DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on December 29, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Pub No 2016/0050491 A1 to Ahgren et al. (“Ahgren”).
As to claim 1, Ahgren discloses an earphone to be worn by a user (user terminal with external input and output audio devices, see pg. 2, ¶ 0026; pg. 4, ¶ 0039), comprising: a communication interface capable of performing data communication with an own user terminal communicably connected to at least one another user terminal via a network (see figures 1-4; pgs. 1-2, ¶ 0018 - ¶ 0023, ¶ 0026); a first microphone configured to collect a speech voice of at least one another user located near the user during a conference (see figure 3; pgs. 2-3, ¶ 0028 - ¶ 0030); a buffer configured to accumulate collected audio data of the speech voice of the other user, which is collected by the first microphone (see pg. 1, ¶ 0004); and a signal processing unit configured to execute, by using audio-processed data of the other user speech voice transmitted from the other user terminal to the own user terminal via the network during the conference and the collected audio data accumulated in the buffer, cancellation processing for canceling a component of the speech voice of the other user included in the audio-processed data (echo cancelling using microphone signal and signal to be output via speakers during voice call, see figures 3-6; pgs. 2-3, ¶ 0028 - ¶ 0031; pg. 4, ¶ 0040 - ¶ 0051).
As to claim 2, Ahgren further discloses wherein the signal processing unit is configured to execute delay processing for a certain time on the collected audio data, and execute the cancellation processing using the audio-processed data and the collected audio data after the delay processing (see pg. 4, ¶ 0043, ¶ 0047 - ¶ 0049).
As to claim 4, Ahgren further discloses further comprising: a speaker configured to output the audio-processed data after the cancellation processing (see figure 5a; pg. 4, ¶ 0043).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahgren.
As to claim 3, Ahgren discloses the earphone according to claim 2.
Ahgren further discloses wherein the certain time is a time required for the communication interface to receive the audio-processed data from the other user terminal via the network and the own user terminal (see pg. 4, ¶ 0048), but does not expressly disclose the time required being an average time. However Ahgren discloses performing well-known adaptive delay estimation methods to account for changing network conditions (see pg. 4, ¶ 0048). The use of an average time is therefore considered obvious given the teachings of Ahgren, as it is merely one of various straightforward possibilities from which the skilled person would select when providing adaptive delay estimation to account for changing network conditions, particularly when multiple different time delays are acquired by the system (see pg. 4, ¶ 0048).
Conclusion
/SABRINA DIAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2693
/AHMAD F. MATAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2693