2. Claims 1-2, 4-15, and 17-20 are pending. Bolded claim language below regards newly amended subject matter with a corresponding new rejection citation. Newly amended subject matter that is not bolded does not comprise a new rejection citation (utilizes previous interpretation that is unchanged in view of the new language) or is a newly added claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0190295), herein after referred to as Son, in view of Jang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0364194), herein after referred to as Jang, in view of Chung et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0241857), herein after referred to as Chung, in view of Bang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0292558), herein after referred to as Bang, and further in view of Li et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0397798), herein after referred to as Li.
Regarding independent claim 1, Son discloses a display device (abstract), comprising:
a substrate (Figure 6 reference substrate 100.);
an interlayer insulating layer covering a gate electrode of a thin film transistor on the substrate (Figure 6 reference transistor TFT with gate electrode GE covered directly by interlayer insulating layer 205.);
[ ];
a plurality of light emitting diodes on the interlayer insulating layer (Figure 6 reference 222a-222c of OLED, disposed on substrate 100, described in paragraphs [0068] and [0089] to be one of a plurality of OLEDs.);
an encapsulation layer on the plurality of light emitting diodes (Figure 6 reference encapsulation layer 300 comprising parts 310, 320, and 330 each disposed above OLED 222a-222c);
a touch sensor unit on the encapsulation layer (Figure 6 reference input sensing layer 40, comprising a plurality of layers 410, 420, 430, 440, 450, 460 each of which are disposed the encapsulation layer 300. Paragraph [0138] describes the input sensing layer 40 to include touch electrodes for touch input.); and
a lens layer on the touch sensor unit (Figure 6 reference optical functional layer 50 disposed above the touch sensor 40. Paragraph [0077] describes layer 50 to include a lens layer.), wherein the touch sensor unit includes:
a plurality of bridge electrodes on the encapsulation layer (Figure 6 reference conductive layer 430 depicted to directly connect with conductive layer 450 via a contact hole in insulating layer 440 depicting the function of a bridge.);
an inorganic layer on the plurality of bridge electrodes (Paragraph [0139] describes insulating layer 440 as inorganic.), at least a part of each of the plurality of bridge electrodes exposed through the organic layer (Figure 6 reference conductive layer 430 depicted to directly connect with conductive layer 450 via a contact hole in insulating layer 440.); and
a touch electrode in contact with each of the plurality of exposed bridge electrodes (Figure 6 reference conductive layer 430 depicted to directly connect with conductive layer 450 via a contact hole in insulating layer 440.), and
the inorganic layer includes:
a first layer including a plurality of first contact holes that expose at least a part of each of the plurality of bridge electrodes (Figure 6 reference conductive layer 430 depicted to directly connect with conductive layer 450 via a contact hole in insulating layer 440.); and
[ ],
wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes include a first light emitting diode and a second light emitting diode (Figures 3-4 reference pixel P described in paragraphs [0088]-[0089] to comprise a plurality of pixels each with an OLED.),
wherein the lens layer (50) includes:
a first lens that overlaps the first light emitting diode and refracts light from the first light emitting diode (Figure 6 depicts layer 50 above OLED layers (221-223) described in paragraph [0077] to comprise a plurality of layers having different refractive indices.); and
a second lens that overlaps the second light emitting diode and refracts light from the second light emitting diode (Figure 6 depicts layer 50 above OLED layers (221-223) described in paragraph [0077] to comprise a plurality of layers having different refractive indices.), and
wherein the first lens and the second lens do [ ] overlap with the plurality of bridge electrodes (430) and touch electrodes (Figure 6 depicts functional layer 50 disposed over the entire display including the bridge and touch electrodes 430/450.),
wherein an end portion of the first layer (Figure 6 440) covers an edge of each of the plurality of bridge electrodes (450) (Figure 6 reference contact hole in first layer 440 comprising touch electrode 450 enabling said touch electrode to come into direct contact with bridge electrode 430. The first layer 440, at the contact hole, comprises a horizontal top side, horizontal bottom side, and vertical sides. The first layer 440 is also depicted to raise vertically to cover the vertical side edge end portions and top horizontal side end portions of the bridge electrodes 430.), and [ ], and
wherein the touch electrode (450) is in contact with a side surface of the first layer (440) (Figure 6 reference contact hole in first layer 440 comprising touch electrode 450, such that the top side and vertical sides of first layer 440 at the contact hole are in direct contact with the touch electrode 450.), [ ].
Son does not specifically disclose an organic layer on the plurality of bridge electrodes, at least a part of each of the plurality of bridge electrodes exposed through the organic layer; and a touch electrode in contact with each of the plurality of exposed bridge electrodes, and the organic layer includes: a first layer including a plurality of first contact holes that expose at least a part of each of the plurality of bridge electrodes; and a second layer on the first layer, the second layer including a plurality of second contact holes that each overlap a corresponding one of the plurality of first contact holes, and a position of an end portion of the second layer is not equal with a position of the end portion of the first layer and is on a top surface of the first layer, and wherein the touch electrode is in contact with a side surface of the second layer, and a portion of a top surface of the first layer extending past the end portion of the second layer.
Jang discloses display device (abstract) comprising:
a plurality of bridge electrodes on the encapsulation layer (Figure 3D reference OLED with encapsulation layer TFE disposed above (similar arrangement as Son’s encapsulation layer 300 disposed above OLED 221-223). Figure 4A and paragraph [0133] describes the touch sensing unit TS is disposed on the encapsulation layer TFE. Figures 7A-7B depicts the touch sensing unit TS with bridge electrode DCL, describing DCL to be above the encapsulation layer.);
an organic layer on the plurality of bridge electrodes, at least a part of each of the plurality of bridge electrodes exposed through the organic layer (Figure 7B reference two layers 14+16 disposed on bridge electrode DCL with exposed portions, via contact hole CNT1, described in paragraphs [0114] and [0118] as organic.); and
a touch electrode in contact with each of the plurality of exposed bridge electrodes (Figure 7B reference touch signal lines SL1 in direct contact with exposed portions of the bridge electrode DCL. The plurality of touch electrode/signal lines depicted in figure 7A.), and
the organic layer includes:
a first layer including a plurality of first contact holes that expose at least a part of each of the plurality of bridge electrodes (Figure 7B reference 14 as the claimed first layer depicted with plurality of first contact holes CNT1 to expose part of bridge electrode DCL.); and
a second layer on the first layer, the second layer including a plurality of second contact holes that each overlap a corresponding one of the plurality of first contact holes (Figure 7B reference 16 as the claimed second layer depicted with plurality of first contact holes CNT1 to expose part of bridge electrode DCL.),
wherein an end portion of the first layer covers an edge of each of the plurality of bridge electrodes (Figure 7B reference depicted edge of first layer 14 cover the vertical portion and small horizontal portion of both edges of the bridge electrode DCL.), and a position of an end portion of the second layer is not equal with a position of the end portion of the first layer (Figure 7B reference slightly slanted vertical edge of first layer 14 and second layer 16 such that the second layer end portion stops before the lower portion end of the first layer 14 (or in other words layer 14 edge extends farther than the second layer).) and is on a top surface of the first layer (Figure 7B reference second layer 16 disposed directly on the top surface of the first layer 14.), and
wherein the touch electrode (Figure 7B SL1) is in contact with a side (vertical) surface of the first layer (14), a side (vertical) surface of the second layer (16) (Figure 7B reference SL1 in direct contact with the side vertical slightly slanted vertical surfaces of layers 14 and 16.), [ ].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Son’s insulating layer on the bridge electrodes with the known technique of being an organic layer, a touch electrode in contact with each of the plurality of exposed bridge electrodes, the organic layer includes: a first layer including a plurality of first contact holes that expose at least a part of each of the plurality of bridge electrodes; and a second layer on the first layer, the second layer including a plurality of second contact holes that each overlap a corresponding one of the plurality of first contact holes, wherein an end portion of the first layer covers an edge of each of the plurality of bridge, and a position of an end portion of the second layer is not equal with a position of the end portion of the first layer and is on a top surface of the first layer, and wherein the touch electrode is in contact with a side surface of the first layer, a side surface of the second layer yielding the predictable results of simplified structure and improved flexibility by using the same photolithography process as the TFTs as disclosed by Jang (paragraphs [0004] and [0170]).
Neither Son or Jang disclose a portion of a top surface of the first layer extending past the end portion of the second layer.
Chung discloses a position of an end portion of the second layer is not equal with a position of the end portion of the first layer, and a portion of a top surface of the first layer extending past the end portion of the second layer (Figure 19 reference layer 141A edge with top surface and end portion exposed from layer 141B. Layer 141B is disposed directly on top as described in paragraph [0043].).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Son-Jang’s unequal end portion of the second layer and portion of the top surface of the first layer with the known technique of extending past the end portion of the second layer yielding the predictable results of reducing the manufacture process risk of forming an open circuit as disclosed by Chung (paragraph [0043].).
Further, Son does not specifically disclose a passivation layer covering the thin film transistor such that the plurality of light emitting diodes are on the passivation layer.
Bang discloses a passivation layer covering the thin film transistor (Figure 7 reference passivation PVX disposed on interlayer insulating layer ILD1 and ILD2 on top of gate electrode GAT of the TFT as described in paragraph [0050].);
a plurality of light emitting elements on the passivation layer (Figure 7 reference anode ANO and cathode CATH of the light emitting elements disposed on passivation layer PVX.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Son’s display of light emitting diode light elements with the known technique of a passivation layer covering the thin film transistor and the light elements disposed on the passivation layer yielding the predictable results of preventing or reducing damage to the components disposed underneath as disclosed by Bang (paragraph [0063]).
Son does not specifically disclose wherein the first lens and the second lens do not overlap with the plurality of bridge electrodes and touch electrodes.
Li discloses wherein a first lens and a second lens do not overlap with the plurality of bridge electrodes and touch electrodes (Figure 5 reference Tx and Rx touch electrodes wherein Tx electrodes are connected via bridge electrodes BR-Tx as described in paragraph [0099]. Figure 6 and paragraph [0103] describes the touch electrodes to be a mesh structure forming holes TH in which light emitting devices LD are comprised within. Holes TH comprise openings PH depicts in various embodiments of figures 7-12 to comprise lens LL. Paragraphs [0078]-[0079] describes the plurality of lenses, for the respective plurality of light emitting elements, refracting light from the light emitting devices LD. The Lens are depicted to be disposed in only the area PH of the holes TH and therefore do not overlap the touch electrodes TMB (including TX and RX or the bridge electrodes BR-TX) as depicted in figure 6.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Son’s first and second lenses with the known technique of not overlapping the plurality of bridge electrodes and touch electrodes yielding the predictable results of improving the light transmittance as disclosed by Li (paragraph [0103]).
Regarding claim 2, Jang discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein a first contact hole from the plurality of first contact holes fully overlaps a second contact hole from the plurality of second contact holes (Support for the subject matter is found in applicant’s figure 2 and originally filed specification paragraph [00103] which describes first and second contact holes 222a and 224a. Prior art Jang figure 7B depicts plurality of contact holes CNT1 in a similar manner being made of a low first layer 14 first contact hole and upper second layer 16 second contact hole, with a wider width than the first contact hole and overlapping the first contact hole.).
Regarding claim 4, Jang discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of first contact holes exposes a top surface of a corresponding bridge electrode from the plurality of bridge electrodes (Figure 7B reference first contact hole of first layer 14 exposes bridge electrode DCL.), and each of the plurality of second contact holes exposes the top surface of the corresponding bridge electrode from the plurality of bridge electrodes (In so much as figure 6 of the current application’s second contact hole 224a may be considered to “expose the top surface of the bride electrode 212” (with an imaginary hole through the first layer 14): prior art Jang figure 7B second layer 16 second contact hole arranged in an identical manner exposes the respective bridge electrode.) and [ ].
Jang does not specifically disclose each of the plurality of second contact holes exposes at least a part of a top surface of a portion of the first layer adjacent to the first contact hole.
Chung discloses second contact holes exposes at least a part of a top surface of a portion of the first layer adjacent to the first contact hole (Figure 19 reference layer 141A edge with top surface exposed from layer 141B being disposed directly on top as described in paragraph [0043].).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Jang’s second contact holes with the known technique of exposes at least a part of a top surface of a portion of the first layer adjacent to the first contact hole yielding the predictable results of reducing the manufacture process risk of forming an open circuit as disclosed by Chung (paragraph [0043].).
Regarding claim 5, Jang discloses the display device according to claim 2, wherein an upper width of the first contact hole is wider than a lower width of the first contact hole (Figure 7B reference lower width (portion of direct contact between the lower surface of first layer 14 and DCL) being smaller in width as compared to the upper portion of the first contact hole.), the upper width of the first contact hole fully overlaps a lower width of the second contact hole (Figure 7B reference upper width of first contact hole and lower width of second contact hole being of an identical size and considered within the scope of “overlap”.), the lower width of the second contact hole is wider than the upper width of the first contact hole, and an upper width of the second contact hole is wider than the lower width of the second contact hole (Figure 7B reference second contact hole upper width wider than the lower width.).
Regarding independent claim 13, Son discloses a display device (abstract) comprising:
a substrate (Figure 6 reference substrate 100.);
an interlayer insulating layer covering a gate electrode of a thin film transistor on the substrate (Figure 6 reference transistor TFT with gate electrode GE covered directly by interlayer insulating layer 205.);
[ ];
a plurality of subpixels on the substrate (Figure 6 reference 222a-222c of OLED, disposed on substrate 100, described in paragraphs [0068] and [0089] to be one of a plurality of OLEDs.), the plurality of subpixels configured to emit light (paragraph [0068]);
an encapsulation layer on the plurality of subpixels (Figure 6 reference encapsulation layer 300 comprising parts 310, 320, and 330 each disposed above OLED 222a-222c);
a bridge electrode on the encapsulation layer (Figure 6 reference conductive layer 430 depicted to directly connect with conductive layer 450 via a contact hole in insulating layer 440 depicting the function of a bridge.);
an inorganic layer on the bridge electrode (Paragraph [0139] describes insulating layer 440 as inorganic.), [ ];
a touch electrode that is in contact with the bridge electrode through the hole in the organic layer (Figure 6 reference input sensing layer 40, comprising a plurality of layers 410, 420, 430, 440, 450, 460 each of which are disposed the encapsulation layer 300. Paragraph [0138] describes the input sensing layer 40 to include touch electrodes for touch input.); and
a lens layer on the organic layer, the lens layer including a plurality of lenses (Figure 6 reference optical functional layer 50 disposed above the touch sensor 40. Paragraph [0077] describes layer 50 to include a lens layer with a plurality of lenses.),
wherein each of the plurality of subpixels including a first light emitting diode and a second light emitting diode (Figures 3-4 reference pixel P described in paragraphs [0088]-[0089] to comprise a plurality of pixels each with an OLED.),
wherein the lens layer (50) includes:
a first lens that overlaps the first light emitting diode and refracts light from the first light emitting diode (Figure 6 depicts layer 50 above OLED layers (221-223) described in paragraph [0077] to comprise a plurality of layers having different refractive indices.); and
a second lens that overlaps the second light emitting diode and refracts light from the second light emitting diode (Figure 6 depicts layer 50 above OLED layers (221-223) described in paragraph [0077] to comprise a plurality of layers having different refractive indices.), and
wherein the first lens and the second lens do [ ] overlap with the plurality of bridge electrodes (430) and touch electrodes (Figure 6 depicts functional layer 50 disposed over the entire display including the bridge and touch electrodes 430/450.), and
wherein the touch electrode (450) is in contact with a side surface of the first layer (440) (Figure 6 reference contact hole in first layer 440 comprising touch electrode 450, such that the top side and vertical sides of first layer 440 at the contact hole are in direct contact with the touch electrode 450.), [ ].
Son does not specifically disclose an organic layer including a first layer on the bridge electrode, a second layer on the first layer and having an end that is inset from an end of the first layer such that the end of the first layer extends past the end of the second layer, and a hole through the first layer and the second layer, and wherein the touch electrode is in contact with a side surface of the second layer, and a portion of a top surface of the first layer extending past the end portion of the second layer.
Jang discloses display device (abstract) comprising:
a bridge electrode on the encapsulation layer (Figure 3D reference OLED with encapsulation layer TFE disposed above (similar arrangement as Son’s encapsulation layer 300 disposed above OLED 221-223). Figure 4A and paragraph [0133] describes the touch sensing unit TS is disposed on the encapsulation layer TFE. Figures 7A-7B depicts the touch sensing unit TS with bridge electrode DCL, describing DCL to be above the encapsulation layer.);
an organic layer on the bridge electrodes (Figure 7B reference two layers 14+16 disposed on bridge electrode DCL with exposed portions, via contact hole CNT1, described in paragraphs [0114] and [0118] as organic.), the organic layer including a first layer on the bridge electrode (Figure 7B reference 14 as the claimed first layer depicted with plurality of first contact holes CNT1 to expose part of bridge electrode DCL.), a second layer on the first layer and an end that is inset from an end of the first layer such that the end of the first layer extends past the end of the second layer (Figure 7B reference 16 as the claimed second layer depicted with plurality of first contact holes CNT1 to expose part of bridge electrode DCL. The end of the first layer 14 extending further into the contact hole area than the second layer 16.), and a hole through the first layer and the second layer (Figure 7B reference contact hole CNT1.); and
a touch electrode in contact with the bridge electrode through the hole in the organic layer (Figure 7B reference touch signal lines SL1 in direct contact with exposed portions of the bridge electrode DCL. The plurality of touch electrode/signal lines depicted in figure 7A.), and
wherein the touch electrode (Figure 7B SL1) is in contact with a side (vertical) surface of the first layer (14), a side (vertical) surface of the second layer (16) (Figure 7B reference SL1 in direct contact with the side vertical slightly slanted vertical surfaces of layers 14 and 16.), [ ].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Son’s insulating layer on the bridge electrodes with the known technique of an organic layer on the bridge electrodes, the organic layer including a first layer on the bridge electrode, a second layer on the first layer and an end that is inset from an end of the first layer such that the end of the first layer extends past the end of the second layer, and a hole through the first layer and the second layer; and a touch electrode in contact with the bridge electrode through the hole in the organic layer, and wherein the touch electrode is in contact with a side surface of the first layer, a side surface of the second layer yielding the predictable results of simplified structure and improved flexibility by using the same photolithography process as the TFTs as disclosed by Jang (paragraphs [0004] and [0170]).
Neither Son or Jang disclose a portion of a top surface of the first layer extending past the end portion of the second layer.
Chung discloses a position of an end portion of the second layer is not equal with a position of the end portion of the first layer, and a portion of a top surface of the first layer extending past the end portion of the second layer (Figure 19 reference layer 141A edge with top surface and end portion exposed from layer 141B. Layer 141B is disposed directly on top as described in paragraph [0043].).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Son-Jang’s unequal end portion of the second layer and portion of the top surface of the first layer with the known technique of extending past the end portion of the second layer yielding the predictable results of reducing the manufacture process risk of forming an open circuit as disclosed by Chung (paragraph [0043].).
Son does not specifically disclose a passivation layer covering the thin film transistor such that the plurality of light emitting diodes are on the passivation layer.
Bang discloses a passivation layer covering the thin film transistor (Figure 7 reference passivation PVX disposed on interlayer insulating layer ILD1 and ILD2 on top of gate electrode GAT of the TFT as described in paragraph [0050].).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Son’s display of light emitting diode light elements with the known technique of a passivation layer covering the thin film transistor yielding the predictable results of preventing or reducing damage to the components disposed underneath as disclosed by Bang (paragraph [0063]).
Son does not specifically disclose wherein the first lens and the second lens do not overlap with the plurality of bridge electrodes and touch electrodes.
Li discloses wherein a first lens and a second lens do not overlap with the plurality of bridge electrodes and touch electrodes (Figure 5 reference Tx and Rx touch electrodes wherein Tx electrodes are connected via bridge electrodes BR-Tx as described in paragraph [0099]. Figure 6 and paragraph [0103] describes the touch electrodes to be a mesh structure forming holes TH in which light emitting devices LD are comprised within. Holes TH comprise openings PH depicts in various embodiments of figures 7-12 to comprise lens LL. Paragraphs [0078]-[0079] describes the plurality of lenses, for the respective plurality of light emitting elements, refracting light from the light emitting devices LD. The Lens are depicted to be disposed in only the area PH of the holes TH and therefore do not overlap the touch electrodes TMB (including TX and RX or the bridge electrodes BR-TX) as depicted in figure 6.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Son’s first and second lenses with the known technique of not overlapping the plurality of bridge electrodes and touch electrodes yielding the predictable results of improving the light transmittance as disclosed by Li (paragraph [0103]).
Regarding claim 14, Jang discloses the display device of claim 13, wherein the hole comprises a first hole in the first layer and a second hole in the second layer that overlaps the first hole, the second hole wider than the first hole (Figure 7B depicts plurality of contact holes CNT1 being made of a low first layer 14 first contact hole and upper second layer 16 second contact hole, with a wider width than the first contact hole and overlapping the first contact hole).
Regarding claim 15, Jang discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein a width of the first hole in the first layer tapers from an upper surface of the first layer to a lower surface of the first layer that is closer to the substrate than the upper surface of the first layer, and a width of the second hole in the second layer tapers from an upper surface of the second layer to a lower surface of the second layer that is closer to the substrate than the upper surface of the second layer (Figure 7B reference both layers 14 and 16 and respective first and second holes tapers from an upper surface to lower surface closer to the substrate SUB.).
4. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son-Jang-Chung-Bang-Li in view of Park et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0403909), herein after referred to as Park.
Regarding claim 6, Jang discloses the display device according to claim 1, [ ], a thickness of the first layer is in a range of 10% to 90% of a total thickness of the organic layer, and a thickness of the second layer is in a range of 10% to 90% of the total thickness of the organic layer (Figure 7B reference ratio of depicted thickness of the organic layer comprising layers 14 and 16 to be about the same implying a 50-50 ratio of total thickness of the organic layer.).
Jang does not specifically disclose wherein a thickness of the organic layer is in a range of 2 to 20 micrometers.
Park discloses a thickness of the organic layer is in a range of 2 to 20 micrometers (Figure 5 depicts organic insulating layer between touch electrodes may be between 2-4 micrometers, paragraphs [0123] which references the insulating layer 118 and paragraph [0069].).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Jang’s thickness of the organic layer with the known technique of being in a range of 2-4 micrometers yielding the predictable results a proper thickness to perform the function of insulating between touch electrodes as disclosed by Park (paragraph [0069] and [0123]).
5. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son-Jang-Chung-Bang-Li in view of Lee et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0280904), herein after referred to as Lee, in view of Kubota et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2002/0113241), herein after referred to as Kubota, and further in view of Zhao et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0034852), herein after referred to as Zhao.
Regarding claim 7, Jang discloses the display device according to claim 1,
Jang does not specifically disclose wherein the first layer includes a first transparent resin and nano particles dispersed in the first transparent resin, and the second layer includes a second transparent resin, a multifunctional crosslinking agent, and a molecular sieve, wherein the first transparent resin of the first layer and the second transparent resin of the second layer are independently one or more selected from a group consisting of acrylic resins, siloxane-based resins, polyimide-based resins, polyamide-based resins, cycloolefin-based resins, and fluorine-based resins, wherein the nano particles are one or more selected from fullerene particles or silica nano particles, and
wherein the molecular sieve comprises mesoporous silica, and the multifunctional crosslinking agent comprises an acrylate-based compound having 3 to 9 functional groups.
Lee discloses includes a first transparent resin and nano particles dispersed in the first transparent resin (Paragraph [0203] describes to improve insulating performance via silica particles included in resin. Paragraph [0240] describes the silica particulars on a nano scale. Paragraph [0161] describes the form film (resin) is transparent.), and the second layer includes a second transparent resin, a multifunctional crosslinking agent (Paragraph [0099]-[0104] describes wherein the composition of the resin may include an additional resin (second layer) comprised of an acryl-based resin including 2 to 10 types of acrylates (functional groups) that can be crosslinked in an exposure step via an agent (examples include glycol diacrylate etc.). Paragraph [0161] describes the form film (resin) is transparent.), and [ ],
wherein the first transparent resin of the first layer and the second transparent resin of the second layer are independently one or more selected from a group consisting of acrylic resins (Paragraph [0284] describes the binder/resin for the silica is acrylic to reduce the thickness.), siloxane-based resins (Paragraphs [0150]-[0151] describes siloxane based.), polyimide-based resins, polyamide-based resins, cycloolefin-based resins, and fluorine-based resins, wherein the nano particles are one or more selected from fullerene particles or silica nano particles (Paragraph [0203] describes to improve insulating performance via silica particles included in resin.), and
wherein the molecular sieve comprises mesoporous silica, and the multifunctional crosslinking agent comprises an acrylate-based compound having 3 to 9 functional groups (Paragraph [0099]-[0104] describes wherein the composition of the resin may include an additional resin (second layer) comprised of an acryl-based resin including 2 to 10 types of acrylates (functional groups).).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art the before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Jang’s first and second insulating layers with the known technique of a first transparent resin and nano particles dispersed in the first transparent resin, and the second layer includes a second transparent resin, a multifunctional crosslinking agent, and wherein the first transparent resin of the first layer and the second transparent resin of the second layer are independently one or more selected from a group consisting of acrylic resins and siloxane-based resins, wherein the nano particles are one or more selected from fullerene particles or silica nano particles, and the multifunctional crosslinking agent comprises an acrylate-based compound having 3 to 9 functional groups yielding the predictable results of increasing the stability of the photo-patterning layers during manufacturing of OLED displays as disclosed by Lee (paragraphs [0002]-[0006]).
Lee does not specifically disclose the second layer including a multifunctional crosslinking agent to also include a molecular sieve.
Kubota discloses an insulating layer may be formed through a molecular sieve cured process and that the cured product is mixed with a crosslinkable acrylate derivative (Paragraphs [0216] and [0236]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Jang-Lee’s second insulator made of a multifunctional crosslinking agent with the known technique of further comprising molecular sieve yielding the predictable results of fully dehydrating the insulator during the curing process as disclosed by Kubota (paragraph [0216]).
Kubota does not specifically disclose wherein the molecular sieve comprises mesoporous silica.
Zhao discloses a composite material film of a molecular sieve may be made of mesoporous silica (paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Jang-Lee-Kubota’s second insulator including a molecular sieve with the known technique of comprising mesoporous silica yielding the predictable results of manufacturing nanoscale composite material to a targeted electrical conductivity in the display industry as disclosed by Zhao (paragraphs [0002]-[0005]).
6. Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son-Jang-Chung-Bang-Li in view of Shikina et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0284881), herein after referred to as Shikina, and further in view of Yamada et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0268128), herein after referred to as Yamada.
Regarding claim 8, Son discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of sub pixels are defined on the substrate, each of the plurality of sub pixels including the first light emitting diode [ ] on the substrate (Figures 3-4 and 6 reference pixels P comprising OLED disposed on substrate 100.).
Son does not specifically disclose each of the plurality of sub pixels including a first light emitting diode and a second light emitting diode on the substrate.
Shikina discloses each of the plurality of sub pixels including a first light emitting diode and a second light emitting diode on the substrate (Figures 5-8 reference pixel comprising first and second diodes 26 and 27 disposed on substrate 20).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Son’s optical lens layer with the known technique of each of the plurality of sub pixels including a first light emitting diode and a second light emitting diode on the substrate yielding the predictable results of enabling a user to switch being wide viewing angle or front luminance display as disclosed by Shikina (paragraph [0115]).
Shikina does not specifically disclose the use of a lens overlaps the light emitting diode when performing high front luminance.
Yamada discloses light sources located behind cylindrical lenses emit wide area illumination (paragraphs [0077]-[0078]) while light sources located behind spherical lenses illuminate the front side via parallel light to improve brightness (paragraphs [0089] and [0091]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Son-Shikina first viewing angle for increasing brightness with the known technique of a first spherical lens yielding the predictable results of further increasing the front brightness via the parallel output of light as disclosed by Yamada (paragraph [0091]).
Regarding claim 9, Son and Shikina discloses the display device according to claim 8, further comprising:
a bank on the substrate (Son: Figure 6 reference spacer/bank 215 disposed on substrate 100 as described in paragraph as defining the pixel layer.), the bank between adjacent sub pixels from the plurality of sub pixels and between the first light emitting diode and the second light emitting diode (Shikina Figure 8 reference pixel separating layers 22 disposed between diodes as described in paragraph [0037].),
wherein the plurality of bridge electrodes and the touch electrode overlap the bank (Son: Figure 6 reference bridge electrode 430 disposed over 215.).
Regarding claim 10, Shikina and Yamada discloses the display device according to claim 8, wherein the first lens is a half-spherical lens (Shikina: Paragraphs [0074]-[0075] and [0080] describes diode 27 to have microlens 81 to perform high front luminance. Yamada: paragraphs [0089] and [0091]) and the second lens is a half-cylindrical lens (Shikina: Paragraphs [0074]-[0075] and [0080] describes diode 26 has wide viewing angle characteristics. Yamada: paragraphs [0077]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 11, Shikina discloses the display device according to claim 8, wherein each of the plurality of sub pixels is selectively driven in a first mode and a second mode,
in the first mode, the first light emitting diode emits light such that the light from the first light emitting diode is output by the first lens with a first limited viewing angle in a first direction but not a second direction, and
in the second mode, the second light emitting diode emits light so that the light from the second light emitting diode is output by the second lens with a second limited viewing angle in the first direction and the second direction (Paragraphs [0074]-[0075] and [0080] describes diode 27 to have microlens 81 to perform high front luminance while diode 26 has wide viewing angle characteristics. Paragraph [0115] describes to switch between the wide and front luminance characteristics/modes.).
Regarding claim 12, Shikina discloses the display device according to claim 11, wherein in the first mode the second light emitting diode is driven and the first light emitting diode is not driven, and in the second mode the first light emitting diode is driven and the second light emitting diode is not driven (Paragraphs [0112]-[0113] describes to drive either diode 26 or 27 one at a time.).
7. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son-Jang-Chung-Bang-Li in view of Lee and further in view of Kubota.
Regarding claim 17, Jang discloses the display device of claim 13.
Jang does not specifically disclose wherein the first layer includes a first transparent resin and nano particles dispersed in the first transparent resin, and the second layer includes a second transparent resin, a multifunctional crosslinking agent, and a molecular sieve.
Lee discloses includes a first transparent resin and nano particles dispersed in the first transparent resin (Paragraph [0203] describes to improve insulating performance via silica particles included in resin. Paragraph [0240] describes the silica particulars on a nano scale. Paragraph [0161] describes the form film (resin) is transparent.), and the second layer includes a second transparent resin, a multifunctional crosslinking agent (Paragraph [0099]-[0104] describes wherein the composition of the resin may include an additional resin (second layer) comprised of an acryl-based resin including 2 to 10 types of acrylates (functional groups) that can be crosslinked in an exposure step via an agent (examples include glycol diacrylate etc.). Paragraph [0161] describes the form film (resin) is transparent.), and [ ].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art the before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Jang’s first and second insulating layers with the known technique of a first transparent resin and nano particles dispersed in the first transparent resin, and the second layer includes a second transparent resin, a multifunctional crosslinking agent yielding the predictable results of increasing the stability of the photo-patterning layers during manufacturing of OLED displays as disclosed by Lee (paragraphs [0002]-[0006]).
Lee does not specifically disclose the second layer including a multifunctional crosslinking agent to also include a molecular sieve.
Kubota discloses an insulating layer may be formed through a molecular sieve cured process and that the cured product is mixed with a crosslinkable acrylate derivative (Paragraphs [0216] and [0236]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Jang-Lee’s second insulator made of a multifunctional crosslinking agent with the known technique of further comprising molecular sieve yielding the predictable results of fully dehydrating the insulator during the curing process as disclosed by Kubota (paragraph [0216]).
8. Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son in view of Shikina in view of Yamada in view of Jang in view of Chung in view of Bang and further in view of Li.
Regarding independent claim 18, Son discloses a display device (abstract), comprising:
a substrate (Figure 6 reference substrate 100.);
an interlayer insulating layer covering a gate electrode of a thin film transistor on the substrate (Figure 6 reference transistor TFT with gate electrode GE covered directly by interlayer insulating layer 205.);
[ ];
a subpixel on the substrate (Figure 6 reference 222a-222c of OLED, disposed on substrate 100, described in paragraphs [0068] and [0089] to be one of a plurality of OLEDs.), [ ];
a lens layer including a first lens and a second lens, the first lens overlapping the first light emitting element and refracting light from the first light emitting element, and the second lens overlapping the second light emitting element and refracting light from the second light emitting element (Figure 6 reference optical functional layer 50 disposed above the touch sensor 40 and overlapping OLED layers 221-223. Paragraph [0077] describes layer 50 to include a lens layer comprising a plurality of lenses having different refractive indices (inherently describing refraction of light thereto and therefrom.);
a bridge electrode that is non-overlapping with the subpixel (Figure 6 reference conductive layer 430 depicted to directly connect with conductive layer 450 via a contact hole in insulating layer 440 depicting the function of a bridge. Layer 430 is depicted in a non-overlapping manner with the subpixel/OLED 222);
an inorganic layer between the bridge electrode and the lens layer (Paragraph [0139] describes insulating layer 440 as inorganic and disposed between the bridge 430 and optical layer 50.), the inorganic layer (440) including a first layer (440) on the bridge electrode (450) (Figure 6 depicts the inorganic first layer 440 directly on the bridge electrode 450.), [ ], and a hole through the first layer (440) [ ] such that a side (vertical) surface of the inorganic layer (440) includes a slanted portion (Figure 6 reference contact hole in layer 440 enabling electrodes 450 and 430 to come into direct contact. The vertical side edge of the first layer 440 depicted to be slanted.), and
a touch electrode that is in contact with the bridge electrode through the hole in the inorganic layer (Figure 6 reference conductive layer 430 depicted to directly connect with conductive layer 450 via a contact hole in insulating layer 440.),
[ ],
wherein the first lens and the second lens do [ ] overlap with the plurality of bridge electrodes (430) and touch electrodes (Figure 6 depicts functional layer 50 disposed over the entire display including the bridge and touch electrodes 430/450.), and
wherein the touch electrode (450) is in contact with a side surface of the first layer (440) (Figure 6 reference contact hole in first layer 440 comprising touch electrode 450, such that the top side and vertical sides of first layer 440 at the contact hole are in direct contact with the touch electrode 450.), [ ].
Son does not specifically disclose the subpixel including a first light emitting element and a second light emitting element configured to emit light of a same color; and wherein during a first mode of the display device the first light emitting element is turned on to emit light through the first lens and the second light emitting element is turned off such that that the display device has a first viewing angle, and during a second mode of the display device the second light emitting element is turned on to emit light through the second lens and the first light emitting element is turned off such that the display device has a second viewing angle that is different from the first viewing angle.
Shikina discloses the subpixel including a first light emitting element and a second light emitting element configured to emit light of a same color (Figure 7 reference pixels 71-73 described to respectively be RGB colored pixels in paragraph [0078]. Figure 6 and said paragraph describes each pixel to comprise two diodes 26 and 27 (describing them to be of the same color per pixel).);
[ ] and the second lens overlapping the second light emitting element (Paragraphs [0074]-[0075] and [0080] describes diode 27 to have microlens 81 to perform high front luminance while diode 26 has wide viewing angle characteristics.); and
wherein during a first mode of the display device the first light emitting element is turned on to emit light [ ] and the second light emitting element is turned off such that that the display device has a first viewing angle, and during a second mode of the display device the second light emitting element is turned on to emit light through the second lens and the first light emitting element is turned off such that the display device has a second viewing angle that is different from the first viewing angle (Paragraphs [0074]-[0075] and [0080] describes diode 27 to have microlens 81 to perform high front luminance while diode 26 has wide viewing angle characteristics. Paragraph [0115] describes to switch between the wide and front luminance characteristics/modes.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Son’s optical lens layer with the known technique of the subpixel including a first light emitting element and a second light emitting element configured to emit light of a same color; and the second lens overlapping the second light emitting element; and wherein during a first mode of the display device the first light emitting element is turned on to emit light and the second light emitting element is turned off such that that the display device has a first viewing angle, and during a second mode of the display device the second light emitting element is turned on to emit light through the second lens and the first light emitting element is turned off such that the display device has a second viewing angle that is different from the first viewing angle yielding the predictable results of enabling a user to switch being wide viewing angle or front luminance display as disclosed by Shikina (paragraph [0115]).
Shikina does not specifically disclose the use of a lens overlaps the light emitting diode when performing high front luminance.
Yamada discloses light sources located behind cylindrical lenses emit wide area illumination (paragraphs [0077]-[0078]) while light sources located behind spherical lenses illuminate the front side via parallel light to improve brightness (paragraphs [0089] and [0091]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Son-Shikina first viewing angle for increasing brightness with the known technique of a first spherical lens yielding the predictable results of further increasing the front brightness via the parallel output of light as disclosed by Yamada (paragraph [0091]).
Son does not specifically an organic layer between the bridge electrode and the lens layer, and a touch electrode that is in contact with the bridge electrode through the hole in the organic layer disclose the organic layer including a first layer on the bridge electrode, a second layer on the first layer and having an end that is inset from an end of the first layer such that the end of the first layer extends past the end of the second layer, and a hole through the first layer and the second layer such that a side surface of the organic layer includes a step portion, and wherein the touch electrode is in contact with a side surface of the second layer, and a portion of a top surface of the first layer extending past the end portion of the second layer.
Jang discloses an organic layer on the bridge electrode (Figure 3D reference OLED with encapsulation layer TFE disposed above (similar arrangement as Son’s encapsulation layer 300 disposed above OLED 221-223). Figure 4A and paragraph [0133] describes the touch sensing unit TS is disposed on the encapsulation layer TFE. Figures 7A-7B depicts the touch sensing unit TS with bridge electrode DCL, describing DCL to be above the encapsulation layer.), the organic layer including a first layer on the bridge electrode (Figure 7B depicts first layer 14 directly on bridge electrode DCL. Paragraph [0114] describes layer 14 to be organic.), a second layer on the first layer and having an end that is inset from an end of the first layer such that the end of the first layer extends past the end of the second layer (Figure 7B reference slightly slanted vertical edge of first layer 14 and second layer 16 such that the second layer end portion stops before (inset) the lower portion end of the first layer 14. Paragraph [0118] describes layer 16 may be organic.), and a hole through the first layer and the second layer such that a side surface of the organic layer includes a slant portion (Figure 7B depicts the vertical side end portions of layers 14 and 16, at the contact hole, are slanted.), and
a touch electrode that is in contact with the bridge electrode through the hole in the organic layer (Figure 7B reference two layers 14+16 disposed on bridge electrode DCL with exposed portions, via contact hole CNT1, described in paragraphs [0114] and [0118] as organic.), and
wherein the touch electrode (Figure 7B SL1) is in contact with a side (vertical) surface of the first layer (14), a side (vertical) surface of the second layer (16) (Figure 7B reference SL1 in direct contact with the side vertical slightly slanted vertical surfaces of layers 14 and 16.), [ ].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Son’s insulating layer on the bridge electrodes with the known technique of an organic layer on the bridge electrode, and a touch electrode that is in contact with the bridge electrode through the hole in the organic layer, the organic layer including a first layer on the bridge electrode, a second layer on the first layer and having an end that is inset from an end of the first layer such that the end of the first layer extends past the end of the second layer, and a hole through the first layer and the second layer, and wherein the touch electrode is in contact with a side surface of the first layer, a side surface of the second layer yielding the predictable results of simplified structure and improved flexibility by using the same photolithography process as the TFTs as disclosed by Jang (paragraphs [0004] and [0170]).
Jang does not specifically disclose the organic layer including a hole through the first layer and the second layer such than a side surface of the organic layer includes a step portion or a portion of a top surface of the first layer extending past the end portion of the second layer.
Chung discloses the layer including a hole in the layer such that a side surface of the organic layer includes a step portion (Figure 19 reference layer 141A edge with top surface exposed (hole) from layer 141B forming a step portion.) and a portion of a top surface of the first layer extending past the end portion of the second layer (Figure 19 reference layer 141A edge with top surface and end portion exposed from layer 141B. Layer 141B is disposed directly on top as described in paragraph [0043].).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Jang’s contact hole through the first organic layer and second organic layer with the known technique a side surface of the organic layer includes a step portion and a portion of a top surface of the first layer extending past the end portion of the second layer yielding the predictable results of reducing the manufacture process risk of forming an open circuit as disclosed by Chung (paragraph [0043].).
Further, Son does not specifically disclose a passivation layer covering the thin film transistor such that the plurality of light emitting diodes are on the passivation layer.
Bang discloses a passivation layer covering the thin film transistor (Figure 7 reference passivation PVX disposed on interlayer insulating layer ILD1 and ILD2 on top of gate electrode GAT of the TFT as described in paragraph [0050].);
a plurality of light emitting elements on the passivation layer (Figure 7 reference anode ANO and cathode CATH of the light emitting elements disposed on passivation layer PVX.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Son’s display of light emitting diode light elements with the known technique of a passivation layer covering the thin film transistor and the light elements disposed on the passivation layer yielding the predictable results of preventing or reducing damage to the components disposed underneath as disclosed by Bang (paragraph [0063]).
Son does not specifically disclose wherein the first lens and the second lens do not overlap with the plurality of bridge electrodes and touch electrodes.
Li discloses wherein a first lens and a second lens do not overlap with the plurality of bridge electrodes and touch electrodes (Figure 5 reference Tx and Rx touch electrodes wherein Tx electrodes are connected via bridge electrodes BR-Tx as described in paragraph [0099]. Figure 6 and paragraph [0103] describes the touch electrodes to be a mesh structure forming holes TH in which light emitting devices LD are comprised within. Holes TH comprise openings PH depicts in various embodiments of figures 7-12 to comprise lens LL. Paragraphs [0078]-[0079] describes the plurality of lenses, for the respective plurality of light emitting elements, refracting light from the light emitting devices LD. The Lens are depicted to be disposed in only the area PH of the holes TH and therefore do not overlap the touch electrodes TMB (including TX and RX or the bridge electrodes BR-TX) as depicted in figure 6.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Son’s first and second lenses with the known technique of not overlapping the plurality of bridge electrodes and touch electrodes yielding the predictable results of improving the light transmittance as disclosed by Li (paragraph [0103]).
Regarding claim 19, Shikina and Yamada discloses the display device according to claim 18, wherein the first lens has a first shape that is a half-spherical shape (Shikina: Paragraphs [0074]-[0075] and [0080] describes diode 27 to have microlens 81 to perform high front luminance. Yamada: paragraphs [0089] and [0091]) and the second lens has a shape that is a half-cylindrical shape (Shikina: Paragraphs [0074]-[0075] and [0080] describes diode 26 has wide viewing angle characteristics. Yamada: paragraphs [0077]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 20, Jang and Chung discloses the display device of claim 18, wherein the organic layer comprises: a first layer on the bridge electrode; and a second layer on the first layer and having an end that is inset from an end of the first layer (Jang: Figure 7B reference 16 as the claimed second layer depicted with plurality of first contact holes CNT1 to expose part of bridge electrode DCL. The end of the first layer 14 extending further into the contact hole area than the second layer 16.) to form the step portion (Chung: Figure 19 reference layer 141A edge with top surface exposed from layer 141B being disposed directly on top as described in paragraph [0043] (forming a step portion).).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments filed 10/17/2025 have been fully considered and relate towards newly amended subject matter. Previously cited art Chung is found to disclose the subject matter of a multi-layer edged stepped structure in figure 19. Please refer to the above office action for additional details. This action is final necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621