DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Remarks and Amendments filed on 15 April 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukagawa et al. (US 2020/0220116 A1; cited in the prior Office Action dated 16 January 2026; hereinafter Fukagawa).
In regards to claim 1, Fukagawa teaches, e.g. in figs. 2 and 6, an organic device comprising:
a pixel region (A10) [0033] which is disposed above a first main surface (e.g. upper surface) of a substrate (10) [0049] and in which a plurality of pixels (P) [0034] are disposed;
a peripheral region (A20) [0033] which is disposed outside the pixel region above the first main surface;
an external connection electrode (37) [0035] which is disposed in the peripheral region above the first main surface;
a first sealing film (41) [0070-0071] disposed above (e.g. (41) is disposed on a plane above (37)) the external connection electrode; and
a second sealing film (42) [0074] which is disposed above (e.g. (42) is disposed on a plane above (37)) the external connection electrode and a material of which is different from a material of the first sealing film ([0071], [0074]: (41) and (42) can be formed of different materials),
wherein the second sealing film is disposed above the first sealing film ((42) is disposed above (41)), and
wherein, in the peripheral region, the organic device is provided with, in the first sealing film, an opening (49) which exposes the external connection electrode [0090] and, wherein a first groove (annotated fig. 6: e.g. the groove/depression/indentation/lowering of the surface height of (41) in the z-direction) in which the second sealing film is disposed is provided between the opening and the pixel region and in the first sealing film (see annotated fig. 6: (42) is conformal with and disposed in the groove/depression/indentation/lowering of the surface height of (41) in the z-direction; furthermore, point at which the groove/depression/indentation/lower of the surface height of (41) starts exists between opening (49) and the pixel region (A10)).
Annotated fig. 6
In regards to claim 2, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations wherein, in the organic device, the pixels are not disposed in the peripheral region (fig. 2: pixels (P) are not disposed in (A20)).
In regards to claim 5, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations moisture permeability of the first sealing film (41) ([0070-0071], [0074]: e.g. (42) can be made of SiN and (41) can be made of SiO2).
In regards to claim 6, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations wherein the first sealing film (41) contains silicon oxide [0070-0071].
In regards to claim 7, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations wherein the second sealing film (42) contains silicon nitride [0074].
In regards to claim 13, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations of a photoelectric conversion apparatus comprising:
an image capturing element that receives light [0152]; and
a display section that displays an image captured by the image capturing element,
wherein the display section is the organic device according to Claim 1 ([0152]: camera which would have an image capturing element and a display section).
In regards to claim 14, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations of a display apparatus comprising:
a display section that includes the organic device according to Claim 1 [0152]; and
a housing in which the display section is provided (Title & [0152]: camera which would have a housing).
In regards to claim 15, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations of an electronic device comprising:
a display section that includes the organic device according to Claim 1 [0152];
a housing in which the display section is provided [0152]; and
a communication section which is provided in the housing and which communicates with an outside ([0152]: smartphone, which would have a housing an communication section).
In regards to claim 16, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations of a lighting apparatus comprising:
a light source that includes the organic device according to Claim 1 [0152]; and
a housing in which the light source is provided ([0152]: illuminating light).
In regards to claim 17, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations of a moving object comprising:
a light fitting that includes the organic device according to Claim 1 [0152]; and
a body in which the light fitting is provided ([0152]: vehicle mounted display unit which would be on a moving object with a light and a body).
In regards to claim 18, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa further teaches the limitations wearable device comprising:
a display section that includes the organic device according to Claim 1 [0152];
an optical system that concentrates light to the display section [0152]; and
a control apparatus that controls operation of the display section ([0152]: multiple devices with display sections, optical systems, and control apparatuses).
In regards to claim 19, Fukagawa teaches, e.g. in figs. 2 and 6, a method for manufacturing an organic device (Title), the method comprising the steps of:
preparing the organic device that includes a pixel region (A10) [0033] which is disposed above a substrate (10) [0049] and in which a plurality of pixels (P) [0034] are disposed, a peripheral region (A20) [0033] which is disposed outside the pixel region above the substrate, an external connection electrode (37) [0035] which is disposed in the peripheral region above the substrate, and a first sealing film (41) [0070-0071] disposed above the external connection electrode above the substrate (e.g. (41) is disposed on a plane above (37));
forming, in the first sealing film, a first groove (see annotated fig. 6) that exposes the external connection electrode or the substrate disposed in the peripheral region;
disposing a second sealing film (42) [0074] above the first sealing film ((42) is disposed above (41)) after the forming of the first groove has been performed; and
forming, after the forming of the second sealing film has been performed, an opening (49) that exposes the external connection electrode [0090], wherein the first groove is provided between the opening and the pixel region (see annotated fig. 6: (42) is conformal with and disposed in the groove/depression/indentation/lowering of the surface height of (41) in the z-direction; furthermore, point at which the groove/depression/indentation/lower of the surface height of (41) starts exists between opening (49) and the pixel region (A10)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukagawa as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Koshihara (US 2017/0237032 A1; cited in the prior Office Action dated 16 January 2026; hereinafter Koshihara).
In regards to claim 3, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa appears to be silent as to, but does not preclude, the limitations wherein, in the first groove, the second sealing film is in contact with the external connection electrode. Koshihara teaches, e.g. in figs. 4-5, the limitations wherein, in the first groove (35A) [0128], the second sealing film (43) [0128] is in contact with the external connection electrode (103) [0053]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the limitations taught by Fukagawa with the aforementioned limitations taught by Koshihara to provide an electro-optical device and an electronic apparatus that can improve the joining strength of an external connection substrate by preventing detachment from occurring at an interface between a sealing film and an insulation film (Koshihara [0008]).
In regards to claim 4, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa appears to be silent as to, but does not preclude, the limitations wherein the second sealing film is disposed so as to fill the first groove. Koshihara teaches, e.g. in figs. 4-5, the limitations wherein the second sealing film (43) [0128] is disposed so as to fill the first groove (35A) [0128]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the limitations taught by Fukagawa with the aforementioned limitations taught by Koshihara to provide an electro-optical device and an electronic apparatus that can improve the joining strength of an external connection substrate by preventing detachment from occurring at an interface between a sealing film and an insulation film (Koshihara [0008]).
In regards to claim 9, Fukagawa teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Fukagawa appears to be silent as to, but does not preclude, the limitations wherein the organic device further has a second groove disposed around the opening, and the second sealing film is disposed in the second groove. Koshihara teaches, e.g. in figs. 4-5, the limitations wherein the organic device further has a second groove (35B) disposed around the opening (e.g. fig. 5: instances of (35B) surround the center instance of (35A)), and the second sealing film (43) is disposed in the second groove (fig. 5: (43) is disposed in instances of (35B)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the limitations taught by Fukagawa with the aforementioned limitations taught by Koshihara to provide an electro-optical device and an electronic apparatus that can improve the joining strength of an external connection substrate by preventing detachment from occurring at an interface between a sealing film and an insulation film (Koshihara [0008]).
In regards to claim 10, the combination of Fukagawa and Koshihara teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 9. Koshihara further teaches, e.g. in figs. 4-5, the limitations wherein, in the second groove (35B), the second sealing film (43) is in contact (e.g. via WE) with the external connection electrode (103). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the limitations taught by Fukagawa with the aforementioned limitations taught by Koshihara to provide an electro-optical device and an electronic apparatus that can improve the joining strength of an external connection substrate by preventing detachment from occurring at an interface between a sealing film and an insulation film (Koshihara [0008]).
In regards to claim 11, the combination of Fukagawa and Koshihara teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 9. Koshihara further teaches, e.g. in figs. 4-5, the limitations wherein the second sealing film (43) is disposed so as to fill the second groove (35B). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the limitations taught by Fukagawa with the aforementioned limitations taught by Koshihara to provide an electro-optical device and an electronic apparatus that can improve the joining strength of an external connection substrate by preventing detachment from occurring at an interface between a sealing film and an insulation film (Koshihara [0008]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 and 9-19 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection does not rely on the references in the same manner as applied in the prior rejection of record in response to the Amendments filed 15 April 2026.
Examiner thanks Applicant for the Remarks filed 15 April 2026. The Remarks appear to assert that Fukagawa (citation above) does not teach, alone or in combination, the existing and newly amended limitations of claims 1 and 19; however, Examiner respectfully submits that Fukagawa teaches the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitations of claims 1 and 19. Specifically, the Office Action above exchanges annotated fig. 6 for a clarified version. The Remarks appear to present an interpretation of the prior Office Action wherein the cut (49) as the groove recited in claims 1 and 19; however Examiner respectfully submits that the version of annotated fig. 6 above should clarify that the groove in question is not the cut (49), but the annotated depression/indentation/change in surface height of (41). Examiner respectfully submits that this change in surface height of (41) meets the plain meaning definition of the term “groove” as the change in height is a depression, indentation, etc.
Furthermore, the Remarks appear to assert that the second sealing film (42) should be provided in the groove formed in a first sealing film (41). Examiner respectfully submits that the clarification provided above in annotated fig. 6 shows that (42) is conformal to and provided in the groove/depression/indentation/change in surface height of (41).
Finally, the Remarks appear to assert that Fukagawa does not teach the step of etching (41) to form the groove in question; however Examiner respectfully submits the limitation of “etching” to form the groove is not recited. Rather, the limitations of claim 19 state “forming” a groove, which is broader than the step of “etching”. Specifically, the groove in question can be formed by conformal deposition of layers onto underlying features, resulting in a depression/indentation/change in surface height.
In light of this discussion, Examiner respectfully submits that Fukagawa, as currently cited, teaches the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitations of claims 1 and 19; and consequently the combination of Fukagawa and Koshihara teach the limitations of claims 1-7 and 9-19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claim 20, Fukagawa teaches, e.g. in figs. 2 and 6, an organic device comprising:
a pixel region (A10) [0033] which is disposed above a first main surface (e.g. upper surface) of a substrate (10) [0049] and in which a plurality of pixels (P) [0034] are disposed;
a peripheral region (A20) [0033] which is disposed outside the pixel region above the first main surface;
an external connection electrode (37) [0035] which is disposed in the peripheral region above the first main surface;
a first sealing film (41) [0070-0071] disposed above (e.g. (41) is disposed on a plane above (37)) the external connection electrode; and
a second sealing film (42) [0074] which is disposed above (e.g. (42) is disposed on a plane above (37)) the external connection electrode and a material of which is different from a material of the first sealing film ([0071], [0074]: (41) and (42) can be formed of different materials),
wherein the second sealing film is disposed above the first sealing film ((42) is disposed above (41)), and
wherein, in the peripheral region, the organic device is provided with, in the first sealing film, an opening (49) which exposes the external connection electrode [0090] and, wherein a first groove (annotated fig. 6: e.g. the groove/depression/indentation/lowering of the surface height of (41) in the z-direction) in which the second sealing film is disposed is provided between the opening and the pixel region and in the first sealing film (see annotated fig. 6: (42) is conformal with and disposed in the groove/depression/indentation/lowering of the surface height of (41) in the z-direction; furthermore, point at which the groove/depression/indentation/lower of the surface height of (41) starts exists between opening (49) and the pixel region (A10)).
The closest prior art (Fukagawa and Koshihara) does not teach, alone or in combination, the limitations wherein, in a sectional view relative to the first main surface, the pixel region, the first sealing film, the second sealing film, the first sealing film, and the opening are arranged in this order in a direction parallel to the first main surface.
Claims 8 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claim 8, Fukagawa teaches, e.g. in figs. 2 and 6, an organic device comprising:
a pixel region (A10) [0033] which is disposed above a first main surface (e.g. upper surface) of a substrate (10) [0049] and in which a plurality of pixels (P) [0034] are disposed;
a peripheral region (A20) [0033] which is disposed outside the pixel region above the first main surface;
an external connection electrode (37) [0035] which is disposed in the peripheral region above the first main surface;
a first sealing film (41) [0070-0071] disposed above (e.g. (41) is disposed on a plane above (37)) the external connection electrode; and
a second sealing film (42) [0074] which is disposed above (e.g. (42) is disposed on a plane above (37)) the external connection electrode and a material of which is different from a material of the first sealing film ([0071], [0074]: (41) and (42) can be formed of different materials),
wherein the second sealing film is disposed above the first sealing film ((42) is disposed above (41)), and
wherein, in the peripheral region, the organic device is provided with, in the first sealing film, an opening (49) which exposes the external connection electrode [0090] and, wherein a first groove (annotated fig. 6: e.g. the groove/depression/indentation/lowering of the surface height of (41) in the z-direction) in which the second sealing film is disposed is provided between the opening and the pixel region and in the first sealing film (see annotated fig. 6: (42) is conformal with and disposed in the groove/depression/indentation/lowering of the surface height of (41) in the z-direction; furthermore, point at which the groove/depression/indentation/lower of the surface height of (41) starts exists between opening (49) and the pixel region (A10)).
The closest prior art (Fukagawa and Koshihara) does not teach, alone or in combination, the limitations wherein, in a sectional view relative to the first main surface, the pixel region, the first sealing film, the second sealing film, the first sealing film, and the opening are arranged in this order in a direction parallel to the first main surface.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CALVIN CHOI
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2812
/CALVIN Y CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812