CTNF 18/497,283 CTNF 83109 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claims 2, 10 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 2, the recitation of “an electronic device” in line 3 is suggested to change to - - the electronic device - -. Regarding claim 10, the recitation of “an electronic device” in line 3 is suggested to change to - - the electronic device - -. Regarding claim 11, the recitation of “an electronic device” in line 1 is suggested to change to - - the electronic device - -. Appropriate corrections are required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 8-12, 14, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. (US 2016/0087485) in view of Ji et al. (KR 20160007849, English machine translation) . Regarding claim 1, Maeda teaches a charging system (figs. 1-3) for a passenger door (20) of a motor vehicle ([0010]), the charging system comprising: a door frame (22); a receptacle (14) disposed in the door frame and defining a pocket including a charging panel (17) configured to provide wireless charging to an electronic device (15); a charging system controller (302) in communication with the electronic device presence sensor ([0015]), the charging system controller including data processing hardware and memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instruction that ([0015]), when executed on the data processing hardware, cause the data processing hardware to perform operation comprising: receiving an electronic device presence signal from the electronic device presence sensor ([0015]-[0016]); determining whether the electronic device is disposed within the receptacle based on the electronic device presence signal ([0015]-[0016]); and instructing the charging system to generate a notification signal when the electronic device is disposed within the receptacle ([0015]-[0017]). Maeda further teaches the charging system include a mechanism to align the mobile device in the holder ([0010]) and the holder can be integrally formed with a panel of the door ([0010]) but fails to teach the holder (receptacle) disposed in an arm rest and a charging system actuator as claimed. However, Ji teaches charging system (figs. 1 and 3) comprising an arm rest (101); a receptacle (102) disposed in the arm rest and defining a pocket including a charging panel (404) configured to provide wireless charging to an electronic device (50); and a charging system actuator (502) as claimed (pages 2-6). In view of Ji’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Maeda by incorporating the teaching as taught by Ji in order to arrive at the claimed invention. Regarding claim 2, Maeda as modified by Ji teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Maeda and Ji further teach wherein the charging system actuator includes a biasing element adjacent to the charging panel and configured to move between a first position to receive an electronic device between the charging system actuator and the charging panel and a second position to bias the electronic device against the charging panel (Maeda: [0010]. Ji: fig. 3 and pages 5-6). Regarding claim 4, Maeda as modified by Ji teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Maeda and Ji further teaches the charging system configured to sense the presence of the electronic device in the receptacle (Maeda: [0015] and [0016]. Ji: page 4) but silent to teach the detecting to include ground plate to be closed or opened in sensing the electronic device. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Maeda and Ji to use the ground plate circuitry as a sensing device since it is notoriously well-known in the art to use such circuitry for sensing. Regarding claim 5, Maeda as modified by Ji teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Ji further teaches a vehicle passenger door state sensor configured to measure a state of the vehicle passenger door (the light unit 104 turn on when the door is opened indicating there is a sensor to sense the status of the door, page 4). Regarding claim 8, Maeda as modified by Ji teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Maeda and Ji further teach a wired charging port positioned adjacent to the pocket (Maeda: fig. 2. Ji: 106, page 3). Regarding claim 9, Maeda teaches a door panel (20, fig. 2) for a motor vehicle ([0010]), the door panel comprising: a door frame (22) a charging system (fig. 2) including: a receptacle (14) disposed in the door frame and defining a pocket including a charging panel (17) configured to provide wireless charging to an electronic device (15); and an electronic device presence sensor ([0015]-[0016]). Maeda further teaches the charging system include a mechanism to align the mobile device in the holder ([0010]) and the holder can be integrally formed with a panel of the door ([0010]) but fails to teach the holder (receptacle) disposed in an arm rest and a charging system actuator as claimed. However, Ji teaches charging system (figs. 1 and 3) comprising an arm rest (101); a receptacle (102) disposed in the arm rest and defining a pocket including a charging panel (404) configured to provide wireless charging to an electronic device (50); and a charging system actuator (502) as claimed (pages 2-6). In view of Ji’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Maeda by incorporating the teaching as taught by Ji in order to arrive at the claimed invention. Regarding claim 10, Maeda as modified by Ji teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Maeda and Ji further teach wherein the charging system actuator includes a biasing element adjacent to the charging panel and configured to move between a first position to receive an electronic device between the charging system actuator and the charging panel and a second position to bias the electronic device against the charging panel (Maeda: [0010]. Ji: fig. 3 and pages 5-6). Regarding claim 11, Maeda as modified by Ji teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Maeda and Ji further teach the electronic device presence sensor configured to detect the presence of the electronic device within the receptacle (Maeda: [0015]-[0017] and [0032]. Ji: page 4). Regarding claim 12, Maeda as modified by Ji teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Maeda further teaches a charging system controller (302, fig. 3) in communication with the electronic device presence sensor ([0015]), the charging system controller including data processing hardware and memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instruction that, when executed on the data processing hardware, cause the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising: receiving an electronic device presence signal from the electronic device presence sensor ([0015]-[0016]); determining whether the electronic device is disposed within the receptacle based on the electronic device presence signal ([0015]-[0016]); and instructing the charging system to generate a notification signal when the electronic device is disposed within the receptacle ([0015]-[0017]). Regarding claim 14, Maeda as modified by Ji teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Maeda and Ji further teaches the charging system configured to sense the presence of the electronic device in the receptacle (Maeda: [0015] and [0016]. Ji: page 4) but silent to teach the detecting to include ground plate to be closed or opened in sensing the electronic device. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Maeda and Ji to use the ground plate circuitry as a sensing device since it is notoriously well-known in the art to use such circuitry for sensing. Regarding claim 15, Maeda as modified by Ji teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Ji further teaches a vehicle passenger door state sensor configured to measure a state of the vehicle passenger door (the light unit 104 turn on when the door is opened indicating there is a sensor to sense the status of the door, page 4). Regarding claim 16, Maeda as modified by Ji teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Maeda further teaches a wired charging port positioned adjacent to the pocket (fig. 2). Regarding claim 17, Maeda teaches a motor vehicle (fig. 4) comprising: a door frame (22, fig. 2); and a charging system (fig. 2) having: a receptacle (14) disposed in the door frame and defining a pocket including a charging panel (17) configured to provide wireless charging to an electronic device (15); a charging system controller (302) in communication with the electronic device presence sensor ([0015]), the charging system controller including data processing hardware and memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instruction that ([0015]), when executed on the data processing hardware, cause the data processing hardware to perform operation comprising: receiving an electronic device presence signal from the electronic device presence sensor ([0015]-[0016]); determining whether the electronic device is disposed within the receptacle based on the electronic device presence signal ([0015]-[0016]); and instructing the charging system to generate a notification signal when the electronic device is disposed within the receptacle ([0015]-[0017]). Maeda further teaches the charging system include a mechanism to align the mobile device in the holder ([0010]) and the holder can be integrally formed with a panel of the door ([0010]) but fails to teach the holder (receptacle) disposed in an arm rest and a charging system actuator as claimed. However, Ji teaches charging system (figs. 1 and 3) comprising an arm rest (101); a receptacle (102) disposed in the arm rest and defining a pocket including a charging panel (404) configured to provide wireless charging to an electronic device (50); and a charging system actuator (502) as claimed (pages 2-6). In view of Ji’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Maeda by incorporating the teaching as taught by Ji in order to arrive at the claimed invention. Regarding claim 18, Maeda as modified by Ji teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Maeda and Ji further teach wherein the charging system actuator includes a biasing element adjacent to the charging panel and configured to move between a first position to receive an electronic device between the charging system actuator and the charging panel and a second position to bias the electronic device against the charging panel (Maeda: [0010]. Ji: fig. 3 and pages 5-6). Regarding claim 20, Maeda as modified by Ji teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Maeda further teaches a wired charging port positioned adjacent to the pocket (fig. 2) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 3, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda as modified by Ji as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeon et al. (US 2016/0013679) . Regarding claims 3, 13 and 19, Maeda as modified by Ji teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Ji further teaches indicating a signal whether the portable is stored in the receptacle when the vehicle door is opened (page 4) but both Maeda and Ji silent to the operation further comprising the limitations as claimed. However, Jeon teaches wireless charging system (330, fig. 3, [0033]-[0038]) comprising receptacle disposed in a arm rest and defining a pocket including a charging panel (wireless charger) configured to provide wireless to an electronic device (smartphone); a charging system controller (fig. 5, [0046]) configured to preform operations including receiving a door state signal associated with a vehicle passenger door (310) including the charging system; determining the vehicle passenger door is open; and instructing the charging system to generate the notification signal when the electronic device is disposed within the receptacle and the passenger door is open ([0048]). In view of Jeon’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Maeda and Ji by incorporating the teaching as taught by Jeon so as to notify the passenger whether to exit or not while the electronic device is being charged (see Jeon: [0048]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda as modified by Ji as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Biondo et al. (CN 108216025A) . Regarding claims 6 and 7, Maeda as modified by Ji teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above except for the vehicle passenger door state sensor includes a reed sensor as claimed. However, Biondo teaches passenger door sensor (door status sensor 107) comprises reed sensor (page 6). In view of Biondo’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Maeda and Ji by incorporating the teaching as taught by Biondo in order to arrive at the claimed invention . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References: Pilguj-Antrack (DE102023200764A1); Salter et al. (US 2014/0203770); Gao et al. (CN 220199021U); Vahle (DE 102021122994A); Bozio et al. (US 2016/0355110); Iwanaga et al. (US 9,266,483) and Ji et al. (KR 20160007178A) are cited because they are related to vehicle comprising charging system disposed in the arm rest of the passenger door. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Tuyen Kim Vo whose telephone number is (571)270-1657. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs: 8AM-6:30PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Steven Paik can be reached at 571-272-2404. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TUYEN K VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876 Application/Control Number: 18/497,283 Page 2 Art Unit: 2876 Application/Control Number: 18/497,283 Page 3 Art Unit: 2876 Application/Control Number: 18/497,283 Page 4 Art Unit: 2876 Application/Control Number: 18/497,283 Page 5 Art Unit: 2876 Application/Control Number: 18/497,283 Page 6 Art Unit: 2876 Application/Control Number: 18/497,283 Page 7 Art Unit: 2876 Application/Control Number: 18/497,283 Page 8 Art Unit: 2876 Application/Control Number: 18/497,283 Page 9 Art Unit: 2876 Application/Control Number: 18/497,283 Page 10 Art Unit: 2876 Application/Control Number: 18/497,283 Page 11 Art Unit: 2876 Application/Control Number: 18/497,283 Page 12 Art Unit: 2876