DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
In claim 1, consider -- the second pawl is engaged in position with the second inner annular toothed portion so that the main body is non-rotatable relative to [[and]] the rotatable base--.
In claim 5, consider -- [[the]] another of the two receiving slots is located between the second partition and the third partition--.
In claim 11, consider -- [[the]] another of the two receiving slots is located between the second partition and the third partition--.
The examiner notes that claim(s) 8 is/are not grouped together with claim(s) 2 as required by MPEP 608.01(m), which recites “All dependent claims should be grouped together with the claim or claims to which they refer to the extent practicable”. The claim(s) should not be renumbered, the examiner will renumber the claim(s) should the claim be allowed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“transmission member” in claim 9, corresponding to transmission member 92.
The terms “control member” in claims 1, 3, 6, and 8, “ring member” in claim 2, and “elastic member” in claim 3 do not invoke 112(f) despite the nonce term “member” because of a lack of functional recited. The term “driving member” in claims 1, 7, and 9, does not invoke 112(f) given that there is sufficient structure recited in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding (TW M562751 U; cited in IDS dated 10/30/2023, new translation provided).
Ann. fig. 1 (Ding)
Ann. fig. 2 (Ding)
With respect to claim 1, Ding discloses:
A drive head for a power rotary tool including: a main body defining an axial direction (axial direction defined in direction of depth of hole 331, fig. 1; see ann. fig. 1, above; page 4 lines 1-3) and a radial direction non-parallel to the axial direction (ann. fig. 1, above), the main body including a driving member (21, fig. 1; page 3 lines 12-17) and a mounting hole extending in the axial direction (hole through with drive head 33, fig. 1 passes through housing 12, page 3 lines 13-19, and page 4 lines 1-3), the driving member being swingable in reciprocation relative to the main body (page 3 lines 13-19; examiner’s understanding is that the driving member is swingable relative to another portion of the main body, given that the claim recites that the main body includes the driving member), the driving member including a receiving hole (receiving hole 211, fig. 2; page 3 lines 12-19) and a first inner annular toothed portion around the receiving hole (ann. fig. 2, above, annular toothed portion [half of ring 212; page 3 last line to page 4 line 6), the main body further including a second inner annular toothed portion (ann. fig. 2, above, annular toothed portion [other half of ring 212; page 3 last line to page 4 line 6; as noted above, the main body contains the driving member, and thus the main body includes both halves or portions of the ring 212); and
a rotation mechanism including a rotatable base (rotatable base 31, fig. 5, expanded in fig. 6; page 3 last 3 lines - page 4 lines 1-6), a control member (34, figs. 5-6; page 5 lines 3-5), a first pawl and a second pawl (two pawls 32, fig. 6; page 5 lines 6-10) , the rotatable base being disposed in the mounting hole (see cross section in fig. 3) and the receiving hole (see cross section in fig. 3) and rotatable about the axial direction (page 4 lines 1-6 explains how the rotatable base 31 is rotatable, which is understood to be about the axial direction given how the tool would drive a fastener in socket 331), the control member being assembled to the rotatable base in the axial direction (see cross section in fig. 3), the first pawl and the second pawl being rotatably connected to the rotatable base and located at two sides in a radial direction of the rotatable base (through pivot 43, fig. 6; page 5 lines 10-12; the pawls are in a radial direction of the rotatable base as seen in figs. 2 and 6), a first elastic member and a second elastic member being disposed at two sides of the control member in a radial direction of the control member (elastic members 35, fig. 6; page 5 lines 3-5, disposed radially at opposite sides of control member 34), the first elastic member biasing the first pawl so that either one of two ends of the first pawl is engageable with the first inner annular toothed portion, the second elastic member biasing the second pawl so that either one of two ends of the second pawl is engageable with the second inner annular toothed portion (page 5 line 13-page 6 line 5; see engagement in fig. 2);
wherein when the first pawl is engaged in position with the first inner annular toothed portion, the second pawl is releasably engaged with the second inner annular toothed portion so that the rotatable base is rotatable relative to the main body; when the first pawl is releasably engaged with the first inner annular toothed portion, the second pawl is engaged in position with the second inner annular toothed portion so that the main body is non-rotatable relative to and the rotatable base (page 5 line 13-page 6 line 5 describe how the pawls work to be engaged, the operation of control member 34 determines direction of rotation of the main body [the driving member 21 is part of the main body compared to the rotatable base, when the pawls locks against the ring 212 of the driving member, relative rotation with the part of ring 212, which is part of the main body, as explained above, does not occur, but it allows free movement in the other direction; examiner notes that all parts of the apparatus, through assembly are direction/indirectly engaged with each other).
With respect to claim 2, Ding discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses a ring member, wherein the ring member includes the second inner annular toothed portion, and the ring member is secured to the main body (ring 212; page 3 last line to page 4 line 6 contains both the first and second annular toothed portion; and it is part of/secured to main body).
With respect to claim 9, Ding discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the power rotary tool includes a housing (housing 1, fig. 1, page 3 lines 12-18), the housing includes a transmission member (transmission member 22, figs. 2-3; page 3 lines 12-18; 112(f) equivalent as protrusion that drives the driving member to reciprocate), the driving member and the transmission member are connected to each other (see figs. 2-3), and the transmission member drives the driving member to swing in reciprocation relative to the main body (page 3 lines 12-18; drives the driving member to reciprocate relative to another part of the main body; see rotating arrows in fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wannop (US 5058463 A) in view of Hanson (US 4346630 A).
Ann. fig. 1 (Wannop)
With respect to claim 1, Wannop discloses
A drive head for a power rotary tool including: a main body defining an axial direction and a radial direction non-parallel to the axial direction (ann. fig. 1), the main body including a driving member (14, fig. 1; col 3 line 53-col 4 line 4) and a mounting hole extending in the axial direction (upper recess 94, fig. 3; col 4 lines 43-54), the driving member including a receiving hole (inside hole formed by 38, fig. 3, col 4 lines 16-28) and a first inner annular toothed portion around the receiving hole (annular toothed portion as surface of 38, fig. 3; col 4 lines 16-28), the main body further including a second inner annular toothed portion (annular toothed potion 40, fig. 3; col 4 lines 16-28);
and a rotation mechanism including a rotatable base (rotatable base 48, fig. 3; col 4 lines 16-28), a control member (control member 54, fig. 3; col 4 lines 29-43), a first pawl and a second pawl (first pawl 42, second pawl 44; fig. 3; col 4 lines 16-28), the rotatable base being disposed in the mounting hole and the receiving hole and rotatable about the axial direction (see side sectional view in fig. 2; rotatable [axially] around gears 30, 32, in col 4 lines 16-28), the control member being assembled to the rotatable base in the axial direction (see assembly in sectional view of fig. 2), the first pawl and the second pawl being rotatably connected to the rotatable base and located at two sides in a radial direction of the rotatable base (rotatably [pivotably] connected through pins 52, and 50, fig. 2; col 4 lines 16-28, each in radial direction as in figs. 2 and 3); a first elastic member and a second elastic member being disposed at two sides of the control member in a radial direction of the control member (elastic members 80 and 78, fig. 3; elastic member 78 also labeled in fig. 2, disposed such that the spring is in a radial direction of control member 54, fig. 3, at two different sides; col 4 lines 29-42), the first elastic member biasing the first pawl so that either one of two ends of the first pawl is engageable with the first inner annular toothed portion, the second elastic member biasing the second pawl so that either one of two ends of the second pawl is engageable with the second inner annular toothed portion (col 4 lines 29-42 explain how pins 74 and 76 abut [biases] against the ends of the pawls; see also col 5 lines 40-58 which explain how the springs bias the paws to engage with the annular toothed portions 38 and 40)
wherein when the first pawl is engaged in position with the first inner annular toothed portion, the second pawl is releasably engaged with the second inner annular toothed portion so that the rotatable base is rotatable relative to the main body; when the first pawl is releasably engaged with the first inner annular toothed portion, the second pawl is engaged in position with the second inner annular toothed portion so that the main body is non-rotatable relative to and the rotatable base (col 5 lines 40-58 which explain how the springs bias the paws to engage with the annular toothed portions 38 and 40, because of the ratcheting arrangement, the first pawl is engaged in position with the first inner annular toothed portion, the second pawl is releasably engaged with the second inner annular toothed portion so that the rotatable base is rotatable relative to the main body [depending on direction of rotation] and the first pawl is releasably engaged with the first inner annular toothed portion, the second pawl is engaged in position with the second inner annular toothed portion so that the main body is non-rotatable relative to and the rotatable base [depending on direction of rotation - when ratchet is engaged the annular toothed portion and rotatable base are looked together, with no relative movement, and with free movement in the other direction]; the examiner notes that the first and second annular toothed portion are part of the main body and the driving member, as previously explained in the rejection of this claim over Wannop).
Wannop does not explicitly disclose that the driving member being swingable in reciprocation relative to the main body. Wannop, however, teaches that the tool is conventionally used in a swinging motion (col 4 line 55-col 5 line 11) and also teaches the potential of the tool being driven using an air drive (col 7 lines 5-15).
Hanson, in the same filed of endeavor, related to tools, teaches a main body housing a driving member within (main body 12, fig. 2; col 2 lines 49-55; housing a driving member 36 that oscillates within), where driving member is swingable in reciprocation relative to the main body (col 2 lines 49-55, the driving member 36 oscillates/rotates about axis of member 16, fig. 2 within; examine understands that the driving member, recited to be part of the main body, swings relative to another part of the main body). Hanson teaches that this arrangement is part of a drive with is simple in structure and strong (col 4 lines 16-37; see col 2 lines 56-col 3 line 56 that describes crank shaft 40 that causes such oscillation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have included a main body housing a driving member within; where driving member is swingable in reciprocation relative to the main body, as taught by Hanson, to provide for a drive which is simple in structure and strong. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have also understood that such an arrangement would eliminate the need to manually reciprocate the wrench to drive a fastener.
With respect to claim 2, Wannop, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches a ring member, wherein the ring member includes the second inner annular toothed portion, and the ring member is secured to the main body (Wannop, 32, fig. 3; with second annular toothed portion 40, col 4 lines 2-15, it is part of/within the main body, and secured to by assembly).
With respect to claim 3, Wannop, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches wherein the first elastic member and the second elastic member are offset relative to each other in an axial direction of the control member (Wannop, see axial positions of 78 and 80, fig. 2).
With respect to claim 4, Wannop, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches wherein the rotatable base includes two receiving slots (Wannop, slots 56, 58, fig. 3; col 4 lines 16-28), the two receiving slots are offset relative to each other in the axial direction (Wannop, see position in figs. 3), the two receiving slots are arranged at two ends of the rotatable base in the radial direction of the rotatable base (Wannop, slots are on opposite radial ends of rotatable base, see fig. 3) and the first pawl and the second pawl are rotatably connected in the two receiving slots, respectively (Wannop, see assembled arrangement in fig. 2)
Ann. fig. 2-3 (Wannop)
With respect to claim 5, Wannop, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 4 above, and further teaches wherein the rotatable base further includes a first partition, a second partition and a third partition arranged in the axial direction (Wannop ann. fig. 2-3; arrangement and interpretation of partition consistent with instant disclosure), one of the two receiving slots is located between the first partition and the second partition, and the other of the two receiving slots is located between the second partition and the third partition (Wannop, see position of slots 56 and 56 relative to partitions in ann. figs. 2-3 above).
With respect to claim 6, Wannop, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 5 above, and further teaches wherein the rotatable base further includes a driving portion on an end thereof in the axial direction (Wannop, driving portion 64, fig. 2; col 4 lines 16-28; the position is at an axial end as shown in fig. 2), the driving portion is disposed on a side of the third partition remote from the second partition (Wannop, driving portion 64 is at an bottom end of the third partition that is opposite second partition as shown in fig. 2), and the control member is rotatably inserted to the first partition and the second partition and protrusive beyond a side of the first partition remote from the second partition (Wannop, control member 70 protrudes from top of first partition opposite second partition).
With respect to claim 9, Wannop, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 1 above, however does not explicitly teach wherein the power rotary tool includes a housing, the housing includes a transmission member, the driving member and the transmission member are connected to each other, and the transmission member drives the driving member to swing in reciprocation relative to the main body.
Hanson, further teaches of a housing (housing 14, fig. 2; col 3 lines 7-14), the housing includes a transmission member (transmission member 40, fig. 2; col 2 lines 56-col 3 line 56 that describes crank shaft 40 that causes oscillation), the driving member and the transmission member are connected to each other (Hanson provides for a driving member 36 and transmission member 36 is connected as in fig. 3), and the transmission member drives the driving member to swing in reciprocation relative to the main body (col 2 lines 56-col 3 line 56 that describes crank shaft 40 that causes oscillation, the driving member is part of the main body as recited in claim 1, so the claim is interpreted to mean that the driving member swings relative to another part of the main body; see rejection of claim 1 over Wannop in view of Hanson for discussion regarding the functional language). Hanson teaches that this arrangement is part of a drive with is simple in structure and strong (col 4 lines 16-37; see col 2 lines 56-col 3 line 56 that describes crank shaft 40 that causes such oscillation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have included a housing, the housing includes a transmission member, the driving member and the transmission member are connected to each other, and the transmission member drives the driving member to swing in reciprocation relative to the main body, as taught by Hanson, to provide for a drive with is simple in structure and strong. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have also understood that such an arrangement would eliminate the need to manually reciprocate the wrench to drive a fastener.
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wannop (US 5058463 A) in view of Hanson (US 4346630 A), and further in view of Lai (US 7267033 B1).
With respect to claim 7, Wannop, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches wherein the driving member further includes two annular recesses disposed on two ends thereof in an axial direction of the receiving hole, respectively, each of the two annular recesses has a diametric dimension larger than a diametric dimension of the first inner annular toothed portion (Wannop, annular recesses which hold clips 90, 92, fig. 2, positioned in axial direction [up/down relative to figure] of receiving hole formed by 38, fig. 3, the recesses are larger than the diameter of the first inner annular toothed portion which is at an radial end of pawl 42; col 4 lines 43-55) however does not explicitly teach where each of the two annular recesses receives a washer having an inner diametric dimension smaller than the diametric dimension of the first inner annular toothed portion. Wannop instead teaches of using spring retainers at that location (Wannop, spring retainer 90, 92, fig. 2-3; col 4 lines 43-55).
Lai, in the same field of endeavor, related to tools, teaches of using a washer (62, 63, fig. 1; col 5 lines 38-54) to as part of the assembly to retain and secure a ratchet assembly (col 5 lines 38-54), and also teaches wherein the washer has an inner diametric dimension smaller than the diametric dimension of an annular toothed portion (washers 62, 63 extend inward past periphery of annular toothed portion 18 that engages with pawls; fig. 8; col 6 line 21-37; see fig. 9 for annular arrangement of toothed portion). MPEP 2143 provides that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Wannop, and have used a washer that has an inner diametric dimension smaller than the diametric dimension of the [first] annular toothed portion in place of a spring retainer, as taught by Lai, for the purpose of retaining the ratchet assembly, as a matter of simple substation of the washer for the spring retainer in Wannop. A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found the arrangement predictable.
With respect to claim 8, Wannop, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 2 above, and further teaches wherein the first elastic member and the second elastic member are offset relative to each other in an axial direction of the control member (Wannop, see axial positions of 78 and 80, fig. 2); the rotatable base includes two receiving slots (Wannop, slots 56, 58, fig. 3; col 4 lines 16-28), the two receiving slots are offset relative to each other in the axial direction (Wannop, see position in figs. 3), the two receiving slots are arranged at two ends of the rotatable base in the radial direction of the rotatable base (Wannop, slots are on opposite radial ends of rotatable base, see fig. 3) and the first pawl and the second pawl are rotatably connected in the two receiving slots, respectively (Wannop, see assembled arrangement in fig. 2)
the rotatable base further includes a first partition, a second partition and a third partition arranged in the axial direction (Wannop ann. fig. 2-3; arrangement and interpretation of partition consistent with instant disclosure), one of the two receiving slots is located between the first partition and the second partition, and the other of the two receiving slots is located between the second partition and the third partition (Wannop, see position of slots 56 and 56 relative to partitions in ann. figs. 2-3 above).
the rotatable base further includes a driving portion on an end thereof in the axial direction (Wannop, driving portion 64, fig. 2; col 4 lines 16-28; the position is at an axial end as shown in fig. 2), the driving portion is disposed on a side of the third partition remote from the second partition (Wannop, driving portion 64 is at an bottom end of the third partition that is opposite second partition as shown in fig. 2), and the control member is rotatably inserted to the first partition and the second partition and protrusive beyond a side of the first partition remote from the second partition (Wannop, control member 70 protrudes from top of first partition opposite second partition),
the driving member further includes two annular recesses disposed on two ends thereof in an axial direction of the receiving hole, respectively, each of the two annular recesses has a diametric dimension larger than a diametric dimension of the first inner annular toothed portion (Wannop, annular recesses which hold clips 90, 92, fig. 2, positioned in axial direction [up/down relative to figure] of receiving hole formed by 38, fig. 3, the recesses are larger than the diameter of the first inner annular toothed portion which is at an radial end of pawl 42; col 4 lines 43-55) however does not explicitly teach where each of the two annular recesses receives a washer having an inner diametric dimension smaller than the diametric dimension of the first inner annular toothed portion. Wannop instead teaches of using spring retainers at that location (Wannop, spring retainer 90, 92, fig. 2-3; col 4 lines 43-55).
Lai, in the same field of endeavor, related to tools, teaches of using a washer (62, 63, fig. 1; col 5 lines 38-54) to as part of the assembly to retain and secure a ratchet assembly (col 5 lines 38-54), and also teaches wherein the washer has an inner diametric dimension smaller than the diametric dimension of an annular toothed portion (washers 62, 63 extend inward past periphery of annular toothed portion 18 that engages with pawls; fig. 8; col 6 line 21-37; see fig. 9 for annular arrangement of toothed portion). MPEP 2143 provides that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Wannop, and have used a washer that has an inner diametric dimension smaller than the diametric dimension of the [first] annular toothed portion in place of a spring retainer, as taught by Lai, for the purpose of retaining the ratchet assembly, as a matter of simple substation of the washer for the spring retainer in Wannop. A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found the arrangement predictable.
Conclusion
Should applicant amend limitations from dependent claims 3-7 into claims 1-2, the applicant is respectfully encouraged to review claim 8 to ensure that limitations are not duplicated in claim 8.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. He (US 20150027276 A1) discloses a rotation member with a flange divider 214.
/Steven Huang/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/ROBERT J SCRUGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723