DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 30 October 2023.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plan view ordering of layers as recited by claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukagawa et al. (US 2020/0220116 A1; hereinafter Fukagawa).
In regards to claim 1, Fukagawa teaches, e.g. in figs. 2 and 6, an organic device comprising:
a pixel region (A10) [0033] which is disposed above a first main surface (e.g. upper surface) of a substrate (10) [0049] and in which a plurality of pixels (P) [0034] are disposed;
a peripheral region (A20) [0033] which is disposed outside the pixel region above the first main surface;
an external connection electrode (37) [0035] which is disposed in the peripheral region above the first main surface;
a first sealing film (41) [0070-0071] disposed above (e.g. (41) is disposed on a plane above (37)) the external connection electrode; and
a second sealing film (42) [0074] which is disposed above (e.g. (42) is disposed on a plane above (37)) the external connection electrode and a material of which is different from a material of the first sealing film ([0071], [0074]: (41) and (42) can be formed of different materials),
wherein the second sealing film is disposed above the first sealing film ((42) is disposed above (41)), and
wherein, in the peripheral region, the organic device is provided with, in the first sealing film, an opening (49) which exposes the external connection electrode [0090] and, between the opening and the pixel region, a first groove in which the second sealing film is disposed (see annotated fig. 6).
Annotated fig. 6
In regards to claim 2, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations wherein, in the organic device, the pixels are not disposed in the peripheral region (fig. 2: pixels (P) are not disposed in (A20)).
In regards to claim 5, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations moisture permeability of the first sealing film (41) ([0070-0071], [0074]: e.g. (42) can be made of SiN and (41) can be made of SiO2).
In regards to claim 6, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations wherein the first sealing film (41) contains silicon oxide [0070-0071].
In regards to claim 7, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations wherein the second sealing film (42) contains silicon nitride [0074].
In regards to claim 13, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations of a photoelectric conversion apparatus comprising:
an image capturing element that receives light [0152]; and
a display section that displays an image captured by the image capturing element,
wherein the display section is the organic device according to Claim 1 ([0152]: camera which would have an image capturing element and a display section).
In regards to claim 14, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations of a display apparatus comprising:
a display section that includes the organic device according to Claim 1 [0152]; and
a housing in which the display section is provided (Title & [0152]: camera which would have a housing).
In regards to claim 15, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations of an electronic device comprising:
a display section that includes the organic device according to Claim 1 [0152];
a housing in which the display section is provided [0152]; and
a communication section which is provided in the housing and which communicates with an outside ([0152]: smartphone, which would have a housing an communication section).
In regards to claim 16, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations of a lighting apparatus comprising:
a light source that includes the organic device according to Claim 1 [0152]; and
a housing in which the light source is provided ([0152]: illuminating light).
In regards to claim 17, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations of a moving object comprising:
a light fitting that includes the organic device according to Claim 1 [0152]; and
a body in which the light fitting is provided ([0152]: vehicle mounted display unit which would be on a moving object with a light and a body).
In regards to claim 18, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations wearable device comprising:
a display section that includes the organic device according to Claim 1 [0152];
an optical system that concentrates light to the display section [0152]; and
a control apparatus that controls operation of the display section ([0152]: multiple devices with display sections, optical systems, and control apparatuses).
In regards to claim 19, Fukagawa teaches, e.g. in figs. 2 and 6, a method for manufacturing an organic device (Title), the method comprising the steps of:
preparing the organic device that includes a pixel region (A10) [0033] which is disposed above a substrate (10) [0049] and in which a plurality of pixels (P) [0034] are disposed, a peripheral region (A20) [0033] which is disposed outside the pixel region above the substrate, an external connection electrode (37) [0035] which is disposed in the peripheral region above the substrate, and a first sealing film (41) [0070-0071] disposed above the external connection electrode above the substrate (e.g. (41) is disposed on a plane above (37));
forming, in the first sealing film, a first groove (see annotated fig. 6) that exposes the external connection electrode or the substrate disposed in the peripheral region;
disposing a second sealing film (42) [0074] above the first sealing film ((42) is disposed above (41)) after the forming of the first groove has been performed; and
forming, after the forming of the second sealing film has been performed, an opening (49) that exposes the external connection electrode [0090].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukagawa as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Koshihara (US 2017/0237032 A1; hereinafter Koshihara).
In regards to claim 3, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa appears to be silent as to, but does not preclude, the limitations wherein, in the first groove, the second sealing film is in contact with the external connection electrode. Koshihara teaches, e.g. in figs. 4-5, the limitations wherein, in the first groove (35A) [0128], the second sealing film (43) [0128] is in contact with the external connection electrode (103) [0053]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the limitations taught by Fukagawa with the aforementioned limitations taught by Koshihara to provide an electro-optical device and an electronic apparatus that can improve the joining strength of an external connection substrate by preventing detachment from occurring at an interface between a sealing film and an insulation film (Koshihara [0008]).
In regards to claim 4, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa appears to be silent as to, but does not preclude, the limitations wherein the second sealing film is disposed so as to fill the first groove. Koshihara teaches, e.g. in figs. 4-5, the limitations wherein the second sealing film (43) [0128] is disposed so as to fill the first groove (35A) [0128]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the limitations taught by Fukagawa with the aforementioned limitations taught by Koshihara to provide an electro-optical device and an electronic apparatus that can improve the joining strength of an external connection substrate by preventing detachment from occurring at an interface between a sealing film and an insulation film (Koshihara [0008]).
In regards to claim 8, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa appears to be silent as to, but does not preclude, the limitations wherein, in plan view of the first main surface, the opening, the first sealing film, the second sealing film, and the first sealing film are provided in this order in a direction parallel to the first main surface. Koshihara teaches, e.g. in figs. 4-5, the limitations wherein, in plan view of the first main surface (upper surface of (5/11)) [0115], the opening (35A) [0128], the first sealing film (34a) [0129], the second sealing film (43) [0128], and the first sealing film are provided in this order in a direction parallel to the first main surface. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the limitations taught by Fukagawa with the aforementioned limitations taught by Koshihara to provide an electro-optical device and an electronic apparatus that can improve the joining strength of an external connection substrate by preventing detachment from occurring at an interface between a sealing film and an insulation film (Koshihara [0008]).
In regards to claim 9, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa appears to be silent as to, but does not preclude, the limitations wherein the organic device further has a second groove disposed around the opening, and the second sealing film is disposed in the second groove. Koshihara teaches, e.g. in figs. 4-5, the limitations wherein the organic device further has a second groove (35B) disposed around the opening (e.g. fig. 5: instances of (35B) surround the center instance of (35A)), and the second sealing film (43) is disposed in the second groove (fig. 5: (43) is disposed in instances of (35B)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the limitations taught by Fukagawa with the aforementioned limitations taught by Koshihara to provide an electro-optical device and an electronic apparatus that can improve the joining strength of an external connection substrate by preventing detachment from occurring at an interface between a sealing film and an insulation film (Koshihara [0008]).
In regards to claim 10, the combination of Fukagawa and Koshihara teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 9. Koshihara further teaches, e.g. in figs. 4-5, the limitations wherein, in the second groove (35B), the second sealing film (43) is in contact (e.g. via WE) with the external connection electrode (103). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the limitations taught by Fukagawa with the aforementioned limitations taught by Koshihara to provide an electro-optical device and an electronic apparatus that can improve the joining strength of an external connection substrate by preventing detachment from occurring at an interface between a sealing film and an insulation film (Koshihara [0008]).
In regards to claim 11, the combination of Fukagawa and Koshihara teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 9. Koshihara further teaches, e.g. in figs. 4-5, the limitations wherein the second sealing film (43) is disposed so as to fill the second groove (35B). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the limitations taught by Fukagawa with the aforementioned limitations taught by Koshihara to provide an electro-optical device and an electronic apparatus that can improve the joining strength of an external connection substrate by preventing detachment from occurring at an interface between a sealing film and an insulation film (Koshihara [0008]).
In regards to claim 12, the combination of Fukagawa and Koshihara teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 9. Koshihara further teaches, e.g. in figs. 4-5, the limitations wherein, in plan view of the first main surface (upper surface of (5/11)) [0115], the opening (35A) [0128], the first sealing film (34a) [0129], the second sealing film (43) [0128], and the first sealing film are provided in this order in a direction parallel to the first main surface. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the limitations taught by Fukagawa with the aforementioned limitations taught by Koshihara to provide an electro-optical device and an electronic apparatus that can improve the joining strength of an external connection substrate by preventing detachment from occurring at an interface between a sealing film and an insulation film (Koshihara [0008]).
Conclusion
CALVIN CHOI
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2812
/CALVIN Y CHOI/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812