DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7, 9, 10, 15, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeo (US 2025/0027655) in view of Barr (US 5,581,233).
Regarding claim 1, Yeo discloses a microwave oven appliance comprising:
a cabinet (10) defining a cooking chamber (cooking chamber 14);
a magnetron (below [0153]) mounted within the cabinet in communication with the cooking chamber (“The magnetron may be placed and installed in the upper portion or lateral portion of the cooking compartment 14,” [0153]) to direct a microwave thereto (“The microwave oven radiates a high frequency of a magnetron to a cooking target and heats the inside and outside of the cooking target at the same time.” [0006]);
a control panel (15) mounted to the cabinet (as show in figure 1);
a chamber door (20) movably mounted to the cabinet to selectively restrict access to the cooking chamber in a closed position (as shown between figures 1 and 2);
a primary door input (20b) attached to the cabinet in operable communication with the chamber door to release the chamber door from the closed position (“The inner space of the handle part 20b may be open toward the other side of the handle part 20b in the lateral direction thereof, and the user may open and close the door 20 in the state where the user puts a hand into the inner space of the handle part and holds the handle part 20b.” [0166]);
a secondary unlock input attached to the cabinet to selectively direct the chamber door to an unlocked state (handle function of opening is restricted by secondary lock keeping door from unintendedly being opened “the door may be reliably fixed by the locking mechanism provided to fix the latching mechanism to the main body such that the door keeps the cooking compartment closed, to effectively prevent the cooking compartment from being opened unintentionally during the operation of the cooking apparatus.” [0101]); and
a controller (70 “The controller 70 may control the entire operation of the cooking apparatus, and control the operation of the locking mechanism 100.” [0266]) in operable communication with the control panel (15), the controller being configured to direct a monitoring operation comprising initiating a lock condition in which the chamber door is held in a locked state (lock function of controller as disclosed above [0266]),
Yeo is silent regarding detecting user engagement at the primary door input during the lock condition, determining maintenance of the lock condition, and initiating a warning command at the control panel based on determining maintenance of the lock condition.
However Barr teaches detecting user engagement at the primary door input during the lock condition, determining maintenance of the lock condition, and initiating a warning command at the control panel based on determining maintenance of the lock condition (opening device of door is locked from opening, alarm notifies operator using opening feature that door is not operational until interlock state is disengaged “The put-in-park alarm is energized when the driver moves his door handle in a door opening direction. Not only is the alarm energized but the door cannot be opened until the shift lever is moved to park whereupon the signal is deenergized” (abstract)).
The advantage of detecting user engagement at the primary door input during the lock condition, determining maintenance of the lock condition, and initiating a warning command at the control panel based on determining maintenance of the lock condition, is to communicate to user that the requested action of door opening is unavailable until the interlock is resolved “The put-in-park alarm is energized when the driver moves his door handle in a door opening direction. Not only is the alarm energized but the door cannot be opened until the shift lever is moved to park whereupon the signal is deenergized” (abstract).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yeo and Bar before him or her, to modify the interlock system of Bar to include the detection of opening attempt and alarm notifying locked state to interlock function of Barr because alarming the operator of the state of interlock during an attempt to open a door informs the user of situation needed to successfully open door.
Regarding claim 6, Yeo as modified teaches the microwave oven appliance of claim 1, Yeo as already modified teaches further comprising:
a door lock (100) in mechanical communication with the chamber door (“The locking mechanism 100 may be provided to fix the latching mechanism 40 in the state where the latching mechanism 40 fixing the door 20 in the closed position is coupled to the latch board 50.” [0173]), the door lock being movable between a locked state restricting movement of the chamber door from the closed position and the unlocked state permitting movement of the chamber door from the closed position (“for the door 20 to open the cooking compartment 14, the latching mechanism 40 and the main body 10 need to be decoupled, and the latching mechanism 40 fixed by the locking mechanism 100 also needs to be unfixed” [0175]),
wherein the secondary unlock input is attached to the cabinet in operable communication with the door lock to selectively direct the door lock to move the door lock from the locked state to the unlocked state (handle function of opening is restricted by secondary lock keeping door from unintendedly being opened “the door may be reliably fixed by the locking mechanism provided to fix the latching mechanism to the main body such that the door keeps the cooking compartment closed, to effectively prevent the cooking compartment from being opened unintentionally during the operation of the cooking apparatus.” [0101]) and as already modified by Barr (abstract)).
Regarding claim 7, the microwave oven appliance of claim 1, wherein the primary door input comprises a pull handle (see pull 20b,see figure 1, in view of Barr providing actuation handle opening (abstract)).
Regarding claim 9, Yeo as modified teaches the microwave oven appliance of claim 1, Yeo as already modified teaches wherein the warning command comprises a visual display or an audible alert at the control panel (any status of the microwave anticipated to be present to display unit “a display unit may be further provided at the control panel 15 and provide information on the operations of the door and the cooking apparatus provided with the door or information on cooking of a food item and the like, and the user, and the user may see a variety of information on the cooking apparatus through the display unit.” [0162]).
Regarding claim 10, Yeo discloses a method of operating a microwave oven appliance comprising a cabinet (10), a control panel (15), and a chamber door (20), the method comprising:
initiating a lock condition in which the chamber door is held in a locked state (controller 70 controls lock state “The controller 70 may control the entire operation of the cooking apparatus, and control the operation of the locking mechanism 100.” [0266], handle function of opening is restricted by secondary lock keeping door from unintendedly being opened “the door may be reliably fixed by the locking mechanism provided to fix the latching mechanism to the main body such that the door keeps the cooking compartment closed, to effectively prevent the cooking compartment from being opened unintentionally during the operation of the cooking apparatus.” [0101]);
Yeo is silent regarding detecting user engagement at a primary door input during the lock condition;
determining maintenance of the lock condition; and
initiating a warning command at the control panel based on determining maintenance of the lock condition.
However Barr teaches detecting user engagement at a primary door input during the lock condition; determining maintenance of the lock condition; and initiating a warning command at the control panel based on determining maintenance of the lock condition. (opening device of door is locked from opening, alarm notifies operator using opening feature that door is not operational until interlock state is disengaged “The put-in-park alarm is energized when the driver moves his door handle in a door opening direction. Not only is the alarm energized but the door cannot be opened until the shift lever is moved to park whereupon the signal is deenergized” (abstract)).
The advantage of detecting user engagement at a primary door input during the lock condition; determining maintenance of the lock condition; and initiating a warning command at the control panel based on determining maintenance of the lock condition, is to communicate to user that the requested action of door opening is unavailable until the interlock is resolved “The put-in-park alarm is energized when the driver moves his door handle in a door opening direction. Not only is the alarm energized but the door cannot be opened until the shift lever is moved to park whereupon the signal is deenergized” (abstract).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yeo and Bar before him or her, to modify the interlock system of Bar to include the detection of opening attempt and alarm notifying locked state to interlock function of Barr because alarming the operator of the state of interlock during an attempt to open a door informs the user of situation needed to successfully open door.
Regarding claim 15, Yeo as modified teaches the method of claim 10, Yeo as already modified teaches wherein the microwave oven appliance further comprises a door lock (100) in mechanical communication with the chamber door (“The locking mechanism 100 may be provided to fix the latching mechanism 40 in the state where the latching mechanism 40 fixing the door 20 in the closed position is coupled to the latch board 50.” [0173]), the door lock being movable between a locked state restricting movement of the chamber door from a closed position and an unlocked state permitting movement of the chamber door from the closed position (“for the door 20 to open the cooking compartment 14, the latching mechanism 40 and the main body 10 need to be decoupled, and the latching mechanism 40 fixed by the locking mechanism 100 also needs to be unfixed” [0175]),
wherein a secondary unlock input is attached to the cabinet in operable communication with the door lock to selectively direct the door lock to move the door lock from the locked state to the unlocked state (handle function of opening is restricted by secondary lock keeping door from unintendedly being opened “the door may be reliably fixed by the locking mechanism provided to fix the latching mechanism to the main body such that the door keeps the cooking compartment closed, to effectively prevent the cooking compartment from being opened unintentionally during the operation of the cooking apparatus.” [0101]) and as already modified by Barr (abstract)).
Regarding claim 16, the method of claim 10, wherein the primary door input comprises a pull handle (see pull 20b,see figure 1, in view of Barr providing actuation handle opening (abstract)).
Regarding claim 18, the method of claim 10, wherein the warning command comprises a visual display or an audible alert at the control panel (any status of the microwave anticipated to be present to display unit “a display unit may be further provided at the control panel 15 and provide information on the operations of the door and the cooking apparatus provided with the door or information on cooking of a food item and the like, and the user, and the user may see a variety of information on the cooking apparatus through the display unit.” [0162]).
Claims 2-4 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeo in view of Barr and in further view of Esterle (US 2019/0178001).
Regarding claim 2, Yeo as modified teaches the microwave oven appliance of claim 1, Yeo as already modified teaches
wherein the microwave oven appliance further comprises a
wherein detecting user engagement at the primary door input comprises receiving an engagement signal from the
Yeo is silent regarding wherein the primary door input comprises a slidable button.
However Esterle teaches wherein the microwave oven appliance further comprises a slidable button (122 “As an example, a user can pull on the handle mounted to door 120 to open or close door 120 and access cooking chamber 104. Alternatively, microwave oven 100 may include a door release button 122 that disengages or otherwise pushes open door 120 when depressed.” [0020]),
The advantage of wherein the microwave oven appliance further comprises a button sensor in selective communication with the slidable button, is to provide exchange between handle and button as is known equivalent component to same purpose of opening microwave “As an example, a user can pull on the handle mounted to door 120 to open or close door 120 and access cooking chamber 104. Alternatively, microwave oven 100 may include a door release button 122 that disengages or otherwise pushes open door 120 when depressed.” [0020], see MPEP 2144.06 II.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yeo as modified and Esterle before him or her, to modify the handle interlock system of Bar to include the button microwave opening system of Esterle because slide buttons and handle opening systems of microwaves are known as equivalent components to operation of a microwave function.
Regarding claim 3, Yeo as modified teaches the microwave oven appliance of claim 2, Yeo as already modified teaches wherein the slidable button is movable between an extended position and a retracted position (Esterle as already modifying provides “depressed”/retrcacted state of button [0020]), the retracted position being configured to prompt movement of the chamber door from the closed position (Esterle -“As an example, a user can pull on the handle mounted to door 120 to open or close door 120 and access cooking chamber 104. Alternatively, microwave oven 100 may include a door release button 122 that disengages or otherwise pushes open door 120 when depressed.” Esterle [0020]), and
wherein the button sensor is configured to detect the slidable button between the extended position and the retracted position (as provided by Yeo 130 and as already modified by door warning on pull during interlock of Barr (abstract)).
Regarding claim 4, Yeo as modified teaches the microwave oven appliance of claim 3 Yeo as already modified teaches, wherein the button sensor comprises a contact sensor (Yeo, see figure 1 depicting switch element 130 as micro limit contact switch) in selective contact with the slidable button (selective contact as provide by a contact switch in signaling from operation of door opening means as already modified by Barr (abstract)).
Regarding claim 11, Yeo as modified teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the microwave oven appliance further comprises a (alarm of door pull handle during opening attempt as already modified by Barr (abstract)) in selective communication with the
wherein detecting user engagement at the primary door input comprises receiving an engagement signal from the
Yeo is silent regarding wherein the primary door input comprises a slidable button, working with the sensor.
However Esterle teaches wherein the microwave oven appliance further comprises a slidable button (122 as primary door input “As an example, a user can pull on the handle mounted to door 120 to open or close door 120 and access cooking chamber 104. Alternatively, microwave oven 100 may include a door release button 122 that disengages or otherwise pushes open door 120 when depressed.” [0020]).
The advantage of wherein the microwave oven appliance further comprises a button sensor in selective communication with the slidable button, is to provide exchange between handle and button as is known equivalent component to same purpose of opening microwave “As an example, a user can pull on the handle mounted to door 120 to open or close door 120 and access cooking chamber 104. Alternatively, microwave oven 100 may include a door release button 122 that disengages or otherwise pushes open door 120 when depressed.” [0020], see MPEP 2144.06 II.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yeo as modified and Esterle before him or her, to modify the handle interlock system of Bar to include the button microwave opening system of Esterle because slide buttons and handle opening systems of microwaves are known as equivalent components to operation of a microwave function.
Regarding claim 12, Yeo as modified teaches the method of claim 11, Yeo as already modified teaches wherein the slidable button is movable between an extended position and a retracted position (Esterle as already modifying provides “depressed”/retrcacted state of button [0020]), the retracted position being configured to prompt movement of the chamber door from a closed position (Esterle -“As an example, a user can pull on the handle mounted to door 120 to open or close door 120 and access cooking chamber 104. Alternatively, microwave oven 100 may include a door release button 122 that disengages or otherwise pushes open door 120 when depressed.” Esterle [0020]), and
wherein the button sensor is configured to detect the slidable button between the extended position and the retracted position (as provided by Yeo 130 and as already modified by door warning on pull during interlock of Barr (abstract)).
Regarding claim 13, Yeo as modified teaches the method of claim 12, Yeo as already modified teaches wherein the button sensor comprises a contact sensor (Yeo, see figure 1 depicting switch element 130 as micro limit contact switch) in selective contact with the slidable button (selective contact as provide by a contact switch in signaling from operation of door opening means as already modified by Barr (abstract)).
Claim(s) 5, 8, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeo in view of Barr and in further view of Zimmer (US 2013/0069512).
Regarding claim 5, Yeo as modified teaches the microwave oven appliance of claim 1, Yeo as modified is silent regarding wherein the microwave oven appliance further comprises a touch sensor disposed on the primary door input, and
wherein detecting user engagement at the primary door input comprises receiving an engagement signal from the touch sensor.
However Zimmer teaches wherein the microwave oven appliance further comprises a touch sensor (250) disposed on the primary door input (as shown in figure 1 “The actuator means 370 is electrically interconnected with the touch sensor 250 to receive an open signal provided in the form of a valid touch on the touch sensor. In response to the touch sensor providing a signal, the drive pin is extended from the solenoid base 390 to physically engage the hooked portion 340 and urge or force the latch 170 upwardly over the shoulder 350 to disengage the latch from the inclined plate 280. The hooked portion is shaped to interact with the inclined plate 280 in such a way that once the latch 170 is disengaged from the opening 360 and overcomes the spring force 330, the same spring force urges the latch to proceed toward the inclined surface 280 and thereby opens the door.” [0026]), and
wherein detecting user engagement at the primary door input comprises receiving an engagement signal from the touch sensor “The touch sensor 250 is generally mounted flush along the face 230 and includes a boundary area 260 that is generally rectangular but may also be arranged in any practical geometric shape that can be adapted to encompass any available area based on the design criteria of the face 230. There are several types of sensor technologies that are known within the prior art and this disclosure is not limited in this regard. Known technologies include the use of capacitive, resistive, surface wave, strain gauge, optical imaging, and infrared technologies amongst others that can sense the finger or dielectric object in contact with or closely adjacent with the touch sensor. Tactile switches can be activated by either buttons or through a protective film. Of course, touch sensors and tactile switches are preferred embodiments but the present disclosure should not be limited to these arrangements.” [0022].
The advantage of wherein the microwave oven appliance further comprises a touch sensor disposed on the primary door input, and
wherein detecting user engagement at the primary door input comprises receiving an engagement signal from the touch sensor, is to provide a flush mounting of operational button to the surface of a microwave oven “The touch sensor 250 is generally mounted flush along the face 230” [0022].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yeo as modified and Zimmer before him or her, to modify the handle/button opening system of Yeo to include the flush touch button opening system of Zimmer, because a touch sensitive button enables a flush mounting of microwave control input.
Regarding claim 8, Yeo as modified teaches the microwave oven appliance of claim 1, Yeo as modified is silent regarding wherein the monitoring operation further comprises:
directing a heating element to an inactive state while maintaining the lock condition in response to detecting user engagement at the primary door input.
However Zimmer teaches wherein the monitoring operation further comprises:
directing a heating element to an inactive state while maintaining the lock condition in response to detecting user engagement at the primary door input (the door opening feature of microwaves is well known to inactivating the cooking state “It is also known for cooking devices to include an interlock switch that provides a signal to the cooking device indicating when the door is in the closed position. When the door is opened, the interlock switch provides a signal to the cooking device indicating to shut off power supplied to the cooking chamber simultaneously with the opening of the door. This safety feature is generally known within the prior art and prevents the unwanted leakage of microwave energy from the cooking chamber.” [0004]).
The advantage of wherein the monitoring operation further comprises:
directing a heating element to an inactive state while maintaining the lock condition in response to detecting user engagement at the primary door input, is to provide well known user directed features to predictable action of terminating microwave heating (“It is also known for cooking devices to include an interlock switch that provides a signal to the cooking device indicating when the door is in the closed position. When the door is opened, the interlock switch provides a signal to the cooking device indicating to shut off power supplied to the cooking chamber simultaneously with the opening of the door. This safety feature is generally known within the prior art and prevents the unwanted leakage of microwave energy from the cooking chamber.” [0004]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yeo as modified and Zimmer before him or her, to modify the handle/button opening system of Yeo to include the button termination of cooking of Zimmer, because the door opening system being used to terminate a cooking operation of a microwave is well known predictable operation for user.
Regarding claim 14, Yeo as modified teaches the method of claim 10, Yeo as already modified is silent regarding wherein the microwave oven appliance further comprises a touch sensor disposed on the primary door input, and wherein detecting user engagement at the primary door input comprises receiving an engagement signal from the touch sensor.
However Zimmer teaches wherein the microwave oven appliance further comprises a touch sensor (250) disposed on the primary door input (as shown in figure 1 “The actuator means 370 is electrically interconnected with the touch sensor 250 to receive an open signal provided in the form of a valid touch on the touch sensor. In response to the touch sensor providing a signal, the drive pin is extended from the solenoid base 390 to physically engage the hooked portion 340 and urge or force the latch 170 upwardly over the shoulder 350 to disengage the latch from the inclined plate 280. The hooked portion is shaped to interact with the inclined plate 280 in such a way that once the latch 170 is disengaged from the opening 360 and overcomes the spring force 330, the same spring force urges the latch to proceed toward the inclined surface 280 and thereby opens the door.” [0026]), and
And wherein detecting user engagement at the primary door input comprises receiving an engagement signal from the touch sensor “The touch sensor 250 is generally mounted flush along the face 230 and includes a boundary area 260 that is generally rectangular but may also be arranged in any practical geometric shape that can be adapted to encompass any available area based on the design criteria of the face 230. There are several types of sensor technologies that are known within the prior art and this disclosure is not limited in this regard. Known technologies include the use of capacitive, resistive, surface wave, strain gauge, optical imaging, and infrared technologies amongst others that can sense the finger or dielectric object in contact with or closely adjacent with the touch sensor. Tactile switches can be activated by either buttons or through a protective film. Of course, touch sensors and tactile switches are preferred embodiments but the present disclosure should not be limited to these arrangements.” [0022].
The advantage of wherein the microwave oven appliance further comprises a touch sensor disposed on the primary door input, and
wherein detecting user engagement at the primary door input comprises receiving an engagement signal from the touch sensor, is to provide a flush mounting of operational button to the surface of a microwave oven “The touch sensor 250 is generally mounted flush along the face 230” [0022].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yeo as modified and Zimmer before him or her, to modify the handle/button opening system of Yeo to include the flush touch button opening system of Zimmer, because a touch sensitive button enables a flush mounting of microwave control input.
Regarding claim 17, Yeo as modified teaches the method of claim 10, Yeo as already modified is silent regarding further comprising:
directing a heating element to an inactive state while maintaining the lock condition in response to detecting user engagement at the primary door input.
However Zimmer teaches wherein the monitoring operation further comprises:
directing a heating element to an inactive state while maintaining the lock condition in response to detecting user engagement at the primary door input (the door opening feature of microwaves is well known to inactivating the cooking state “It is also known for cooking devices to include an interlock switch that provides a signal to the cooking device indicating when the door is in the closed position. When the door is opened, the interlock switch provides a signal to the cooking device indicating to shut off power supplied to the cooking chamber simultaneously with the opening of the door. This safety feature is generally known within the prior art and prevents the unwanted leakage of microwave energy from the cooking chamber.” [0004]).
The advantage of wherein the monitoring operation further comprises:
directing a heating element to an inactive state while maintaining the lock condition in response to detecting user engagement at the primary door input, is to provide well known user directed features to predictable action of terminating microwave heating (“It is also known for cooking devices to include an interlock switch that provides a signal to the cooking device indicating when the door is in the closed position. When the door is opened, the interlock switch provides a signal to the cooking device indicating to shut off power supplied to the cooking chamber simultaneously with the opening of the door. This safety feature is generally known within the prior art and prevents the unwanted leakage of microwave energy from the cooking chamber.” [0004]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yeo as modified and Zimmer before him or her, to modify the handle/button opening system of Yeo to include the button termination of cooking of Zimmer, because the door opening system being used to terminate a cooking operation of a microwave is well known predictable operation for user.
Conclusion
/Spencer H. Kirkwood/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761