DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 18, 20, 21 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2014/0288789 to Van Mill et al. (Van Mill).
Claims 1, 18 and 35
With regard to coupling a plurality of weight sensors with the container, each configured to produce signals indicative of a measure of the weight of the container, and any material contained therein, along an axis of measurement; Van Mill teaches load cells that are mounted on a grain cart to measure the wait of the grain cart (Fig. 9A, load cells 310a-310d; Fig. 15, load cells 310a-310d, grain cart 300; pars. 88, 90).
With regard to coupling each of the plurality of weight sensors with a junction box configured to combine the signals produced thereby and communicate the combined signals to a processor for processing and subsequent transmission to a remote device coupled with the processor; Van Mill teaches that the load cells are connected to a junction box which is connected to an indicator (Fig. 9A, junction box 401, indicator 403; pars. 90, 93).
With regard to one of connecting or disconnecting, electronically by the junction box, one or more of the plurality of weight sensors such that the combined signals communicated to the processor include only signals produced by the electronically connected weight sensors and do not include signals produced by the electronically disconnected weight sensors; Van Mill teaches that the junction box may multiplex each sensor (par. 90).
With regard to determining, by the processor, the mass of the container, and any material contained therein, while the container is moving based on the received combined signals; Van Mill teaches determining the total weight of the hopper or container (par. 93).
Claim 35 includes limitations that are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The specification discloses that the signals are combined through a typical passive junction box (Specification, par. 5; Fig. 4, junction box 15, weight sensors 14). Van Mill teaches a junction box that may be connected with sensors using typical wired or wireless connections (par. 91). The specification discloses Bluetooth or other means for wireless transmission that support the means for communicating. Van Mill discloses connecting the sensors using typical wired or wireless connections (par. 91). The specification discloses digitally controlled switches as a means for connecting or disconnecting (Specification, par. 86). Van Mill teaches a multiplexor as discussed above (par. 90). The specification discloses a processor for determining the mass of the container (pars. 48-59). Van Mill discloses a processor (par. 31).
Claims 3 and 20
Van Mill teaches that the coupling of the plurality of weight sensors further comprises mounting each of the plurality of weight sensors to the container so that the at least one weight sensor is most sensitive in a gravitational direction while the container is stationary and positioned on level ground (par. 88, load cell is placed between the hopper container and its support and thus beneath the hopper).
Claims 4 and 21
Van Mill teaches that the remote device is wirelessly coupled with the processor (par. 29, 91, indicator may communicate wirelessly).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Mill in view of AU 2012232994 to Gale (Gale).
Claims 2 and 19
Van Mill teaches all the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 2 depends and claim 18 upon which claim 19 depends. Van Mill does not teach that each of the plurality of weight sensors comprises a load cell coupled with a converter operative to convert a weight signal generated thereby into a digital representation thereof for communication to the processor via the junction box. Gale teaches connecting the output of load cells to an analog to digital converter (page 13, lines 14-25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the weight measurement, as taught by Van Mill, to include an analog to digital converter, as taught by Gale, because an analog to digital converter is a well known method of converting an analog signal to a digital signal for processing in a computer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-17 and 22-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states that the functionality taught by Van Mill is distinct from the current claims which require that the junction box create a single combined signal whose composition is determined by which sensors are electronically connected or disconnected. Applicant states that there is simply no disclosure in Van Mill of the junction box that is configured to electronically one of connect5 or disconnect the plurality of weight sensors as claimed. However, claim 1 requires one of connecting or disconnecting, electronically by the junction box, one or more of the plurality of weight sensors. While Van Mill does not explicitly disclose that any of the sensors are not eventually connected (disconnected), even if all the sensors are connected, Van Mill meets the claim language since at least one sensor is connected as required by the claim (par. 90).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANUEL L BARBEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857