosity of less than 1000 cP at 25°C,” however, given that viscosity is a “relative” property dependent upon the testing conditions and/or measurement apparatus utilized to determine or measure said viscosity, wherein even standard ASTM D1084 referenced in the examples of the present specification includes four different testing methods that may provide different results, one having ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the claimed invention and could not interpret the metes and bounds of the claim so as to understand how to avoid infringement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Someya (US2018/0334586A1) taken alone or in further view of Chen (US2023/0170450A1, corresponds to TWI802109B on IDS dated 10/30/2023). Someya teaches a curable composition capable of forming a cured product having high refractive index, such as a refractive index of 1.70 or more, and excellent bending resistance useful for providing a transparent coating film or cured film for a display panel, wherein the curable composition comprises (A) a curable compound, (B) a metal oxide comprising a capping agent covalently bonded to surface of the metal oxide, and (C) a curing agent (Abstract, Paragraph 0185, Claim 1). Someya teaches that the curable compound includes, as a main skeleton, a fused ring in which three or more rings including an aromatic ring are fused, such as a compound represented by formula (a1) that includes functional groups such as glycidyl groups, with specific examples thereof recited in Paragraph 0034 and on pp. 5-17 including epoxy group-containing fluorene compounds having two epoxy groups reading upon the claimed non-silicon multi-epoxy compound (Abstract, Paragraphs 0009, 0027-0029, 0034, pp. 5-17). Someya teaches that the curable compound (A) may contain a cationic polymerizable compound other than the compound represented by formula (a1), wherein the amount of compound represented by formula (a1) in the curable compound (A) is preferably 50% by mass or more, with examples of the cationic polymerizable compound other than the compound represented by formula (a1) including an epoxy compound having an epoxy group (Paragraphs 0036-0037), particularly a difunctional epoxy resin such as a bisphenol A type epoxy resin as recited in Paragraph 0040 (reading upon the claimed non-silicon multi-epoxy compound including a benzene ring as in instant claim 8, and particularly as in instant claim 9, fourth structure), a biphenyl type epoxy resin (reading upon the claimed non-silicon multi-epoxy compound including a benzene ring as in instant claim 8, and particularly as in instant claim 9, third structure), and a polyfunctional alicyclic epoxy compound having an alicyclic epoxy group from the standpoint of providing a cured product having excellent transparency (Paragraph 0042) such as the alicyclic epoxy compounds recited in Paragraph 0043, a compound represented by formula (a1-1) such as a compound of formula (a1-1c) shown in Paragraph 0055 (reading upon the claimed non-silicon multi-epoxy compound including a cyclic structure as in instant claim 8, and particularly as in instant claim 9, second structure), or a nitrogen-containing compound represented by formula (a1-I) as shown Paragraph 0060 with specific examples thereof shown in Paragraph 0065 (also reading upon the claimed non-silicon multi-epoxy compound, and particularly the claimed non-silicon multi-epoxy compound including a cyclic structure as in instant claim 8). Someya teaches that a siloxane compound having two or more glycidyl groups in the molecule may also be used in combination with the compound represented by the formula (a1-I), wherein the siloxane compound includes a siloxane skeleton composed of a siloxane bond (Si-O-Si) that may be a cyclic siloxane skeleton such as represented by formula (a1-III), or a cage or ladder type polysilsesquioxane skeleton (Paragraph 0067), and that the curable composition may contain, in addition to the siloxane compound represented by formula (a1-III), compounds including a siloxane skeleton such as an alicyclic epoxy group-containing silicon resin, particularly as mentioned in JP2008-248169 (reading upon the claimed silicon-containing multi-epoxy compound having a benzene ring or cyclic structure as in instant claim 10, and particularly as in instant claim 11, last structure; Paragraphs 0066-0074).
Someya teaches that there is no particular limitation on the contents of the curable compound (A) and the metal oxide (B) in the curable composition as long as the object of the invention is not impaired (Paragraphs 0081 and 0093), with a preferred content of (A) being 3% by mass or more and 95% by mass or less, particularly preferably 20% by mass or more and 80% by mass or less, based on the mass of the entire components excluding the solvent, and a ratio of the curable compound (A) to the metal oxide (B) being typically 1:99 to 95:5, more preferably 10:90 to 85:15, and particularly preferably 30:70 to 80:20 (Paragraph 0093). Someya also teaches that there is no particular limitation on types of the metal oxide (B), which contributes to the achievement of higher refractive index of the cured product of the curable composition, wherein fine particles made of metal oxide, having an average particle diameter of preferably 50 nm or less and 1 nm or more (overlapping and hence rendering obvious the core diameter as recited in instant claim 3), may be fine particles made of a metal oxide alone, or fine particles made of metal oxide of two or more types thereof, and that the curable composition may contain a combination of the metal oxide (B) of two or more types thereof, wherein “[p]referred examples of the metal oxide constituting fine particles of the metal oxide (B) include zinc oxide (ZnO), yttrium oxide (Y2O3), hafnium oxide (HfO2), zirconium oxide (ZrO2), and the like” (Paragraphs 0082-0085). Someya teaches that the amount of the capping agent to be covalently bonded to the surface of the metal oxide (B) via hydroxyl groups existing on the surface of the metal oxide (B) is not particularly limited, and is preferably enough to react with almost all of the hydroxyl groups of the surface of the metal oxide (B) (Paragraphs 0086 and 0091), wherein examples of the reactive group possessed by the capping agent that reacts with the hydroxyl groups of the metal oxide (B) include a trialkoxysilyl group and a dialkoxysilyl group (Paragraphs 0086-0087, thus rendering obvious the weight ratio as recited in instant claim 2), and groups to be bonded to the reactive group of the capping agent include an alkyl group or cycloalkyl group that may be substituted with substituents such as an epoxy-group containing group such as a 3-glycidoxypropyl group (Paragraphs 0088-0089). Someya specifically teaches that suitable specific capping agents to be covalently bonded via the hydroxyl groups on the surface of the metal oxide (B) include alkoxysilanes such as 3-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane and 3-glycidoxypropyltriethoxysilane (Paragraphs 0086 and 0090, reading upon the claimed silane coupling agent having an epoxy group as in instant claim 1, and particularly as in instant claim 4).
Hence, with respect to the claimed invention, Someya clearly and/or suggests teaches a coating material comprising a modified particle including a core of a metal oxide such as zinc oxide or a mixed metal oxide, and a silane coupling agent having an epoxy group grafted onto a surface of the core; and a reactive compound including a non-silicon multi-epoxy compound and a silicon-containing multi-epoxy compound given that it is prima facie obviousness to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the only difference between the teachings of Someya and the claimed invention as recited in instant claim 1 is that Someya does not teach that the metal oxide (B) that contributes to the achievement of higher refractive index of the cured product and that as noted above may be a mixed metal oxide of two or more types, is an oxide of zinc and titanium in a weight ratio of 1:0.4 to 1:0.9 as instantly claimed. However, it is first noted that titanium oxide (TiO2) is an obvious species of a high-refractive-index metal oxide in the art similar to the zinc oxide taught by Someya, with a refractive index known to be about the same or slightly higher than ZnO such that given the “and the like” recitation of Someya with respect to the metal oxide and that Someya clearly teaches that the metal oxide may be a mixture of two or more types thereof, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an oxide of zinc and titanium as the mixed metal oxide in the invention taught by Someya given that it is prima facie obviousness to simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, and given that a 1:1 molar ratio for the mixed metal oxide would have been obvious to one skilled in the art and would provide a weight ratio of Zn:Ti falling within the claimed range (e.g., ~1:0.73), the Examiner takes the position that absent any clear showing of criticality and/or unexpected results, the claimed invention as recited in instant claim 1 as well as instant claims 2-4 would have been obvious over the teachings of Someya, particularly given that one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize routine experimentation to determine the optimum metal oxides and ratios thereof to provide the desired refractive index for a particular end use.
Alternatively, Chen teaches a composite material comprising a core particle and a silane coupling agent including an epoxy group, such as (3-glycidyloxypropyl)trimethoxysilane (e.g., as in Someya and instant claim 4), grafted onto the surface of the core particle (e.g., as in Someya), wherein the core particle includes an oxide of zinc and titanium with a weight ratio of the zinc and titanium being 1:0.4 to 1:0.9 (Abstract, Paragraph 0017; as in instant claim 1), has an average diameter of 10 nm to 80 nm (Paragraph 0015, as in instant claim 3 and overlapping the range taught by Someya), and is provided in an amount with respect to the silane coupling agent so that the total weight of the zinc and titanium and the total weight of the silane coupling agent have a ratio of 1:0.1 to 1:3 (as in instant claim 2) and so that a film can be formed with sufficiently high refractive index (Paragraph 0013, e.g., as in Someya), particularly a refractive index of 1.7 to 2.5 (Paragraph 0018, e.g., as in Someya). Chen teaches that the composite material may react with a crosslinker to form a film that can be used to cover a light-emitting element of a light-emitting device and/or provide a protective film that has high light transmittance (e.g., similar to the end use taught by Someya), and that combines the advantages of an organic material, e.g., flexibility, with the advantages of an inorganic material, e.g., high refractive index (Paragraphs 0003, 0018-0020), e.g., similar to the teachings of Someya, wherein Chen further teaches that “[t]hrough designing the composite material and modifying the surface functional groups, the refractive index can be tuned and the high light-transmittance can be kept” (Paragraph 0021). Hence, given that Someya is also directed to utilizing a silane-grafted inorganic metal oxide or mixed metal oxide in a protective film to achieve a higher refractive index of the cured product or film produced from the curable composition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the mixed Zn/Ti oxide composite material taught by Chen as the silane-capped metal oxide (B) in the invention taught by Someya, given that it is prima facie obviousness to simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results and/or prima facie obviousness to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, thereby rendering instant claim 1 as well as instant claims 2-4 (the limitations of which are discussed in detail above) obvious over the teachings of Someya in view of Chen.
With respect to instant claim 6, as discussed above, Someya teaches that the curable composition comprises the curable compound (A) and the metal oxide (B) in a weight ratio of typically 1:99 to 95:5, encompassing the claimed range as recited in instant claim 6, more preferably 10:90 to 85:15, and particularly preferably 30:70 to 80:20, overlapping the claimed range, and hence, absent any clear showing of criticality and/or unexpected results, the claimed invention as recited in instant claim 6 would have been obvious over the teachings of Someya taken alone or in view of Chen.
With respect to instant claims 7-11, as discussed in detail above, Someya provides a clear teaching and/or suggestion of utilizing a combination of non-silicon multi-epoxy compounds as well as silicon-containing multi-epoxy compounds, including those as recited in instant claims 9 and 11, respectively, and/or particularly multi-epoxy compounds that include a benzene ring or cyclic structure as in instant claims 8 and 10 that based upon the suitable examples taught by Someya including those reading upon instant claims 9 and 11 may have a viscosity as recited in instant claims 8 and 10, and hence, instant claims 8-11 would have been obvious over the teachings of Someya taken alone or in view of Chen, given that it is prima facie obviousness to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. Further, given that Someya does not limit the weight ratio of non-silicon multi-epoxy compound(s) and silicon-containing multi-epoxy compound(s) such that one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to utilize routine experimentation to determine the optimum content of the siloxane epoxy compound to include in the curable composition based upon the desired film properties and intended end use of the film taught by Someya as is typical in the art, the Examiner takes the position that absent any clear showing of criticality and/or unexpected results, the claimed invention as recited in instant claim 7 would also have been obvious over the teachings of Someya taken alone or in view of Chen, especially given that a 1:1 ratio is an obvious mixing ratio of two epoxy components in the art.
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cherkaoui (US2013/0203882A1) teaches a curable composition suitable for forming a cured layer with good mechanical properties and that are highly light transmitting while also being highly opaque, comprising: A) at least one organosiloxane component A of formula (I) having cationically polymerizable end group(s) such as cycloaliphatic epoxy groups, preferably bis[2-(3,4-epoxycyclohexyl)ethyl] tetramethyldisiloxane; B) at least one second organosiloxane component B of formula (II) which has a longer siloxane backbone than component A and cationically polymerizable end group(s) that are preferably cycloaliphatic epoxy groups, particularly epoxycyclohexylethyl terminated polydimethylsiloxanes; C) at least one epoxy and/or oxetane component C without siloxane groups, such as a diglycidyl ether of bisphenol A or bis(epoxycyclohexyl)methylcarboxylate; D) at least one cationic photoinitiator; and optionally fillers and other additional ingredients, wherein C) is present in a content of 1-40% by weight of the total weight of the composition, with each of A) and B) individually present in a content of 15-75% by weight. Moon (US2015/0069457A1) teaches an epoxy resin composition with Ti/Si oxide particles wherein the epoxy resin comprises a triazine derivative epoxy compound and a siloxane compound containing an alicyclic epoxy group and a siloxane, and may further comprises other epoxy resin such as a diglycidyl ether of bisphenol A.
/MONIQUE R JACKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787