DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that application executing on the device causes the blocking the device from automatically changing states is not taught by Wu.
Wu discloses the applications being processed by GPU, DSP and AP and ISP that run and prevent changing of states as it uses up memory and processor loading functions see Par. 0078 & Par. 010. The user’s application is being executed or the content is being displayed prevents the changing of state see Par. 009 & Par. 0061.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2024183503 to Wu(based on priority filing in China on March 9, 2023).
Regarding Claim 1, 12, 19, Wu discloses A system for identifying a bypass of a computing device state change, Wu discloses the system comprising: a processor; and a memory device that stores program code structured to cause the processor to: determine that a computing device is in an unlocked state(Abstract & Par. 008-0010, the screen protection change with different state like screen-off state, screen-on sate and screen protection state); determine that application executing on the computing device providing content to a user is causing blocking of the computing device from automatically changing from the unlocked state to a state in which a restriction of an access of data on the computing device exists(Abstract & Par. 008-0010, the screen protection change with different state like screen-off state, screen-on sate and screen protection state & Par. 009 & Par. 0061, application that user selected is displaying content prevent state change ); detect an idle period of the computing device(Par. 0155, the time period for transition); detect a proximity change of the user relative to the computing device, the proximity change based on a determination that a distance of the user relative to the computing device exceeds a threshold(Par. 0108-0111, the preset range of user is detected); and perform an action to remediate the blocking of the computing device from automatically changing from the unlocked state to the state in which the restriction of the access of data on the computing device exists state change based on the idle period and the proximity change(Par. 0019-0020, the user leaves an preset range the state transitions) .
Regarding Claim 2, 13, Wu discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the action comprises generating a notification(Par. 0097, the user is notified by sound).
Regarding Claim 3, 14, Wu discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the notification comprises one or more of:an audio notification;a visual notification;a text message;a voice message; or an email message(Par. 0097, the user is notified by sound).
Regarding Claim 4, Wu discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the notification identifies the software computing component that is blocking the device state change of the computing device(Par. 0134-0137, control module maintains the screen-on state)
Regarding Claim 5, 15, 20, Wu discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the program code is further structured to cause the processor to:receive a signal, in response to the notification, to override the blocking of the computing device from automatically changing from the unlocked state to the state in which the restriction of the access of data on the computing device exists (Par. 0147-0148, the state parameter for scree status).
Regarding Claim 6, 16, Wu discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the application at least one of a video player application, a video game application, audio player application, or a web browser(Par. 178, video is played & Par. 0129 -0130, applications that run on GPU includes video and gaming applications).
Regarding Claim 7, 17, Wu discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the action comprises automatically overriding the blocking of the computing device from automatically changing from the unlocked state to the state in which the restriction of the access of data on the computing device exists state change( Par. 0072 the transition between states )
Regarding Claim 8, 19, Wu discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the program code is further structured to cause the processor to:determine a sensitivity of data accessible on the computing device; andaccess a security policy to determine the action to remediate the blocking of the computing device from automatically changing from the unlocked state to the state in which the restriction of the access of data on the computing device exists(Par. 0071-0073, the transition between states).
Regarding Claim 9, 20, Wu discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the program code is structured to cause the processor to determine the sensitivity of the data accessible on the computing device by at least one of:determining that a software component is executing via which the data is available;determining that the software component is logged in;determining that the data is rendered on a display device coupled to the computing device; or retrieving the sensitivity of the data from a data source(Par. 0011 & Par. 0167, the brightness is changed to 80% or 50%).
Regarding Claim 10. Wu discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the action is selected from a plurality of actions based on the proximity change(Par. 0158, the user leaves an preset range the state transitions) .
Regarding Claim 11. Wu discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the state the state in which the restriction of the access of data on the computing device exists change comprises one of:a standby mode change;a hibernation state change;a screensaver state change;a lock state change;a device shutdown state; or a log-off state action(Par. 0292-0293 & Par. 0021, the states of transition).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VENKAT PERUNGAVOOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492 Email: venkatanarayan.perungavoor@uspto.gov