DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Applicant’s Amendment filed on 05/24/2026 in which claims 1, 8-9, 11-12, 15, 17-18, and 20 have been added and entered of record.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Argument
Regarding Remarks for rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(a)
Applicant argues that paragraph [0071] explains the claimed limitation "output of the wireless power transmission apparatus is maintained uniform while maintaining the maximum power transmission efficiency" from the disclosure of the paragraph. Applicant further argues that paragraph [0062] a controller "may control the DC-DC converter 530 or may boost up and/or down the DC-DC converter 530 without changing the output of the DC-DC converter 530 to improve the system efficiency" also describes the claimed invention (see remarks on page 10).
The arguments have been fully considered but not persuasive. The disclosure discloses changing the efficiency of the system by adjusting the amount of transmitting power. As stated by an example in the paragraph [0071], “That is, whenever a received power packet is received, the wireless power transmission apparatus may measure the system efficiency to compare the system efficiency with a system efficiency value measured when a received power packet was previously received, and if the current measured value is smaller than the previous value, the wireless power transmission apparatus may control the DC voltage and/or the gate voltage such that the efficiency increases”. According to the common knowledge in the art, a maximum power transfer (maximum efficiency) occurred when impedance of a transmission matched. In wireless power transmitting, to match impedance in a system of a wireless power transmission between a power transmitter and a power receiver, the system matching the impedance by either correcting reactive impedance such as capacitance and/or inductance of the wireless power transmitter and/or an impedance of the wireless power receiver; and/or transmitting frequency since reactive impedances are based on frequency (
or
). According to common knowledge in the art, changing amount of transmitting power would not change efficiency due to an impedance mismatching.
Furthermore, another unconventional disclosure regarding the claimed invention is “In this case, a controller 510 may control the DC-DC converter 530 or may boost up and/or down the DC-DC converter 530 without changing the output of the DC-DC converter 530 to improve the system efficiency” [0062]. Conventionally, when a buck/boost converter is controlled in “buck” mode, an output voltage of the buck/boost converter is lower than the input; and when the buck/boost converter is controlled in a boost mode, the output voltage of the buck/boost converter is higher than the input. Applicant does not provide additional information for the unconventional disclosure. Therefore, the claim(s) limitation “adjust at least the DC voltage based on the power transmission efficiency to maintain a uniform output of the wireless power transmission apparatus while maximizing the power transmission efficiency” contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding Remarks for rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(a)
As discussed above, the claimed limitation is unclear based according to the disclosure.
Regarding Remarks for rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1)
Applicant argues that Sadakata discloses Sadakata's disclosure intentionally operates away from the maximum efficiency point for safety which is different from the claimed invention (see Remarks pages 12-13).
The arguments have been fully considered but not persuasive. Since the Applicant’s disclosure unconventionally discloses that changing the efficiency by changing the amount of transmitting power, therefore, the interpretation of efficiency was based on the Applicant’s disclosure increasing or decreasing the DC voltage output of a buck/boost converter to improve efficiency while maintaining uniform output. Accordingly, Sadakata's discloses adjusting an buck/boost converter output to meet the amount of power requested by an wireless power receiver at any given time would have uniform output at the requested power thus provide efficiency to the system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the amended limitation recites “adjust at least the DC voltage based on the power transmission efficiency to maintain a uniform output of the wireless power transmission apparatus”. The specification does not clearly discloses how adjusting the DC voltage can maintain a uniform output of the wireless power transmission apparatus. It is well understood in the art that when using the DC/DC converter to change the transmission output power to the receiver. In this case, it is unclear how the output power does not change or maintain a uniform output. For example, paragraph [0062] discloses “In this case, a controller 510 may control the DC-DC converter 530 or may boost up and/or down the DC-DC converter 530 without changing the output of the DC-DC converter 530 to improve the system efficiency”. The disclosure seems to be contradicted to some of the other disclosure in the application (i.e. adjusting the DC voltage to meet the power requirement of the receiver).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is rejected for the same reason as claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 2-11 and 13-20, the claims are rejected due to the rejections of claims 1 and 12 above.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, lines 15-17 recite “adjust at least the DC voltage based on the power transmission efficiency to maintain a uniform output of the wireless power transmission apparatus while maximizing the power transmission efficiency”. It is unclear how adjusting the DC voltage can maintain a uniform output of the wireless power transmission apparatus. For the examining purpose, the claim will be construed as best understood convention in the art.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is rejected for the same reason as claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 2-11 and 13-20, the claims are rejected due to the rejections of claims 1 and 12 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 11-15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SADAKATA et al. US Patent Publication 20150357863; hereinafter “SADAKATA” in view of Partovi, US Patent Publication 20160056664; hereinafter “Partovi”.
Regarding claim 1, SADAKATA discloses a wireless power transmission apparatus (Fig. 2, circuitries to the left of transmitting coil 7), comprising:
at least one primary coil (7) for transmitting a power signal [0008] to a wireless power reception apparatus (Fig. 2, circuitries to the right of receiving coil 8);
a converter (15) to output a direct current (DC) voltage (output of buck/boost converter 15) to an inverter (4);
the inverter to convert the DC voltage to an alternating current (AC) voltage ([0033] 4 is an inverter) applied to the at least one primary coil to transmit the power signal [0033] [0040]; and
a controller (13) configured to:
control the converter to adjust the DC voltage [0033] [0040] that the converter outputs to the inverter (output of 15 connected to input of inverter 4),
control a gate voltage of the inverter (Fig. 2, Transmitted Power Control 13 controlling the gates of 19-20, 24 and 26) (Fig. 4C to Fig. 4E) [0040],
receive a packet including information from the wireless power reception apparatus [0040] while the power signal is being transmitted to the wireless power reception apparatus [0080],
determine a power transmission efficiency based, at least in part, on the information ([0045] “The transmitted power control circuit 13 controls the buck-boost converter 15 so that a result of detection by the received power detector 10 is equal to the power required for charging” when adjusting the transmitted power equal to the power required for charging is to determine the efficiency during the feedback information from the wireless power receiver), and
adjust at least the DC voltage based on the power transmission efficiency to maintain a uniform output of the wireless power transmission apparatus ([0040] [0045] “control circuit 13 controls the buck-boost converter 15 so that a result of detection by the received power detector 10 is equal to the power required for charging” indicates uniform output at the power requirement of the receiver) while maximizing the power transmission efficiency ([0045] [0047] [0048] when the voltage of the battery rises which indicating the state of charge (SoC) of the battery raise which does not require the same amount of power to charge the battery, the transmitter controls the inverter 4 to change transmitting frequency to lower the output power of the wireless power transmitter; the wireless power transmitter output is maintain a uniform output at the new power requirement of the wireless power receiver until the SoC of the battery changed and require less wireless transmitting power, then a new power requirement is needed, in doing so the efficiency is optimal and the system avoid the battery being charge with overpower which is which is inefficient).
SADAKATA does not explicitly disclose the information is received in a packet format. Partovi discloses a wireless power transfer system (Fig. 1) having communication among a wireless power transmitter and a wireless power receiver with packet format [0118]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified SADAKATA to incorporate the teachings of Partovi and use packet format providing superior bandwidth efficiency, high fault tolerance, and scalable network traffic since the packet format is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi discloses the wireless power transmission apparatus of claim 1 above, SADAKATA further discloses the controller is configured to control the converter by controlling a boost-up or boost-down of the converter to adjust the DC voltage [0033] [0040].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi discloses the power transmission apparatus of claim 1 above, SADAKATA further discloses the information indicates an amount of power received by the wireless power reception apparatus [0073], and wherein the controller calculates the power transmission efficiency based on the amount of the power received [0073].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi discloses the power transmission apparatus of claim 3 above, SADAKATA further discloses the controller calculates the power transmission efficiency based on the amount of the power received and an input power of the wireless power transmission apparatus [0073].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi discloses the power transmission apparatus of claim 1 above, SADAKATA further discloses the inverter is a half bridge inverter or a full bridge inverter comprising at least two transistors (Fig. 2, inverter 4 is a full-bridge inverter, having 4 transistors).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi discloses the power transmission apparatus of claim 6 above, SADAKATA further discloses the controller controls the gate voltage of the at least two transistors to maximize the power transmission efficiency ([0056] [0031] [0037] “illustrates the frequency characteristic of the received power” [0038] [0042] [0043] the inverter start at high frequency and lowering drive frequency in search for optimal efficiency frequency based on the air gap between the transmitting coil and the receiving coil; to change the frequency in the inverter, the duty cycle need to increase or decrease, thus the gate voltage of the transistors need to turn on and off “increase or decrease” [0073]; Figs. 3A and 3B show the process of tuning/adjusting frequency to find a maximum efficiency frquency).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi discloses the power transmission apparatus of claim 1 above, SADAKATA further discloses the packet includes a control error packet indicating a difference value between a power required by the wireless power reception apparatus and a power received from the wireless power transmission apparatus ([0040] [0045] “control circuit 13 controls the buck-boost converter 15 so that a result of detection by the received power detector 10 is equal to the power required for charging” indicates a feedback control which including an error message until the “the received power detector 10 is equal to the power required for charging”).
Regarding claim 12, SADAKATA discloses a method of a wireless power transmission apparatus (Fig. 2, circuitries to the left of transmitting coil 7), the method comprising:
outputting, using a converter (output of buck/boost converter 15), a direct current (DC) voltage (output of 15) to an inverter (4);
converting, using the inverter, the DC voltage to an alternating current (AC) voltage ([0033] 4 is an inverter), wherein the AC voltage is applied to at least one primary coil (7) [0033] [0040];
transmitting, using the at least one primary coil, a power signal [0033] [0040] to a wireless power reception apparatus (Fig. 2, circuitries to the right of receiving coil 8); and
controlling the converter to adjust the DC voltage that the converter outputs to the inverter [0033] [0040];
controlling a gate voltage of the inverter (Fig. 2, Transmitted Power Control 13 controlling the gates of 19-20, 24 and 26) (Fig. 4C to Fig. 4E);
receiving a packet including information from the wireless power reception apparatus [0040] while the power signal is being transmitted to the wireless power reception apparatus [0080];
determining a power transmission efficiency based, at least in part, on the information ([0045] “The transmitted power control circuit 13 controls the buck-boost converter 15 so that a result of detection by the received power detector 10 is equal to the power required for charging” when adjusting the transmitted power equal to the power required for charging is to determine the efficiency during the feedback information from the wireless power receiver); and
adjusting at least the DC voltage [0033] based on the power transmission efficiency to maintain a uniform output of the wireless power transmission apparatus ([0040] [0045] “control circuit 13 controls the buck-boost converter 15 so that a result of detection by the received power detector 10 is equal to the power required for charging” indicates uniform output at the power requirement of the receiver) while maximizing the power transmission efficiency ([0045] [0047] [0048] when the voltage of the battery rises which indicating the state of charge (SoC) of the battery raise which does not require the same amount of power to charge the battery, the transmitter controls the inverter 4 to change transmitting frequency to lower the output power of the wireless power transmitter; the wireless power transmitter output is maintain a uniform output at the new power requirement of the wireless power receiver until the SoC of the battery changed and require less wireless transmitting power, then a new power requirement is needed, in doing so the efficiency is optimal and the system avoid the battery being charge with overpower which is which is inefficient)the.
SADAKATA does not explicitly disclose the information is received in a packet format. Partovi discloses a wireless power transfer system (Fig. 1) having communication among a wireless power transmitter and a wireless power receiver with packet format [0118]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified SADAKATA to incorporate the teachings of Partovi and use packet format providing superior bandwidth efficiency, high fault tolerance, and scalable network traffic since the packet format is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi discloses the method of claim 12 above, SADAKATA also discloses controlling the converter includes controlling a boost-up or a boost-down of the controller to adjust the DC voltage [0033] [0040].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi discloses the method of claim 12 above, SADAKATA also discloses the information indicates an amount of power received by the wireless power reception apparatus [0073], the method further comprising:
calculating the power transmission efficiency based on the amount of the power received [0007] [0008] [0040]-[0045] [0056] [0073].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi discloses the method of claim 14 above, SADAKATA also discloses the power
Regarding claim 20, the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi discloses the method of claim 14 above, SADAKATA also discloses the packet includes:
a control error packet indicating a difference value between a power required by the wireless power reception apparatus and a power received from the wireless power transmission apparatus ([0040] [0045] “control circuit 13 controls the buck-boost converter 15 so that a result of detection by the received power detector 10 is equal to the power required for charging” indicates a feedback control which including an error message until the “the received power detector 10 is equal to the power required for charging”).
Claim(s) 5, 9-10, 16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi in view of Baarman et al., US Patent Publication 2009/0174263; hereinafter “Baarman”.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi discloses the power transmission apparatus of claim 1 above, SADAKATA discloses controlling the inverter to calculate power transmission efficiency based on a result of detection by the received power detector 10 which indicates searching for maximum efficiency [0073]. SADAKATA does not explicitly disclose the controller compares a first power transmission efficiency of a current cycle with a second power transmission efficiency of a previous cycle to maintain the power transmission efficiency at a maximum, and compares a first transmission power of the current cycle with a second transmission power of the previous cycle to maintain the uniform output of the wireless power transmission apparatus.
Baarman discloses a wireless power transfer system having a controller compares a power transmission efficiency (step 604) of a current cycle (the frequency after increase operating frequency at step 602) with a power transmission efficiency of a previous cycle (the frequency after increase operating frequency at step 602) to maintain the power transmission efficiency at the maximum [0043], and compares a transmission power of the current cycle (the frequency after increase operating frequency at step 602) with a transmission power of the previous cycle (the frequency after increase operating frequency at step 602) to maintain a uniform output of the wireless power transmission apparatus ([0043] “maintain the operating frequency substantially at resonance”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi to incorporate the teachings of Baarman and have the controller compares a power transmission efficiency of a current cycle with a power transmission efficiency of a previous cycle to maintain the power transmission efficiency at the maximum, and compares a transmission power of the current cycle with a transmission power of the previous cycle to maintain a uniform output of the wireless power transmission apparatus. Doing so would allow using a known procedure for having maximum efficiency.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi discloses the power transmission apparatus of claim 1 above, SADAKATA also discloses the controller is configured to:
receive, from the wireless power reception apparatus, a received power packet including reception power information ([0080] suggest communication through coils A.K.A. load modulation, in-band communication which communication is modulated in the power signal) indicating power received at the wireless power reception apparatus [0045] [0073], the received power packet comprising an nth received power packet (Figs. 3A and 3B show a range of transmitting frequency) ([0042] “the inverter circuit 4 starts at a frequency higher than the maximum received power frequencies, and reduces a drive frequency to the lower limit drive frequency based on a predetermined period and the amount of control” indicates the transmitted frequency is decreased at a series of known “amount” of increment at a known period), wherein n comprises an index of the received power packet in a series of received power packets (Figs. 3A and 3B show a range of transmitting frequency; and [0042] “the inverter circuit 4 starts at a frequency higher than the maximum received power frequencies, and reduces a drive frequency to the lower limit drive frequency based on a predetermined period and the amount of control” indicates the frequency sweeping from high to low in a series known amount); and adjusting the efficiency base at least in part, on the reception power information [0045] [0073] and the AC voltage applied to the at least one primary coil [0067] [0068].
SADAKATA discloses controlling the inverter to calculate power transmission efficiency based on a result of detection by the received power detector 10 which indicates searching for maximum efficiency [0073]. SADAKATA does not explicitly disclose calculate a previous power transmission efficiency of a previous control cycle based, at least in part, on the reception power information and the AC voltage applied to the at least one primary coil, wherein the previous control cycle comprises a first period between receipt of an (n-1)th received power packet and receipt of the nth received power packet in the series of received power packets; and
adjust, for a next control cycle, at least one of the converter or the inverter based, at least in part, on the previous power transmission efficiency, wherein the next control cycle comprises a second period between the receipt of the nth received power packet and receipt of an (n+1)th received power packet in the series of received power packets.
Baarman disclose calculate a power transmission efficiency of a previous control cycle (any frequency point in the range of frequency of Fig. 7; or the initial operating frequency as describe in the control method of Fig. 6, 602 to 604) based, at least in part, on the reception power information [0006] and the AC voltage applied to the at least one primary coil, wherein the previous control cycle comprises a first period between receipt of an (n-1)th received power packet (the frequency before increase operating frequency at step 602)and receipt of the nth received power packet (the frequency after increase operating frequency at step 602) in the series of received power packets (Fig. 6 is a control loop that determined the efficiency based on the received power package [0003]); and
control, for a next control cycle, at least one of the converter or the inverter (Fig. 6 is a frequency control of the inverter) based, at least in part, on the power transmission efficiency of the previous control cycle (at 604 comparing the efficiency of the frequencies before step 602 and after step 602), wherein the next control cycle comprises a second period (the next control cycle is either increase or decrease the operating frequency as the result of step 604) between the receipt of the nth received power packet (the frequency after increase operating frequency at step 602) and receipt of an (n+1)th received power packet (the next control cycle is either increase or decrease the operating frequency) in the series of received power packets (the method in Fig. 6 is sequential). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi to incorporate the teachings of Baarman and have controller is configured to calculate a power transmission efficiency of a previous control cycle based, at least in part, on the reception power information and the AC voltage applied to the at least one primary coil, wherein the previous control cycle comprises a first period between receipt of an (n-1)th received power packet and receipt of the nth received power packet in the series of received power packets; and control, for a next control cycle, at least one of the converter or the inverter based, at least in part, on the power transmission efficiency of the previous control cycle, wherein the next control cycle comprises a second period between the receipt of the nth received power packet and receipt of an (n+1)th received power packet in the series of received power packets. Doing so would allow using a known procedure for having maximum efficiency.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of SADAKATA, Partovi and Baarman discloses the power transmission apparatus of claim 9 above, Baarman also discloses the controller is further configured to:
determine whether the previous power transmission efficiency is below a maximum efficiency (yes in step 604), and wherein the controller is further configured control
adjust at least one of the converter or the inverter based on a determination that the previous power transmission efficiency of the previous control cycle is below the maximum efficiency (yes in step 602).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi discloses the method of claim 14 above, SADAKATA does not explicitly disclose the adjusting includes:
comparing a first power transmission efficiency of a current cycle with a second power transmission efficiency of a previous cycle, and
comparing a transmission power of the current cycle with a transmission power of the previous cycle.
Baarman discloses method of a wireless power transfer system adjusting of at least one of the DC voltage and a gate voltage (Fig. 5 and 6) comprises comparing a power transmission efficiency (604) of a current cycle (after increasing frequency in step 602) with a power transmission efficiency of a previous cycle (any frequency point in the range of frequency of Fig. 7; or the initial operating frequency as describe in the control method of Fig. 6, 602 to 604; in particular, frequency before step 602), and comparing (604) a transmission power of the current cycle (after increasing frequency in step 602) with a transmission power of the previous cycle (frequency before step 602) to control the at least one of the DC voltage and the gate voltage such that an output of the wireless power transmission apparatus is maintained uniform while maintaining the maximum power transmission efficiency ([0043] “maintain the operating frequency substantially at resonance”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi to incorporate the teachings of Baarman and adjusting including comparing a power transmission efficiency of a current cycle with a power transmission efficiency of a previous cycle, and comparing a transmission power of the current cycle with a transmission power of the previous cycle. Doing so would allow using a known procedure for having maximum efficiency.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi discloses the method of claim 12 above, SADAKATA also discloses the method further comprising:
receiving, from the wireless power reception apparatus, a received power packet including reception power information ([0080] suggest communication through coils A.K.A. load modulation, in-band communication which is well-known in the art) indicating power received at the wireless power reception apparatus [0045], the received power packet comprising an nth received power packet (Figs. 3A and 3B show a range of transmitting frequency) ([0042] “the inverter circuit 4 starts at a frequency higher than the maximum received power frequencies, and reduces a drive frequency to the lower limit drive frequency based on a predetermined period and the amount of control” indicates the transmitted frequency is decreased at a series of known “amount” of increment at a known period), wherein n comprises an index of the received power packet in a series of received power packets (Figs. 3A and 3B show a range of transmitting frequency; and [0042] “the inverter circuit 4 starts at a frequency higher than the maximum received power frequencies, and reduces a drive frequency to the lower limit drive frequency based on a predetermined period and the amount of control” indicates the frequency sweeping from high to low in a series known amount); and adjusting the efficiency base at least in part, on the reception power information [0045] [0073] and the AC voltage applied to the at least one primary coil [0067] [0068],
SADAKATA discloses controlling the inverter to calculate power transmission efficiency based on a result of detection by the received power detector 10 which indicates searching for maximum efficiency [0073]. SADAKATA does not explicitly disclose calculating a previous power transmission efficiency of a previous control cycle based, at least in part, on the reception power information and the AC voltage applied to the at least one primary coil, wherein the previous control cycle comprises a first period between receipt of an (n-1)th received power packet and receipt of the nth received power packet in the series of received power packets; and
adjusting, for a next control cycle, at least one of the converter or the inverter based, at least in part, on the previous power transmission efficiency, wherein the next control cycle comprises a second period between the receipt of the nth received power packet and receipt of an (n+1)th received power packet in the series of received power packets.
Baarman disclose calculating a power transmission efficiency of a previous control cycle (any frequency point in the range of frequency of Fig. 7; or the initial operating frequency as describe in the control method of Fig. 6, 602 to 604) based, at least in part, on the reception power information [0006] and the AC voltage applied to the at least one primary coil, wherein the previous control cycle comprises a first period between receipt of an (n-1)th received power packet (the frequency before increase operating frequency at step 602) and receipt of the nth received power packet (the frequency after increase operating frequency at step 602) in the series of received power packets (Fig. 6 is a control loop that determined the efficiency based on the received power package [0003]); and
controlling, for a next control cycle (the next control cycle is either increase or decrease the operating frequency), at least one of the converter or the inverter (Fig. 6 is a frequency control of the inverter) based, at least in part, on the power transmission efficiency of the previous control cycle (at 604 comparing the efficiency of the frequencies before step 602 and after step 602), wherein the next control cycle comprises a second period (the next control cycle is either increase or decrease the operating frequency as the result of step 604) between the receipt of the nth received power packet and receipt of an (n+1)th received power packet (the frequency after increase operating frequency at step 602) in the series of received power packets (the method in Fig. 6 is sequential).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi to incorporate the teachings of Baarman and have controller is configured to calculating a previous power transmission efficiency of a previous control cycle based, at least in part, on the reception power information and the AC voltage applied to the at least one primary coil, wherein the previous control cycle comprises a first period between receipt of an (n-1)th received power packet and receipt of the nth received power packet in the series of received power packets; and adjusting, for a next control cycle, at least one of the converter or the inverter based, at least in part, on the previous power transmission efficiency of the previous control cycle, wherein the next control cycle comprises a second period between the receipt of the nth received power packet and receipt of an (n+1)th received power packet in the series of received power packets. Doing so would allow using a known procedure for having maximum efficiency.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of SADAKATA, Partovi and Baarman discloses the method of claim 18, Baarman also discloses the method further comprising:
determining whether the previous power transmission efficiency is below a maximum efficiency (yes in step 604); and
adjusting at least one of the converter or the inverter based on a determination that the power transmission efficiency is below the maximum efficiency (yes in step 602).
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi in view of KAZAMA et al., US Patent Publication 20100264746; hereinafter “KAZAMA”.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi discloses the wireless power transmission apparatus of claim 1, and the method of claim 12 above, SADAKATA also discloses the method further comprising:
receiving, from the wireless power reception apparatus, an amount of power received by the wireless power reception apparatus from the wireless power reception apparatus [0045] [0073]; and
controlling the DC voltage [0041] of the inverter [0042] based on the received value [0045].
SADAKATA does not disclose receive, from the wireless power reception apparatus, a difference value between a required power of the wireless power reception apparatus and power received by the wireless power reception apparatus.
KAZAMA discloses a wireless power transfer system with a method of receiving, from the wireless power reception apparatus, a difference value between a required power of the wireless power reception apparatus and power received by the wireless power reception apparatus [0084] [0085].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the combination of SADAKATA and Partovi to incorporate the teachings of KAZAMA and use the method of receiving, from the wireless power reception apparatus, a difference value between a required power of the wireless power reception apparatus and power received by the wireless power reception apparatus; and controlling at least one of the DC voltage and a gate voltage of the inverter based on the difference value. Doing so would allow the receiver asking for exact power requirement for any period of time based on a highly varies load.
Conclusion
/THAI H TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836