DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks
This Office Action is considered to be fully responsive to the communications filed on 06/08/2026. Claims 1-23 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 10-12, filed 06/08/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-23 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to specify that “a secondary uplink channel comprises a maximum bandwidth capacity less than that of a high-bandwidth uplink channel”, and that “the replacement value is less than a total number of secondary uplink channels available to the modem device for bonding”, where independent claims 15, 20, and 21 are also amended in a similar way such that they contain analogous subject matter. Applicant argues on page 10 of Remarks that Thibeault does not teach the “a secondary uplink channel comprises a maximum bandwidth capacity less than that of a high-bandwidth uplink channel” feature because “Thibeault makes no mention of differences in “maximum bandwidth capacity” between the impaired channels and the non-impaired channels”. Examiner however disagrees with this opinion, as Thibeault does teach this feature, and a claim mapping has been provided below. Contrary to the above-quoted statement from page 10 of Remarks, the claim language does not require a distinction between bandwidth capacity of impaired channels and non-impaired channels. The claim language as it is written requires that there are “high-bandwidth channels” and “secondary channels”, and that the secondary channels have a bandwidth that is smaller than that of the high-bandwidth channels. Thibeault clearly teaches bonded channels (high-bandwidth channels) made up of smaller channels (secondary channels), where when the smaller individual channels are bonded they create a channel with higher bandwidth (bonded channels have higher bandwidth than individual channels). Applicant also argues on page 10 of Remarks that Thibeault does not teach the “modem device bonds secondary uplink channels in response to impairment of one or more high-bandwidth uplink channels” feature of independent claim 1, stating that “Thibeault discloses that use of a “problematic channel” can be discontinued”. Examiner disagrees with this opinion, as Thibeault does teach this feature, and a claim mapping is provided below. Applicant is correct that Thibeault does teach that use of a problematic channel can be discontinued, however important context is missing. Thibeault teaches that there may be multiple bonded channels, and when one of the bonded channels becomes impaired the modem will enter into partial service mode and shift traffic to the other channels that are bonded to help with reduction of transmission delays, which does teach the feature as it is written. Applicant then goes on to argue on pages 10-11 of Remarks that Milley does not “disclose “secondary channels” that “comprise less bandwidth capacity””, again stating that “Milley makes no mention of the “maximum bandwidth capacity” of degraded channels and non-degraded channels being different”. Examiner disagrees with this opinion, as Milley does teach this feature, and a claim mapping has been provided below. Once again, the claim language does not require there to be a difference in bandwidth capacity between the impaired channels and non-impaired channels. Milley clearly teaches that the cable modem bonds smaller bandwidth channels together to create a larger bandwidth pipe, which does read on the secondary channels having a smaller bandwidth than high-bandwidth channels. Applicant further argues on pages 11-12 of Remarks that neither Thibeault or Milley teaches the “replacement value is less than a total number of secondary uplink channels available to the modem device for bonding” feature, stating that “Thibeault merely removes an impaired channel from the list of channels available to be bonded by the modem”. Examiner disagrees with this opinion, as both Thibeault and Milley teach this feature, and a claim mapping has been provided below. Regarding the arguments against Thibeault, Applicant’s statement that Thibeault removes an impaired channel from the list of channels available to be bonded by the modem is incorrect. As quoted by Applicant on pages 11-12 of Remarks, [0031] Thibeault states that “the impaired channel is removed from the list of channels available to the load balancing process” (emphasis added). This does not mean that the impaired channel is unavailable to be bonded. In fact, paragraphs [0019]-[0020] and [0030] of Thibeault clearly states that a bonded channel can become impaired, and that while the problematic channel is not used, the CM may continue ranging on the problematic bonded channel until the issue is resolved, which shows that the channel is indeed not unavailable to be bonded. For these reasons, Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102, and Claims 3, 6, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. For more details about any of the above mentioned, please see the Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thibeault et al (US 20160050154 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Thibeault discloses
A method, comprising ([0012] method):
sending, by a modem device to a network entity, information indicative of a current value of a channel bonding parameter of the modem device that controls a maximum quantity of secondary uplink channels the modem device can bond, wherein the modem device bonds secondary uplink channels in response to impairment of one or more high-bandwidth uplink channels ([0019]-[0020], [0041], and [Fig. 4] CTMS receives an indication from a modem (information indicative of channel bonding parameter) of a partial service mode for the modem, where the modem enters partial service mode in response to one or more of the bonded channels becoming problematic (impairment of one or more high-bandwidth channels) (maximum quantity of uplink channels that can be bonded; i.e. the remaining channels that are not problematic); [0018] and [0030] when one of the bonded channels becomes impaired, the modem will enter into partial service mode and shift traffic to the other channels that are bonded together to help with reduction of transmission delays (modem device bonds secondary channels in response to impairment of one or more high-bandwidth channels)), wherein a secondary uplink channel comprises a maximum bandwidth capacity less than that of a high-bandwidth uplink channel ([0018] full bandwidth of a single channel (secondary channel) may be insufficient for desired level of service (less bandwidth capacity), so cable modems may perform channel bonding to provide throughput and higher-speed operation (bonded channel is high-bandwidth channel));
responsive to sending the information, receiving, by the modem device from the network entity, information indicative of a replacement value for the channel bonding parameter of the modem device, wherein the replacement value is less than the current value ([0022] CMTS performs load balancing by using Dynamic Bonding Change DBC messages (modem device receives DBC messages which indicate a replacement value for the channel bonding parameter of the modem); [0031] the impaired channel is removed by the CTMS from the list of channels available to the load balancing process (when load balancing is performed, and a DBC message is sent to the modem, the impaired channel is excluded; i.e. the replacement value is less than the current value since less channels are allocated));
replacing, by the modem device, the current value of the channel bonding parameter with the replacement value, wherein the replacement value is less than a total number of secondary uplink channels available to the modem device for bonding ([0031] the impaired channel is removed by the CTMS from the list of channels available to the load balancing process (when load balancing is performed, and a DBC message is sent to the modem, the impaired channel is excluded), and the modem now uses channels other than the impaired channel (less than the total number of channels available to the modem device for bonding; the now-excluded channels were originally bonded, so they are available to be bonded by the modem device)); and
based on the replacement value of the channel bonding parameter, bonding, by the modem device, a number of secondary uplink channels less than or equal to the replacement value of the channel bonding parameter of the modem device ([0022] CMTS performs load balancing by using Dynamic Bonding Change DBC messages (modem device receives DBC messages which indicate a replacement value for the channel bonding parameter of the modem); [0031] the impaired channel is removed by the CTMS from the list of channels available to the load balancing process (when load balancing is performed, and a DBC message is sent to the modem, the impaired channel is excluded; i.e. the replacement value is less than the current value since less channels are allocated), and the modem now uses channels other than the impaired channel; [0045] and [Fig. 4] load balancing is performed).
Regarding claim 2, Thibeault discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein, prior to sending the information indicative of the current value of the channel bonding parameter, the method comprises ([0012] method):
sending, by the modem device, a first portion of uplink information via the one or more high-bandwidth uplink channels ([0018] the modem bonds channels together and sends and receives data traffic on multiple bonded channels, to and from the CMTS);
detecting, by the modem device, channel impairment for the one or more high-bandwidth uplink channels ([0018]-[0020] while the modem is communicating with the CMTS, at times one or more of the bonded channels may become problematic, and the modem detects the channel impairment); and
determining, by the modem device, to bond secondary uplink channels in response to detecting channel impairment for the one or more high-bandwidth uplink channels ([0020] in response to detecting the channel impairment, the modem enters partial service mode, where the problematic channel is no longer used and the remaining channels are used (bonding secondary channels in response to detecting impairment)).
Regarding claim 4, Thibeault discloses
The method of claim 2, wherein detecting the channel impairment for the one or more high-bandwidth uplink channels comprises ([0012] method):
receiving, by the modem device from the network entity, information indicating occurrence of channel impairment for the one or more high-bandwidth uplink channels ([0028]-[0029] the CMTS detects impairment, and sends control messages to the modem to place the modem into partial service mode (information indicating occurrence of channel impairment for one or more of the channels)).
Regarding claim 5, Thibeault discloses
The method of claim 2, wherein the method further comprises ([0012] method):
sending, by the modem device, a second portion of the uplink information via the number of secondary uplink channels less than or equal to the replacement value ([0020] after entering the partial service mode, the modem continues operating and communicating on the remaining channels (sending more uplink information via the number of channels less than or equal to the replacement value)).
Regarding claim 7, Thibeault discloses
The method of claim 6, wherein bonding the number of secondary uplink channels comprises ([0012] method):
based on the replacement value for the channel bonding parameter, bonding, by the modem device, a number of Data over Cable Service Interface Specification (DOCSIS) uplink channels less than or equal to the replacement value of the channel bonding parameter of the modem device ([0018] modems bond channels accordance with DOCSIS (DOCSIS uplink channels); [0022] CMTS performs load balancing by using Dynamic Bonding Change DBC messages (modem device receives DBC messages which indicate a replacement value for the channel bonding parameter of the modem); [0031] the impaired channel is removed by the CTMS from the list of channels available to the load balancing process (when load balancing is performed, and a DBC message is sent to the modem, the impaired channel is excluded; i.e. the replacement value is less than the current value since less channels are allocated), and the modem now uses channels other than the impaired channel; [0045] and [Fig. 4] load balancing is performed).
Regarding claim 8, Thibeault discloses
The method of claim 6, wherein bonding the number of secondary uplink channels comprises ([0012] method):
based on the replacement value for the channel bonding parameter, bonding, by the modem device, a number of single-carrier Quadrature Amplitude Modulation (QAM) uplink channels less than or equal to the replacement value of the channel bonding parameter of the modem device ([0029] and [0041] messages may be sent using QAM modulation (QAM uplink channels); [0022] CMTS performs load balancing by using Dynamic Bonding Change DBC messages (modem device receives DBC messages which indicate a replacement value for the channel bonding parameter of the modem); [0031] the impaired channel is removed by the CTMS from the list of channels available to the load balancing process (when load balancing is performed, and a DBC message is sent to the modem, the impaired channel is excluded; i.e. the replacement value is less than the current value since less channels are allocated), and the modem now uses channels other than the impaired channel; [0045] and [Fig. 4] load balancing is performed).
Regarding claim 9, Thibeault discloses
The method of claim 6, wherein bonding the number of secondary uplink channels comprises ([0012] method):
Based on the replacement value for the channel bonding parameter, bonding, by the modem device, a number of Time-Division Multiple Access (TDMA) uplink channels less than or equal to the replacement value of the channel bonding parameter of the modem device ([0017] channels may be shared between modems using TDMA (TDMA uplink channels); [0022] CMTS performs load balancing by using Dynamic Bonding Change DBC messages (modem device receives DBC messages which indicate a replacement value for the channel bonding parameter of the modem); [0031] the impaired channel is removed by the CTMS from the list of channels available to the load balancing process (when load balancing is performed, and a DBC message is sent to the modem, the impaired channel is excluded; i.e. the replacement value is less than the current value since less channels are allocated), and the modem now uses channels other than the impaired channel; [0045] and [Fig. 4] load balancing is performed).
Regarding claim 10, Thibeault discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises ([0012] method):
receiving, by the modem device from the network entity, information indicative of a second replacement value for the channel bonding parameter of the modem device, wherein the second replacement value is different than the replacement value ([0022] CMTS performs load balancing by using Dynamic Bonding Change DBC messages (modem device receives DBC messages which indicate a replacement value for the channel bonding parameter of the modem); [0019] and [0031] one or more bonded channels may be impaired (multiple channels may be impaired, which would give a different value than the first as more channels need to be excluded from the load balancing), and the impaired channels are removed by the CTMS from the list of channels available to the load balancing process (when load balancing is performed, and a DBC message is sent to the modem, the impaired channels are excluded; i.e. the second replacement value is less than the first since even less channels are allocated));
replacing, by the modem device, the replacement value of the channel bonding parameter with the second replacement value ([0019] and [0031] the impaired channels are removed by the CTMS from the list of channels available to the load balancing process (when load balancing is performed, and a DBC message is sent to the modem, the impaired channels are excluded), and the modem now uses channels other than the impaired channel); and
based on the second replacement value for the channel bonding parameter, bonding, by the modem device, a second number of secondary uplink channels less than or equal to the second replacement value of the channel bonding parameter of the modem device ([0022] CMTS performs load balancing by using Dynamic Bonding Change DBC messages (modem device receives DBC messages which indicate a replacement value for the channel bonding parameter of the modem); [0019] and [0031] one or more bonded channels may be impaired (multiple channels may be impaired, which would give a different value than the first as more channels need to be excluded from the load balancing), and the impaired channels are removed by the CTMS from the list of channels available to the load balancing process (when load balancing is performed, and a DBC message is sent to the modem, the impaired channels are excluded; i.e. the second replacement value is less than the first since even less channels are allocated), and the modem now uses channels other than the impaired channels; [0045] and [Fig. 4] load balancing is performed).
Regarding claim 11, Thibeault discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein replacing the current value of the channel bonding parameter with the replacement value comprises ([0012] method):
applying, by the modem device, a modification to configuration information of the modem device, wherein the configuration information comprises the channel bonding parameter, and wherein the modification replaces the current value of the channel bonding parameter with the replacement value ([0045], [0019], [0022], [0031], and [Fig. 4] load balancing is performed by the CTMS on the modem, where the modem receives DBC message then changes its configuration of allocated channels to be bonded and applies the changes to use the updated number of allocated channels that are not impaired; [0020] in response to the channel impairment, the modem enters partial service mode, where the problematic channel is no longer used and the remaining channels are used (configuration modification applied)).
Regarding claim 12, Thibeault discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein replacing the current value of the channel bonding parameter with the replacement value comprises ([0012] method):
applying, by the modem device, a modification to firmware of the modem device, wherein the firmware comprises the channel bonding parameter, and wherein the modification replaces the current value of the channel bonding parameter with the replacement value ([0045], [0019], [0022], [0031], and [Fig. 4] load balancing is performed by the CTMS on the modem, where the modem receives DBC message then changes its configuration of allocated channels to be bonded and applies the changes to use the updated number of allocated channels that are not impaired; [0020] in response to the channel impairment, the modem enters partial service mode, where the problematic channel is no longer used and the remaining channels are used (firmware modification applied)).
Regarding claim 13, Thibeault discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein replacing the current value of the channel bonding parameter with the replacement value comprises:
applying, by the modem device, a modification to a non-volatile memory device of the modem device, wherein the non-volatile memory device comprises the channel bonding parameter, and wherein the modification replaces the current value of the channel bonding parameter with the replacement value ([0045], [0019], [0022], [0031], and [Fig. 4] load balancing is performed by the CTMS on the modem, where the modem receives DBC message then changes its configuration of allocated channels to be bonded and applies the changes to use the updated number of allocated channels that are not impaired, where channel availability may be stored in RAM or other memory (non-volatile memory device); [0020] in response to the channel impairment, the modem enters partial service mode, where the problematic channel is no longer used and the remaining channels are used (memory modification applied)).
Regarding claim 14, Thibeault discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the network entity comprises a Cable Modem Termination System (CMTS) ([0018] modem is in communication with the CMTS).
Regarding claim 15, Thibeault discloses
A computing system, comprising ([Fig. 2] CTMS):
a memory ([0024] CTMS includes memory); and
one or more processor devices coupled to the memory configured to ([0023]-[0024] CTMS includes processor that executes programs stored on the memory):
receive, from a modem device, information indicative of a current value of a channel bonding parameter of the modem device that controls a maximum quantity of secondary uplink channels the modem device can bond, wherein the modem device bonds secondary uplink channels in response to impairment of one or more high-bandwidth uplink channels ([0019]-[0020], [0041], and [Fig. 4] CTMS receives an indication from a modem (information indicative of channel bonding parameter) of a partial service mode for the modem, where the modem enters partial service mode in response to one or more of the bonded channels becoming problematic (impairment of one or more high-bandwidth channels) (maximum quantity of uplink channels that can be bonded; i.e. the remaining channels that are not problematic); [0018] and [0030] when one of the bonded channels becomes impaired, the modem will enter into partial service mode and shift traffic to the other channels that are bonded together to help with reduction of transmission delays (modem device bonds secondary channels in response to impairment of one or more high-bandwidth channels)), and wherein a secondary uplink channel comprises a maximum bandwidth capacity less than that of a high- bandwidth uplink channel ([0018] full bandwidth of a single channel (secondary chennel) may be insufficient for desired level of service (less bandwidth capacity), so cable modems may perform channel bonding to provide throughput and higher-speed operation (bonded channel is high-bandwidth channel));
determine a replacement value for the channel bonding parameter of the modem device based at least in part on contextual information indicative of a current secondary uplink channel availability and/or a predicted secondary uplink channel availability, wherein the replacement value is less than a total number of secondary uplink channels available to the modem device for bonding ([0031] the impaired channel is removed by the CTMS from the list of channels available (based in part on contextual information indicative of uplink channel availability) to the load balancing process (when load balancing is performed, the impaired channel is excluded), and the modem now uses channels other than the impaired channel (less than the total number of channels available to the modem device for bonding; the now-excluded channels were originally bonded, so they are available to be bonded by the modem device)); and
provide instructions to the modem device to replace the current value of the channel bonding parameter with the replacement value ([0022] CMTS performs load balancing by using Dynamic Bonding Change DBC messages (modem device receives DBC messages which indicate a replacement value for the channel bonding parameter of the modem); [0031] the impaired channel is removed by the CTMS from the list of channels available to the load balancing process (when load balancing is performed, and a DBC message is sent to the modem, the impaired channel is excluded; i.e. the replacement value provided)).
Regarding claim 16, Thibeault discloses
The computing system of claim 15, wherein the one or more processor devices are further configured to ([Fig. 2] CTMS):
receive uplink information from the modem device via a number of secondary uplink channels less than or equal to the replacement value of the channel bonding parameter of the modem device ([0018] and [0020] after entering the partial service mode, the modem continues operating and communicating with the CMTS on the remaining channels (sending more uplink information via the number of channels less than or equal to the replacement value)).
Regarding claim 17, Thibeault discloses
The computing system of claim 15, wherein providing the instructions to the modem device to replace the current value of the channel bonding parameter with the replacement value comprises ([Fig. 2] CTMS):
sending, to the modem device, instructions to apply a modification to configuration information of the modem device, wherein the configuration information comprises the channel bonding parameter, and wherein the modification replaces the current value of the channel bonding parameter with the replacement value ([0045], [0019], [0022], [0031], and [Fig. 4] load balancing is performed by the CTMS on the modem, where the modem receives DBC message from the CTMS, then changes its configuration of allocated channels to be bonded and applies the changes to use the updated number of allocated channels that are not impaired; [0020] in response to the channel impairment, the modem enters partial service mode, where the problematic channel is no longer used and the remaining channels are used (configuration modification applied)).
Regarding claim 18, Thibeault discloses
The computing system of claim 15, wherein providing the instructions to the modem device to replace the current value of the channel bonding parameter with the replacement value comprises ([Fig. 2] CTMS):
sending, to the modem device, instructions to apply a modification to firmware of the modem device, wherein the firmware comprises the channel bonding parameter, and wherein the modification replaces the current value of the channel bonding parameter with the replacement value ([0045], [0019], [0022], [0031], and [Fig. 4] load balancing is performed by the CTMS on the modem, where the modem receives DBC message from the CTMS, then changes its configuration of allocated channels to be bonded and applies the changes to use the updated number of allocated channels that are not impaired; [0020] in response to the channel impairment, the modem enters partial service mode, where the problematic channel is no longer used and the remaining channels are used (firmware modification applied)).
Regarding claim 19, Thibeault discloses
The computing system of claim 15, wherein providing the instructions to the modem device to replace the current value of the channel bonding parameter with the replacement value comprises ([Fig. 2] CTMS):
sending, to the modem device, instructions to applying a modification to a non-volatile memory device of the modem device, wherein the non-volatile memory device comprises the channel bonding parameter, and wherein the modification replaces the current value of the channel bonding parameter with the replacement value ([0045], [0019], [0022], [0031], and [Fig. 4] load balancing is performed by the CTMS on the modem, where the modem receives DBC message from the CTMS, then changes its configuration of allocated channels to be bonded and applies the changes to use the updated number of allocated channels that are not impaired, where channel availability may be stored in RAM or other memory (non-volatile memory device); [0020] in response to the channel impairment, the modem enters partial service mode, where the problematic channel is no longer used and the remaining channels are used (memory modification applied)).
Regarding claim 21, Thibeault discloses
A network entity, comprising ([Fig. 2] CTMS):
a memory ([0024] CTMS includes memory); and
one or more processor devices coupled to the memory configured to ([0023]-[0024] CTMS includes processor that executes programs stored on the memory):
receive, from a modem device, information indicative of a current value of a channel bonding parameter of the modem device that controls a maximum quantity of secondary uplink channels the modem device can bond, wherein the modem device bonds secondary uplink channels in response to impairment of one or more high-bandwidth uplink channels ([0019]-[0020], [0041], and [Fig. 4] CTMS receives an indication from a modem (information indicative of channel bonding parameter) of a partial service mode for the modem, where the modem enters partial service mode in response to one or more of the bonded channels becoming problematic (impairment of one or more channels) (maximum quantity of uplink channels that can be bonded; i.e. the remaining channels that are not problematic); [0018] and [0030] when one of the bonded channels becomes impaired, the modem will enter into partial service mode and shift traffic to the other channels that are bonded together to help with reduction of transmission delays (modem device bonds secondary channels in response to impairment of one or more high-bandwidth channels)); and
responsive to sending the information, cause reconfiguration information to be sent to the modem device, wherein the reconfiguration information is indicative of a replacement value for the channel bonding parameter of the modem device, wherein the replacement value is less than the current value, and wherein the replacement value is less than a total number of secondary uplink channels available to the modem device for bonding ([0022] CMTS performs load balancing by using Dynamic Bonding Change DBC messages (modem device receives DBC messages which indicate a replacement value for the channel bonding parameter of the modem); [0031] the impaired channel is removed by the CTMS from the list of channels available (less than the current value) to the load balancing process (when load balancing is performed, and a DBC message is sent to the modem, the impaired channel is excluded; i.e. the replacement value provided), and the modem now uses channels other than the impaired channel (less than the total number of channels available to the modem device for bonding; the now-excluded channels were originally bonded, so they are available to be bonded by the modem device)); and
detect that the modem device has bonded a number of secondary uplink channels less than or equal to the replacement value of the channel bonding parameter of the modem device ([0031] the impaired channel is removed by the CTMS from the list of channels available to the load balancing process (when load balancing is performed, the impaired channel is excluded), and the modem now uses channels other than the impaired channel; [0032]-[0034] CTMS monitors the channels after the adjustment (detects that the channels are bonded, and that the impaired channel is excluded)).
Regarding claim 22, Thibeault discloses
The network entity of claim 21, wherein, prior to receiving the information indicative of the current value of the channel bonding parameter, the one or more processor devices are configured to ([Fig. 2] CTMS):
receive, from the modem device, a first portion of uplink information via the one or more high-bandwidth uplink channels ([0018] the modem bonds channels together and sends and receives data traffic on multiple bonded channels, to and from the CMTS);
detect occurrence of channel impairment for the one or more high- bandwidth uplink channels utilized by the modem device ([0028]-[0029] the CMTS detects impairment (information indicating occurrence of channel impairment for one or more of the channels)); and
instruct the modem device to bond the secondary uplink channels in response to detecting channel impairment for the one or more high-bandwidth uplink channels ([0028]-[0029] the CMTS detects impairment, and sends control messages to the modem to place the modem into partial service mode (instructs modem to bond channels in response to detecting channel impairment)).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Milley et al (US 20210119856 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Milley discloses
A cable modem device, comprising ([0032] and [Fig. 2] cable modem device is communication device 200):
a memory ([Fig. 2] cable modem device comprises memory); and
one or more processor devices coupled to the memory configured to ([Fig. 2] cable modem device comprises processing element connected to memory):
detect occurrence of a secondary channel bonding condition ([0016] cable modem enters a partial state based on a condition between the cable modem and CMTS (secondary channel bonding condition detected));
determine a number of DOCSIS-compatible secondary channels to bond based at least in part on a pre-configured value of a channel bonding parameter stored to the memory of the cable modem device, wherein the channel bonding parameter controls a maximum quantity of DOCSIS-compatible secondary channels the cable modem device can bond, wherein a secondary DOCSIS-compatible channel comprises a maximum bandwidth capacity less than that of a high-bandwidth DOCSIS-compatible channel, and wherein the pre-configured value is less than a total number of secondary uplink channels available to the cable modem device for bonding ([0044] communication device 200 (the cable modem device) executes communication over DOCSIS (channels are DOCSIS-compatible); [0015] cable modem device stores a list of channels that the modem is bonded to (pre-configured value of a channel bonding parameter stored in the memory of the modem, where the parameter controls the number of channels that can be bonded); [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0022], and [0058] cable modem enters partial service mode and bonds smaller bandwidth channels together to create a larger bandwidth pipe (secondary channels comprise less bandwidth capacity and create a high-bandwidth channel) when one of the other channels, that was originally bonded and a part of the full allotment of channels, degrades and becomes impaired, so that communication can still be maintained (impaired channels are not able to be used, so value of list of channels that the modem is bonded to is less than total number of channels available to the cable modem device for bonding since the cable modem device previously had a full allotment of channels that were previously bonded)); and
based on the occurrence of the secondary channel bonding condition, bond the number of DOCSIS-compatible channel secondary channels, wherein the number of DOCSIS-compatible secondary channels is less than or equal to the pre-configured value of the channel bonding parameter ([0058] cable modem enters partial service mode and bonds smaller bandwidth channels together when one of the other channels degrades and becomes impaired, so that communication can still be maintained, and the cable modem device refrains from using the impaired channel (less than the pre-configured value, as it is now less channels that can be bonded)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thibeault et al (US 20160050154 A1), and further in view of Guidarelli et al (US 20220357384 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Thibeault teaches The method of claim 2, as is described above.
Thibeault does not explicitly teach wherein detecting the channel impairment for the one or more high-bandwidth uplink channels comprises detecting, by the modem device, occurrence of Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) channel impairment.
However, Guidarelli does teach wherein detecting the channel impairment for the one or more high-bandwidth uplink channels comprises detecting, by the modem device, occurrence of Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) channel impairment ([0140]-[0141] identifying and detecting channel impairment on OFDM channels).
Thibeault and Guidarelli are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of detecting channel impairments. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thibeault to include the teachings of Guidarelli where the channels are OFDM channels. The rationale behind this would be to achieve more efficient diagnosis of impairments in cable plant ([0008] Guidarelli).
Regarding claim 6, Thibeault teaches The method of claim 2, as is described above.
Thibeault does not explicitly teach wherein sending the first portion of uplink information via the one or more high-bandwidth uplink channels comprises:
sending, by the modem device, the first portion of the uplink information via one or more OFDM channels.
However, Guidarelli does teach sending, by the modem device, the first portion of the uplink information via one or more OFDM channels ([0077]-[0078] cable modem transmits digital information for receipt by upstream entities such as the CMTS (uplink information sent by modem device); [0047] and [0141] information is carried across multiple channels, such as OFDM channels).
Thibeault and Guidarelli are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of detecting channel impairments. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thibeault to include the teachings of Guidarelli where the channels are OFDM channels. The rationale behind this would be to achieve more efficient diagnosis of impairments in cable plant ([0008] Guidarelli).
Regarding claim 23, Thibeault teaches The method of claim 22, as is described above.
Thibeault does not explicitly teach wherein detecting the occurrence of the channel impairment for the one or more high-bandwidth uplink channels comprises detecting occurrence of Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) channel impairment.
However, Guidarelli does teach wherein detecting the occurrence of the channel impairment for the one or more high-bandwidth uplink channels comprises detecting occurrence of Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) channel impairment ([0140]-[0141] identifying and detecting channel impairment on OFDM channels).
Thibeault and Guidarelli are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of detecting channel impairments. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thibeault to include the teachings of Guidarelli where the channels are OFDM channels. The rationale behind this would be to achieve more efficient diagnosis of impairments in cable plant ([0008] Guidarelli).
Conclusion
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478 /JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478