DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McWhorter (US 0,874,228 A).
Regarding claim 21, McWhorter teaches a vehicle lamp assembly, comprising: a first light (T; figure 1); a second light (T’; figure 1); a belt (D; figure 1) that couples the second light (T’) to the first light (T); and an actuator (see claim 6) that adjusts a position of the first light (T) to drive the belt (D) and adjust a position of the second light (T’), the actuator driving the belt (D) through the first light (T.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 12-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Menke (US 5,676,447) in view of McWhorter (US 0,874,228 A).
Regarding claim 1, Menke teaches a vehicle lamp assembly, comprising:
a first light (136left; figure 8 and 9 );
a second light (136right; figure 8-9;); and
a belt (160) that pivotably couples the second light (136left and 136right; figure 8 and 9) to the first light (136left) such that pivoting the first light (136left) pivots the second light (136right) and an actuator (138).
Menke does not explicitly teach the belt being engaged with a first pully fixed to the first light and a second pulley fixed to the second light; and the [actuator] mechanically coupled directly to the first light and configured to pivot the first light about a pivot axis, wherein pivoting of the first light by the actuator drives the belt through the first light to pivot the second light.
McWhorter teaches a belt (D) being engaged with a first pully (B’) fixed to the first light (T) and a second pulley (N) fixed to the second light (T’); and the actuator (claim 6) mechanically coupled directly to the first light (T) and configured to pivot the first light (T) about a pivot axis, wherein pivoting of the first light (T) by the actuator (claim 6) drives the belt (D) through the first light (T) to pivot the second light (T’).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vehicle lamp assembly of Menke to include a first and second pulley and to have the actuator drive the belt through the first light to pivot the second light as taught by McWhorter as an alternative design choice and way to rotate and pivot the light sources of the vehicle lamp assembly.
Regarding claim 4, Menke teaches the vehicle lamp assembly further comprising a lamp housing (146, figure 8 and 9) having an interior, the first light (136left) and the second light (136right) disposed within the interior.
Regarding claim 5, Menke teaches the vehicle lamp assembly wherein the first light (136left) is pivotably coupled to the lamp housing (146) and configured to pivot about a first axis relative to the lamp housing (146) wherein the second light (136right) is pivotably coupled to the lamp housing (146) and configured to pivot about a different, second axis relative to the lamp housing (146).
Regarding claim 6, Menke teaches the vehicle lamp assembly of claim 5, wherein the actuator (138) that is configured to adjust the position of the first light (136left) by pivoting the first light (136left) about the first axis, the actuator (138) interfacing with the first light (136left) on a first axial side of the first light, the belt (160) interfacing with first light on an opposite, second axial side (see at least figure 8-9).
Regarding claim 7, Menke teaches the vehicle lamp assembly wherein the first light (136left) and the second light (136right) are each pivotably coupled to the lamp housing (140) at two positions.
Regarding claim 8, Menke teaches the vehicle lamp assembly wherein inboard and outboard sides of the first light (136left) and the second light (136right) are pivotably coupled to the lamp housing (146).
Regarding claim 12, Menke teaches the vehicle lamp assembly wherein the first light (136left), the second light (136right), and the belt (160) are constituents of a headlamp.
Regarding claim 13, Menke teaches a vehicle lamp adjustment method (see at least figures 8 and 9), comprising:
pivotably coupling a first light (136left; figure 8 and 9) of a lamp together with a second light of the lamp (136right, figure 8 and 9) using a belt (160; figures 8 and 9)); and pivoting the first light (136left; figure 8 and 9) to pivot the second light (136right; figures 8 and 9)).
Menke does not explicitly teach the belt engaged with a first pulley fixed to the first light and a second pulley fixed to the second light ; and pivoting the first light by actuating the first light directly with an actuator, wherein pivoting of the first light drives the belt through the first light to pivot the second light .
McWhorter teaches a belt (D) being engaged with a first pully (B’) fixed to the first light (T) and a second pulley (N) fixed to the second light (T’); and pivoting the first light (T) by actuating the first light (T) directly with an actuator (claim 6), wherein pivoting of the first light (T) drives the belt (D) through the first light (T) to pivot the second light (T’).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vehicle lamp assembly of Menke to include a first and second pulley and to have the actuator drive the belt through the first light to pivot the second light as taught by McWhorter as an alternative design choice and way to rotate and pivot the light sources of the vehicle lamp assembly.
Regarding claim 14, Menke teaches the vehicle lamp adjustment method of claim 13, wherein the first light (136left) and the second light (136right) pivot relative to a lamp housing (housing portions 146; figure 8 and 9).
Regarding claim 15, Menke teaches the vehicle lamp adjustment method of claim 14, wherein the first light (136left) and the second light (136right) are each pivotably coupled to the lamp housing ((housing portions 146)at two positions.
Regarding claim 16, Menke teaches the vehicle lamp adjustment method of claim 14, wherein inboard and outboard sides of the first light (136left) and the second light (136right) are pivotably coupled to the lamp housing (146).
Regarding claim 19, Menke teaches the lamp adjustment method of claim 13, further comprising pivoting the first light with an actuator (138) configured to drive the belt (160) through the first light (136left).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Menke (US 5,676,447) in view of McWhorter (US 0,874,228) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Fujino et al. (US 2002/0054496 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Menke modified by McWhorter teaches the lamp assembly of claim 1 but Menke modified by McWhorter does not explicitly teach the vehicle lamp assembly wherein the belt is a toothed belt.
Fujino et al. teaches a toothed belt (see paragraph [0034] where teeth 22a extending in the width direction are formed at the inner peripheral surface of the counter belt 22 is disclosed; see at least figure 5 where teeth 22a are shown).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the belt of Menke to be a toothed belt as that by Fujino et al. as an alternative design choice.
Claim(s) 9-11 and 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Menke (US 5,676,447) in view of McWhorter (US 0,874,228) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Takii (US 2015/0016137 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Menke modified by McWhorter teaches the vehicle lamp assembly of claim 1, but Menke modified by McWhorter is silent about wherein the first light is vertically above the second light.
Takii further teaches wherein the first light (22A; figure 4) is vertically above the second light (22B; figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to position the first light and the second light of Menke to be vertically arranged as taught by Takii to achieve a desired distribution of light, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)(MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 10, Menke modified by McWhorter teaches the vehicle lamp assembly of claim 1, but Menke modified by McWhorter does not explicitly teach wherein the first light is a high-beam light, wherein the second light is a low-beam light.
Takii further teaches wherein the first light is a high-beam light (12A), wherein the second light (12B) is a low-beam light.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lamp assembly of Menke to include a high beam and low beam light as an alternative design choice to achieve a desired illumination output.
Regarding claim 11, Menke modified by McWhorter teaches the vehicle lamp assembly of claim 10, but Menke modified by McWhorter does not explicitly teach wherein the high-beam light is vertically above the low-beam light.
Takii further teaches wherein the first light is a high-beam light (12A), wherein the second light (12B) is a low-beam light.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to position the high beam light and the low beam light of Menke to be vertically arranged as taught by Takii to achieve a desired distribution of light, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)(MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 17, Menke modified by McWhorter teaches the vehicle lamp assembly of claim 13, but Menke modified by McWhorter is silent about wherein the first light is vertically above the second light.
Takii further teaches wherein the first light (22A; figure 4) is vertically above the second light (22B; figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to position the first light and the second light of Menke to be vertically arranged as taught by Takii to achieve a desired distribution of light, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. . In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)(MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 18, Menke modified by McWhorter teaches the vehicle lamp assembly of claim 13, but Menke modified by McWhorter does not explicitly teach wherein the first light is a high-beam light, wherein the second light is a low-beam light.
Takii further teaches wherein the first light is a high-beam light (12A), wherein the second light (12B) is a low-beam light.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lamp assembly of Menke to include a high beam and low beam light as an alternative design choice to achieve a desired illumination output.
Regarding claim 20, Menke modified by McWhorter teaches the vehicle lamp assembly of claim 13, but Menke modified by McWhorter does not explicitly teach wherein the high-beam light is vertically above the low-beam light.
Takii further teaches wherein the first light is a high-beam light (12A), wherein the second light (12B) is a low-beam light.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to position the high beam light and the low beam light of Menke to be vertically arranged as taught by Takii to achieve a desired distribution of light, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)(MPEP 2144.04)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2 and 4-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection after consideration of applicant’s arguments and amendment to independent claim 1, 13 and 21.
After consideration of applicant’s arguments of claims 1, 13 and 21, a new reference, McWhorter (US 0,874,228), has been found. See rejection above.
Conclusion
/JESSICA M APENTENG/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875