DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 07/28/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s submission overcomes prior objections to the specification. Therefore, the corresponding objections are withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 2 recites the limitation “the 5GMSu application provider pulling the uplink media content” (emphasis added) which should read “the 5GMSu application provider pulling the content” for consistency with the claim amendments.
claim 3 is dependent on claim 2 and is objected to for the same reasons.
claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein the receiving the uplink media content” (emphasis added) which should read “wherein the receiving the content” for consistency with the claim amendments.
claim 20 recites the limitation “initialize a 5GMSu session with a 5GMSu application provider that that enables” (emphasis added) which should read “initialize a 5GMSu session with a 5GMSu application provider that enables”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 19 recite “publishing, to a 5GMSu aware application, the location of the 5GMSu AS”. There is support for the application provider receiving information regarding the location of the 5GMSu AS and publishing the uplink entry point in the Applicant’s specification at least in pars. [0057] and [0061], but there is no indication of explicitly publishing the location of the 5GMSu AS, as claimed.
Dependent claims 2-9 are rejected based on their dependency on independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouazizi et al. (US 2021/0105308), in view of 3GPP TS 26.501, V16.8.0, published 26 June, 2021, hereinafter “TS 26.501”.
Regarding claims 1, 19, Bouazizi teaches:
A method performed by at least one processor in a 5G media streaming uplink (5GMSu) application provider or a 5G media streaming uplink (5GMSu) application provider server, comprising:
at least one memory configured to store program code (see Bouazizi, Fig. 6, par. [0100]: The memory 604 may store instructions 606); and
at least one processor configured to read the program code and operate as instructed by the program code (see Bouazizi, Fig. 6, par. [0100]: The instructions 606 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 602, cause the processor 602 to perform operations), the program code including:
creating code configured to cause the at least one processor create a new content publishing configuration through the 5GMsu AF (see Bouazizi, Fig. 14, par. [0208]: At 1400, the external 5GMSA Application provider requests the creation of a new Ingest and Distribution Configuration for distributing its content. The 5GMSA Application provider indicates the anticipated operation points for the service. An operation point consists of the bandwidth and latency requirements, as well as any other parameters that may influence the policy for the sessions of this application (e.g. the charging profile, coverage area, route selection information, . . . )),
receiving code configured to cause the at least one processor to receive, from the 5GMSu AF, confirmation that a 5GMSu Application Server (AS) is configured based on the content publishing configuration (see Bouazizi, Fig. 14, par. [0213]: At 1406, the Media AF confirms successful setup of the Ingest and Distribution Configuration to the Application provider),
However, Bouazizi does not teach:
initializing code configured to cause the at least one processor to initialize a 5GMSu session with a 5GMSu application function (AF) to discover an entry point;
the content publishing configuration causing the 5GMsu AF to provision a 5GMSu application server (AS);
the confirmation including a location of the 5GMSu AS to pull content,
publishing code configured to cause the at least one processor to publish, to a 5GMSu aware application, the location of the 5GMSu AS, and
receiving code configured to cause the at least one processor to receive, from the 5GMSu AS in accordance with the content publishing configuration, the content.
TS 26.501, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
initializing code configured to cause the at least one processor to initialize a 5GMSu session with a 5GMSu application function (AF) to discover an entry point (see TS 26.501, section 5.4.2, Fig. 5.4-1, step 1: Initialization: the 5GMSd Application Provider discovers the entry point and authenticates itself with the 5GMSd AF, and see section 6.1, Fig. 6.1-1, step 1: The 5GMSu Application Provider creates a Provisioning Session and starts provisioning the usage of the 5G Media Streaming System. During the establishment phase, the used features are negotiated and detailed configurations are exchanged. The 5GMSu Application Provider receives Service Access Information for M5u (Media Session Handling) and, when media content reception is negotiated, Service Access Information for M2u (Egest) and M4d (Uplink Streaming). This information is needed by the 5GMSu Client to access the service; in this case, during initialization entry point and service access information is determined);
the content publishing configuration causing the 5GMsu AF to provision a 5GMSu application server (AS) (see TS 26.501, section 6.1, Fig. 6.1-1, step 2: When the 5GMSu AF and the 5GMSu AS are operated by the same provider (e.g. the MNO), there may be interactions between the 5GMSu AF and 5GMSu AS, e.g. to allocate 5GMSu egest and uplink streaming resources. The 5GMSu AS provides resource identifiers for the allocated resources to the 5GMSu AF, which then provides the information to the 5GMSu Application Provider; in this case, the interactions between the AF and AS corresponds to the AF provisioning the AS);
the confirmation including a location of the 5GMSu AS to pull content (see TS 26.501, section 5.4.2, Fig. 5.4-1, step 2: Create Content Hosting Configuration: the 5GMSd Application Provider creates a new Content Hosting Configuration for its content through the 5GMSd AF. The configuration specifies a domain name, supplies a certificate for HTTPS access to the content, sets the caching rules per media type, indicates the distribution area (e.g. through geofencing), distribution protocol, the desired content preparation, URL signing, etc. Upon successful configuration, the 5GMSd AF responds with a Content Hosting Configuration identifier, and the location of the 5GMSd AS to which to send the content (if using the push mode), and step 4: Confirm configuration information: The 5GMSd AF communicates the Content Hosting Configuration of the 5GMSd AS(s) back to the 5GMSd Application Provider for further media push or pull, and see section 6.1, Fig. 6.1-1, step 2: When the 5GMSu AF and the 5GMSu AS are operated by the same provider (e.g. the MNO), there may be interactions between the 5GMSu AF and 5GMSu AS, e.g. to allocate 5GMSu egest and uplink streaming resources. The 5GMSu AS provides resource identifiers for the allocated resources to the 5GMSu AF, which then provides the information to the 5GMSu Application Provider; in this case, AS location and resource identifiers correspond to a location of the AS to pull content),
publishing code configured to cause the at least one processor to publish, to a 5GMSu aware application, the location of the 5GMSu AS (see TS 26.501, section 5.4.2, Fig. 5.4-1, step 5: Publish Media Player Entry: The 5GMSd Application Provider shall then publish the Media Player Entry to the 5GMSd-Aware Application to enable access to the content, and see section 6.1: The 5GMSu-Aware Application receives application metadata from the 5GMSu Application Provider before transmitting the uplink streaming media. The application metadata contains Service Access Information, which acts as an entry point for the 5GMSu Client to start the uplink streaming session; in this case, the service access information corresponds to the location of the AS), and
receiving code configured to cause the at least one processor to receive, from the 5GMSu AS in accordance with the content publishing configuration, the content (see TS 26.501, section 6.1, Fig. 6.1-1, step 9: The 5GMSu AS publishes the content towards the 5GMSu Application Provider).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or device of Bouazizi with the additional steps of TS 26.501 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of allowing a system user to create, modify, establish, and delete sessions (see TS 26.501, section 6.1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501, teaches the method.
Bouazizi does not teach, but TS 26.501 teaches:
wherein the initializing the 5GMSu session comprises performing an authentication with the 5GMSu AF (see TS 26.501, section 5.4.2, Fig. 5.4-1, step 1: Initialization: the 5GMSd Application Provider discovers the entry point and authenticates itself with the 5GMSd AF, and see section 6.1, Fig. 6.1-1, step 1: The 5GMSu Application Provider creates a Provisioning Session and starts provisioning the usage of the 5G Media Streaming System. During the establishment phase, the used features are negotiated and detailed configurations are exchanged. The 5GMSu Application Provider receives Service Access Information for M5u (Media Session Handling) and, when media content reception is negotiated, Service Access Information for M2u (Egest) and M4d (Uplink Streaming). This information is needed by the 5GMSu Client to access the service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or device of Bouazizi with the additional steps of TS 26.501 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of allowing a system user to create, modify, establish, and delete sessions (see TS 26.501, section 6.1).
Regarding claims 10, 20, Bouazizi teaches:
A method performed by at least one processor in a 5G media streaming uplink (5GMSu) application function (AF) or 5G media streaming uplink (5GMSu) system executing an application function (AF), comprising:
at least one memory configured to store program code (see Bouazizi, Fig. 6, par. [0100]: The memory 604 may store instructions 606); and
at least one processor configured to read the program code and operate as instructed by the program code, the program code (see Bouazizi, Fig. 6, par. [0100]: The instructions 606 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 602, cause the processor 602 to perform operations) including:
first receiving code configured to cause the at least one processor to receive, from the 5GMSu application provider, a new content publishing configuration (see Bouazizi, Fig. 14, par. [0208]: At 1400, the external 5GMSA Application provider requests the creation of a new Ingest and Distribution Configuration for distributing its content. The 5GMSA Application provider indicates the anticipated operation points for the service. An operation point consists of the bandwidth and latency requirements, as well as any other parameters that may influence the policy for the sessions of this application (e.g. the charging profile, coverage area, route selection information, . . . )), and
transmitting code configured to cause the at least one processor to transmit, to the 5GMSu application provider, confirmation that the 5GMSu AS is configured based on the content publishing configuration (see Bouazizi, Fig. 14, par. [0213]: At 1406, the Media AF confirms successful setup of the Ingest and Distribution Configuration to the Application provider),
However, Bouazizi does not teach:
initializing code configured to cause the at least one processor to initialize a 5GMSu session with a 5GMSu application provider that that enables the 5GMSu application provider to discover an entry point;
provisioning code configured to cause the at least one processor to provision a 5GMSu application server (AS) in accordance with the content publishing configuration,
second receiving code configured to cause the at least one processor to receive, from the 5GMSu AS, confirmation that the configuration of the 5GMSu AS based on the content publishing configuration is successful,
the confirmation including a location of the 5GMSu AS to pull content.
TS 26.501, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
initializing code configured to cause the at least one processor to initialize a 5GMSu session with a 5GMSu application provider that that enables the 5GMSu application provider to discover an entry point (see TS 26.501, section 5.4.2, Fig. 5.4-1, step 1: Initialization: the 5GMSd Application Provider discovers the entry point and authenticates itself with the 5GMSd AF, and see section 6.1, Fig. 6.1-1, step 1: The 5GMSu Application Provider creates a Provisioning Session and starts provisioning the usage of the 5G Media Streaming System. During the establishment phase, the used features are negotiated and detailed configurations are exchanged. The 5GMSu Application Provider receives Service Access Information for M5u (Media Session Handling) and, when media content reception is negotiated, Service Access Information for M2u (Egest) and M4d (Uplink Streaming). This information is needed by the 5GMSu Client to access the service; in this case, during initialization entry point and service access information is determined);
provisioning code configured to cause the at least one processor to provision a 5GMSu application server (AS) in accordance with the content publishing configuration (see TS 26.501, section 6.1, Fig. 6.1-1, step 2: When the 5GMSu AF and the 5GMSu AS are operated by the same provider (e.g. the MNO), there may be interactions between the 5GMSu AF and 5GMSu AS, e.g. to allocate 5GMSu egest and uplink streaming resources. The 5GMSu AS provides resource identifiers for the allocated resources to the 5GMSu AF, which then provides the information to the 5GMSu Application Provider; in this case, the interactions between the AF and AS corresponds to the AF provisioning the AS),
second receiving code configured to cause the at least one processor to receive, from the 5GMSu AS, confirmation that the configuration of the 5GMSu AS based on the content publishing configuration is successful (see TS 26.501, section 5.4.2, Fig. 5.4-1, step 3: Provision 5GMSd AS(s): The 5GMSd AF configures the related 5GMSd AS(s) to prepare for media ingest for that particular Content Hosting Configuration. This step may involve instructing the 5GMSd AS(s) to set appropriate caching rules, to perform URL signature validation and to limit access through geofencing. The 5GMSd AS(s) will respond whether the configuration is successful or not, and see section 6.1, Fig. 6.1-1, step 2: When the 5GMSu AF and the 5GMSu AS are operated by the same provider (e.g. the MNO), there may be interactions between the 5GMSu AF and 5GMSu AS, e.g. to allocate 5GMSu egest and uplink streaming resources. The 5GMSu AS provides resource identifiers for the allocated resources to the 5GMSu AF, which then provides the information to the 5GMSu Application Provider; in this case, information is received regarding successful configuration),
the confirmation including a location of the 5GMSu AS to pull content (see TS 26.501, section 5.4.2, Fig. 5.4-1, step 2: Create Content Hosting Configuration: the 5GMSd Application Provider creates a new Content Hosting Configuration for its content through the 5GMSd AF. The configuration specifies a domain name, supplies a certificate for HTTPS access to the content, sets the caching rules per media type, indicates the distribution area (e.g. through geofencing), distribution protocol, the desired content preparation, URL signing, etc. Upon successful configuration, the 5GMSd AF responds with a Content Hosting Configuration identifier, and the location of the 5GMSd AS to which to send the content (if using the push mode), and step 4: Confirm configuration information: The 5GMSd AF communicates the Content Hosting Configuration of the 5GMSd AS(s) back to the 5GMSd Application Provider for further media push or pull, and see section 6.1, Fig. 6.1-1, step 2: When the 5GMSu AF and the 5GMSu AS are operated by the same provider (e.g. the MNO), there may be interactions between the 5GMSu AF and 5GMSu AS, e.g. to allocate 5GMSu egest and uplink streaming resources. The 5GMSu AS provides resource identifiers for the allocated resources to the 5GMSu AF, which then provides the information to the 5GMSu Application Provider; in this case, AS location and resource identifiers correspond to a location of the AS to pull content).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or device of Bouazizi with the additional steps of TS 26.501 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of allowing a system user to create, modify, establish, and delete sessions (see TS 26.501, section 6.1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501, teaches the method.
Bouazizi does not teach, but TS 26.501 teaches:
wherein the initializing the 5GMSu session comprises the 5GMSu application provider performing an authentication with the 5GMSu AF (see TS 26.501, section 5.4.2, Fig. 5.4-1, step 1: Initialization: the 5GMSd Application Provider discovers the entry point and authenticates itself with the 5GMSd AF, and see section 6.1, Fig. 6.1-1, step 1: The 5GMSu Application Provider creates a Provisioning Session and starts provisioning the usage of the 5G Media Streaming System. During the establishment phase, the used features are negotiated and detailed configurations are exchanged. The 5GMSu Application Provider receives Service Access Information for M5u (Media Session Handling) and, when media content reception is negotiated, Service Access Information for M2u (Egest) and M4d (Uplink Streaming). This information is needed by the 5GMSu Client to access the service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or device of Bouazizi with the additional steps of TS 26.501 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of allowing a system user to create, modify, establish, and delete sessions (see TS 26.501, section 6.1).
Claims 2, 4-5, 9, 11, 13-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501, as applied to claims 1, 8, 10, and 18-20 above, and further in view of 3GPP TS 26.512, V17.2.0, published 23 September, 2022, hereinafter “TS 26.512”.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 does not teach:
wherein the receiving the content comprises the 5GMSu application provider pulling the uplink media content from the 5GMSu AS in an egest pull mode.
TS 26.512, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the receiving the content comprises the 5GMSu application provider pulling the uplink media content from the 5GMSu AS in an egest pull mode (see TS 26.512, section 5.1: The M2u Egest interface enables Uplink media streaming content sent by the 5GMSu Client to the 5GMSu AS over interface M4u to be subsequently delivered to the 5GMSu Application Provider. Uplink media streaming media transfer from the 5GMSu AS to the 5GMSu Application Provider may be either pull-based and initiated by the 5GMSu Application Provider using the HTTP GET method, or push-based and initiated by the 5GMSu AS using the HTTP PUT method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the obtaining the uplink media content of the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 with the pulling the uplink media content in an egest pull mode of TS 26.512 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling transfer of content to the application provider (see TS 26.512, section 5.1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 does not teach:
wherein the receiving the uplink media content comprises the 5GMSu AS pushing the media content to the 5GMSu application provider in an egest push mode.
TS 26.512, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the receiving the uplink media content comprises the 5GMSu AS pushing the media content to the 5GMSu application provider in an egest push mode (see TS 26.512, section 5.1: The M2u Egest interface enables Uplink media streaming content sent by the 5GMSu Client to the 5GMSu AS over interface M4u to be subsequently delivered to the 5GMSu Application Provider. Uplink media streaming media transfer from the 5GMSu AS to the 5GMSu Application Provider may be either pull-based and initiated by the 5GMSu Application Provider using the HTTP GET method, or push-based and initiated by the 5GMSu AS using the HTTP PUT method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the obtaining the uplink media content of the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 with the pushing the uplink media content in an egest push mode of TS 26.512 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling transfer of content to the application provider (see TS 26.512, section 5.1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 does not teach:
wherein the 5GMSu AS performs content preparation before making the content ready for being pulled by the 5GMSu application provider or being pushed to the 5GMSu application provider.
TS 26.512, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the 5GMSu AS performs content preparation before making the content ready for being pulled by the 5GMSu application provider or being pushed to the 5GMSu application provider (see TS 26.512, Table 5.2-1, section 4.3.5.1: For uplink media streaming, the 5GMSu AS may be required to process content it receives from the 5GMSu Client before passing it to the 5GMSu Application Provider on the egest interface M2u. The content processing operations are specified in a Content Preparation Template resource, and see section 5.1: The M2u Egest interface enables Uplink media streaming content sent by the 5GMSu Client to the 5GMSu AS over interface M4u to be subsequently delivered to the 5GMSu Application Provider. Uplink media streaming media transfer from the 5GMSu AS to the 5GMSu Application Provider may be either pull-based and initiated by the 5GMSu Application Provider using the HTTP GET method, or push-based and initiated by the 5GMSu AS using the HTTP PUT method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 with the AS performing content preparation of TS 26.512 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling transfer of content to the application provider (see TS 26.512, section 5.1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 does not teach:
wherein the location of the 5GMSu AS comprises an uplink entry point.
TS 26.512, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the location of the 5GMSu AS comprises an uplink entry point (see TS 26.512, section 4.7.2.1: For uplink media streaming, the 5GMSu Client may obtain Service Access Information from either the 5GMSu-Aware Application (via M6u/M7u) or the 5GMSu AF (via M5u). In the former case, the Service Access Information is initially acquired by the 5GMSu-Aware Application from the 5GMSu Application Provider via M8u. In the latter case, the Service Access Information is derived by the 5GMSu AF from the Provisioning Session established via M1u, and see section 4.7.2.1: the Service Access Information for downlink media streaming includes a media entry point (e.g. a URL to a DASH MPD or a URL to a progressive download file)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the service access information of the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 with the information comprising an uplink entry point of TS 26.512 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling transfer of content to the application provider (see TS 26.512, section 5.1).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 does not teach:
wherein the 5GMSu application provider pulls the content from the 5GMSu AS in an egest pull mode.
TS 26.512, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the 5GMSu application provider pulls the content from the 5GMSu AS in an egest pull mode (see TS 26.512, section 5.1: The M2u Egest interface enables Uplink media streaming content sent by the 5GMSu Client to the 5GMSu AS over interface M4u to be subsequently delivered to the 5GMSu Application Provider. Uplink media streaming media transfer from the 5GMSu AS to the 5GMSu Application Provider may be either pull-based and initiated by the 5GMSu Application Provider using the HTTP GET method, or push-based and initiated by the 5GMSu AS using the HTTP PUT method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 with the pulling the uplink media content in an egest pull mode of TS 26.512 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling transfer of content to the application provider (see TS 26.512, section 5.1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 does not teach:
wherein the 5GMSu AS pushes the content to the 5GMSu application provider in an egest push mode.
TS 26.512, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the 5GMSu AS pushes the content to the 5GMSu application provider in an egest push mode (see TS 26.512, section 5.1: The M2u Egest interface enables Uplink media streaming content sent by the 5GMSu Client to the 5GMSu AS over interface M4u to be subsequently delivered to the 5GMSu Application Provider. Uplink media streaming media transfer from the 5GMSu AS to the 5GMSu Application Provider may be either pull-based and initiated by the 5GMSu Application Provider using the HTTP GET method, or push-based and initiated by the 5GMSu AS using the HTTP PUT method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 with the pushing the uplink media content in an egest push mode of TS 26.512 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling transfer of content to the application provider (see TS 26.512, section 5.1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 does not teach:
wherein the 5GMSu AS performs content preparation before making the content ready for being pulled by the 5GMSu application provider or being pushed to the 5GMSu application provider.
TS 26.512, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the 5GMSu AS performs content preparation before making the content ready for being pulled by the 5GMSu application provider or being pushed to the 5GMSu application provider (see TS 26.512, Table 5.2-1, section 4.3.5.1: For uplink media streaming, the 5GMSu AS may be required to process content it receives from the 5GMSu Client before passing it to the 5GMSu Application Provider on the egest interface M2u. The content processing operations are specified in a Content Preparation Template resource, and see section 5.1: The M2u Egest interface enables Uplink media streaming content sent by the 5GMSu Client to the 5GMSu AS over interface M4u to be subsequently delivered to the 5GMSu Application Provider. Uplink media streaming media transfer from the 5GMSu AS to the 5GMSu Application Provider may be either pull-based and initiated by the 5GMSu Application Provider using the HTTP GET method, or push-based and initiated by the 5GMSu AS using the HTTP PUT method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 with the AS performing content preparation of TS 26.512 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling transfer of content to the application provider (see TS 26.512, section 5.1).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 does not teach:
wherein the location of 5GMSu AS comprises an uplink entry point.
TS 26.512, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the location of 5GMSu AS comprises an uplink entry point (see TS 26.512, section 4.7.2.1: For uplink media streaming, the 5GMSu Client may obtain Service Access Information from either the 5GMSu-Aware Application (via M6u/M7u) or the 5GMSu AF (via M5u). In the former case, the Service Access Information is initially acquired by the 5GMSu-Aware Application from the 5GMSu Application Provider via M8u. In the latter case, the Service Access Information is derived by the 5GMSu AF from the Provisioning Session established via M1u, and see section 4.7.2.1: the Service Access Information for downlink media streaming includes a media entry point (e.g. a URL to a DASH MPD or a URL to a progressive download file)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the service access information entry of the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 with the information comprising an uplink entry point of TS 26.512 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling transfer of content to the application provider (see TS 26.512, section 5.1).
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501, and further in view of TS 26.512, as applied to claims 2, 4-5, 9, 11, 13-14, and 17 above, and further in view of Yoo et al. (WO 2024/080672), published 18 April, 2024, hereinafter “Yoo”.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501, and further in view of TS 26.512, teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501, and further in view of TS 26.512, does not teach:
wherein the 5GMSu application provider pulling the content is triggered by a request from a 5GMSu client through an M8u interface.
Yoo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the 5GMSu application provider pulling the content is triggered by a request from a 5GMSu client through an M8u interface (see Yoo, Figs. 4 and 5, par. [0095]: The highlight replay handler (204) transmits a highlight generation request to the 5GMS application provider (101) (S18), and see par. [0103]: in FIG. 5, S18, S19 and S23 are transmitted through the M8(d) interface of FIG. 2 or FIG. 3, and enable requests and responses for user-customized highlight video content according to the present invention to be transmitted and received between the server (100) and the user terminal (200), and see par. [0048]: The functional entities and interfaces of the media streaming general architecture can be described with specific reference to downlink and uplink streaming; in this case, the request for content is performed by a highlight replay handler of a client and utilizes the M8 interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pulling the uplink media content of the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501, and further in view of TS 26.512, with the pulling being triggered by a request from the client through an M8u interface of Yoo with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving user experience (see Yoo, par. [0014]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501, and further in view of TS 26.512, teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501, and further in view of TS 26.512, does not teach:
wherein the 5GMSu application provider pulling the content is triggered by a request from a 5GMSu client through an M8u interface.
Yoo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the 5GMSu application provider pulling the content is triggered by a request from a 5GMSu client through an M8u interface (see Yoo, Figs. 4 and 5, par. [0095]: The highlight replay handler (204) transmits a highlight generation request to the 5GMS application provider (101) (S18), and see par. [0103]: in FIG. 5, S18, S19 and S23 are transmitted through the M8(d) interface of FIG. 2 or FIG. 3, and enable requests and responses for user-customized highlight video content according to the present invention to be transmitted and received between the server (100) and the user terminal (200), and see par. [0048]: The functional entities and interfaces of the media streaming general architecture can be described with specific reference to downlink and uplink streaming; in this case, the request for content is performed by a highlight replay handler of a client and utilizes the M8 interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pulling the uplink media content of the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501, and further in view of TS 26.512, with the pulling being triggered by a request from the client through an M8u interface of Yoo with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving user experience (see Yoo, par. [0014]).
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501, as applied to claims 1, 8, 10, and 18-20 above, and further in view of You et al. (US 11,824,911), hereinafter “You”.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 does not teach:
wherein the content publishing configuration specifies at least one of an egest push mode or an egest pull mode.
You, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the content publishing configuration specifies at least one of an egest push mode or an egest pull mode (see You, col. 18, lines 4-16: An example method includes receiving a request to stream a media stream from a first media source to a second media source; wherein the first media source is an upstream media source and the second media source is a downstream media source; determining a mode of the first media source and a mode of a second media source; wherein the first media source is in push mode when the first media source is a client or sender, and the first media source is in pull mode when the first media source is a server or receiver; wherein the second media source is in push mode when the second media source is a server or receiver, and the second media source is in pull mode when the second media source is a client or sender, and see col. 20, lines 4-8: The apparatus may further include wherein ingesting or egesting of the media is performed with at least one of a media source, a media sink, a media processing entity, or a plurality of tasks, and where there is interworking among the tasks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the content publishing configuration of the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 with the egest push mode or egest pull mode of You with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficient real-time downstream processing (see You, col. 12, lines 41-52).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 teaches the method.
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 does not teach:
wherein the content publishing configuration specifies at least one of an egest push mode or an egest pull mode.
You, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the content publishing configuration specifies at least one of an egest push mode or an egest pull mode (see You, col. 18, lines 4-16: An example method includes receiving a request to stream a media stream from a first media source to a second media source; wherein the first media source is an upstream media source and the second media source is a downstream media source; determining a mode of the first media source and a mode of a second media source; wherein the first media source is in push mode when the first media source is a client or sender, and the first media source is in pull mode when the first media source is a server or receiver; wherein the second media source is in push mode when the second media source is a server or receiver, and the second media source is in pull mode when the second media source is a client or sender, and see col. 20, lines 4-8: The apparatus may further include wherein ingesting or egesting of the media is performed with at least one of a media source, a media sink, a media processing entity, or a plurality of tasks, and where there is interworking among the tasks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the content publishing configuration of the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 with the egest push mode or egest pull mode of You with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficient real-time downstream processing (see You, col. 12, lines 41-52).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501, as applied to claims 1, 8, 10, and 18-20 above, and further in view of Rhyu et al. (WO 2024/035181), published 15, February, 2024, hereinafter “Rhyu”.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 teaches the method. Bouazizi further teaches:
wherein the 5GMSu AF provisioning the 5GMSu AS comprises: the 5GMSu AF receiving a response from the 5GMSu AS indicating the content publishing configuration is successful (see Bouazizi, Fig. 14, pars. [0209-0212]: At 1402, the Media AF uses the interfaces defined in 3GPP TS 28.531, Management and orchestration; Provisioning to request the creation of a new network slice instance and provision it for the new distribution configuration. 3. If successful, the new S-NSSAI is added to the Configured NSSAI (this requires a UCU procedure) and stored in the UE profile in the UDM for the allowed UEs. The NSSF is configured with the S-NSSAI and related information (this includes information for the AMF to select the SMF). The SMF is configured with the S-NSSAI-related information (e.g. for UPF selection). 4. At 1404, the network confirms the creations of the new network slice(s) to the Media AF and provides the list of S-NSSAI(s) with their corresponding parameters. 5. The Ingest and Distribution Configuration is updated with the information about the network slices; in this case, the network corresponds to the application service).
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 does not teach:
wherein the 5GMSu AF provisioning the 5GMSu AS comprises: the 5GMSu AF instructing the 5GMSu AS to start one or more content preparation processes
Rhyu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the 5GMSu AF provisioning the 5GMSu AS comprises: the 5GMSu AF instructing the 5GMSu AS to start one or more content preparation processes (see Rhyu, Fig. 9, par. [0117]: 903 At this stage, the 5GMSd AF (111) can provide UE capability on color to the 5GMSd AS (113). 904 At this stage, the 5GMSd AS (113) can perform color remapping based on UE capability on color. 905 At step 5GMSd AS (113) can provide an alternative MPE for the processed color to each of 5GMSd AF (111) and 5GMSdClient (101); in this case, providing UE capability on color for performing color remapping corresponds to instructing the AS to start content preparation processes)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the provisioning of the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 with the provisioning including the AF instructing the AS to start content preparation of Rhyu with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficiently identifying device type to appropriately generate content (see Rhyu, par. [0025]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 teaches the method. Bouazizi further teaches:
wherein the provisioning the 5GMSu AS comprises: receiving a response from the 5GMSu AS indicating the content publishing configuration is successful (see Bouazizi, Fig. 14, pars. [0209-0212]: At 1402, the Media AF uses the interfaces defined in 3GPP TS 28.531, Management and orchestration; Provisioning to request the creation of a new network slice instance and provision it for the new distribution configuration. 3. If successful, the new S-NSSAI is added to the Configured NSSAI (this requires a UCU procedure) and stored in the UE profile in the UDM for the allowed UEs. The NSSF is configured with the S-NSSAI and related information (this includes information for the AMF to select the SMF). The SMF is configured with the S-NSSAI-related information (e.g. for UPF selection). 4. At 1404, the network confirms the creations of the new network slice(s) to the Media AF and provides the list of S-NSSAI(s) with their corresponding parameters. 5. The Ingest and Distribution Configuration is updated with the information about the network slices; in this case, the network corresponds to the application service).
However, the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 does not teach:
wherein provisioning the 5GMSu AS comprises: instructing the 5GMSu AS to start one or more content preparation processes
Rhyu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein provisioning the 5GMSu AS comprises: instructing the 5GMSu AS to start one or more content preparation processes (see Rhyu, Fig. 9, par. [0117]: 903 At this stage, the 5GMSd AF (111) can provide UE capability on color to the 5GMSd AS (113). 904 At this stage, the 5GMSd AS (113) can perform color remapping based on UE capability on color. 905 At step 5GMSd AS (113) can provide an alternative MPE for the processed color to each of 5GMSd AF (111) and 5GMSdClient (101); in this case, providing UE capability on color for performing color remapping corresponds to instructing the AS to start content preparation processes)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the provisioning of the combination of Bouazizi in view of TS 26.501 with the provisioning including the AF instructing the AS to start content preparation of Rhyu with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficiently identifying device type to appropriately generate content (see Rhyu, par. [0025]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, 19, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Park et al. (US 2025/0220254) teaches a media data processing method according to embodiments may comprise the steps of: generating media data; generating a service list related to the media data; and transmitting the media data and the service list on the basis of a network.
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419