DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of application EP 15183642.6 has been filed in parent Application No. 15/752,505, filed on 02/13/2018.
A review of the parent application and the instant application fails to locate a certified copy of foreign applications EP 15002487.5 08/21/2015, EP 15184010.5 09/07/2015, and EP 15184389.3 09/09/2015.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 29 July 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
Attention is directed to MPEP 904.01 [R-08.2012].
The breadth of the claims in the application should always be carefully noted; that is, the examiner should be fully aware of what the claims do not call for, as well as what they do require. During patent examination, the claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. See In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 44 USPQ2d 1023 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2111 - § 2116.01 for case law pertinent to claim analysis.
It is noted with particularity that narrowing limitations found in the specification cannot be inferred in the claims where the elements not set forth in the claims are linchpin of patentability. In re Philips Industries v. State Stove & Mfg. Co, Inc., 186 USPQ 458 (CA6 1975). While the claims are to be interpreted in light of the specification, it does not follow that limitations from the specification may be read into the claims. On the contrary, claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. See Ex parte Oetiker, 23 USPQ2d 1641 (BPAI, 1992). In added support of this position, attention is directed to MPEP 2111 [R-11.2013], where, citing In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969), is stated:
The court explained that “reading a claim in light of the specification, to thereby interpret limitations explicitly recited in the claim, is a quite different thing from ‘reading limitations of the specification into a claim,’ to thereby narrow the scope of the claim by implicitly adding disclosed limitations which have no express basis in the claim.” The court found that applicant was advocating the latter, i.e., the impermissible importation of subject matter from the specification into the claim.
Additionally, attention is directed to MPEP 2111.01 [R-01.2024], wherein is stated:
II. IT IS IMPROPER TO IMPORT CLAIM LIMITATIONS FROM THE SPECIFICATION
“Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment.” Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2111.02 II [R-07.2022]. As stated herein:
II. PREAMBLE STATEMENTS RECITING PURPOSE OR INTENDED USE
The claim preamble must be read in the context of the entire claim. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "'extraneous' limitations from the specification." Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation")… (Emphasis added)
Attention is directed to MPEP 2111 [R-10.2019]. As stated therein:
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the "broadest reasonable interpretation" standard:
The Patent and Trademark Office ("PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364[, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830] (Fed. Cir. 2004). Indeed, the rules of the PTO require that application claims must "conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description." 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1). (Emphasis added).
Attention is directed to MPEP 2173.04 [R-10.2019]. As stated therein:
Breadth of a claim is not to be equated with indefiniteness. In re Miller, 441 F.2d 689, 169 USPQ 597 (CCPA 1971); In re Gardner, 427 F.2d 786, 788, 166 USPQ 138, 140 (CCPA 1970) ("Breadth is not indefiniteness."). A broad claim is not indefinite merely because it encompasses a wide scope of subject matter provided the scope is clearly defined. But a claim is indefinite when the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope is unclear. For example, a genus claim that covers multiple species is broad, but is not indefinite because of its breadth, which is otherwise clear. But a genus claim that could be interpreted in such a way that it is not clear which species are covered would be indefinite (e.g., because there is more than one reasonable interpretation of what species are included in the claim). (Emphasis added)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, second paragraph / (b)
Standard for Definiteness.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2171 [R-11.2013]:
Two separate requirements are set forth in 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, namely that:
(A) the claims must set forth the subject matter that the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention; and
(B) the claims must particularly point out and distinctly define the metes and bounds of the subject matter to be protected by the patent grant.
The first requirement is a subjective one because it is dependent on what the inventor or a joint inventor for a patent regards as his or her invention. Note that although pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, uses the phrase "which applicant regards as his invention," pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.41(a) provides that a patent is applied for in the name or names of the actual inventor or inventors.
The second requirement is an objective one because it is not dependent on the views of the inventor or any particular individual, but is evaluated in the context of whether the claim is definite — i.e., whether the scope of the claim is clear to a hypothetical person possessing the ordinary level of skill in the pertinent art.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2173.02 I [R-01.2024]:
During prosecution, applicant has an opportunity and a duty to amend ambiguous claims to clearly and precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. The claim places the public on notice of the scope of the patentee’s right to exclude. See, e.g., Johnson & Johnston Assoc. Inc. v. R.E. Serv. Co., 285 F.3d 1046, 1052, 62 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (en banc). As the Federal Circuit stated in Halliburton Energy Servs., Inc. v. M-I LLC, 514 F.3d 1244, 1255, 85 USPQ2d 1654, 1663 (Fed. Cir. 2008):
“We note that the patent drafter is in the best position to resolve the ambiguity in the patent claims, and it is highly desirable that patent examiners demand that applicants do so in appropriate circumstances so that the patent can be amended during prosecution rather than attempting to resolve the ambiguity in litigation.”
***
During examination, after applying the broadest reasonable interpretation to the claim, if the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are not clear, the claim is indefinite and should be rejected. Packard, 751 F.3d at 1310 (“[W]hen the USPTO has initially issued a well-grounded rejection that identifies ways in which language in a claim is ambiguous, vague, incoherent, opaque, or otherwise unclear in describing and defining the claimed invention, and thereafter the applicant fails to provide a satisfactory response, the USPTO can properly reject the claim as failing to meet the statutory requirements of § 112(b).”); Zletz, 893 F.2d at 322, 13 USPQ2d at 1322.
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2173.02 III B [R-01-2024], which states in part:
To comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, applicants are required to make the terms that are used to define the invention clear and precise, so that the metes and bounds of the subject matter that will be protected by the patent grant can be ascertained. See MPEP § 2173.05(a), subsection I. It is important that a person of ordinary skill in the art be able to interpret the metes and bounds of the claims so as to understand how to avoid infringement of the patent that ultimately issues from the application being examined. See MPEP § 2173.02, subsection II (citing Morton Int ’l, Inc. v. Cardinal Chem. Co., 5 F.3d 1464, 1470 (Fed. Cir. 1993)); see also Halliburton Energy Servs., 514 F.3d at 1249, 85 USPQ2d at 1658 (“Otherwise, competitors cannot avoid infringement, defeating the public notice function of patent claims.”). Examiners should bear in mind that “[a]n essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.” Zletz, 893 F.2d at 322, 13 USPQ2d at 1322 [Fed. Cir. 1989]. (Emphasis added)
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2173.04 [R-10-2019], which states in part:
A broad claim is not indefinite merely because it encompasses a wide scope of subject matter provided the scope is clearly defined. But a claim is indefinite when the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope is unclear. For example, a genus claim that covers multiple species is broad, but is not indefinite because of its breadth, which is otherwise clear. But a genus claim that could be interpreted in such a way that it is not clear which species are covered would be indefinite (e.g., because there is more than one reasonable interpretation of what species are included in the claim).
Holding and Rationale
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “more” in claim 21 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “more” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Response to traversal
Applicant’s representative, at page 6 of the response of 28 October 2025, hereinafter the response, applicant’s representative asserts:
Reconsideration is respectfully requested. The term "more" in claim 21 is part of the phrase "one or more." Applicant respectfully submits that this term, as used in this phrase is clear. In particular, the phrase "one or more" is a standard phrase in patent claim construction whose metes and bounds are well-accepted.
This argument has been fully considered and has not been found persuasive. Attention is directed to MPEP 2145 I [R-01.2024].
An argument by the applicant is not evidence unless it is an admission, in which case, an examiner may use the admission in making a rejection. See MPEP § 2129 and § 2144.03 for a discussion of admissions as prior art.
Arguments presented by applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. See In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness."). See MPEP § 716.01(c) for examples of applicant statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration
In view of the above analysis and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As set forth in the US Supreme Court decision in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., et al.(550 U.S. 398, April 30, 2007):
The question is not whether the combination was obvious to the patentee but whether the combination was obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art Under the correct analysis, any need or problem known in the field of endeavor at the time of invention and addressed by the patent can provide a reason for combining the elements in the manner claimed.
***
The same constricted analysis led the Court of Appeals to conclude, in error, that a patent claim cannot be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of elements was "obvious to try." Id., at 289 (internal quotation marks omitted). When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under 103.
***
We build and create by bringing to the tangible and palpable reality around us new works based on instinct, simple logic, ordinary inferences, extraordinary ideas, and sometimes even genius. These advances, once part of our shared knowledge, define a new threshold from which innovation starts once more. And as progress beginning from higher levels of achievement is expected in the normal course, the results of ordinary innovation are not the subject of exclusive rights under the patent laws. Were it otherwise patents might stifle, rather than promote, the progress of useful arts. See U.S. Const., Art. I, 8, cl. 8. These premises led to the bar on patents claiming obvious subject matter established in Hotchkiss and codified in 103. Application of the bar must not be confined within a test or formulation too constrained to serve its purpose.
Holding and Rationale
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0229975 A1 (Matthiesen et al.) in view of US 2014/0242589 A1 (Matthiesen).
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14 and 21 are deemed to be representative and, for convenience, are reproduced below.
Applicant, at “Example B.10” teaches compounds used in the hybridization solutions. As disclosed therein:
Hybridization solutions I to V: 18 wt% dextran sulfate, 600 mM NaCl, 22 vol% formamide, 1x concentrated SSC buffer, 12.75 wt% or vol% (depending on substance used) of a polar protic or polar aprotic solvent having a cyclic structure, 0.1 μg/μI blocking and stabilizing DNA, and 2 ng/μI hybridization probe, each based on the composition, wherein the polar protic or polar aprotic solvent having a cyclic structure used was either ethylene carbonate (I, wt%), 2-piperidone (valerolactam) (II, wt%), 2-pyrrolidone (y-butyrolactam) (Ill, vol%), 3-sulfolene ("butadiene sulfone") (IV, wt%), and y-butyrolactone (V, vol%).
Matthiesen et al., teach:
[0085] A great variation exists in the literature regarding traditional hybridization solutions. For example, a traditional hybridization solution may comprise 5.times. or 6.times.SSC, 0.01 M EDTA, 5.times. Dernhardt's solution, 0.5% SDS, and 100 mg/mL sheared, denatured salmon sperm DNA. Another traditional hybridization solution may comprise 50 mM HEPES, 0.5 M NaCl, and 0.2 mM EDTA. A typical hybridization solution for FISH on biological specimens for RNA detection may comprise, e.g., 2.times.SSC, 10% dextran sulfate, 2 mM vanadyl-ribonucleoside complex, 50% formamide, 0.02% RNAse-free BSA, and 1 mg/mL E. coli tRNA. A typical hybridization solution for FISH on biological specimens for DNA detection may comprise, e.g., 2.times.SSC, 10% dextran sulfate, 50% formamide, and e.g., 0.3 mg/mL salmon sperm DNA or 0.1 mg/mL COT1 DNA. Other typical hybridization solutions may comprise 40% formamide, 10% dextran sulfate, 30 mM NaCl, 5 mM phosphate buffer, Alu-PNA (blocking PNA) or COT-1 DNA, and in some cases 0.1 .mu.g/.mu.L total human DNA (THD). (Emphasis added)
[0153] The reagents used in the following examples are from Dako's Histology FISH Accessory Kit (K5599) and Cytology FISH Accessory Kit (K5499) (Dako Denmark A/S, Glostrup Denmark). The kits contain all the key reagents, except for probe, required to complete a FISH procedure for formalin-fixed, paraffin-embedded tissue section specimens. All samples were prepared according to the manufacturer's description. The Dako Hybridizer (S2450, Dako) was used for the digestion, denaturation, and hybridization steps. (Emphasis added)
[0307] The hybridization composition according to any one of embodiments 1 to 14, wherein the polar aprotic solvent is selected from the group consisting of: acetanilide, acetonitrile, N-acetyl pyrrolidone, 4-amino pyridine, benzamide, benzimidazole, 1,2,3-benzotriazole, butadienedioxide, 2,3-butylene carbonate, .gamma.-butyrolactone, caprolactone (epsilon), chloro maleic anhydride, 2-chlorocyclohexanone, chloroethylene carbonate, chloronitromethane, citraconic anhydride, crotonlactone, 5-cyano-2-thiouracil, cyclopropylnitrile, dimethyl sulfate, dimethyl sulfone, 1,3-dimethyl-5-tetrazole, 1,5-dimethyl tetrazole, 1,2-dinitrobenzene, 2,4-dinitrotoluene, dipheynyl sulfone, 1,2-dinitrobenzene, 2,4-dinitrotoluene, dipheynyl sulfone, epsilon-caprolactam, ethanesulfonylchloride, ethyl ethyl phosphinate, N-ethyl tetrazole, ethylene carbonate, ethylene trithiocarbonate, ethylene glycol sulfate, glycol sulfite, furfural, 2-furonitrile, 2-imidazole, isatin, isoxazole, malononitrile, 4-methoxy benzonitrile, 1-methoxy-2-nitrobenzene, methyl alpha bromo tetronate, 1-methyl imidazole, N-methyl imidazole, 3-methyl isoxazole, N-methyl morpholine-N-oxide, methyl phenyl sulfone, N-methyl pyrrolidinone, methyl sulfolane, methyl-4-toluenesulfonate, 3-nitroaniline, nitrobenzimidazole, 2-nitrofuran, 1-nitroso-2-pyrrolidinone, 2-nitrothiophene, 2-oxazolidinone, 9,10-phenanthrenequinone, N-phenyl sydnone, phthalic anhydride, picolinonitrile (2-cyanopyridine), 1,3-propane sultone, .beta.-propiolactone, propylene carbonate, 4H-pyran-4-thione, 4H-pyran-4-one (.gamma.-pyrone), pyridazine, 2-pyrrolidone, saccharin, succinonitrile, sulfanilamide, sulfolane, 2,2,6,6-tetrachlorocyclohexanone, tetrahydrothiapyran oxide, tetramethylene sulfone (sulfolane), thiazole, 2-thiouracil, 3,3,3-trichloro propene, 1,1,2-trichloro propene, 1,2,3-trichloro propene, trimethylene sulfide-dioxide, and trimethylene sulfite. (Emphasis added)
Matthiesen, at paragraphs [0070], [0080], and [0150], teaches of various formulations of a hybridization composition. As disclosed therein:
[0070] A great variation exists in the literature regarding traditional hybridization solutions. For example, a traditional hybridization solution may comprise 5.times. or 6.times.SSC, 0.01 M EDTA, 5.times.Dernhardt's solution, 0.5% SDS, and 100 mg/mL sheared, denatured salmon sperm DNA. Another traditional hybridization solution may comprise 50 mM HEPES, 0.5 M NaCl, and 0.2 mM EDTA. A typical hybridization solution for FISH on biological specimens for RNA detection may comprise, e.g., 2.times.SSC, 10% dextran sulfate, 2 mM vanadyl-ribonucleoside complex, 50% formamide, 0.02% RNAse-free BSA, and 1 mg/mL E. coli tRNA. A typical hybridization solution for FISH on biological specimens for DNA detection may comprise, e.g., 2.times.SSC, 10% dextran sulfate, 50% formamide, and e.g., 0.3 mg/mL salmon sperm DNA or 0.1 mg/mL COT1 DNA. Other typical hybridization solutions may comprise 40% formamide, 10% dextran sulfate, 300 mM NaCl, 5 mM phosphate buffer, Alu-PNA (blocking PNA) or COT-1 DNA, and in some cases 0.1 .mu.g/.mu.L total human DNA (THD). (Emphasis added)
[0080] The compositions of the invention can be varied in order to optimize results for a particular application. For example, the concentration of cyclic and/or non-cyclic solvents, salt, accelerating agent, blocking agent, and/or hydrogen ions (i.e. pH) may be varied in order to improve results for a particular application. The cyclic and/or non-cyclic solvents is chosen from butadiene sulfone, tetrahydrothiophene 1-oxide (tetramethylene sulfoxide), d-valerolactam (2-piperidone), 2-pyrrolidone, cyclopentanone, N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone, 1,3-dimethyl-3,4,5,6-tetrahydro-2(1H)-pyrimidinone, N,N-dimethyl-acetamide and isobutyramide. (Emphasis added)
[0159] FISH Probe Composition II: 3.3 ng/.mu.L HER2 TxRed labeled DNA probe (1/3 of standard concentration) (size 218 kb) and 1/2 of the standard concentration (300 nM) of CEN17 FITC labeled PNA probes (both probes identical with probes from HER2 FISH pharmDx.TM. kit (K5331, Dako)); 15% Butadiene Sulfone (B84505 Sigma-Aldrich); 20% dextran sulfate; 600 mM NaCl; 10 mM citrate buffer, pH 6.2 (Emphasis added)
As is evidenced above, the state of the art had advanced to the point where there were numerous alternative formulations to a hybridization buffer/composition known and used. The selection of the particular combination of known components and known useful concentration of same are deemed to be a matter of obvious design choice and routine optimization.
Matthiesen, in paragraphs [0080] and [0081], teaches:
[0080] The compositions of the invention can be varied in order to optimize results for a particular application. For example, the concentration of cyclic and/or non-cyclic solvents, salt, accelerating agent, blocking agent, and/or hydrogen ions (i.e. pH) may be varied in order to improve results for a particular application. The cyclic and/or non-cyclic solvents is chosen from butadiene sulfone, tetrahydrothiophene 1-oxide (tetramethylene sulfoxide), d-valerolactam (2-piperidone), 2-pyrrolidone, cyclopentanone, N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone, 1,3-dimethyl-3,4,5,6-tetrahydro-2(1H)-pyrimidinone, N,N-dimethyl-acetamide and isobutyramide. (Emphasis added)
[0081] The concentrations of salt and dextran sulfate may also be varied in order to improve signal intensity and background staining Generally, as the concentrations of salt and dextran sulfate increase, the signal intensity may increase while background decreases. Likewise, signal intensity may increase as dextran sulfate concentration increases from, for example, 0% to 20%. (Emphasis added)
As evidenced above, Matthiesen et al., and Matthiesen teach performing hybridization using compositions that comprise the very reagents claimed, and encourages the ordinary artisan to vary the compositions to improve results. Given such guidance, the claimed ratio of “component (b) and component (c) in a volume-based ration in the range 1:10 to 5:1” is deemed to be a matter of routine optimization.
In view of the above analysis and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, claims 1-6, 8-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0229975 A1 (Matthiesen et al.) in view of US 2014/0242589 A1 (Matthiesen).
Response to traversal
At pages 7-9 of the response said representative traverses the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 2011/0229975 A1 (Matthiesen et al.) in view of US 2014/0242589 A1 (Matthiesen). In support of applicant’s position the declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 by Sven Hauke, which was submitted in parent application (15/752,505) was also provided. Asserted in the response is that the prior art provides only 1 example of the ratio of components, and then it is not that which is claimed.
The arguments of applicant have been considered and have not been found persuasive towards the withdrawal of the rejection. While Matthiesen and Matthiesen et al., may provide only 1 hard example, it is noted that Matthiesen also instructs one to vary the concentrations of components. As noted above in the body of the rejection, Matthiesen, in paragraphs [0080] and [0081], teaches:
[0080] The compositions of the invention can be varied in order to optimize results for a particular application. For example, the concentration of cyclic and/or non-cyclic solvents, salt, accelerating agent, blocking agent, and/or hydrogen ions (i.e. pH) may be varied in order to improve results for a particular application. The cyclic and/or non-cyclic solvents is chosen from butadiene sulfone, tetrahydrothiophene 1-oxide (tetramethylene sulfoxide), d-valerolactam (2-piperidone), 2-pyrrolidone, cyclopentanone, N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone, 1,3-dimethyl-3,4,5,6-tetrahydro-2(1H)-pyrimidinone, N,N-dimethyl-acetamide and isobutyramide. (Emphasis added)
[0081] The concentrations of salt and dextran sulfate may also be varied in order to improve signal intensity and background staining Generally, as the concentrations of salt and dextran sulfate increase, the signal intensity may increase while background decreases. Likewise, signal intensity may increase as dextran sulfate concentration increases from, for example, 0% to 20%. (Emphasis added)
Such variances are deemed to be without limit. Given such, the aspect of finding a ratio or range of ratios that provide better results is deemed to be the product of routine optimization.
In view of the above analysis and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, claims -6, 8-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0229975 A1 (Matthiesen et al.) in view of US 2014/0242589 A1 (Matthiesen).
Conclusion
Objections and/or rejections which appeared in the prior Office action and which have not been repeated hereinabove have been withdrawn.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Bradley L. Sisson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682