DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the at least one threaded member" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang US 2020/0039041.
Huang discloses a dismantling tool (see Fig. 3 above) including: a main body including a first base (11), a second base (12) and at least one connecting member (15), the at least one connecting member being connected to and between the first base and the second base, the first base including a threaded hole (14) disposed therethrough in a driving direction, the second base including an engaging hole (123) disposed therethrough in the driving direction, in the driving direction the engaging hole and the threaded hole at least partially overlapping with each other, the engaging hole extending through the second base in a direction transverse to the driving direction (see Fig. 3); and a push rod assembly (20) screwed to the threaded hole and configured to be movable toward the second base in the driving direction to push an object.
As for claim 6, Huang discloses wherein the push rod assembly includes a bolt (20) and a push member (80), the bolt is screwed to the threaded hole, the push member is detachably connected to an end of the bolt directed toward the second base, and the push member is configured to push the object (¶0022).
As for claim 7, Huang discloses wherein opposing sides of the at least one connecting member (15) are fixedly connected to the first base (11) and the second base (12), respectively, so that the main body is formed as an integral configuration (see Fig. 3).
As for claim 8, Huang discloses a plurality of fixation portions (60), wherein the plurality of fixation portions are disposed between the at least one connecting member and the first base and between the at least one connecting member and the second base (see Fig. 3).
As for claim 9, Huang discloses wherein each of the plurality of fixation portions (60) is a weld portion (soldering portions, 60, ¶0021).
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wubbenhorst US 1747689.
Wubbenhorst discloses a dismantling tool (Figs. 1-3 below) including: a main body (11) including a first base (12), a second base (14) and at least one connecting member (13), the at least one connecting member (13) being connected to and between (see Fig. 1 below) the first base (12) and the second base (14, 15, 16), the first base including a threaded hole (for screw 25) disposed therethrough in a driving direction, the second base including an engaging hole (top of 16 opposite of 23, see Figs. 1 and 3) disposed therethrough in the driving direction, in the driving direction the engaging hole and the threaded hole at least partially overlapping with each other (see Fig. 1), the engaging hole extending through the second base in a direction transverse to the driving direction (Fig. 1); and a push rod assembly (25) screwed to the threaded hole and configured to be movable toward the second base in the driving direction to push an object (col. 7, lines 62-67).
As for claim 2, Wubbenhorst discloses (see Fig. 3 below) wherein at least one recess (section at 22) is disposed on a side of the second base opposite to the first base, the at least one recess is arranged around the engaging hole, the at least one recess has a diametric dimension larger than a diametric dimension of the engaging hole so that at least one stepped portion (22) is formed between the at least one recess and the engaging hole, and the at least one recess is configured to receive a portion of the object (see Fig. 1).
As for claim 3, Wubbenhorst discloses wherein the at least one recess includes a first recess (top section of 21 closer to 22) and a second recess (bottom section of 21 closer to 23), the first recess has a diametric dimension larger than a diametric dimension of the engaging hole (top hole of 16, see Fig. 3, 22 is larger than the top opening) so that a first stepped portion (22) is formed between the first recess and the engaging hole, and the second recess (bottom hole near 23) has a diametric dimension larger than a diametric dimension of the first recess (top portion of 21) so that a second stepped portion (23) is formed between the first recess and the second recess.
As for claim 4, Wubbenhorst discloses wherein the first base (12) further includes at least one first through hole (side hole fasteners not labeled connecting 12 to 13, see Fig. 1), the second base (14) further includes at least one second through hole (side hole fasteners not labeled connecting 14 to 13, see Fig. 1), at least one first threaded member (not labeled but shown in Fig. 1 connects 12 to 13) is disposed through the at least one first through hole and screwed to a side of the at least one connecting member (13), and at least one second threaded member (not labeled but shown in Fig. 1, connects 14 to 13) is disposed through the at least one second through hole and screwed to another side of the at least one connecting member (13).
As for claim 6, Wubbenhorst discloses wherein the push rod assembly (25) includes a bolt (25) and a push member (10), the bolt is screwed to the threaded hole, the push member is detachably connected to an end of the bolt directed toward the second base, and the push member is configured to push the object (see Fig. 1).
As for claim 7, Wubbenhorst discloses wherein opposing sides of the at least one connecting member (13) are fixedly connected (via fasteners) to the first base (12) and the second base (14), respectively, so that the main body is formed as an integral configuration (frame 11).
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Corder US 3696496.
Corder discloses a dismantling tool (44’’) including: a main body including a first base (130), a second base (136) and at least one connecting member (132, 134), the at least one connecting member (132, 134) being connected to and between (see Fig. 6 above) the first base (130) and the second base (136), the first base including a threaded hole (for jack screw 141, col. 7, lines 62-67) disposed therethrough in a driving direction, the second base including an engaging hole (138) disposed therethrough in the driving direction, in the driving direction the engaging hole and the threaded hole at least partially overlapping with each other (see Fig. 6), the engaging hole extending through the second base in a direction transverse to the driving direction (Fig. 6); and a push rod assembly (141) screwed to the threaded hole and configured to be movable toward the second base in the driving direction to push an object (col. 7, lines 62-67).
As for claim 4, Corder discloses wherein the first base (130) further includes at least one first through hole (not shown, provided for distal ends of 132 and 134 to be fixedly connected via nuts 137, col. 7, lines 51-58), the second base (136) further includes at least one second through hole (not shown, provided for distal ends of 132 and 134 to be fixedly connected via nuts 137, col. 7, lines 51-58), at least one first threaded member is disposed through the at least one first through hole and screwed to a side of the at least one connecting member (threaded distal ends of 132 and 134 for nuts 137, col. 7, lines 51-58), and at least one second threaded member is disposed through the at least one second through hole and screwed to another side of the at least one connecting member (threaded distal ends of 132 and 134 for nuts 137, col. 7, lines 51-58).
As for claim 6, Corder discloses wherein the push rod assembly includes a bolt (141) and a push member (160), the bolt is screwed to the threaded hole (see Fig. 6, col. 7, lines 62-67), the push member is detachably connected (via 162 and 164, see Figs. 6-7) to an end of the bolt directed toward the second base, and the push member is configured to push the object (see Fig. 7).
As for claim 7, Corder discloses wherein opposing sides of the at least one connecting member (132, 134) are fixedly connected to the first base and the second base, respectively, so that the main body is formed as an integral configuration (see Figs. 6-7, and col. 7, lines 51-58, fixed connection via nuts 137).
As for claim 8, Corder discloses a plurality of fixation portions, wherein the plurality of fixation portions (top surface of 132 and 134 with bottom surface of 130; and bottom surface of 132 and 134 with top surface of 136) are disposed between the at least one connecting member (132 and 134) and the first base (130) and between the at least one connecting member (132 and 134) and the second base (136). Examiner has broadly interpreted the limitation “fixation portion” as an area where the connecting member and the first and second bases abut one another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wubbenhorst US 1747689 in view of Gelpcke US 1936624.
As for claim 5, Wubbenhorst discloses all the limitations as recited above but does not specify wherein a plurality of covers, wherein the plurality of covers cover the at least one first through hole and the at least one second through hole. However, the use of covers for covering a through hole is well known in the art as evidence by Gelpcke who teaches the use of locking covers (13) for fasteners (1, 2) for covering fastener holes to protect the fasteners while providing a pleasing aesthetic (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the apparatus of Wubbenhorst to include a plurality of covers as taught by Gelpcke in order to provide a means for covering the first and second through holes to protect the apparatus while also providing a pleasing aesthetic.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wubbenhorst US 1747689 in view of Gelpcke US 1936624, Huang US 2020/0039041, .
As for claim 10, Wubbenhorst discloses and/or teaches in view of Gelpcke and Huang (teachings provided in previous claim rejections above and further defined in the rejections below), wherein the first base (12) further includes at least one first through hole, the second base (14) further includes at least one second through hole, at least one first threaded member is disposed through the at least one first through hole and screwed to a side of the at least one connecting member (13), and at least one second threaded member is disposed through the at least one second through hole and screwed to another side of the at least one connecting member (see claim 4 102 rejection above); the dismantling tool further includes a plurality of covers (Gelpcke, 13), the plurality of covers cover the at least one first through hole and the at least one second through hole (see claim 5 103 rejection above Wubbenhorst in view of Gelpcke); the push rod assembly includes a bolt (Wubbenhorst, 25) and a push member (Wubbenhorst, 10), the bolt is screwed to the threaded hole (see Wubbenhorst, Fig. 1), the push member (Wubbenhorst, 10) is detachably connected (threaded to end of 25, see Fig. 1 and pg. 2, lines 3-12) to an end of the bolt directed toward the second base, and the push member is configured to push the object (see Wubbenhorst, Fig. 1); opposing sides of the at least one connecting member (Wubbenhorst, 13) are fixedly connected (via fasteners, see Wubbenhorst, Fig. 1) to the first base (Wubbenhorst, 12) and the second base (Wubbenhorst, 14), respectively, so that the main body is formed as an integral configuration (Frame, 11, see Fig. 1).
Wubbenhorst does not specify wherein the dismantling tool further includes a plurality of fixation portions, and the plurality of fixation portions are disposed between the at least one connecting member and the first base and between the at least one connecting member and the second base; each of the plurality of fixation portions is a weld portion. However, Huang teaches wherein the tool further comprises a plurality of fixation soldering portions (60) disposed between the connecting members (15) and the first (11) and second (12) bases in order to strengthen the overall tool. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the tool of Wubbenhorst to include a plurality of welding fixation portions as taught by Huang in order to provide a stronger tool.
The modified Wubbenhorst further teaches an end of the bolt (Wubbenhorst, 25) remote from the push member (Wubbenhorst, 10) includes a drive portion (Wubbenhorst, see Fig. 1 end of 25 driven by a tool, pg. 2, lines 3-12 driven by a wrench or crank or by hand), and the drive portion is configured to be connected to a driving tool (Wubbenhorst, wrench, crank user, pg. 2, lines 3-12); the first base is a cuboid (Wubbenhorst, Fig. 1), and the second base is U-shaped (Wubbenhorst teaches split halfs of 16, see Fig. 3); the at least one connecting member (Wubbenhorst, 13) includes two connecting members (Wubbenhorst, 13), the two connecting members are symmetrically arranged at two sides by the threaded hole (see Wubbenhorst, Fig. 1), and each of the two connecting members is rectangular (see Wubbenhorst, Fig. 1 and 2); in the driving direction a projection of the threaded hole is entirely within the engaging hole (see Wubbenhorst, Fig. 1, threaded hole is within the hole of 16); the at least one first through hole includes a plurality of first through holes (see Wubbenhorst, Fig. 1, holes on both sides of 12), the at least one second through hole includes a plurality of second through holes (see Wubbenhorst, Fig. 1, holes on both sides of 14), and the number of the plurality of first through holes is equal to the number of the plurality of second through holes (equals holes shown in Fig. 1); each of the plurality of covers is engaged, in tight fit, in one of the plurality of first through holes and the plurality of second through holes (as taught by Gelpcke, see Fig. 2).
Conclusion
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723