Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 01/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 11-12 of the amendment, Applicant argued that the first mode and the second mode taught in the amended claim 1 are not disclosed by Zhang.
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang teaches in paragraph 0088-0089 and 0137, that video encoder may signal a set of IC parameters (i.e., a and b) to video decoder; also video encoder 20 may signal one flag to indicate whether to use the explicitly signaling (such as 4.a) or an implicitly signaling technique. These techniques may be applicable to the signaling of LM linear parameters; see also claim 2 which teaches derivation of LIC parameters a and/or b for a respective group of the plurality of groups; in addition, claim 10 teaches signaling one or more parameters for local illumination compensation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1 and 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims teach the limitation “receiving a fifth syntax element indicating one of following modes: a first mode in which α.sub.1 and β.sub.1 are signaled, and α.sub.2 and β.sub.2 are not signaled and are to be derived by the decoder; and a second mode in which α.sub.2 and β.sub.2 are signaled, and α.sub.1 and β.sub.1 are not signaled and are to be derived by the decoder.” However, it is unclear where said limitation is taught in the specification as-originally filed. The specification as-originally filed does not show any descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, or formulas describing the fifth syntax as taught in the limitation above.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 8, 11-12 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1-7, 9 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2019/021522) hereinafter “Zhang” in view of Yan et al. (US 2024/0314302) hereinafter “Yan”.
As per claim 1, Zhang discloses a method for decoding a current block in a video bitstream (Fig. 19), performed by a decoder (Fig. 3), the method comprising:
receiving the video bitstream comprising the current block (Fig. 12; paragraph 0062)…the reference block being identified by a motion vector associated with the current block (paragraph 0004);
grouping samples in the current block into at least a first class and a second class (paragraph 0111, video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may classify samples within a current block into several groups; paragraph 0118, Video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may be configured to derive M classes for MMLIC) based on a predefined criteria, the first class and the second class being associated with a first linear model and a second linear model, respectively, wherein the first linear model has at least a scale factor α.sub.1 or an offset β.sub.1, and wherein the second linear model has at least a scale factor α.sub.2 which is different from α.sub.1 or an offset β.sub.2 which is different from β.sub.1 (see equations in paragraph 0118);
receiving a fifth syntax element indicating one of following modes: a first mode in which α.sub.1 and β.sub.1 are signaled, and α.sub.2 and β.sub.2 are not signaled and are to be derived by the decoder; and a second mode in which α.sub.2 and β.sub.2 are signaled, and α.sub.1 and β.sub.1 are not signaled and are to be derived by the decoder (paragraph 0088-0089 and 0137, video encoder may signal a set of IC parameters (i.e., a and b) to video decoder…video encoder 20 may signal one flag to indicate whether to use the explicitly signaling (such as 4.a) or an implicitly signaling technique. The above techniques may be applicable to the signaling of LM linear parameters; see also claim 2 and 10);
determining the first linear model and the second linear model (paragraph 0111, video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may classify samples within a current block into several groups. In this example, video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may pick one linear model from each group);
predicting samples in the first class based on the reference block and the first linear model; predicting samples in the second class based on the reference block and the second linear model (see equations in paragraph 0118); and
reconstructing the current block based on predicted samples in the first class and the second class (Fig. 12, output of reconstruction unit 158; paragraphs 0166 and 0169).
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose receiving the video bitstream comprising…a reference block,
In the same field of endeavor, Yan discloses receiving the video bitstream comprising…a reference block (paragraph 0006),
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Zhang, with those of Yan, because both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor, because indeed both references are related to encoding/decoding processes using intra-prediction mode and/or linear model prediction, and because such a combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Zhang and Yan used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
As per claim 2, Zhang discloses wherein the predefined criteria comprises at least one of: grouping the samples in the current block into the at least the first class and the second class based on a magnitude or a value of each of the samples; or grouping the samples in the current block into the at least the first class and the second class based on a location of the each of the samples (paragraph 0116, video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may perform a classification of samples (e.g., either neighboring samples of the current block or neighboring samples of the reference block, or samples in the reference block or samples in the current block) based on their intensities of the samples and/or positions of the samples).
As per claim 3, Zhang discloses wherein: the first linear model is represented by an equation below:
p′(x′)=α1*p(x)+β1 where p′(x′) is a sample belonging to the first class in the current block at location x′, p (x) is a sample corresponding to p′(x′) at location x in the reference block; and
the second linear model is represented by an equation below:
p′(y′)=α2*p(y)+β2 where p′(y′) is a sample belonging to the second class in the current block at location y′, p(y) is a sample corresponding to p′(y′) at location y in the reference block (see equations in paragraph 0118).
As per claim 4, Zhang discloses wherein:
grouping the samples in the current block comprises: in response to one of: a) a sample in the current block being greater than an average value or a mean value of samples in the reference block; or b) a reference sample in the reference block corresponding to a sample in the current block being greater than the average value or the mean value of samples in the reference block, grouping the sample to the first class, otherwise grouping the sample to the second class (paragraphs 0118-0123); and
determining the first linear model and the second linear model comprises determining the first linear model and the second linear model based on a classification of the first class and the second class (paragraph 0111).
As per claim 5, Zhang discloses wherein:
grouping the samples in the current block comprises grouping the samples in the current block into the first class and the second class according to a classification rule (paragraph 0111, video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may classify samples within a current block into several groups; paragraph 0118, Video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may be configured to derive M classes for MMLIC; paragraph 0124), the classification rule being based on a value of each of the samples (paragraph 0116, video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may perform a classification of samples (e.g., either neighboring samples of the current block or neighboring samples of the reference block, or samples in the reference block or samples in the current block) based on their intensities of the samples and/or positions of the samples);
grouping samples in a template of the current block and sample in a template of reference block (Figs. 6A and 6B; paragraph 0116, video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may perform a classification of samples (e.g., either neighboring samples of the current block or neighboring samples of the reference block, or samples in the reference block or samples in the current block) based on their intensities of the samples and/or positions of the samples) into a first reference class corresponding to the first class and a second reference class corresponding to the second class according to the classification rule (paragraph 0111, Video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may classify a neighboring luma block of the reference block and a neighboring luma block of the current block into several groups); and
deriving at least one of α.sub.1 and β.sub.1 based on the first reference class, or deriving at least one of α.sub.2 and β.sub.2 based on the second reference class (see scaling factor and offset formulas in paragraph 0099; paragraph 0111, Video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may use each group as a training set to derive a linear model (e.g., particular and/or are derived for a certain group)).
As per claim 6, Zhang discloses wherein: the method further comprising receiving a first syntax element indicating at least one of α.sub.1 or β.sub.1 (paragraphs 0088-0089 and 0137); and determining the first linear model comprises determining the first linear model based on α.sub.1 and β.sub.1 (see equations in paragraph 0118).
As per claim 7, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 6 are applicable for claim 7.
As per claim 9, Zhang discloses wherein: the method further comprises deriving α.sub.2 based on α.sub.1 (equations 8 and 9 in paragraphs 0127-0128 show α2 can be derived based on α1); and determining the second linear model comprises determining the second linear model based on α.sub.2 (paragraph 0118).
As per claim 19, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 1 are applicable for claim 19; in addition, Zhang teaches a device comprising a memory for storing computer instructions and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the computer instructions, the processor is configured to cause the device to perform the claimed method (see Figs. 1 and 12 and paragraph 0040).
As per claim 20, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 1 are applicable for claim 20; in addition, Zhang teaches a non-transitory storage medium for storing computer readable instructions, the computer readable instructions, when executed by a processor, causing the processor to perform the claimed method (paragraph 0040).
10. Claim(s) 10 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2019/021522) in view of Yan et al. (US 2024/0314302) in further view of WANG et al. (US 2025/0193411) hereinafter “WANG”.
As per claim 10, Zhang and Yan disclose the method of claim 2, wherein: determining the first linear model comprises selecting the first linear model from two or more candidate models (see paragraphs 0124-0125 of Zhang);
However, Zhang or Yan do not explicitly disclose receiving a fourth syntax element indicating a scale factor adjustment value to be used for adjusting α.sub.1 in selected first linear model; determining an adjusted α.sub.1 based on α.sub.1 in the selected first linear model and the scale factor adjustment value; and replacing α.sub.1 in the selected first linear model with the adjusted α.sub.1 to obtain an updated first linear model.
In the same field of endeavor, WANG discloses receiving a fourth syntax element indicating a scale factor adjustment value to be used for adjusting α.sub.1 in selected first linear model (paragraph 0369, LIC types may refer to different LIC models with adjustment parameters, wherein the LIC type is signaled by a syntax element as taught in paragraph 0385); determining an adjusted α.sub.1 based on α.sub.1 in the selected first linear model and the scale factor adjustment value (paragraph 0369, an adjustment parameter may be used to adjust α, such as α+u or α×u; paragraph 0430); and replacing α.sub.1 in the selected first linear model with the adjusted α.sub.1 to obtain an updated first linear model (paragraphs 0369, the multiple LIC types may refer to different LIC models with adjustment parameters for one or more existing parameters of LIC (e.g., α and β)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Zhang in view of Yan, with those of WANG, because all references are drawn to the same field of endeavor, because indeed both Zhang and WANG are related to prediction using multiple-model linear mode, and because such a combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result, such as improving coding efficiency and coding performance. This rationale applies to all combinations of Zhang, Yan and WANG used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
As per claim 15, Zhang and WANG disclose wherein the current block is predicted in one of a Block Adaptive Weighted Prediction (BAWP) mode or a Local Illumination Compensation (LIC) mode (Zhang; paragraphs 0103-0108), and wherein grouping the samples in the current block comprises: grouping the samples in the current block based on a first partition line used for the BAWP mode or the LIC mode, such that samples along one side of the first partition line form the first class and samples along the other side of the first partition line form the second class (WANG; paragraphs 0264-0265 and 0349).
As per claim 16, Zhang discloses wherein determining the first linear model and the second linear model comprises: determining the first linear model based on a first location of a first reference sample in the reference block, the first reference sample corresponding to a first sample in the first class; and determining the second linear model based on a second location of a second reference sample in the reference block, the second reference sample corresponding to a second sample in the first class (paragraphs 0111 and 0116; Video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may classify a neighboring luma block of the reference block and a neighboring luma block of the current block into several groups. In this example, video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may use each group as a training set to derive a linear model (e.g., particular and/or are derived for a certain group)… video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may pick one linear model from each group… video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may perform a classification of samples (e.g., either neighboring samples of the current block or neighboring samples of the reference block, or samples in the reference block or samples in the current block) based on their intensities of the samples and/or positions of the samples).
11. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2019/0215522) in view of Yan et al. (US 2024/0314302) in further view of KIM et al. (US 2025/0150605) hereinafter “KIM”.
As per claim 14, Zhang and Yan disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the current block is predicted in one of a Block Adaptive Weighted Prediction (BAWP) mode or a Local Illumination Compensation (LIC) mode (Zhang; paragraphs 0103-0108), the method further comprising: receiving, from the video bitstream, a high level syntax indicating whether multiple linear models are to be used (i.e., LIC flag; paragraph 0105 of Zhang),
However, Zhang or Yan do not explicitly disclose the high level syntax being signaled in at least one of following levels: a sequence level; a frame level; a slice level; or a super block level.
In the same field of endeavor, KIM discloses the high level syntax being signaled in at least one of following levels: a sequence level; a frame level; a slice level; or a super block level (paragraph 0070 teaches that encoded syntax information can be included in a coding tree unit (CTU), wherein an element of syntax information can be mmlm_flag, as taught in paragraph 0167).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Zhang in view of Yan, with those of KIM, because all references are drawn to the same field of endeavor, because indeed both Zhang and KIM are related to prediction using multiple-model linear mode, and because such a combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED JEBARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482