DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment, filed 09/22/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 1-20 have been amended. This action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schemers et al. (“Schemers”, Pub. No. US 2009/0100347), Scott (Pub. No. 2011/0212711) and Chang et al. (“Chang”, Pub. No. US 2018/0337918).
Per claim 1, Schemers teaches a method applied to an electronic device, the method comprising:
receiving a first user-selected operation on a date label or a time label displayed on a first interface of a first application, wherein the date label indicates a date corresponding to information displayed on the first interface, and wherein the time label indicates time information corresponding to the information displayed on the first interface (fig. 4B; [0050]- [0052]; [0055]-[0065]; which shows recognition of dates is implementing by treating such dates (or references to specific days, etc.) as content objects, and to be associated with trigger events, and actions, including sending the object to a separate information system and taking some action upon information corresponding to the object within the separate information system);
displaying, in response to receiving the first user-selected operation, an operation menu comprising a first control (fig. 4B; [0053]; which shows a context menu may appear based on user interaction, which may make it possible for the user to add a new appointment corresponds to that day, add a new all-day appointment corresponds to that day, and/or to search emails associated with that day. [0055]-[0065]…the types of date-related words and date formats that can be recognized as date content objects include, but are not limited to: Today, tomorrow, yesterday, day after tomorrow, day before yesterday and days of the week ect.).
Schemer does not specifically teach wherein the first control indicates a manner of displaying a historical information record and includes a historical date and historical time period correspond to the date label or the time label; receiving a second user-selected operation on the first control; and displaying, in response to receiving the second user-selected operation on the first control, the historical information record of the second application that correspond to a first date or a first time period and on a second interface of a second application.
However, Scott teaches the first control indicates a manner of displaying a historical information record and includes a historical date and historical time period correspond to the date label or the time label (fig. 6B, which shows context menu 422 comprising one or more options for accessing historical information record of a calendar having a corresponding historical day/date and historical time period correspond to the date label or the time label).
Chang teaches receiving a second user-selected operation on the first control ([0297]…a calendar affordance is a type of task affordance that the user interacts with to initiate a task to select an appointment time with the business entity. The user interacts with calendar affordance 5080 to schedule an appointment with XYZ); and displaying, in response to receiving the second user-selected operation on the first control, the historical information record of the second application that correspond to a first date or a first time period and on a second interface of a second application (figs. 10O-10P and 10R-10S; [0298]… the device is operable to determine a schedule of the user and provide an indication of the user's schedule in calendar user interface 5082. As shown in FIG. 10P, descriptions of the user's events 5086A-5086B are provided in calendar user interface 5082 along with appointment time affordances 5084A-5084I. [0299]…As shown in FIG. 10R, a show more appointment time user interface overlays a portion of calendar user interface 5082. The show more appointment time user interface provides additional appointment affordances associated with additional times that the user has an option to select to make an appointment with the business entity. In the depicted embodiments, appointment time affordances 5084J-5084L correspond to additional appointment times not displayed in calendar user interface 5082. In addition, descriptions of the user's events are provided in 10R.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Scott and Chang in the invention of Schemers in order to provide a scheduling interface with scheduling records including dates and the available times corresponding to the dates, because doing so would enhance calendaring functionality for scheduling or adding an event based on a context date and/or time of the user.
Per claim 2, Schemers teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first control comprises information indicating the first date or information indicating the first time period (Schemers, fig. 4B; [0050]- [0052]; [0055]-[0065]; which shows recognition of dates is implementing by treating such dates (or references to specific days, etc.) as content objects, and to be associated with trigger events, and actions, including sending the object to a separate information system and taking some action upon information corresponding to the object within the separate information system)).
Per claim 3, Schemers teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the first date is consistent with a date indicated by the date label or the first time period corresponds to a time indicated by the time information (Schemers, fig. 4B; [0050]-[0053]; [0055]-[0065]; which shows a context menu may appear based on user interaction, which may make it possible for the user to add a new appointment for that day, add a new all day appointment for that day, and/or to search emails associated with that day).
Per claim 4, Schemer teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: displaying a second interface in response to the second user-selected operation, wherein the second interface comprises a calendar, receiving a user selection of the first date, and further displaying the historical information record in response to the selection (Chang, figs. 10O-10P and 10R-10S; [0298]… the device is operable to determine a schedule of the user and provide an indication of the user's schedule in calendar user interface 5082. As shown in FIG. 10P, descriptions of the user's events 5086A-5086B are provided in calendar user interface 5082 along with appointment time affordances 5084A-5084I. [0299]…As shown in FIG. 10R, a show more appointment time user interface overlays a portion of calendar user interface 5082. The show more appointment time user interface provides additional appointment affordances associated with additional times that the user has an option to select to make an appointment with the business entity. In the depicted embodiments, appointment time affordances 5084J-5084L correspond to additional appointment times not displayed in calendar user interface 5082. In addition, descriptions of the user's events are provided in 10R.)
Per claim 5, Schemers teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising further displaying the historical information record on the first date or within the first time period (Shemers, fig. 4B; [0050]-[0053]; which shows a context menu may appear based on user interaction, which may make it possible for the user to add a new appointment for that day, add a new all day appointment for that day, and/or to search emails associated with that day. [0055]-[0065]; which show a historical information record corresponding to the types of date-related words and date formats that can be recognized as date content objects include, for example, yesterday, day before yesterday; Chang, figs. 10O-10P and 10R-10S; [0298]… the device is operable to determine a schedule of the user and provide an indication of the user's schedule in calendar user interface 5082. As shown in FIG. 10P, descriptions of the user's events 5086A-5086B are provided in calendar user interface 5082 along with appointment time affordances 5084A-5084I. [0299]…As shown in FIG. 10R, a show more appointment time user interface overlays a portion of calendar user interface 5082. The show more appointment time user interface provides additional appointment affordances associated with additional times that the user has an option to select to make an appointment with the business entity. In the depicted embodiments, appointment time affordances 5084J-5084L correspond to additional appointment times not displayed in calendar user interface 5082. In addition, descriptions of the user's events are provided in 10R.).
Per claim 6, Schemers teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first control comprises an identifier of the second application, wherein the second application is different from the first application and wherein the method further comprises displaying the historical information record on the first date or within the first time period (Schemers, fig. 1A and 1B; [0041]-[0044]; which shows a miniature calendar display 110 with associated context menu allows the user to add a new appointment 130a for a specific day, to add a new all day appointment 130b for a specific day and/or searching for emails associated with a specific date). fig. 4B; [0053]; which shows a context menu may appear based on user interaction, which may make it possible for the user to add a new appointment for that day, add a new all day appointment for that day, and/or to search emails associated with that day. Chang, figs. 10O-10P and 10R-10S; [0298]… the device is operable to determine a schedule of the user and provide an indication of the user's schedule in calendar user interface 5082. As shown in FIG. 10P, descriptions of the user's events 5086A-5086B are provided in calendar user interface 5082 along with appointment time affordances 5084A-5084I. [0299]…As shown in FIG. 10R, a show more appointment time user interface overlays a portion of calendar user interface 5082. The show more appointment time user interface provides additional appointment affordances associated with additional times that the user has an option to select to make an appointment with the business entity. In the depicted embodiments, appointment time affordances 5084J-5084L correspond to additional appointment times not displayed in calendar user interface 5082. In addition, descriptions of the user's events are provided in 10R..).
Per claim 7, the modified Schemers teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising: determining the second application based on the identifier of the second application, determining the historical information record of the second application on the first date or within the first time period, and further displaying the historical information record on a third interface on the first date or within the first time period (Schemers, fig. 1A and 1B; [0041]-[0044]; which shows a miniature calendar display 110 with associated context menu allows the user to add a new appointment 130a for a specific day, to add a new all day appointment 130b for a specific day and/or searching for emails associated with a specific date). fig. 4B; [0053]; which shows a context menu may appear based on user interaction, which may make it possible for the user to add a new appointment for that day, add a new all day appointment for that day, and/or to search emails associated with that day. Chang, figs. 10O-10P and 10R-10S; [0298]… the device is operable to determine a schedule of the user and provide an indication of the user's schedule in calendar user interface 5082. As shown in FIG. 10P, descriptions of the user's events 5086A-5086B are provided in calendar user interface 5082 along with appointment time affordances 5084A-5084I. [0299]…As shown in FIG. 10R, a show more appointment time user interface overlays a portion of calendar user interface 5082. The show more appointment time user interface provides additional appointment affordances associated with additional times that the user has an option to select to make an appointment with the business entity. In the depicted embodiments, appointment time affordances 5084J-5084L correspond to additional appointment times not displayed in calendar user interface 5082. In addition, descriptions of the user's events are provided in 10R.).
Per claim 8, the modified Schemer teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the second application is any one of an instant messaging application, an email application, a schedule application, a calendar application, a call application, or a short messaging service (SMS) application (Schemers, fig. 1A and 1B; [0041]-[0044]; which shows a miniature calendar display 110 with associated context menu allows the user to add a new appointment 130a for a specific day, to add a new all day appointment 130b for a specific day and/or searching for emails associated with a specific date). fig. 4B; [0053]; which shows a context menu may appear based on user interaction, which may make it possible for the user to add a new appointment for that day, add a new all day appointment for that day, and/or to search emails associated with that day. Chang, figs. 10O-10P and 10R-10S; [0298]… the device is operable to determine a schedule of the user and provide an indication of the user's schedule in calendar user interface 5082. As shown in FIG. 10P, descriptions of the user's events 5086A-5086B are provided in calendar user interface 5082 along with appointment time affordances 5084A-5084I. [0299]…As shown in FIG. 10R, a show more appointment time user interface overlays a portion of calendar user interface 5082. The show more appointment time user interface provides additional appointment affordances associated with additional times that the user has an option to select to make an appointment with the business entity. In the depicted embodiments, appointment time affordances 5084J-5084L correspond to additional appointment times not displayed in calendar user interface 5082. In addition, descriptions of the user's events are provided in 10R.);
Per claim 9, Schemers teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first application is any one of an instant messaging application, an email application, a schedule application, a calendar application, a call application, or a short messaging service (SMS) application (Schermer, figs. 4A and 4B).
Claims 10-18 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 1-9 respectively.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 1-2 respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect the amendment have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kennedy (Pub. No. US 2018/0225038) discloses computer applications for populating input fields of a record.
Inquiries
/THANH T VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179