DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “means for coupling a plurality of weight sensors with the container” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification discloses that weight sensors are installed (par. 37); and that the weight sensors may be mounted to be most sensitive in the downward direction (pars. 41-43). However there is no disclosure of the structure, materials or acts to couple the weight sensors with the container. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 18, 20, 21 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2014/0288789 to Van Mill et al. (Van Mill).
Claims 1, 18 and 35
With regard to coupling a plurality of weight sensors with the container, each configured to produce a signal indicative of a measure of the weight of the container, and any material contained therein, along an axis of measurement; Van Mill teaches load cells that are mounted on a grain cart to measure the wait of the grain cart (Fig. 9A, load cells 310a-310d; Fig. 15, load cells 310a-310d, grain cart 300; pars. 88, 90).
With regard to coupling each of the plurality of weight sensors with a junction box configured to combine the signals produced thereby and communicate the combined signals to a processor for processing and subsequent transmission to a remote device coupled with the processor; Van Mill teaches that the load cells are connected to a junction box which is connected to an indicator (Fig. 9A, junction box 401, indicator 403; pars. 90, 93).
With regard to one of connecting or disconnecting, electronically by the junction box, one or more of the of the plurality of weight sensors such that the combined signals communicated to the processor include only signals produced by the electronically connected weight sensors and do not include signals produced by the electronically disconnected weight sensors; Van Mill teaches that the junction box may multiplex each sensor (par. 90).
With regard to determining, by the processor, the mass of the container, and any material contained therein, while the container is moving based on the received combined signals; Van Mill teaches determining the total weight of the hopper or container (par. 93).
As discussed above, claim 35 includes limitations that are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The specification discloses that the signals are coupled through a typical passive junction box (Specification, par. 5; Fig. 4, junction box 15, weight sensors 14). Van Mill teaches a junction box that may be connected with sensors using typical wired or wireless connections (par. 91). The specification discloses digitally controlled switches as a means for connecting or disconnecting (Specification, par. 86). Van Mill teaches a multiplexor as discussed above (par. 90). The specification discloses a processor for determining the mass of the container (pars. 48-59). Van Mill discloses a processor (par. 31).
Claims 3 and 20
Van Mill teaches that the coupling of the plurality of weight sensors further comprises mounting each of the plurality of weight sensors to the container so that the at least one weight sensor is most sensitive in a gravitational direction while the container is stationary and positioned on level ground (par. 88, load cell is placed between the hopper container and its support and thus beneath the hopper).
Claims 4 and 21
Van Mill teaches that the remote device is wirelessly coupled with the processor (par. 29, 91, indicator may communicate wirelessly).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Mill in view of AU 2012232994 to Gale (Gale).
Claims 2 and 19
Van Mill teaches all the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 2 depends and claim 18 upon which claim 19 depends. Van Mill does not teach that each of the plurality of weight sensors comprises a load cell coupled with a converter operative to convert a weight signal generated thereby into a digital representation thereof for communication to the processor via the junction box. Gale teaches connecting the output of load cells to an analog to digital converter (page 13, lines 14-25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the weight measurement, as taught by Van Mill, to include an analog to digital converter, as taught by Gale, because an analog to digital converter is a well known method of converting an analog signal to a digital signal for processing in a computer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-17 and 22-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication 2006/0046800 to Kaltenheuser teaches a method for weighing crop on board a harvester.
/MANUEL L BARBEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857