DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks/Arguments
With respect to the rejection of claims 1, 3, 7, 9-12 under 35 USC 102, Applicant’s arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground rejection.
With respect to the rejection of claim 8 under 35 USC 103, Applicant’s arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 13, 16-18, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinoda (US 2003/0164791 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shinoda teaches an antenna, wherein the antenna supports a first working mode ([0031] sharp angle/long distance) and a second working mode ([0031] wide angle/short distance), and wherein the antenna comprises:
a first antenna subarray group comprising a first antenna subarray ([0031], Fig. 1, antenna elements 1d-1g) and a third antenna subarray (Fig. 1, antenna elements 2d-2e);
a second antenna subarray group comprising a second antenna subarray (Fig. 1, antenna elements 2a-2c); and
a third antenna subarray group (Fig. 1, antennas 3d-3e),
wherein the first antenna subarray group, the second antenna subarray group, and the third antenna subarray group are physical antenna subarrays (Fig. 1 describes physical antennas),
wherein the first antenna subarray group and the second antenna subarray group are used in the first working mode (Fig. 1, [0031] For example, when the antenna switches 4 to 7 are turned on by the switch control device 10 and the plural antenna elements 1a to 1j, 2a to 2e and 3a to 3e are connected, a beam shape from the transmitting array antenna 1 is turned a sharp angle/long distance as shown by full lines st and sr in FIG. 1),
wherein the first antenna subarray group and the third antenna subarray group are used in the second working mode ( [0031] as antenna aperture length is reduced when the antenna switches 4 to 7 are turned off, that is, the antenna switches 4 to 7 are disconnected from the groups of antenna elements respectively composed of plural antenna elements 1a to 1c, 1h to 1j, 2a to 2c and 3a to 3c, a beam shape from/to the transmitting array antenna 1 and the receiving array antennas 2 and 3 is turned a wide angle/short distance as shown by dotted lines wt and wr in FIG. 1.), and
wherein the second antenna subarray (Fig. 1, antenna elements 2a-2c) is between the first antenna subarray ([0031], Fig. 1, antenna elements 1d-1g) and the third antenna subarray (Fig. 1, antenna elements 2d-2e) in a first direction (Fig. 1, vertical direction).
Regarding claim 3, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Shinoda.
Shinoda further teaches the antenna, wherein in the first direction, a fourth antenna subarray (Fig. 1, 1a-1c or 3a-3c) in either of the first antenna subarray group or the third antenna subarray group is not positioned between the first antenna subarray and the third antenna subarray.
Regarding claim 13, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Shinoda.
Shinoda further teaches the antenna, wherein the first antenna subarray and the second antenna subarray are configured to couple to a first channel through switching, and wherein the third antenna subarray is configured to couple to a second channel ([0031] the detectable range of distance up to a mobile obstacle and relative velocity can be switched to a sharp angle/long distance or a wide angle/short distance by switching the antenna switches 4 to 7).
Regarding claim 16, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Shinoda.
Shinoda further teaches the antenna, wherein the first antenna subarray group, the second antenna subarray group, and the third antenna subarray group are configured to transmit a signal or receive the signal ([0029]).
Regarding claim 17, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 1. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 18, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 1. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 20, all the limitations of claim 17 are taught by Shinoda.
Shinoda further teaches the antenna, wherein the first antenna subarray group, the second antenna subarray group, and the third antenna subarray group are configured to transmit a signal or receive the signal ([0031]).
Regarding claim 21, all the limitations of claim 17 are taught by Shinoda.
Shinoda further teaches the antenna, further comprising a first channel configured to couple the first antenna subarray and the second antenna subarray through a switching mechanism to perform mode switching between the first working mode and the second working mode ([0031] the detectable range of distance up to a mobile obstacle and relative velocity can be switched to a sharp angle/long distance or a wide angle/short distance by switching the antenna switches 4 to 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinoda (US 2003/0164791 A1) in view of Iwasa (US 2023/0147240 A1).
Regarding claim 7, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Shinoda.
Shinoda does not explicitly teach the antenna wherein a first distance between the first antenna subarray and the second antenna subarray is equal to a second distance between the second antenna subarray and the third antenna subarray.
Iwasa teaches an antenna, wherein a first distance between a first antenna subarray and a second antenna subarray is equal to a second distance between the second antenna subarray and a third antenna subarray ([0086] equidistantly at intervals of about a half-wavelength).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of instant application to apply the equidistance between the antenna elements as taught by Iwasa to the teachings of Shinoda in order to minimize the misdetection of the radar (Iwasa, [0086]).
Regarding claim 8, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Shinoda.
Shinoda does not explicitly teach the antenna further comprising a plurality of second antenna subarrays between the first antenna subarray and the third antenna subarray, wherein a first distance between the first antenna subarray and the second antenna subarray, a second distance between two adjacent second antenna subarrays, and a third distance between the second antenna subarray and the third antenna subarray are equal in the first direction.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to use a plurality of second antenna subarrays because it would be merely duplication of parts. The court has held the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144.04).
However, Shinoda still does not explicitly teach the antenna further wherein a first distance between the first antenna subarray and the second antenna subarray, a second distance between two adjacent second antenna subarrays, and a third distance between the second antenna subarray and the third antenna subarray are equal in the first direction.
Iwasa teaches an antenna, wherein antenna elements are placed equidistantly ([0086] equidistantly at intervals of about a half-wavelength).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of instant application to apply the equidistance between the antenna elements as taught by Iwasa to the teachings of Shinoda in order to minimize the misdetection of the radar (Iwasa, [0086]).
Regarding claim 9, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 7. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7 above.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinoda (US 2003/0164791 A1).
Regarding claim 10, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Shinoda.
Shinoda does not explicitly teach the antenna further comprising: a fourth antenna subarray that belongs to the first antenna subarray group or the third antenna subarray group; and a fifth antenna subarray that is directly adjacent to the fourth antenna subarray and that belongs to the first antenna subarray group or the third antenna subarray group.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to use multiple antenna subarrays because it would be merely duplication of parts. The court has held the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144.04).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 12, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, the prior arts fail to teach or reasonably suggest an antenna, wherein a first radiation distance of the antenna in the first working mode is less than or equal to a second radiation distance of the antenna in the second working mode, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 12, the prior arts fail to teach or reasonably suggest an antenna, wherein a first antenna virtual aperture corresponding to the first working mode is less than or equal to a second antenna virtual aperture corresponding to the second working mode, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 19, the prior arts fail to teach or reasonably suggest a terminal, wherein a first radiation distance of the antenna in the first working mode is less than or equal to a second radiation distance of the antenna in the second working mode, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/SEOKJIN KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845