DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 20 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
a) There is insufficient antecedent basis for the following limitation(s) in Claim 20, so line 1
should read, “[said] a housing”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner’s Notes
Regarding Claim(s) 1-20: With respect to the preamble, the preamble of the claim(s) has/have not been given any patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim(s) is/are drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim(s) following the preamble is a self – contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150,152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951).
With respect to Claim(s) 7-10, respectively: With regard to the intended use of the system, e.g. to indicate a score greater than the number of said blocks, so as to indicate a range of scores at least three times the number of said blocks, so as to allow light to pass through said housing, so as to diffuse illumination from said light. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-9 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer (US 3484984; see reference in its entirety) in view of Cyphers, SR. (US 2015/0151197 A1; see reference in its entirety).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Fischer disclose(s): A system (Fig. 5), the system comprising:
a frame (see annotated Fig. 5 below) including a rail (Fig. 5: 16) and a base (see annotated Fig. 5 below), wherein said base is positioned on a first end of said rail (see annotated Fig. 5 below); and
a plurality of blocks (Fig. 4: 10) configured to slide along said rail (Fig. 4 and col. 3, lines 1-2) , wherein each said block includes a light (Fig. 1: 13), wherein each said block is configured to electrically connect to another said block when contacting said other block (Fig. 1 and col. 4, lines 10-11: 3 & 4), and wherein a first block of said blocks is configured to electrically connect to said base when contacting said base (Fig. 5 and col. 4, lines 54-64);
wherein said base is configured to supply power to said first block when said first block contacts and electrically connects to said base (Fig. 5: 6);
wherein each sequential said block is configured to electrically connect to said base through one or more said blocks including said first block when each sequential said block electrically connects to one of said blocks electrically connected to said base (Figs. 1 & 5); and
wherein said base is configured to supply power to each sequential said block when each sequential said block electrically connects to said base (Figs. 1 & 5), and wherein said light in each said block is configured to illuminate when said base supplies power to said block (Fig. 1 and Abstract).
Fischer does not specifically disclose: the frame is configured to mount to the game table.
However, Cyphers teach(es) a system (Fig. 2) comprising: the frame is configured to mount to the game table (¶ [0006] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Fischer , with the teachings of Cyphers, for the purpose of increasing visibility of the system to the user (¶ [0006] ).
With respect to Claim 6, Fischer and Cyphers teach(es) the system of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein each said block is configured to illuminate in multiple colors.
However, Cyphers further teach(es): wherein each said block is configured to illuminate in multiple colors (¶ [0007] ).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1.
With respect to Claim 7, Fischer and Cyphers teach(es) the system of Claim 6.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein said blocks are configured to change the color of illumination to indicate a score greater than the number of said blocks.
However, Cyphers further teach(es): wherein said blocks are configured to change the color of illumination to indicate a score greater than the number of said blocks (¶ [0007] ).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1.
With respect to Claim 8, Fischer and Cyphers teach(es) the system of Claim 7.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein said blocks are configured to change color of illumination more than once so as to indicate a range of scores at least three times the number of said blocks.
However, Cyphers further teach(es): wherein said blocks are configured to change color of illumination more than once so as to indicate a range of scores at least three times the number of said blocks (¶ [0007] ).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1.
With respect to Claim 9, Fischer and Cyphers teach(es) the system of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein said blocks include a housing that encloses said light, and wherein a portion of said housing is translucent so as to allow light to pass through said housing.
However, Cyphers further teach(es): wherein said blocks include a housing that encloses said light, and wherein a portion of said housing is translucent so as to allow light to pass through said housing (¶ [0005] & [0007]: housing 16 made of glass, thus translucent, encloses an LED ).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1.
With respect to Claim 13, Fischer and Cyphers teach(es) the system of Claim 1.
Fischer further disclose(s): wherein each said block includes pins on a first side (Fig. 1: 4) and sockets on a second side(Fig. 1: 3), wherein said pins on one said block are configured to electrically connect to said sockets on another said block when said first side of said block abuts said second side of other said block (Figs. 1 & 4 and col. 4, lines 10-11),
With respect to Claim 14, Fischer and Cyphers teach(es) the system of Claim 13.
Fischer further disclose(s): wherein said base includes sockets (Fig. 2: 7-9) configured to electrically connect to said pins on said first block (Fig. 1: 4), and wherein said pins are configured to nest in said sockets when said first block abuts said base (Figs. 1 & 5 and col. 4, lines 10-11).
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer and Cyphers further in view of Cutt (US 12464627 B2; see reference in its entirety).
Regarding Claim(s) 2, Fischer and Cyphers disclose(s) the system of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein each said block includes a first magnet on a first side and a second magnet on a second side, and wherein said first magnet on one said block is configured to couple to said second magnet on another said block when said first side of said block contacts said second side of other said block.
However, Cutt teach(es) a system (Fig. 3A) including: wherein each said block includes a first magnet on a first side (Fig. 1b: 13) and a second magnet on a second side (Fig. 1d: 14) , and wherein said first magnet on one said block is configured to couple to said second magnet on another said block when said first side of said block contacts said second side of other said block (Fig. 3a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Fischer and Cyphers, with the further teachings of Cutt, for the purpose of improving connectivity of one element unto another element (col. 3, lines 27-37).
Regarding Claim(s) 3, Fischer and Cyphers disclose(s) the system of Claim 2.
The combination does not specifically disclose: a magnet that is configured to couple to said first magnet on said first block.
However, Cutt teach(es) a system (Fig. 3a) including: a magnet (Fig. 1b: 13) that is configured to couple to said first magnet on said first block (Fig. 3a).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 2.
Regarding Claim(s) 4, Fischer and Cyphers disclose(s) the system of Claim 2.
Fischer further disclose(s): wherein said frame includes a stopper on a second end (see annotated Fig. 5 above) that is opposite said first end across said rail (Fig. 5) , and wherein said stopper is configured to limit movement of a last block in said blocks (Figs. 1 & 5).
Regarding Claim(s) 5, Fischer and Cyphers disclose(s) the system of Claim 4.
The combination does not specifically disclose: a magnet that is configured to couple to said second magnet on said last block.
However, Cutt teach(es) a system (Fig. 3A) including: a magnet (Fig. 1b: 13) that is configured to couple to said second magnet on said last block (Fig. 3A).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 2.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer and Cyphers further in view of Farley (US 11167204 B1; see reference in its entirety).
Regarding Claim(s) 10, Fischer and Cyphers disclose(s) the system of Claim 9.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein said housing is textured so as to diffuse illumination from said light.
However, Farley teach(es) a system (Fig. 3A) including: wherein said housing is textured so as to diffuse illumination from said light (col. 4, lines 42-44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Fischer and Cyphers, with the further teachings of Farley, for the purpose of improving visibility (col. 3, lines 7-10).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer and Cyphers further in view of Binder (US 11207607 B2; see reference in its entirety).
Regarding Claim(s) 11, Fischer and Cyphers disclose(s) the system of Claim 9.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein said housing on each said block includes indicia, and wherein said light in each said block is configured to illuminate said indicia when said block receives power.
However, Binder teach(es) a system (Fig. 88) including: wherein said housing on each said block includes indicia (Fig. 88: 881a), and wherein said light in each said block is configured to illuminate said indicia when said block receives power (Fig. 88 and col. 56, lines 24-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Fischer and Cyphers, with the further teachings of Binder, for the purpose of providing visual graphics for displaying information (col. 56, lines 24-41).
Regarding Claim(s) 12, Fischer and Cyphers disclose(s) the system of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: a port configured to electrically connect to an external power source.
However, Binder teach(es) a system (Fig. 88) including: a port configured to electrically connect to an external power source (col. 8, lines 10-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Fischer and Cyphers, with the further teachings of Binder, for the purpose of providing additional functionality (col. 1, lines 43-49).
Claim(s) 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of Cyphers and Cutt.
With respect to independent Claim 15, Fischer disclose(s): A system (Fig. 5), the system comprising:
a frame (see annotated Fig. 5 below) including a rail (Fig. 5: 16) and a base (see annotated Fig. 5 below), wherein said base is positioned on a first end of said rail (see annotated Fig. 5 below); and
a plurality of blocks (Fig. 4: 10) configured to slide along said rail (Fig. 4 and col. 3, lines 1-2) , wherein each said block includes a light (Fig. 1: 13), wherein each said block is configured to electrically connect to another said block when contacting said other block (Fig. 1 and col. 4, lines 10-11: 3 & 4), wherein each said block is configured to electrically connect to another said block when contacting said other block (Fig. 5 and col. 4, lines 54-64);
wherein a first block of said blocks is configured to electrically connect to said base wen contacting said base (Fig. 5 and col. 4, lines 54-64);
wherein said base is configured to supply power to said first block when said first block contacts and electrically connects to said base (Fig. 5: 6);
wherein each sequential said block is configured to electrically connect to said base through one or more said blocks including said first block when each sequential said block electrically connects to one of said blocks electrically connected to said base (Figs. 1 & 5); and
wherein said base is configured to supply power to each sequential said block when each sequential said block electrically connects to said base (Figs. 1 & 5), and wherein said light in each said block is configured to illuminate when said base supplies power to said block (Fig. 1 and Abstract).
Fischer does not specifically disclose: the frame is configured to mount to the game table.
However, Cyphers teach(es) a system (Fig. 2) comprising: the frame is configured to mount to the game table (¶ [0006] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Fischer , with the teachings of Cyphers, for the purpose of increasing visibility of the system to the user (¶ [0006] ).
The combination does not specifically disclose: said base and each block includes a magnet, wherein said magnet on each said block is configured to mechanically couple to said magnet on another said block when contacting said other block; said magnet on said first block is configured to mechanically couple to said magnet on said base when said first block contacts said base.
However, Cutt teach(es) a system (Fig. 3A) including: said base and each block (Fig. 3a) includes a magnet (Fig. 1b: 13), wherein said magnet on each said block is configured to mechanically couple to said magnet on another said block when contacting said other block (Fig. 3a) ; said magnet on said first block is configured to mechanically couple to said magnet on said base when said first block contacts said base (Fig. 3a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Fischer and Cyphers, with the teachings of Cutt, for the purpose of improving connectivity of one element unto another element (col. 3, lines 27-37).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer, Cyphers and Cutt further in view of Binder.
Regarding Claim(s) 20, Fischer, Cyphers and Cutt disclose(s) the system of Claim 15.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein said housing on each said block includes indicia, and wherein said light in each said block is configured to illuminate said indicia when said block receives power.
However, Binder teach(es) a system (Fig. 88) including: wherein said housing on each said block includes indicia (Fig. 88: 881a), and wherein said light in each said block is configured to illuminate said indicia when said block receives power (Fig. 88 and col. 56, lines 24-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Fischer, Cyphers and Cutt, with the further teachings of Binder, for the purpose of providing visual graphics for displaying information (col. 56, lines 24-41).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
The following reference(s) relate to counter/building systems with magnets: Schott (US 2872742); Ho (US 2005/0130106 A1); Munch (US 7708615 B2); Son (US 11500409 B2).
The following reference(s) relate to light systems: Wang et al. (US 2018/0202643 A1); Greenberg (US 4475226).
The following reference(s) relate to counter systems: Tsai (US D417405); Ylitalo (US 5334026).
The following reference(s) relate to counter systems on game tables (same assignee: Indian Industries, Inc.): Chung (US 8376870 B2).
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TC/
21 February 2026
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855