DETAILED ACTION
Examiner' s Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant' s specification (“present specification”) are to the published application PG Pub. 2024/0182713, unless stated otherwise.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-25, in the reply filed on 8/17/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/17/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-18, and 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allcock et al. (US 2020/0024393, “Allcock”) in view of Mallon (US 2014/0031477, “Mallon”).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Allcock teaches a composite article composition having a filler component (e.g., aramid fiber or particle, [0117], [0131], [0173], [0174], wherein the amount of filler may be from 0 to 70% by weight), and up to 100% by weight of a polymeric thermoplastic binder component (in this case PEEK or PAEK, e.g., [0117], [0118], and see [0001] – [0020]). Allcock fails to specifically teach the aramid copolymer includes an imidazole group. However, such a composition is known in the prior art and the use of such a compound would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill at the time of filing. For example, in the same field of endeavor of aramid filler compositions ([0001] – [0010]), Mallon teaches imidazole-modified aramid fibers ([0002] – [0010], [0016] – [0024]) and that such fibers are known to have high strength ([0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used the aramid particles of Mallon as the filler of Allcock for the benefit of their improved strength properties (e.g., Mallon [0002]).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, while modified Allcock does not specifically teach the reduction of wear rate for the inclusion of imidazole-modified aramid particles or fibers, because the aramid composition of Mallon is substantially similar to that of the present invention (see, e.g., Mallon, [0004], [0020] including PPD, DAPBI, and stoichiometric amounts of TCL, which are substantially similar to the components described in the present specification for the makeup of the imidazole-modified aramid component, see present specification at [0031] – [0035]) and the thermoplastic polymer is of the same materials and amounts as presently claimed, it would be expected that the compound of modified Allcock would have substantially the same physical properties, including reduced wear rate of the engineering copolymer of greater than 80%.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Allcock additionally teaches that the polymer may be, among others, PEEK ([0117], [0118], and see [0001] – [0020]).
Regarding claims 8-10, while modified Allcock does not specifically teach the local interfacial shear strength between imidazole-modified aramid particles or fibers and the engineering polymer, because Allcock teaches a substantially similar polymer binder structure (Allcock, e.g., conventional PEEK, [0064] – [0067]) and because the aramid composition of Mallon is substantially similar to that of the present invention (see, e.g., Mallon, [0004], [0020] including PPD, DAPBI, and stoichiometric amounts of TCL, which are substantially similar to the components described in the present specification for the makeup of the imidazole-modified aramid component, see present specification at [0031] – [0035]) and the thermoplastic polymer is of the same materials and amounts as presently claimed, it would be expected that the compound of modified Allcock would have substantially the same physical properties, including a local interfacial shear strength between the imidazole-modified particles and the polymeric binder being greater (e.g., by 9% or 35%) compared to a local interfacial shear strength between a hypothetical alternative non-modified particles and the binder.
Regarding claim 11, while modified Allcock does not specifically teach the local interfacial shear strength between imidazole-modified aramid particles or fibers and the engineering polymer, because Allcock teaches a substantially similar polymer binder structure (Allcock, e.g., conventional PEEK, [0064] – [0067]) and because the aramid composition of Mallon is substantially similar to that of the present invention (see, e.g., Mallon, [0004], [0020] including PPD, DAPBI, and stoichiometric amounts of TCL, which are substantially similar to the components described in the present specification for the makeup of the imidazole-modified aramid component, see present specification at [0031] – [0035]) and the thermoplastic polymer is of the same materials and amounts as presently claimed, it would be expected that the compound of modified Allcock would have substantially the same physical properties, including a local interfacial shear strength between the imidazole-modified particles and the polymeric binder being greater than 72 MPa.
Regarding claim 12, modified Allcock (Mallon) teaches that the aramid copolymer may include a residue of paraphenylene diamine (e.g., PPD, [0004]).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, modified Allcock (Mallon) additionally teaches the aramid copolymer may further include DAPBI which is equivalent to the claimed amino-aminophenyl-beinzimidazole (Mallon, e.g., [0004]) and that the ratio of DAPBI to PPD may be on the range of from 20/80 to 80/20 (Mallon, e.g., [0020]). The Examiner notes that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Please see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 15, modified Allcock (Mallon) additionally teaches the aramid copolymer may further include DAPBI which is equivalent to the claimed amino-aminophenyl-beinzimidazole (Mallon, e.g., [0004]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Allcock (Mallon) further teaches the particles may be in a form of ground or milled polymerized crumb (e.g., Mallon, [0005], [0016], [0021], [0040]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Allcock (Mallon) further teaches the particles may have a diameter of 1000 micrometers or less and thus may be made to pass through a mesh screen of 1.4 mm openings but not through a mesh screen having 0.212 mm openings (e.g., Mallon [0040]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Allcock (Mallon) further teaches the particles may have a diameter of from 100 to 1000 micrometers and thus may be made to pass through a mesh screen of 0.425 mm openings but not through a mesh screen having 0.150 mm openings (e.g., Mallon [0040]).
Regarding claims 22 and 25, Allcock additionally teaches the composition may form an article ([0168]) and may be formed into extruded pellets having an average diameter of from 2.0 to 3.5 mm (e.g., [0308]).
Regarding claim 23, while modified Allcock does not specifically teach the average dynamic coefficient of friction of the article is less than that of a hypothetical article consisting only of the thermoplastic engineering copolymer. However, because Allcock teaches a substantially similar polymer binder structure (Allcock, e.g., conventional PEEK, [0064] – [0067]) and because the aramid composition of Mallon is substantially similar to that of the present invention (see, e.g., Mallon, [0004], [0020] including PPD, DAPBI, and stoichiometric amounts of TCL, which are substantially similar to the components described in the present specification for the makeup of the imidazole-modified aramid component, see present specification at [0031] – [0035]) and the thermoplastic polymer is of the same materials and amounts as presently claimed, it would be expected that the compound of modified Allcock would have substantially the same physical properties, including an average dynamic coefficient of friction that is less than that of a hypothetical article consisting only of the thermoplastic engineering copolymer.
Regarding claim 24, while modified Allcock fails to specifically teach the claimed pellet size in terms of grams per pellet, Allcock does teach generally that the sizes of the pellets may be modified ([0308], [0168], i.e., length and diameter of the pellets may be modified and thus so too may the weight per pellet) and thus the modification of the pellets to within the claimed size range would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allcock in view of Mallon as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Nakai et al. (US 2020/0002484, “Nakai”).
Regarding claim 7, modified Allcock fails to specifically teach that the thermoplastic engineering polymer further comprises the polymers described. However, in the same field of endeavor of materials for molded composites (e.g., [0001] – [0010]), Nakai teaches that among suitable substitutes for polyether ether ketones are polyether sulfone resins or polyether imide resins ([0086]) and that such resins are suitable for use in combination and that using these resins in combination with a filler may provide an article having superior mechanical strength (e.g., [0085] – [0092], [0133]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have substituted or added, e.g., polyether sulfone to the composition of modified Allcock in order to provide an article having superior mechanical strength (Nakai, e.g., [0085] – [0092], [0133]). Additionally, the simple substitution of a known element or compound that would provide predictable results (in this case a reinforced polymeric composite article or composition) would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. Please see MPEP 2143.
Claim(s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allcock in view of Mallon as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Afshari et al. (US 2021/0296685, “Afshari”).
Regarding claims 19-21, modified Allcock fails to specifically teach that the aramid fibers or particles are arranged in flocs. However, such filler structures are well known in the art. For example, in the same field of endeavor of fillers for use in composite structures (e.g., [0022] – [0030]), Afshari teaches to include aramid polymer fibrils in a floc wherein the fibrils have lengths of from 0.4 to 3 mm ([0027]) and that the inclusion of such materials can help to tailor the physical properties of the composite ([0027] – [0036]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing to have included aramid polymer fibrils in a floc wherein the fibrils have lengths of from 0.4 to 3 mm as the size of the aramid particle to be included in the composite composition in order to help to tailor the physical properties of the composite ([0027] – [0036]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Hotter et al. (US 2022/0010144) discloses a similar polymer based composition comprising aramid fibers (e.g., [0007]).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782