DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 200. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9903256, Sakai.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 1-9 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Sakai discloses a pipe (10) extending from a first portion (34) to a second portion (36) and arranged to transfer fluid at an operational pressure from the first portion to the second portion; wherein the pipe comprises a bend portion (20) between the first and second portions in which the pipe transitions from extending in a first direction to extending in a second direction; and wherein the bend portion of the pipe comprises a non-circular cross section, the non-circular cross section having a shape selected to resist relative movement of the first and second portions when the pipe is subject to the operational pressure.
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 1-9 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Sakai discloses the non-circular cross section of the pipe has a longest axis which lies in a plane defined by the first and second directions.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 1-9 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Sakai discloses the non-circular cross section of the pipe has a longest axis that lies perpendicular to a plane defined by the first and second directions.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 1-9 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Sakai discloses the non-circular cross section comprises an ellipse.
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 1-9 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Sakai discloses the non-circular cross section has an aspect ratio of 1.5 or more (a and b in Fig. 2).
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 1-9 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Sakai discloses the bend portion is integral with the first and second portions.
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 1-9 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Sakai discloses the internal operational pressure at which the pipe is arranged to operate is 0.5 MPa or more (col. 13, lines 50-58).
In regards to claim 15, in Figures 1-9 and (col. 7, line 26 through col. 11, line 29), Sakai discloses a method of manufacturing a pipe extending from a first portion to a second portion and arranged to transfer fluid at an operational pressure from the first portion to the second portion, the method comprising: forming a pipe comprising a first portion, and second portion and a bend portion between the first and second portions in which the pipe transitions from extending in a first direction to extending in a second direction; wherein the bend portion of the pipe comprises a non-circular cross section, and wherein the method comprises selecting the shape of said non-circular cross section to resist relative movement of the first and second portions when the pipe is subject to the operational pressure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210102646, Bernard in view of Sakai.
In regards to claim 1, in Figure 8b and paragraphs detailing said figure, Bernard discloses a pipe (300’) extending from a first portion to a second portion and arranged to transfer fluid at an operational pressure from the first portion to the second portion; wherein the pipe comprises a bend portion (306) between the first and second portions in which the pipe transitions from extending in a first direction to extending in a second direction. Bernard does not disclose a bend portion comprising a non-circular cross section. Sakai relates to a pipe bend and teaches a transverse cross section of the bent pipe, the circumferential length of the bent portion is the same as each of the circumferential lengths of the non-bent portions, a thickness in the longitudinal direction is made uniform so as to be able to make strength in the longitudinal direction constant” (col. 5, line 65 through col. 6, line 4). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to fabricate a pipe bend with a transverse cross section of the bent pipe, the circumferential length of the bent portion is the same as each of the circumferential lengths of the non-bent portions, so a thickness in the longitudinal direction is made uniform so as to be able to make strength in the longitudinal direction constant, as taught by Sakai.
In regards to claim 2, Bernard in view of Sakai further disclose a non-circular cross section of the pipe has a longest axis which lies in a plane defined by the first and second directions.
In regards to claim 3, Bernard in view of Sakai further disclose the non-circular cross section of the pipe has a longest axis that lies perpendicular to a plane defined by the first and second directions.
In regards to claim 4, Benard in view of Sakai further disclose the non-circular cross section comprises an ellipse.
In regards to claim 5, Bernard in view of Sakai further disclose the non-circular cross section has an aspect ratio of 1.5 or more.
In regards to claim 6, Bernard in view of Sakai further disclose the bend portion is integral with the first and second portions.
In regards to claim 7, Bernard in view of Sakai further disclose the pipe comprises fibre-reinforced polymer (abstract, Benard).
In regards to claim 8, Bernard in view of Sakai further disclose the pipe comprises continuous fibre reinforcement that extends from the first portion into the bend portion and/or from the bend portion into the second portion.
In regards to claim 10, Bernard in view of Sakai further disclose a second bend portion between the first and second portions, in which the pipe transitions from extending in the second direction to extending in a third direction, wherein the second bend portion comprises a second non-circular cross section, the second non-circular cross section having a shape selected to resist relative movement of the first and second portions when the pipe is subject to the operational pressure.
In regards to claim 11, Bernard in view of Sakai further disclose a pipe system comprising: a pipe as claimed in claim 1; and at least one other structure to which the pipe is connected.
In regards to claim 12, Bernard in view of Sakai further disclose the non-circular cross section of the bend portion of the pipe is selected taking into account one or more mechanical constraints imposed by a connection to the at least one other structure.
In regards to claim 13, Bernard in view of Sakai further disclose the at least one other structure comprises a second pipe or a support structure.
In regards to claim 14, Bernard in view of Sakai further disclose an aircraft (Bernard, [0086]) comprising: a pipe as claimed in claim 1; one or more other structures, wherein the bend portion of the pipe diverts the pipe around said one or more structures.
In regards to claim 15, Bernard in view of Sakai further disclose a method of manufacturing a pipe extending from a first portion to a second portion and arranged to transfer fluid at an operational pressure from the first portion to the second portion, the method comprising: forming a pipe comprising a first portion, and second portion and a bend portion between the first and second portions in which the pipe transitions from extending in a first direction to extending in a second direction; wherein the bend portion of the pipe comprises a non-circular cross section, and wherein the method comprises selecting the shape of said non-circular cross section to resist relative movement of the first and second portions when the pipe is subject to the operational pressure.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679