DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 02/26/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s submission overcomes prior claim objections and claim rejections under 35 USC § 112. Therefore, the corresponding objections and rejections are withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In par. [0062], the two separate instances of “the 5GMSu AS 406” (emphasis added) should read “the 5GMSu AS 404” (emphasis added) for consistency with Fig. 4. Applicant’s amendments to the specification in par. [0062] still include two sections that recite “the 5GMSu AS 406” which is inconsistent with Fig. 4 and other sections in the specification which describe a “5GMSu AS 404” and “5GMSu AF 406”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouazizi et al. (US 2021/0105308), in view of Pan et al. (US 2024/0267338), hereinafter “Pan ‘338”, and further in view of Pan et al. (US 2024/0147308), hereinafter “Pan ‘308”.
Regarding claims 1, 19, Bouazizi teaches:
A method performed by at least one processor in a 5G media streaming uplink (5GMSu) application provider or a 5G media streaming uplink (5GMSu) application provider server, comprising:
at least one memory configured to store program code (see Bouazizi, Fig. 6, par. [0100]: The memory 604 may store instructions 606); and
at least one processor configured to read the program code and operate as instructed by the program code (see Bouazizi, Fig. 6, par. [0100]: The instructions 606 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 602, cause the processor 602 to perform operations), the program code including:
sending code configured to cause the at least one processor send, to the 5GMSu AF, a message comprising one or more parameters for creating a content publishing configuration with the 5GMSu AF (see Bouazizi, Fig. 14, par. [0208]: At 1400, the external 5GMSA Application provider requests the creation of a new Ingest and Distribution Configuration for distributing its content. The 5GMSA Application provider indicates the anticipated operation points for the service. An operation point consists of the bandwidth and latency requirements, as well as any other parameters that may influence the policy for the sessions of this application (e.g. the charging profile, coverage area, route selection information, . . . )), wherein the 5GMSu AF sends a message to a 5GMSu application service (AS) to provision the 5GMSu AS for the content publishing configuration in accordance with the one or more parameters (see Bouazizi, Fig. 14, pars. [0209-0212]: At 1402, the Media AF uses the interfaces defined in 3GPP TS 28.531, Management and orchestration; Provisioning to request the creation of a new network slice instance and provision it for the new distribution configuration. 3. If successful, the new S-NSSAI is added to the Configured NSSAI (this requires a UCU procedure) and stored in the UE profile in the UDM for the allowed UEs. The NSSF is configured with the S-NSSAI and related information (this includes information for the AMF to select the SMF). The SMF is configured with the S-NSSAI-related information (e.g. for UPF selection). 4. At 1404, the network confirms the creations of the new network slice(s) to the Media AF and provides the list of S-NSSAI(s) with their corresponding parameters. 5. The Ingest and Distribution Configuration is updated with the information about the network slices; in this case, the network corresponds to the application service);
receiving code configured to cause the at least one processor to receive, from the 5GMSu AF, confirmation that a 5GMSu Application Server (AS) is configured based on the content publishing configuration (see Bouazizi, Fig. 14, par. [0213]: At 1406, the Media AF confirms successful setup of the Ingest and Distribution Configuration to the Application provider),
However, Bouazizi does not teach:
establishing code configured to cause the at least one processor to establish a 5GMSu session with a 5GMSu application function (AF) on a 5GMSu application provider;
the confirmation including an 5GMSu service access information entry,
publishing code configured to cause the at least one processor to publish, to a 5GMSu aware application, the 5GMSu service access information entry, and
obtaining code configured to cause the at least one processor to obtain, from the 5GMSu AS in accordance with the content publishing configuration, the uplink media content.
Pan ‘338, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
establishing code configured to cause the at least one processor to establish a 5GMSu session with a 5GMSu application function (AF) on a 5GMSu application provider (see Pan ‘338, Fig. 9A, pars. [0269-0271]: S901: An application service provider interacts with a network operator to perform an SLA negotiation procedure. S902: The 5GMSu application service provider and a 5GMSu AF perform validity authentication for each other. S903: The 5GMSu AP creates a service provisioning session);
the confirmation including an 5GMSu service access information entry (see Pan ‘338, Figs. 9A and 9B, pars. [0278-0281]: S908: The 5GMSu AS sends acknowledgment information and the address on the 5GMSu AS side to the 5GMSu AF. The acknowledgment information indicates that the resource configuration information is successfully received, and the address on the 5GMSu AS side, for example, an IP address, is used by the UE to send content of the service stream to the 5GMSu AS. S909: The 5GMSu AF sends a service provisioning result to the 5GMSu AP. The service provisioning result includes the SAI or an index of the SAI and the address on the 5GMSu AS side; in this case, the SAI and address information included in the response signal corresponds to a 5MGSu service access information entry),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Bouazizi with the establishing session and service access information entry of Pan ‘338 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving user experience in streaming (see Pan ‘338, par. [0008]).
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338 does not teach:
publishing code configured to cause the at least one processor to publish, to a 5GMSu aware application, the 5GMSu service access information entry, and
obtaining code configured to cause the at least one processor to obtain, from the 5GMSu AS in accordance with the content publishing configuration, the uplink media content.
Pan ‘308, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
publishing code configured to cause the at least one processor to publish, to a 5GMSu aware application, the 5GMSu service access information entry (see Pan ‘308, Fig. 6B, par. [0407]: S613: The application provider sends the first information and the first indication information to the application entity of the terminal device. Correspondingly, the application entity of the terminal device receives the first information and the first indication information from the application provider, and see par. [0411]: S614: The application entity of the terminal device sends the first information and the first indication information to the media session handler entity of the terminal device. Correspondingly, the media session handler entity of the terminal device receives the first information and the first indication information from the application entity of the terminal device, and see pars. [0219-0220]: the first information includes but is not limited to one or more of the following configuration information: network assistance, dynamic policy adjustment, metrics collection and reporting, consumption collection and reporting, and general user-side data collection and reporting. For example, the first information includes the metrics collection and reporting configuration information. The first information may be but is not limited to one or more of the following: a parameter configuration scheme, a DNN data network name, a reporting interval, a percentage of a reported media session (sample percentage), a media streaming source filter, and a reporting parameter), and
obtaining code configured to cause the at least one processor to obtain, from the 5GMSu AS, the uplink media content (see Pan ‘308, Fig. 6B, pars. [0402-0404]: S612: The application provider may send a downlink media streaming service to the second network element based on the address information of the second network element. Correspondingly, the second network element receives the downlink media streaming service from the application provider. For example, the application provider may inject the downlink media streaming service into the 5GMS AS network element based on address information of the 5GMS AS network element. Optionally, the application provider may send general data to the second network element based on the address information of the second network element, and see par. [0144]: It should be noted that a communication method provided in embodiments of this application is applicable to an uplink communication scenario and a downlink communication scenario, and the downlink communication scenario is used as an example for description; in this case, the example of downlink communication is taught by the application provider sending media to the application service. Uplink communication is also supported by the disclosure).
Bouazizi further teaches the claimed the 5GMSu AF sends a message to a 5GMSu application service (AS) to provision the 5GMSu AS for the content publishing configuration (see Bouazizi, Fig. 14, pars. [0209-0212]: At 1402, the Media AF uses the interfaces defined in 3GPP TS 28.531, Management and orchestration; Provisioning to request the creation of a new network slice instance and provision it for the new distribution configuration. 3. If successful, the new S-NSSAI is added to the Configured NSSAI (this requires a UCU procedure) and stored in the UE profile in the UDM for the allowed UEs. The NSSF is configured with the S-NSSAI and related information (this includes information for the AMF to select the SMF). The SMF is configured with the S-NSSAI-related information (e.g. for UPF selection). 4. At 1404, the network confirms the creations of the new network slice(s) to the Media AF and provides the list of S-NSSAI(s) with their corresponding parameters. 5. The Ingest and Distribution Configuration is updated with the information about the network slices).
Therefore, since Pan ‘308 teaches obtaining uplink media content from the 5GMSu AS and Bouazizi teaches the application service being provisioned for the content publishing configuration it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified to include obtaining uplink media content from the 5GMSu AS in accordance with the content publishing configuration with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of supporting direct and indirect data reporting manners (see Pan ‘308, par. [0180]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, teaches the method.
Bouazizi does not teach, but Pan ‘338 teaches:
wherein the establishing the 5GMSu session comprises performing an authentication with the 5GMSu AF (see Pan ‘338, Fig. 9A, par. [0270]: S902: The 5GMSu application service provider and a 5GMSu AF perform validity authentication for each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Bouazizi with the establishing session via authentication of Pan ‘338 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving user experience in streaming (see Pan ‘338, par. [0008]).
The combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338 does not teach, but Pan ‘308 teaches:
wherein the establishing the 5GMSu session comprises discovering an address of the 5GMSu application function (see Pan ‘308, Fig. 5, par. [0184]: S501: An application provider obtains first indication information, and see par. [0191]: the first indication information may further include first address information, and see par. [0196]: the first address may be an address of the first network element, and see par. [0186]: the first network element may be the 5GMS AF network element)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the establishing the session of the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338 with the discovering an address of the AF of Pan ‘308 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of supporting direct and indirect data reporting manners (see Pan ‘308, par. [0180]).
Regarding claims 10, 20, Bouazizi teaches:
A method performed by at least one processor in a 5G media streaming uplink (5GMSu) application function (AF) or 5G media streaming uplink (5GMSu) system executing an application function (AF), comprising:
at least one memory configured to store program code (see Bouazizi, Fig. 6, par. [0100]: The memory 604 may store instructions 606); and
at least one processor configured to read the program code and operate as instructed by the program code, the program code (see Bouazizi, Fig. 6, par. [0100]: The instructions 606 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 602, cause the processor 602 to perform operations) including:
first receiving code configured to cause the at least one processor to receive, from the 5GMSu application provider, a message comprising one or more parameters for creating a content publishing configuration associated with an uplink media content with the 5GMSu application provider (see Bouazizi, Fig. 14, par. [0208]: At 1400, the external 5GMSA Application provider requests the creation of a new Ingest and Distribution Configuration for distributing its content. The 5GMSA Application provider indicates the anticipated operation points for the service. An operation point consists of the bandwidth and latency requirements, as well as any other parameters that may influence the policy for the sessions of this application (e.g. the charging profile, coverage area, route selection information, . . . )),
sending code configured to cause the at least one processor to send a message to a 5GMSu application server (AS) to provision the 5GMSu AS for the content publishing configuration in accordance with the one or more parameters (see Bouazizi, Fig. 14, pars. [0209-0212]: At 1402, the Media AF uses the interfaces defined in 3GPP TS 28.531, Management and orchestration; Provisioning to request the creation of a new network slice instance and provision it for the new distribution configuration. 3. If successful, the new S-NSSAI is added to the Configured NSSAI (this requires a UCU procedure) and stored in the UE profile in the UDM for the allowed UEs. The NSSF is configured with the S-NSSAI and related information (this includes information for the AMF to select the SMF). The SMF is configured with the S-NSSAI-related information (e.g. for UPF selection). 4. At 1404, the network confirms the creations of the new network slice(s) to the Media AF and provides the list of S-NSSAI(s) with their corresponding parameters. 5. The Ingest and Distribution Configuration is updated with the information about the network slices; in this case, the network corresponds to the application server),
second receiving code configured to cause the at least one processor to receive, from the 5GMSu AS, confirmation that the configuration of the 5GMSu AS based on the content publishing configuration is successful (see Bouazizi, Fig. 14, pars. [0211-0212]: At 1404, the network confirms the creations of the new network slice(s) to the Media AF and provides the list of S-NSSAI(s) with their corresponding parameters. 5. The Ingest and Distribution Configuration is updated with the information about the network slices), and
transmitting code configured to cause the at least one processor to transmit, to the 5GMSu application provider, confirmation that the 5GMSu AS is configured based on the content publishing configuration (see Bouazizi, Fig. 14, par. [0213]: At 1406, the Media AF confirms successful setup of the Ingest and Distribution Configuration to the Application provider), (see Pan ‘338, Fig. 9B, pars. [0280-0281]: S909: The 5GMSu AF sends a service provisioning result to the 5GMSu AP. The service provisioning result includes the SAI or an index of the SAI and the address on the 5GMSu AS side; in this case, the SAI and address information included in the response signal corresponds to a 5MGSu service access information entry)
However, Bouazizi does not teach:
establishing code configured to cause the at least one processor to establish a 5GMSu session on a 5GMSu application provider;
the confirmation including 5GMSu service access information entry
the confirmation including 5GMSu service access information entry that the 5GMSu application provider publishes to a user equipment (UE).
Pan ‘338, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
establishing code configured to cause the at least one processor to establish a 5GMSu session on a 5GMSu application provider (see Pan ‘338, Fig. 9A, pars. [0269-0271]: S901: An application service provider interacts with a network operator to perform an SLA negotiation procedure. S902: The 5GMSu application service provider and a 5GMSu AF perform validity authentication for each other. S903: The 5GMSu AP creates a service provisioning session);
the confirmation including 5GMSu service access information entry (see Pan ‘338, Figs. 9A and 9B, pars. [0278-0281]: S908: The 5GMSu AS sends acknowledgment information and the address on the 5GMSu AS side to the 5GMSu AF. The acknowledgment information indicates that the resource configuration information is successfully received, and the address on the 5GMSu AS side, for example, an IP address, is used by the UE to send content of the service stream to the 5GMSu AS. S909: The 5GMSu AF sends a service provisioning result to the 5GMSu AP. The service provisioning result includes the SAI or an index of the SAI and the address on the 5GMSu AS side; in this case, the SAI and address information included in the response signal corresponds to a 5MGSu service access information entry)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Bouazizi with the establishing session and service access information entry of Pan ‘338 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving user experience in streaming (see Pan ‘338, par. [0008]).
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338 does not teach:
the confirmation including 5GMSu service access information entry that the 5GMSu application provider publishes to a user equipment (UE).
Pan ‘308, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
the confirmation including 5GMSu service access information entry that the 5GMSu application provider publishes to a user equipment (UE) (see Pan ‘308, Fig. 6B, par. [0407]: S613: The application provider sends the first information and the first indication information to the application entity of the terminal device. Correspondingly, the application entity of the terminal device receives the first information and the first indication information from the application provider, and see par. [0411]: S614: The application entity of the terminal device sends the first information and the first indication information to the media session handler entity of the terminal device. Correspondingly, the media session handler entity of the terminal device receives the first information and the first indication information from the application entity of the terminal device, and see pars. [0219-0220]: the first information includes but is not limited to one or more of the following configuration information: network assistance, dynamic policy adjustment, metrics collection and reporting, consumption collection and reporting, and general user-side data collection and reporting. For example, the first information includes the metrics collection and reporting configuration information. The first information may be but is not limited to one or more of the following: a parameter configuration scheme, a DNN data network name, a reporting interval, a percentage of a reported media session (sample percentage), a media streaming source filter, and a reporting parameter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or system of Pan ‘338 with the publishing the 5GMSu service access entry of the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘308 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of supporting direct and indirect data reporting manners (see Pan ‘308, par. [0180]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, teaches the method.
Bouazizi does not teach, but Pan ‘338 teaches:
wherein the establishing the 5GMSu session comprises the 5GMSu application provider performing an authentication with the 5GMSu AF (see Pan ‘338, Fig. 9A, par. [0270]: S902: The 5GMSu application service provider and a 5GMSu AF perform validity authentication for each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Bouazizi with the establishing session via authentication of Pan ‘338 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving user experience in streaming (see Pan ‘338, par. [0008]).
The combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338 does not teach, but Pan ‘308 teaches:
wherein the establishing the 5GMSu session comprises the 5GMSu application provider discovering an address of the 5GMSu application function (see Pan ‘308, Fig. 5, par. [0184]: S501: An application provider obtains first indication information, and see par. [0191]: the first indication information may further include first address information, and see par. [0196]: the first address may be an address of the first network element, and see par. [0186]: the first network element may be the 5GMS AF network element)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the establishing the session of the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338 with the discovering an address of the AF of Pan ‘308 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of supporting direct and indirect data reporting manners (see Pan ‘308, par. [0180]).
Claims 2, 4-5, 9, 11, 13-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308 in view of Pan ‘308, as applied to claims 1, 8, 10, and 18-20 above, and further in view of 3GPP TS 26.512, V17.2.0, published 23 September, 2022, hereinafter “TS 26.512”.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, does not teach:
wherein the obtaining the uplink media content comprises the 5GMSu application provider pulling the uplink media content from the 5GMSu AS in an egest pull mode.
TS 26.512, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the obtaining the uplink media content comprises the 5GMSu application provider pulling the uplink media content from the 5GMSu AS in an egest pull mode (see TS 26.512, section 5.1: The M2u Egest interface enables Uplink media streaming content sent by the 5GMSu Client to the 5GMSu AS over interface M4u to be subsequently delivered to the 5GMSu Application Provider. Uplink media streaming media transfer from the 5GMSu AS to the 5GMSu Application Provider may be either pull-based and initiated by the 5GMSu Application Provider using the HTTP GET method, or push-based and initiated by the 5GMSu AS using the HTTP PUT method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the obtaining the uplink media content of the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, with the pulling the uplink media content in an egest pull mode of TS 26.512 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling transfer of content to the application provider (see TS 26.512, section 5.1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, does not teach:
wherein the obtaining the uplink media content comprises the 5GMSu AS pushing the media content to the 5GMSu application provider in an egest push mode.
TS 26.512, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the obtaining the uplink media content comprises the 5GMSu AS pushing the media content to the 5GMSu application provider in an egest push mode (see TS 26.512, section 5.1: The M2u Egest interface enables Uplink media streaming content sent by the 5GMSu Client to the 5GMSu AS over interface M4u to be subsequently delivered to the 5GMSu Application Provider. Uplink media streaming media transfer from the 5GMSu AS to the 5GMSu Application Provider may be either pull-based and initiated by the 5GMSu Application Provider using the HTTP GET method, or push-based and initiated by the 5GMSu AS using the HTTP PUT method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the obtaining the uplink media content of the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, with the pushing the uplink media content in an egest push mode of TS 26.512 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling transfer of content to the application provider (see TS 26.512, section 5.1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, does not teach:
wherein the 5GMSu AS performs content preparation before making the uplink content ready for being pulled by the 5GMSu application provider or being pushed to the 5GMSu application provider.
TS 26.512, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the 5GMSu AS performs content preparation before making the uplink content ready for being pulled by the 5GMSu application provider or being pushed to the 5GMSu application provider (see TS 26.512, Table 5.2-1, section 4.3.5.1: For uplink media streaming, the 5GMSu AS may be required to process content it receives from the 5GMSu Client before passing it to the 5GMSu Application Provider on the egest interface M2u. The content processing operations are specified in a Content Preparation Template resource, and see section 5.1: The M2u Egest interface enables Uplink media streaming content sent by the 5GMSu Client to the 5GMSu AS over interface M4u to be subsequently delivered to the 5GMSu Application Provider. Uplink media streaming media transfer from the 5GMSu AS to the 5GMSu Application Provider may be either pull-based and initiated by the 5GMSu Application Provider using the HTTP GET method, or push-based and initiated by the 5GMSu AS using the HTTP PUT method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, with the AS performing content preparation of TS 26.512 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling transfer of content to the application provider (see TS 26.512, section 5.1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, does not teach:
wherein the 5GMSu service access information entry comprises an uplink entry point.
TS 26.512, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the 5GMSu service access information entry comprises an uplink entry point (see TS 26.512, section 4.7.2.1: For uplink media streaming, the 5GMSu Client may obtain Service Access Information from either the 5GMSu-Aware Application (via M6u/M7u) or the 5GMSu AF (via M5u). In the former case, the Service Access Information is initially acquired by the 5GMSu-Aware Application from the 5GMSu Application Provider via M8u. In the latter case, the Service Access Information is derived by the 5GMSu AF from the Provisioning Session established via M1u, and see section 4.7.2.1: the Service Access Information for downlink media streaming includes a media entry point (e.g. a URL to a DASH MPD or a URL to a progressive download file)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the service access information of the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, with the information comprising an uplink entry point of TS 26.512 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling transfer of content to the application provider (see TS 26.512, section 5.1).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, does not teach:
wherein the 5GMSu application provider pulls the uplink media content from the 5GMSu AS in an egest pull mode.
TS 26.512, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the 5GMSu application provider pulls the uplink media content from the 5GMSu AS in an egest pull mode (see TS 26.512, section 5.1: The M2u Egest interface enables Uplink media streaming content sent by the 5GMSu Client to the 5GMSu AS over interface M4u to be subsequently delivered to the 5GMSu Application Provider. Uplink media streaming media transfer from the 5GMSu AS to the 5GMSu Application Provider may be either pull-based and initiated by the 5GMSu Application Provider using the HTTP GET method, or push-based and initiated by the 5GMSu AS using the HTTP PUT method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, with the pulling the uplink media content in an egest pull mode of TS 26.512 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling transfer of content to the application provider (see TS 26.512, section 5.1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, does not teach:
wherein the 5GMSu AS pushes the media content to the 5GMSu application provider in an egest push mode.
TS 26.512, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the 5GMSu AS pushes the media content to the 5GMSu application provider in an egest push mode (see TS 26.512, section 5.1: The M2u Egest interface enables Uplink media streaming content sent by the 5GMSu Client to the 5GMSu AS over interface M4u to be subsequently delivered to the 5GMSu Application Provider. Uplink media streaming media transfer from the 5GMSu AS to the 5GMSu Application Provider may be either pull-based and initiated by the 5GMSu Application Provider using the HTTP GET method, or push-based and initiated by the 5GMSu AS using the HTTP PUT method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, with the pushing the uplink media content in an egest push mode of TS 26.512 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling transfer of content to the application provider (see TS 26.512, section 5.1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, does not teach:
wherein the 5GMSu AS performs content preparation before making the uplink content ready for being pulled by the 5GMSu application provider or being pushed to the 5GMSu application provider.
TS 26.512, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the 5GMSu AS performs content preparation before making the uplink content ready for being pulled by the 5GMSu application provider or being pushed to the 5GMSu application provider (see TS 26.512, Table 5.2-1, section 4.3.5.1: For uplink media streaming, the 5GMSu AS may be required to process content it receives from the 5GMSu Client before passing it to the 5GMSu Application Provider on the egest interface M2u. The content processing operations are specified in a Content Preparation Template resource, and see section 5.1: The M2u Egest interface enables Uplink media streaming content sent by the 5GMSu Client to the 5GMSu AS over interface M4u to be subsequently delivered to the 5GMSu Application Provider. Uplink media streaming media transfer from the 5GMSu AS to the 5GMSu Application Provider may be either pull-based and initiated by the 5GMSu Application Provider using the HTTP GET method, or push-based and initiated by the 5GMSu AS using the HTTP PUT method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, with the AS performing content preparation of TS 26.512 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling transfer of content to the application provider (see TS 26.512, section 5.1).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, does not teach:
wherein the 5GMSu service access information entry comprises an uplink entry point.
TS 26.512, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the 5GMSu service access information entry comprises an uplink entry point (see TS 26.512, section 4.7.2.1: For uplink media streaming, the 5GMSu Client may obtain Service Access Information from either the 5GMSu-Aware Application (via M6u/M7u) or the 5GMSu AF (via M5u). In the former case, the Service Access Information is initially acquired by the 5GMSu-Aware Application from the 5GMSu Application Provider via M8u. In the latter case, the Service Access Information is derived by the 5GMSu AF from the Provisioning Session established via M1u, and see section 4.7.2.1: the Service Access Information for downlink media streaming includes a media entry point (e.g. a URL to a DASH MPD or a URL to a progressive download file)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the service access information entry of the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, with the information comprising an uplink entry point of TS 26.512 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling transfer of content to the application provider (see TS 26.512, section 5.1).
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, and further in view of TS 26.512, as applied to claims 2, 4-5, 9, 11, 13-14, and 17 above, and further in view of Yoo et al. (WO 2024/080672), published 18 April, 2024, hereinafter “Yoo”.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, and further in view of TS 26.512, teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, and further in view of TS 26.512, does not teach:
wherein the 5GMSu application provider pulling the uplink media content is triggered by a request from a 5GMSu client through an M8u interface.
Yoo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the 5GMSu application provider pulling the uplink media content is triggered by a request from a 5GMSu client through an M8u interface (see Yoo, Figs. 4 and 5, par. [0095]: The highlight replay handler (204) transmits a highlight generation request to the 5GMS application provider (101) (S18), and see par. [0103]: in FIG. 5, S18, S19 and S23 are transmitted through the M8(d) interface of FIG. 2 or FIG. 3, and enable requests and responses for user-customized highlight video content according to the present invention to be transmitted and received between the server (100) and the user terminal (200), and see par. [0048]: The functional entities and interfaces of the media streaming general architecture can be described with specific reference to downlink and uplink streaming; in this case, the request for content is performed by a highlight replay handler of a client and utilizes the M8 interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pulling the uplink media content of the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, and further in view of TS 26.512, with the pulling being triggered by a request from the client through an M8u interface of Yoo with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving user experience (see Yoo, par. [0014]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, and further in view of TS 26.512, teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, and further in view of TS 26.512, does not teach:
wherein the 5GMSu application provider pulling the uplink media content is triggered by a request from a 5GMSu client through an M8u interface.
Yoo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the 5GMSu application provider pulling the uplink media content is triggered by a request from a 5GMSu client through an M8u interface (see Yoo, Figs. 4 and 5, par. [0095]: The highlight replay handler (204) transmits a highlight generation request to the 5GMS application provider (101) (S18), and see par. [0103]: in FIG. 5, S18, S19 and S23 are transmitted through the M8(d) interface of FIG. 2 or FIG. 3, and enable requests and responses for user-customized highlight video content according to the present invention to be transmitted and received between the server (100) and the user terminal (200), and see par. [0048]: The functional entities and interfaces of the media streaming general architecture can be described with specific reference to downlink and uplink streaming; in this case, the request for content is performed by a highlight replay handler of a client and utilizes the M8 interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pulling the uplink media content of the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, and further in view of TS 26.512, with the pulling being triggered by a request from the client through an M8u interface of Yoo with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving user experience (see Yoo, par. [0014]).
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, as applied to claims 1, 8, 10, and 18-20 above, and further in view of You et al. (US 11,824,911), hereinafter “You”.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, does not teach:
wherein the content publishing configuration specifies at least one of an egest push mode or an egest pull mode.
You, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the content publishing configuration specifies at least one of an egest push mode or an egest pull mode (see You, col. 18, lines 4-16: An example method includes receiving a request to stream a media stream from a first media source to a second media source; wherein the first media source is an upstream media source and the second media source is a downstream media source; determining a mode of the first media source and a mode of a second media source; wherein the first media source is in push mode when the first media source is a client or sender, and the first media source is in pull mode when the first media source is a server or receiver; wherein the second media source is in push mode when the second media source is a server or receiver, and the second media source is in pull mode when the second media source is a client or sender, and see col. 20, lines 4-8: The apparatus may further include wherein ingesting or egesting of the media is performed with at least one of a media source, a media sink, a media processing entity, or a plurality of tasks, and where there is interworking among the tasks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the content publishing configuration of the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, with the egest push mode or egest pull mode of You with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficient real-time downstream processing (see You, col. 12, lines 41-52).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, does not teach:
wherein the content publishing configuration specifies at least one of an egest push mode or an egest pull mode.
You, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the content publishing configuration specifies at least one of an egest push mode or an egest pull mode (see You, col. 18, lines 4-16: An example method includes receiving a request to stream a media stream from a first media source to a second media source; wherein the first media source is an upstream media source and the second media source is a downstream media source; determining a mode of the first media source and a mode of a second media source; wherein the first media source is in push mode when the first media source is a client or sender, and the first media source is in pull mode when the first media source is a server or receiver; wherein the second media source is in push mode when the second media source is a server or receiver, and the second media source is in pull mode when the second media source is a client or sender, and see col. 20, lines 4-8: The apparatus may further include wherein ingesting or egesting of the media is performed with at least one of a media source, a media sink, a media processing entity, or a plurality of tasks, and where there is interworking among the tasks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the content publishing configuration of the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, with the egest push mode or egest pull mode of You with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficient real-time downstream processing (see You, col. 12, lines 41-52).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, as applied to claims 1, 8, 10, and 18-20 above, and further in view of Rhyu et al. (WO 2024/035181), published 15, February, 2024, hereinafter “Rhyu”.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, teaches the method. Bouazizi further teaches:
wherein the 5GMSu AF provisioning the 5GMSu AS comprises: the 5GMSu AF receiving a response from the 5GMSu AS indicating the content publishing configuration is successful (see Bouazizi, Fig. 14, pars. [0209-0212]: At 1402, the Media AF uses the interfaces defined in 3GPP TS 28.531, Management and orchestration; Provisioning to request the creation of a new network slice instance and provision it for the new distribution configuration. 3. If successful, the new S-NSSAI is added to the Configured NSSAI (this requires a UCU procedure) and stored in the UE profile in the UDM for the allowed UEs. The NSSF is configured with the S-NSSAI and related information (this includes information for the AMF to select the SMF). The SMF is configured with the S-NSSAI-related information (e.g. for UPF selection). 4. At 1404, the network confirms the creations of the new network slice(s) to the Media AF and provides the list of S-NSSAI(s) with their corresponding parameters. 5. The Ingest and Distribution Configuration is updated with the information about the network slices; in this case, the network corresponds to the application service).
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, does not teach:
wherein the 5GMSu AF provisioning the 5GMSu AS comprises: the 5GMSu AF instructing the 5GMSu AS to start one or more content preparation processes
Rhyu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the 5GMSu AF provisioning the 5GMSu AS comprises: the 5GMSu AF instructing the 5GMSu AS to start one or more content preparation processes (see Rhyu, Fig. 9, par. [0117]: 903 At this stage, the 5GMSd AF (111) can provide UE capability on color to the 5GMSd AS (113). 904 At this stage, the 5GMSd AS (113) can perform color remapping based on UE capability on color. 905 At step 5GMSd AS (113) can provide an alternative MPE for the processed color to each of 5GMSd AF (111) and 5GMSdClient (101); in this case, providing UE capability on color for performing color remapping corresponds to instructing the AS to start content preparation processes)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the provisioning of the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, with the provisioning including the AF instructing the AS to start content preparation of Rhyu with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficiently identifying device type to appropriately generate content (see Rhyu, par. [0025]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, teaches the method. Bouazizi further teaches:
wherein the provisioning the 5GMSu AS comprises: receiving a response from the 5GMSu AS indicating the content publishing configuration is successful (see Bouazizi, Fig. 14, pars. [0209-0212]: At 1402, the Media AF uses the interfaces defined in 3GPP TS 28.531, Management and orchestration; Provisioning to request the creation of a new network slice instance and provision it for the new distribution configuration. 3. If successful, the new S-NSSAI is added to the Configured NSSAI (this requires a UCU procedure) and stored in the UE profile in the UDM for the allowed UEs. The NSSF is configured with the S-NSSAI and related information (this includes information for the AMF to select the SMF). The SMF is configured with the S-NSSAI-related information (e.g. for UPF selection). 4. At 1404, the network confirms the creations of the new network slice(s) to the Media AF and provides the list of S-NSSAI(s) with their corresponding parameters. 5. The Ingest and Distribution Configuration is updated with the information about the network slices; in this case, the network corresponds to the application service).
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, does not teach:
wherein provisioning the 5GMSu AS comprises: instructing the 5GMSu AS to start one or more content preparation processes
Rhyu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein provisioning the 5GMSu AS comprises: instructing the 5GMSu AS to start one or more content preparation processes (see Rhyu, Fig. 9, par. [0117]: 903 At this stage, the 5GMSd AF (111) can provide UE capability on color to the 5GMSd AS (113). 904 At this stage, the 5GMSd AS (113) can perform color remapping based on UE capability on color. 905 At step 5GMSd AS (113) can provide an alternative MPE for the processed color to each of 5GMSd AF (111) and 5GMSdClient (101); in this case, providing UE capability on color for performing color remapping corresponds to instructing the AS to start content preparation processes)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the provisioning of the combination of Bouazizi in view of Pan ‘338, and further in view of Pan ‘308, with the provisioning including the AF instructing the AS to start content preparation of Rhyu with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficiently identifying device type to appropriately generate content (see Rhyu, par. [0025]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, 19, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kolan (US 2022/0417813) teaches a method and apparatus for application service relocation for multimedia edge services.
Stockhammer et al. (US 2023/0050764) teaches aspects for a user equipment receiving or transmitting data associated with a 5GMS service.
Zhang (US 2023/0050848) teaches a method for controlling transmission of a media stream service.
A. Rico-Alvariño et al. ("3GPP Rel-17 Extensions for 5G Media Delivery") teaches a summary of media distribution in the 3GPP 5G system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419