DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7-11 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Georgiou et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0326924).
As to Claim 1, Georgiou discloses a method comprising:
Providing an injection well (18b) into which fluids are injected into a saline aquifer (13), the saline aquifer located below a caprock (12c) and an interface (Boundary between 13 and 12c) located between the saline aquifer and the caprock;
Injecting a plurality of precursor chemicals (14c) through the injection well (18b) and into the saline aquifer (13);
Depositing the precursor chemicals at or near the interface (Boundary between 13 and 12c);
Injecting CO2 (16c) through the injection well (18b) and into the saline aquifer (13);
Contacting the CO2 with the precursor chemicals (Paragraph 0047: “Further from a chemical reactivity perspective, this particular embodiment also contemplates that the carbon dioxide waste product 16c that is injected into the aquifer 13 in conjunction with the desalination concentrated brine waste product 14c may react with water to form carbonic acid); and
Reacting the CO2 and the precursor chemicals to reinforce the caprock by one or both of mineralization or gelation, thereby forming reinforced caprock (Paragraph 0047: “Further from a chemical reactivity perspective, this particular embodiment also contemplates that the carbon dioxide waste product 16c that is injected into the aquifer 13 in conjunction with the desalination concentrated brine waste product 14c may react with water to form carbonic acid, and then subsequently dissociate into protons, bicarbonate anions and carbonate anions by virtue of generally conventional chemical kinetic considerations and chemical thermodynamic considerations. In particular, such protons, bicarbonate anions and carbonate anions are further contemplated to potentially be reactive with minerals within the imperviously capped porous rock formation that comprises the aquifer 13. To that end, the presence of the protons, bicarbonate anions and carbonate anions may facilitate or contribute to chemical reactions with the minerals within the foregoing imperviously capped porous rock formations, and thus subsequently also lead to additional mineral deposits within the imperviously capped porous rock formations that may make the imperviously capped porous rock formations less porous”).
As to Claim 2, Georgiou discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Georgiou also discloses wherein the plurality of precursor chemicals comprises bifunctional molecules comprising a first functional group for binding to a mineral surface of the caprock and a second functional group for reacting with the CO2 (Paragraph 0047: “Further from a chemical reactivity perspective, this particular embodiment also contemplates that the carbon dioxide waste product 16c that is injected into the aquifer 13 in conjunction with the desalination concentrated brine waste product 14c may react with water to form carbonic acid, and then subsequently dissociate into protons, bicarbonate anions and carbonate anions by virtue of generally conventional chemical kinetic considerations and chemical thermodynamic considerations. In particular, such protons, bicarbonate anions and carbonate anions are further contemplated to potentially be reactive with minerals within the imperviously capped porous rock formation that comprises the aquifer 13. To that end, the presence of the protons, bicarbonate anions and carbonate anions may facilitate or contribute to chemical reactions with the minerals within the foregoing imperviously capped porous rock formations, and thus subsequently also lead to additional mineral deposits within the imperviously capped porous rock formations that may make the imperviously capped porous rock formations less porous”).
As to Claim 7, Georgiou discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Georgiou also discloses wherein the saline aquifer (13) is an aqueous environment comprising divalent ions, the divalent ions including at least one or both of Mg2+ or Ca2+ (Paragraph 0047: “Also considered within the context of an imperviously capped porous rock formation are silicate material reactions with aqueous carbon dioxide, such as but not limited to calcium-aluminum silicate material reactions with aqueous carbon dioxide. This particular class of reaction form a desirable calcium carbonate reaction product for storage of carbon dioxide, as well as a hydrated aluminum silicate clay product”).
As to Claim 8, Georgiou discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Georgiou also discloses further comprising geosequestering a CO2 plume (16c) beneath the reinforced caprock (12c).
As to Claim 9, Georgiou discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Georgiou also discloses wherein the caprock (16c) comprises at least one leakage pathway selected from the group consisting of a fault, a fracture, and any combination thereof (A rock formation has natural cracks and fissures), and further comprising geosequestering a CO2 plume (16c) beneath the reinforced caprock (12c) and preventing leakage of CO2 from the geosequestered CO2 plume through the at least one leakage pathway (As per Paragraph 0047, the reaction reduces permeability and therefore prevent leakage).
As to Claim 10, Georgiou discloses a method comprising:
Providing an injection well (18b) into which fluids (16c) are injected into a saline aquifer (13) having a geosequestered CO2 plume therein (Paragraph 0043: “However, the injected carbon dioxide waste product 16c, particularly when injected separately from the desalination concentrated brine waste product 14c”), the saline aquifer located below a caprock (12c) and an interface (Boundary between 12c and 13) located between the saline aquifer (13) and the caprock (12c), and
Wherein the caprock comprises at least one leakage pathway (A rock formation has natural cracks and fissures);
Injecting a plurality of precursor chemicals (14c) through the injection well (18b) and into the saline aquifer (13);
Depositing the precursor chemicals (14c) at or near the interface (Boundary between 12c and 13);
Contacting the precursor chemicals (14c) with the geosequestered CO2 (16c); and
Reacting the CO2 (16c) and the precursor chemicals (14c) to reinforce the caprock by one or both of mineralization or gelation, thereby forming reinforced caprock (Paragraph 0047: “Further from a chemical reactivity perspective, this particular embodiment also contemplates that the carbon dioxide waste product 16c that is injected into the aquifer 13 in conjunction with the desalination concentrated brine waste product 14c may react with water to form carbonic acid, and then subsequently dissociate into protons, bicarbonate anions and carbonate anions by virtue of generally conventional chemical kinetic considerations and chemical thermodynamic considerations. In particular, such protons, bicarbonate anions and carbonate anions are further contemplated to potentially be reactive with minerals within the imperviously capped porous rock formation that comprises the aquifer 13. To that end, the presence of the protons, bicarbonate anions and carbonate anions may facilitate or contribute to chemical reactions with the minerals within the foregoing imperviously capped porous rock formations, and thus subsequently also lead to additional mineral deposits within the imperviously capped porous rock formations that may make the imperviously capped porous rock formations less porous”) and preventing leakage of CO2 from the geosequestered CO2 plume through the at least one leakage pathway (As per Paragraph 0047, the reaction reduces permeability and therefore prevent leakage).
As to Claim 11, Georgiou discloses the invention of Claim 10 (Refer to Claim 10 discussion). Georgiou also discloses wherein the plurality of precursor chemicals comprises bifunctional molecules comprising a first functional group for binding to a mineral surface of the caprock and a second functional group for reacting with the CO2 (Paragraph 0047: “Further from a chemical reactivity perspective, this particular embodiment also contemplates that the carbon dioxide waste product 16c that is injected into the aquifer 13 in conjunction with the desalination concentrated brine waste product 14c may react with water to form carbonic acid, and then subsequently dissociate into protons, bicarbonate anions and carbonate anions by virtue of generally conventional chemical kinetic considerations and chemical thermodynamic considerations. In particular, such protons, bicarbonate anions and carbonate anions are further contemplated to potentially be reactive with minerals within the imperviously capped porous rock formation that comprises the aquifer 13. To that end, the presence of the protons, bicarbonate anions and carbonate anions may facilitate or contribute to chemical reactions with the minerals within the foregoing imperviously capped porous rock formations, and thus subsequently also lead to additional mineral deposits within the imperviously capped porous rock formations that may make the imperviously capped porous rock formations less porous”).
As to Claim 17, Georgiou discloses the invention of Claim 10 (Refer to Claim 10 discussion). Georgiou also discloses wherein the saline aquifer (13) is an aqueous environment comprising divalent ions, the divalent ions including at least one or both of Mg2+ or Ca2+ (Paragraph 0047: “Also considered within the context of an imperviously capped porous rock formation are silicate material reactions with aqueous carbon dioxide, such as but not limited to calcium-aluminum silicate material reactions with aqueous carbon dioxide. This particular class of reaction form a desirable calcium carbonate reaction product for storage of carbon dioxide, as well as a hydrated aluminum silicate clay product”).
As to Claim 18, Georgiou discloses the invention of Claim 10 (Refer to Claim 10 discussion). Georgiou also discloses wherein the at least one leakage pathway is selected from the group consisting of a fault, a fracture, and any combination thereof (A rock formation has natural cracks and fissures).
As to Claim 19, Georgiou discloses system comprising:
An injection well (18c) for accessing a saline aquifer (13);
A reinforced caprock (12c) located above the saline aquifer (13),
Wherein the reinforced caprock (12c) is comprised of one or both of mineralization or gelation by a reaction between a plurality of precursor chemicals (14c) and CO2 (Paragraph 0047: “Further from a chemical reactivity perspective, this particular embodiment also contemplates that the carbon dioxide waste product 16c that is injected into the aquifer 13 in conjunction with the desalination concentrated brine waste product 14c may react with water to form carbonic acid, and then subsequently dissociate into protons, bicarbonate anions and carbonate anions by virtue of generally conventional chemical kinetic considerations and chemical thermodynamic considerations. In particular, such protons, bicarbonate anions and carbonate anions are further contemplated to potentially be reactive with minerals within the imperviously capped porous rock formation that comprises the aquifer 13. To that end, the presence of the protons, bicarbonate anions and carbonate anions may facilitate or contribute to chemical reactions with the minerals within the foregoing imperviously capped porous rock formations, and thus subsequently also lead to additional mineral deposits within the imperviously capped porous rock formations that may make the imperviously capped porous rock formations less porous”); and
A geosequestered CO2 plume (16c) in the saline aquifer (13) beneath the reinforced caprock (12c).
As to Claim 20, Georgiou discloses the invention of Claim 19 (Refer to Claim 19 discussion). Georgiou also discloses wherein the plurality of precursor chemicals comprises bifunctional molecules comprising a first functional group for binding to a mineral surface of the caprock and a second functional group for reacting with the CO2 (Paragraph 0047: “Further from a chemical reactivity perspective, this particular embodiment also contemplates that the carbon dioxide waste product 16c that is injected into the aquifer 13 in conjunction with the desalination concentrated brine waste product 14c may react with water to form carbonic acid, and then subsequently dissociate into protons, bicarbonate anions and carbonate anions by virtue of generally conventional chemical kinetic considerations and chemical thermodynamic considerations. In particular, such protons, bicarbonate anions and carbonate anions are further contemplated to potentially be reactive with minerals within the imperviously capped porous rock formation that comprises the aquifer 13. To that end, the presence of the protons, bicarbonate anions and carbonate anions may facilitate or contribute to chemical reactions with the minerals within the foregoing imperviously capped porous rock formations, and thus subsequently also lead to additional mineral deposits within the imperviously capped porous rock formations that may make the imperviously capped porous rock formations less porous”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim. Claims 1 and 10 would be allowable if the limitations of claims 3, 5 and 6 are all added in the alternative into claim 1 and if the limitations of claims 12, 14, 15 and 16 are all added in the alternative into claim 10.
Conclusion
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678