DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, 19, and 20 in the reply filed on 7/23/26 is acknowledged. A subsequent telephone interview with Peter Hsueh on 8/13/26 confirmed that Applicant elected Species 2, Formula 2, claim 8.
Claims 7 and 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (WO 2023/040357 A1). Corresponding US Application 2023/0395796 A1 is used in lieu for citation and translation purposes.
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 8, Wu discloses a composition comprising: a nickel particle of the formula Li1+a[NixCoyMnzM1bM2cWd]O2 where M1 is one of Mo, Zr, Ti, Sb, Nb, and Te, M2 is one of Mg, Al, Ca, Zn, and Sr, and where 0.65≤x<1, 0≤y<0.3, 0≤z<0.3, 0<a<0.2, 0<b<0.1, 0<c<0.1, 0<d<0.1, x+y+z+b+c+d=1 and wherein the particle is doped with Mo and coated with a Co-containing compound (paragraph 7). Wu discloses that the Co-containing compound cobalt oxide (paragraph 104). Wu discloses that the particle is 1-5 microns (paragraph 101).
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses that an amount of the molybdenum (M1) is in a range of at least about 0.1 mol% and at most about 1.0 mol% with respect to a total amount of metals other than lithium in the cathode active material (paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses that an amount of a cobalt compound in the cobalt compound-containing coating layer is in a range of about 0.1 mol% to about 5.0 mol% with respect to a total amount of the cathode active material (paragraph 14).
Regarding claim 4, Wu discloses that the cobalt compound-containing coating layer has a thickness of about 1 nm to about 50 nm (paragraph 15).
Regarding claim 6, Wu discloses that the cobalt compound-containing coating layer further comprises boron and aluminum (paragraph 14).
Regarding claim 9, it is the Office’s position that the composition of Wu would have the claimed properties because it is the same compound. See MPEP 2112 I.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Wu discloses a battery with the composition as the cathode active material on a current collector (paragraph 117), a negative electrode (paragraph 124), and an electrolyte between them (paragraph 133).
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725