DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks, Amendments
Applicant is thanked for their October 15, 2025 response to the Office Action filed July 17, 2025. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 – 19 have been considered, and inasmuch as they pertain to prior art still being relied upon, the examiner’s response follows below. Respectfully, any arguments/ remarks directed towards newly amended limitations are moot if they resulted in a new ground(s) of rejection.
In response to the 35 USC §103 rejection of Claim 1 as being anticipated by Nomura et al (JPH 8-200904), in view of Hansmann et al (DE 10 2015 003 745), Applicant remarked (inter alia) that, “No combination of the cited references teaches or suggests the claimed1 features noted above. In particular, the reference to Hansmann, which is the only reference cited for the purpose of providing a teaching of a detection assembly, is completely silent as to any notion of radiation emitted by the emitter toward the detector such that the radiation passes through an elongate section of an enclosure "twice, once along a first radiation pathway, which is defined between the emitter and the optical element, and once along a second radiation pathway, which is angled relative to the first radiation pathway and which is defined between the optical element and the detector" as claimed.
The examiner respectfully notes that, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e.,” an optical element to reflect radiation emitted by the emitter toward the detector such that the radiation passes through an elongate section of the enclosure twice”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
However, The examiner respectfully take exception with the statement “the reference to Hansmann, (which) is the only reference cited for the purpose of teaching a detection assembly”. Please refer to paragraphs 13 – 16 of the July 17, 2025 office action, for the teachings of Kates (US 2006/0267756).
In response to the 35 USC §103 rejection of Claims 2, 9, 11, and 18 as being anticipated by Nomura et al (JPH 8-200904), in view of Kates (US 2006/0267756), Applicant remarked (inter alia) that, “these rejections are overcome by the amendments to claims 1, 2, and 11.”
The examiner respectfully notes that, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e.,” an optical element to reflect radiation emitted by the emitter toward the detector such that the radiation passes through an elongate section of the enclosure twice”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to the 35 USC §103 rejection of Claims 3, 4, 12, and 13 as being anticipated by Nomura et al (JPH 8-200904), in view of Kates (US 2006/0267756), and further in view of Taira et al (US 2002/0178738), Applicant remarked (inter alia) that, ““these rejections are overcome by the amendments to claims 1, 2, and 11.”
The examiner respectfully notes that, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e.,” an optical element to reflect radiation emitted by the emitter toward the detector such that the radiation passes through an elongate section of the enclosure twice”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Objections
In re Claim 2, line 15, insufficient antecedent basis has been provided for the limitation “wherein the detection assembly comprises…”
For purposes of examination, the claim has been understood as if to disclose:
“wherein the refrigerant detection sensor comprises a detection assembly, the detection assembly comprises: an emitter: a detector; an optical element to reflect radiation emitted by the emitter toward the detector such that the radiation passes through an elongate section of the enclosure twice, once along a first radiation pathway, which is defined between the emitter and the optical element, and once along a second radiation pathway, which is angled relative to the first radiation pathway and which is defined between the optical element and the detector; and a band pass filter disposed along the second radiation pathway.”
In re Claim 4, in light of the antecedence for “a detection assembly” in claim 2, the limitation “a detection assembly” is unclear. For purposes of examination, the claim has been understood as if to disclose, “wherein the refrigerant detection sensor comprises:
In re Claim 11, line 14, insufficient antecedent basis has been provided for the limitation “wherein the detection assembly comprises…”
For purposes of examination, the claim has been understood as if to disclose:
“wherein the refrigerant detection sensor comprises a detection assembly, the detection assembly comprises: an emitter; a detector; an optical element to reflect radiation emitted by the emitter toward the detector such that the radiation passes through an elongate section of the enclosure twice, once along a first radiation pathway, which is defined between the emitter and the optical element, and once along a second radiation pathway, which is angled relative to the first radiation pathway and which is defined between the optical element and the detector; and a band pass filter disposed along the second radiation pathway.
In re Claim 13, in light of the antecedence for “a detection assembly” in claim 11, the limitation “a detection assembly” is unclear. For purposes of examination, the claim has been understood as if to disclose, “wherein the refrigerant detection sensor comprises:
Appropriate correction or clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al (JPH 8 200904), in view of Yokura et al (US 2004/018862), in view of Sotani (JPH 09184803).
In re Claim 1, Nomura et al discloses a controllable moderate-to-low global warming potential (GWP) value refrigerant [0001: ammonia] leak detector (fig 1: (35)), comprising:
a detection assembly (figs 1, 3: (35)) [0017]; and
an actuation assembly [0018] receptive of a signal (fig 5: (s1[Wingdings font/0xE8]s2)) which is reflective of a magnitude of the portion of the refrigerant, from the detector and configured for generation of a binary output based on the signal (via control device (39)) and for issuance of the binary output to a fan/vent controller.
Please note that “a signal reflective of a magnitude” has been interpreted as a binary Y/N signal; that refrigerant is sensed reflects a magnitude. Additionally, it has been understood that a binary Y/N signal is issued to the dampers (open/close) and to the fans (operate/ stop)
Nomura et al lacks the structures within the detection assembly, and so accordingly lacks:
an emitter;
a detector;
an optical element to reflect radiation emitted by the emitter toward the detector such that the radiation passes through an elongate section of an enclosure twice, once along a first radiation pathway, which is defined between the emitter and the optical element, and once along a second radiation pathway, which is angled relative to the first radiation pathway and which is defined between the optical element and the detector; and
a band pass filter disposed along the second radiation pathway, wherein:
the band pass filter is tuned for detection of the moderate-to-low GWP value refrigerant, and
the detector is receptive of a portion of the radiation passing through the band pass filter;
Yokura et al teaches a gas detection device, for gases including ammonia [0003], including a prior art gas detection device in JP-A-9-184803 (Sotani), discussed below.
Sotani teaches a detection assembly (figs 1 – 5) which is used as a gas alarm or gas concentration measuring instrument to be installed in the air conditioning control for a gas sensor and gas management within the area [0001], comprising:
an emitter (4);
a detector (5) (fig 5);
an optical element (2a) to reflect radiation emitted by the emitter toward the detector such that the radiation passes through a section of an enclosure twice, once along a first radiation pathway (S1), which is defined between the emitter and the optical element, and once along a second radiation pathway (S2), which is angled relative to the first radiation pathway and which is defined between the optical element and the detector; and
a band pass filter [0013] disposed along the second radiation pathway (“in the optical filter installation hole 18”), wherein:
the band pass filter is tuned for detection of a gas [0033]; and
the detector is receptive of a portion of the radiation passing through the band pass filter (apparent).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the proposed system of Nomura et al as taught by Yokura et al /Sotani, such that the detection assembly comprises:
an emitter;
a detector;
an optical element to reflect radiation emitted by the emitter toward the detector such that the radiation passes through an elongate section of an enclosure twice, once along a first radiation pathway, which is defined between the emitter and the optical element, and once along a second radiation pathway, which is angled relative to the first radiation pathway and which is defined between the optical element and the detector; and
a band pass filter disposed along the second radiation pathway, wherein:
the band pass filter is tuned for detection of a gas, and
the detector is receptive of a portion of the radiation passing through the band pass filter.
for the benefit of “an air conditioning operation can be controlled surely” {Abstract].
Regarding the limitation wherein the enclosure comprises an elongate section, Sotani teaches that an optical path length is as long as possible to increase detection sensitivity [0004], and by using a concave mirror, a doubled optical path length is formed [Abstract], reducing the length of an elongate section of the enclosure.
Upon consideration of the disclosure of Sotani, it would have been obvious to try forming the radiation passage as an elongate section to increase detection sensitivity, as choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions is within the capabilities of a person having ordinary skill in the mechanical arts, and they would have a reasonable expectation of success, based upon the characteristics of the science or technology, its state of advance, the nature of the known choices, the specificity or generality of the prior art, and the predictability of results in the area of interest.
Please note that criticality for an “elongate” section has not been discussed2 in the disclosure.
Claims 2, 9, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al (JPH 8-200904), in view of Yokura et al (US 2004/018862)/ Sotani (JPH 09184803), in view of Kates (US 2006/0267756).
In re Claim 2, Nomura et al discloses a method of operating an air conditioning system (fig 5)) comprising a refrigerant detection sensor (figs 1, 3: (35)) configured to execute leak detection [0017] with respect to leakage of refrigerant having a moderate-to-low global warming potential (GWP) value [0001: ammonia] into an enclosure (cabinet (3)), the method comprising:
setting the refrigerant detection sensor to a detection mode;
It has been understood that, at system start up, the refrigerant detection system is off (binary 0)
“First , it is monitored by the sensor 35 whether or not refrigerant leakage is detected; [0017]
If a refrigerant leak is not detected: fan 15 is engaged, the dampers 25 and 27 of the air supply / exhaust port 21 and the damper 31 of the exhaust port 29 are closed, the damper 19 of the outlet 17 is opened, indoor air is taken in from the intake port 9, cooled, and blown into the room.” [0017]
determining, at the refrigerant detection sensor, that a concentration of the refrigerant in a sample drawn from the enclosure exceeds a threshold defined in accordance with a most recent recalibration;
It has been understood that, when a concentration exceeds a threshold, the refrigerant detection system is on (binary 1)
It has been understood that a most recent calibration was a factory recalibration.
setting a binary output of the refrigerant detection sensor to correspond to leak or non-leak signals in an event the concentration exceeds or does not exceed the threshold, respectively; and
In response to a concentration exceeding a threshold, corresponding to a leak, the refrigerant detection system will perform an “on”, or “1” operation, (fig 4: S1[Wingdings font/0xE8]S2[Wingdings font/0xE8]S3[Wingdings font/0xE8]S4)
Conversely, a binary output of “off” or “0” will correspond to a non-leak signals in an event the concentration does not exceed the threshold,
mitigating the leakage of the refrigerant based on the binary output (“on” or “1”) corresponding to the leak signal. [0018] (fig 5: (s1[Wingdings font/0xE8]s2))
Please note that in the method of claim 4, while Nomura et al does not explicitly state that S1[Wingdings font/0xE8]S4 is the “on” or “1” state, but as the system has a standard operating mode (refrigerant detection system concentration below threshold and mitigation response off) and a leakage detection mode (refrigerant detection system concentration above threshold and mitigation response on), a person of ordinary skill would expect such an on/off mode.
Nomura et al lacks wherein the method comprises:
recalibrating the refrigerant detection sensor;
iteratively determining, at the refrigerant detection sensor, that a concentration of the refrigerant in a sample drawn from the enclosure exceeds a threshold defined in accordance with a most recent recalibration; and
wherein the refrigerant detection sensor comprises a detection assembly, the detection assembly comprises:
an emitter:
a detector;
an optical element to reflect radiation emitted by the emitter toward the detector such that the radiation passes through an elongate section of the enclosure twice, once along a first radiation pathway, which is defined between the emitter and the optical element, and once along a second radiation pathway, which is angled relative to the first radiation pathway and which is defined between the optical element and the detector; and
a band pass filter disposed along the second radiation pathway.
Yokura et al teaches a method for detecting a gas comprising a gas detection device, for gases including ammonia [0003], including a prior art gas detection device in JP-A-9-184803 (Sotani), discussed below.
Sotani teaches a method for detecting a gas comprising a detection assembly (figs 1 – 5) which is used as a gas alarm or gas concentration measuring instrument to be installed in the air conditioning control for a gas sensor and gas management within the area [0001], comprising:
an emitter (4);
a detector (5) (fig 5);
an optical element (2a) to reflect radiation emitted by the emitter toward the detector such that the radiation passes through a section of an enclosure twice, once along a first radiation pathway (S1), which is defined between the emitter and the optical element, and once along a second radiation pathway (S2), which is angled relative to the first radiation pathway and which is defined between the optical element and the detector; and
a band pass filter [0013] disposed along the second radiation pathway (“in the optical filter installation hole 18”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the proposed method of Nomura et al as taught by Yokura et al /Sotani, such that the method of operating an air conditioning system comprises:
an emitter;
a detector;
an optical element to reflect radiation emitted by the emitter toward the detector such that the radiation passes through an elongate section of an enclosure twice, once along a first radiation pathway, which is defined between the emitter and the optical element, and once along a second radiation pathway, which is angled relative to the first radiation pathway and which is defined between the optical element and the detector; and
a band pass filter disposed along the second radiation pathway
for the benefit of “an air conditioning operation can be controlled surely” {Abstract].
Regarding the limitation wherein the enclosure comprises an elongate section, Sotani teaches that an optical path length is as long as possible to increase detection sensitivity [0004], and by using a concave mirror, a doubled optical path length is formed [Abstract], reducing the length of an elongate section of the enclosure.
Upon consideration of the disclosure of Sotani, it would have been obvious to try forming the radiation passage as an elongate section to increase detection sensitivity, as choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions is within the capabilities of a person having ordinary skill in the mechanical arts, and they would have a reasonable expectation of success, based upon the characteristics of the science or technology, its state of advance, the nature of the known choices, the specificity or generality of the prior art, and the predictability of results in the area of interest.
Please note that criticality for an “elongate” section has not been discussed3 in the disclosure.
Kates teaches a method of operating an air conditioning system (fig 2:(350)) [0099] comprising a plurality of sensor units (102 – 106: “flammable gases, poison gasses etc.” [0034], the method (fig 6, fig 11) comprising:
recalibrating a detection sensor (fig 2 (102)) [0093];
setting the detection sensor to a detection mode (fig 6: (614) ;
iteratively determining (as seen in fig 6), at the detection sensor, that a concentration of the (gas) in a sample drawn from the enclosure exceeds a threshold defined in accordance with a most recent recalibration; [0056]
setting an output of the detection sensor (102) to correspond to a leak signals in an event a detected gas concentration exceeds a threshold (fig 6 606[Wingdings font/0xE8]607[Wingdings font/0xE8]608); and
transmit a signal that alerts personnel [0012].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the proposed method, as taught by Kates, such that the method comprises:
recalibrating the refrigerant detection sensor;
iteratively determining, at the refrigerant detection sensor, that a concentration of the refrigerant in a sample drawn from the enclosure exceeds a threshold defined in accordance with a most recent recalibration;
for the benefit of adjusting between factory calibration and installed calibration, to compensate for differences in operational conditions and improving reliability.
In re Claim 9, the proposed method has been discussed, wherein Kates teaches further comprising executing diagnostics [0020, 0037 ] at the predefined intervals (“at programmed intervals”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the proposed method, as taught by Kates, such that the method comprises executing diagnostics at predefined intervals, for the benefit of automatically generating a report if a diagnostic issue is detected, improving user safety.
In re Claim 11, see above In re Claim 2, wherein the proposed combination discloses a method of operating an air conditioning system comprising a refrigerant detection sensor configured to execute leak detection with respect to leakage of refrigerant having a moderate-to-low global warming potential (GWP) value into an enclosure, the method comprising:
setting the refrigerant detection sensor to a detection mode;
iteratively determining, at the refrigerant detection sensor, that a concentration of the refrigerant in a sample drawn from the enclosure exceeds a threshold defined in accordance with a most recent recalibration of the refrigerant detection sensor;
setting a binary output of the refrigerant detection sensor to correspond to leak or non-leak signals in an event the concentration exceeds or does not exceed the threshold, respectively; and
mitigating the leakage of the refrigerant based on the binary output corresponding to the leak signal,
wherein the refrigerant detection sensor comprises a detection assembly, the detection assembly comprises:
an emitter;
a detector;
an optical element to reflect radiation emitted by the emitter toward the detector such that the radiation passes through an elongate section of the enclosure twice, once along a first radiation pathway, which is defined between the emitter and the optical element, and once along a second radiation pathway, which is angled relative to the first radiation pathway and which is defined between the optical element and the detector; and
a band pass filter disposed along the second radiation pathway.
In re Claim 18, see above In re Claim 9, wherein the proposed method further comprising executing diagnostics at the predefined intervals.
Claims 3, 4, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al (JPH 8-200904), in view of Yokura et al (US 2004/018862)/Sotani (JPH 09184803), in view of Kates (US 2006/0267756), and further in view of Taira et al (US 2002/0178738)
In re Claim 3, Nomura et al discloses disposing the refrigerant detection sensor 35 proximate a vicinity of an air outlet (17), but is silent as to whether it is also proximate to a pooling region of the enclosure. However, such a technique is known the mechanical arts, as evidenced by Taira et al.
Taira et al teaches a method of operating an air conditioner, comprising a casing (2), heat exchanger(3), and a gas sensor (11) placed proximate to a collection region of the enclosure [0011], wherein when a refrigerant gas is sensed by the gas sensor it can reliably be detected.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the proposed method as taught by Taira et al such that the method comprises disposing the refrigerant detection sensor proximate to a pooling region of the enclosure, for the benefit of easily detecting refrigerant that is heavier than air, for improved response time.
In re Claim 4, Nomura et al discloses wherein the refrigerant detection sensor comprises:
4
an actuation assembly [0018] receptive of a signal from the detection assembly (fig 5: (s1[Wingdings font/0xE8]s2)) and configured for generation of a binary output based on the signal (via control device (39)) and for issuance of the binary output to the ( fan/vent) controller.
Please note that “a signal reflective of a magnitude” has been interpreted as a binary Y/N signal; that refrigerant is sensed reflects a magnitude. Additionally, it has been understood that a binary Y/N signal is issued to the dampers (open/close) and to the fans (operate/ stop)
In re Claim 12, see above In re Claim 3, wherein the proposed combination discloses further comprising disposing the refrigerant detection sensor proximate to a pooling region of the enclosure.
In re Claim 13, see above In re Claim 4, wherein the proposed combination discloses the refrigerant detection sensor comprises:
5
an actuation assembly receptive of a signal from the detection assembly and configured for generation of the binary output based on the signal and for issuance of the binary output to the controller.
Claims 6, 7, 10, 15, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al (JPH 8-200904), in view of Yokura et al (US 2004/018862)/Sotani (JPH 09184803), in view of Kates (US 2006/0267756), and further in view of Hansmann et al (DE 10 2015 003 745),
In re Claim 6, the proposed method has been discussed wherein Hansmann et al teaches further comprising configuring the detection assembly to detect multiple types of the gasses 6[0004], and
[0004] “In order to be able to make such qualitative statements, gas detectors generally have a bandpass filter which is arranged at the emitter and/or the detector and is configured only for transmitting light waves of a specific wavelength or a discrete spectrum of a plurality of wavelengths.”
The above has been understood to disclose that multiple types of gases, that share the same “discrete spectrum of a plurality of wavelengths”, would be detected.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the proposed method, as taught by Hansmann et al, such that the method comprises configuring the detection assembly to detect multiple types of the refrigerant, for the benefit of cost savings by using the same sensor even if the manufacturer refrigerant is replaced with an alternate refrigerant .
In re Claim 7, the proposed method has been discussed wherein Kates teaches the detection assembly comprises a flow driving element [0008].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the proposed method, as taught by Kates, such that the assembly comprises a flow driving element, for the benefit of improving air exchange between the sensor and ambient air to improve response time [0109] and improve system reliability.
In re Claim 10, see above In re Claim 2, wherein Nomura et al further discloses the mitigating comprises:
activating a fan (15) and opening a vent (25, 27) (fig 4: S3, S4)[0018] on the binary output corresponding to the leak signal (fig 4, S1), and
deactivating the fan and closing the vent(fig 4, SS7[Wingdings font/0xE8]S8[Wingdings font/0xE8]S9) [0019] based on the binary output corresponding to the non-leak signal.
In re Claim 15, see above In re Claim 6, wherein the proposed method further comprising configuring the detection assembly to detect multiple types of the refrigerant.
In re Claim 16, see above In re Claim 7, wherein the proposed detection assembly comprises a flow driving element.
In re Claim 19, see above in re Claim 14, wherein the proposed mitigating method comprises:
activating a fan and opening a vent based on the binary output corresponding to the leak signal, and
deactivating the fan and closing the vent based on the binary output corresponding to the non-leak signal.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al (JPH 8-200904), in view of Yokura et al (US 2004/018862)/Sotani (JPH 09184803), in view of Kates (US 2006/0267756), and further in view of Bhatnagar (US 2001/0039190).
In re Claim 8, the proposed method has been discussed (see in re Claim 5), however, the refrigerant detection sensor lacks an analog-to-binary** output conversion circuit.
Bhatnagar teaches a configurable electronic controller for HVAC systems (claim 52) comprising an input interface circuitry, comprising the steps of
processing digital** input signals, and
performing an analog-to-digital** conversion, when the input signal is analog [0040],
to provide a digital output by means of configuration data supplied by the said configuration memory [0012 - 0013] at low cost.
**Please note that it has been understood that digital signals are analogous to binary signals
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the proposed method as taught by Bhatnagar, such that the system comprises an analog-to-binary output conversion circuit, for the benefit of an interface that is capable of flexible and configurable to process both analog and digital inputs, with a digital output, at low cost.
In re Claim 17, see above in re Claim 8, wherein the proposed method further comprises the refrigerant detection sensor comprises an analog-to-binary output conversion circuit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the PTO-892: Notice of References Cited.
Wong (US 5,502,308) teaches a gas detection assembly (fig 2) comprising;
an emitter (26)
a detector (28)
an optical element (reflective coating (18)) to reflect radiation emitted by the emitter toward the detector such that the radiation passes through an elongate section of an enclosure twice (as seen in fig 2), once along a first radiation pathway, which is defined between the emitter (26) and the optical element (18), and once along a second radiation pathway, which is angled (α) relative to the first radiation pathway and which is defined between the optical element (18) and the detector (28); and
a band pass filter (30) disposed along the second radiation pathway between the emitter (26) and the detector (28), wherein:
the band pass filter (30) is tuned for detection of an analyte gas the moderate-to-low GWP value refrigerant, and the detector is receptive of a portion of the radiation passing through the band pass filter (col 4, lns 37 – 40).
Boyle et al (US 2004/0129884) teaches a gas detector (fig 16), comprising:
a detection assembly (371) comprising;
an emitter (19)
a detector (23)
an optical element (reflective coating (373) on convex surface (9) [0111, 0115) to reflect radiation emitted by the emitter toward the detector such that the radiation passes (375) through an elongate section of an enclosure twice, once along a first radiation pathway, which is defined between the emitter and the optical element, and once along a second radiation pathway, which is angled relative to the first radiation pathway and which is defined between the optical element and the detector; and
“a substantial light emitted by the source is twice reflected, as shown by light ray 375, from convex surface 9 of IRE 3 before light of the filter frequency is received by the detector.” [0111]
a band pass filter (51) disposed along the second radiation pathway between the emitter(19) and the detector (23), wherein:
the band pass filter (51) is tuned for detection of a gas, and
the detector is receptive of a portion of the radiation passing through the band pass filter [0111]; and
an actuation assembly (“controller”) receptive of a signal (via (41)), which is reflective of a magnitude of the portion of the radiation, from the detector and configured for generation of a signal output via 7 binary output based on the signal and for issuance of the binary output to a fan/vent controller.
Contact Information
/Frances F Hamilton/
Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762
1 claimed amended features
2 Specification paragraphs [0008, 0018, 0021, 0044], of US 2021/0108819
3 Specification paragraphs [0008, 0018, 0021, 0044], of US 2021/0108819
4 Please refer to Claim Objections, above
5 Please refer to Claim Objections, above
6 claim 6