DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Nakamura fails to disclose “a termination pad that extends along the sidewall dielectric layers of the first and second capacitors” as the first and second capacitor continue past the through hole.
The examiner disagrees with applicant. While the capacitors do continue past the through hole, it is noted that the through hole creates a sidewall (i.e. a wall that connects the front and back surface of the conductive substrate) that a dielectric is formed on (i.e. sidewall dielectric layer) and the conductive elements 41 and/or 61 extends along the sidewall dielectric layers and thus reads on the claim as currently presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-10, 12, & 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO2024/257531A1 hereafter referred to as Nakamura.
In regards to claim 12, Nakamura discloses
An integrated passive device comprising:
a first capacitor (10A – fig. 1; [0023]) including a conductive substrate (11 – fig. 1; [0023]) having a front side and a back side, a front dielectric layer (13 – fig. 1; [0023]) on the front side of the conductive substrate, a back dielectric layer (13 – fig. 1; [0023]) on the back side of the conductive substrate, a front conductive polymer layer (12A – fig. 1; [0025]) on the front dielectric layer, and a back conductive polymer layer (12A – fig. 1; [0025]) on the back dielectric layer;
a second capacitor (10B – fig. 1; [0023]) stacked on the first capacitor, the second capacitor including a conductive substrate (11 – fig. 1; [0023]) having a front side and a back side, a front dielectric layer (13 – fig. 1; [0023]) on the front side of the conductive substrate, a back dielectric layer (13 – fig. 1; [0023]) on the back side of the conductive substrate, a front conductive polymer layer (12A – fig. 1; [0025]) on the front dielectric layer, and a back conductive polymer layer (12A – fig. 1; [0025]) on the back dielectric layer;
a first metal contact (32 – fig. 1; [0037]) electrically connected to one or both of the conductive substrates of the first and second capacitors;
a second metal contact (31 – fig. 1; [0036]) electrically isolated from the first metal contact and electrically connected to the front and back conductive polymer layers of the first and second capacitors; and
a passthrough electrical connection (42 and/or 62 – fig. 1; [0051], [0056-0057], & [0062]) between a front outer surface of the integrated passive device and a back outer surface of the integrated passive device opposite the front outer surface;
a first metallization layer (12Bb – fig. 1; [0189-0191]) arranged to promote electrical conductivity between the front conductive polymer layer of the first capacitor and the second metal contact and to promote electrical conductivity between the back conductive polymer layer of the second capacitor and the second metal contact, the first and second capacitors being bonded together by the first metallization layer;
wherein each of the first and second capacitors further includes a sidewall dielectric layer (20 – fig. 1; [0022]) on a sidewall of the conductive substrate, the sidewall dielectric layer connecting the front and back dielectric layers (fig. 1);
wherein the integrated passive device further comprises a termination pad (41 and/or 61 – fig. 1; [0051] & [0056]) that extends along the sidewall dielectric layers of the first and second capacitors, the second metal contact being electrically connected to the first metallization layer by way of the termination pad.
In regards to claim 8, Nakamura discloses
The integrated passive device of claim 12, wherein the first capacitor further includes a front carbonaceous layer (12Ba – fig. 1; [0026]) on the front conductive polymer layer,
the second capacitor further includes a back carbonaceous layer (12Ba – fig. 1; [0026]) on the back conductive polymer layer, and
the first metallization layer is on the front carbonaceous layer of the first capacitor and on the back carbonaceous layer of the second capacitor (fig. 1).
Figure 1: Configuration of Nakamura with three capacitor elements stacked
In regards to claim 9, Nakamura discloses
The integrated passive device of claim 12, further comprising: a third capacitor carbon stacked underneath the first capacitor, the third capacitor ([0019] – teaches stacking and connecting a plurality (thus including three) like capacitors) including a conductive substrate (11 – fig. 1; [0023]) having a front side and a back side, a front dielectric layer (13 – fig. 1; [0023]) on the front side of the conductive substrate, a back dielectric layer (13 – fig. 1; [0023]) on the back side of the conductive substrate, a front conductive polymer layer (12A – fig. 1; [0025]) on the front dielectric layer, and a back conductive polymer layer (12A – fig. 1; [0025]) on the back dielectric layer, the first metal contact being electrically connected to the conductive substrates of the first, second, and third capacitors, the second metal contact being electrically connected to the front and back conductive polymer layers of the first, second, and third capacitors (fig. 1; [0019] – teaches stacking and connecting a plurality (thus including three) like capacitors); and
a second metallization layer (12Bb – fig. 1; [0189-0191] & [0019] – noting when three capacitors are present) arranged to promote electrical conductivity between the back conductive polymer layer of the first capacitor and the second metal contact and to promote electrical conductivity between the front conductive polymer layer of the third capacitor and the second metal contact, the first and third capacitors being bonded together by the second metallization layer (fig. 1; [0019] – teaches stacking and connecting a plurality (thus including three) like capacitors & see present office action fig. 1 above).
In regards to claim 10, Nakamura discloses
The integrated passive device of claim 12, wherein the first capacitor further includes a front carbonaceous layer (12Ba – fig. 1; [0026]) on the front conductive polymer layer and a back carbonaceous layer (12Ba – fig. 1; [0026]) on the back conductive polymer layer,
the second capacitor further includes a back carbonaceous layer (12Ba – fig. 1; [0026]) on the back conductive polymer layer,
the third capacitor further includes a front carbonaceous layer (12Ba – fig. 1; [0026]) on the front conductive polymer layer,
the first metallization layer (12Bb – fig. 1; [0189-0191]) is on the front carbonaceous layer of the first capacitor and on the back carbonaceous layer of the second capacitor, and
the second metallization layer (12Bb – fig. 1; [0189-0191] & [0019] – noting when three capacitors are present) is on the back carbonaceous layer of the first capacitor and on the front carbonaceous layer of the third capacitor (see present office action fig. 1 above).
In regards to claim 22, Nakamura discloses
The integrated passive device of claim 12, wherein the passthrough electrical connection comprises a through via (42 and/or 62 – fig. 1; [0051], [0056-0057], & [0062]) extending through said one or both of the conductive substates of the first and second capacitors.
In regards to claim 23, Nakamura discloses
The integrated passive device of claim 22, wherein the through via is electrically connected to the first metal contact (fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 21, 26-32 is/are allowed.
Claim(s) 24-25 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) an integrated passive device comprising: a first capacitor including a conductive substrate having a front side and a back side, a front dielectric layer on the front side of the conductive substrate, a back dielectric layer on the back side of the conductive substrate, a front conductive polymer layer on the front dielectric layer, and a back conductive polymer layer on the back dielectric layer; a second capacitor stacked on the first capacitor, the second capacitor including a conductive substrate having a front side and a back side, a front dielectric layer on the front side of the conductive substrate, a back dielectric layer on the back side of the conductive substrate, a front conductive polymer layer on the front dielectric layer, and a back conductive polymer layer on the back dielectric layer; a passthrough electrical connection between a front outer surface of the integrated passive device and a back outer surface of the integrated passive device opposite the front outer surface; wherein the first and second capacitors are bonded together by a conductive foil provided therebetween, and the passthrough electrical connection comprises a first blind via extending from the front outer surface to a front side of the conductive foil and a second blind via extending from the back outer surface to a back side of the conductive foil (claim 1 and its dependents), further comprising an additional passthrough electrical connection between the front outer surface of the integrated passive device and the back outer surface of the integrated passive device opposite the front outer surface, the additional passthrough electrical connection comprising a first blind via extending from the front outer surface to the termination pad and a second blind via extending from the back outer surface to the termination pad (claim 24-25), & an integrated passive device comprising: a first capacitor including a conductive substrate, a dielectric layer on the conductive substrate, and a conductive polymer layer on the dielectric; a second capacitor stacked on the first capacitor, the second capacitor including a conductive substrate, a dielectric layer on the conductive substrate, and a conductive polymer layer on the dielectric; a passthrough electrical connection between a front outer surface of the integrated passive device and a back outer surface of the integrated passive device opposite the front outer surface; wherein the first and second capacitors are bonded together by a conductive foil provided therebetween, and the passthrough electrical connection comprises a first blind via extending from the front outer surface to a front side of the conductive foil and a second blind via extending from the back outer surface to a back side of the conductive foil (claims 26-32).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847