DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 12, 2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 22, 2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
In view of the amendment, the rejections to claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. §§102, 103 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed January 22, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, 15-18, and 20 under 35 USC § 102 and the rejections of claims 4, 9, 14 and 19 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new ground of rejections is made in view of another references. The newly amended claim limitations are addressed, as below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki et al. (US20260101298A1, hereinafter Maleki) in view of Agiwal et al. (US20170251500A1, hereinafter Agiwal).
For claim 1, Maleki discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system ([Para. 0014], methods are provided for a UE, [Para. 0036], UE is referred to any type of wireless device communicating with a network node and/or with another UE in a cellular or mobile communication system), the method comprising: receiving, from a first base station serving a first cell, a system information block (SIB) related to a second base station serving a second cell ([Para. 0151] and [FIG. 8], The UE 112 is served by a first network node 55 associated with a first cell 60. At step 702, the UE 112 obtaining an indication of whether to request on-demand information for a second cell 70A from a first network node 55 associated with a first cell 60. A second network node 65A associated with the second cell 70A. [Para. 0152], obtaining the indication of whether to request the on-demand information from the second network node comprises: receiving a SIB transmitted from the first cell); transmitting, to the second base station a random access preamble for an SIB1 request based on the SIB related to the second base station ([Para. 0151], Based on the indication, the UE 112 transmits, to the second network node 65A, a request for the on-demand information for the second cell 70A. [Para. 00157], the on-demand information comprises SIB1. [Para. 0062], the first network node 55 may advertise (e.g., through its broadcast system information) that, in case there is an interest SIB1 for second network nodes 65A-B, a UE may ask for provision of said information. The first network node 55 may have configured different set(s) of preambles for different nodes 65A-B. A set of preambles may be provided per node for requesting SIB1 individually for nodes 65A-B. [Para. 0073], the first network node 55 may transmit an SSB related to a second cell that a UE may use to perform the Random Access procedure with regard to the second cell [Examiner’s Note: The preamble is the Random Access preamble]), and receiving, from the second base station an SIB1 based on the acknowledgement ([Para. 0048], the UE may be configured to ask for on-demand SIB1 to be transmitted from a second network node associated with the second cell. [Para. 0051], in response to a UE demand, the second cell starts transmitting SIB1 on the second cell. If it was transmitting them, and the UE receives SIB on the second cell. [Para. 0151], at step 704. At step 706, the UE 112 receives the on-demand information for the second cell. [Para. 0157], the on-demand information comprises at least one of: a SIB1).
Although teaching that the UE receives SIB from the first network node to request SIB1 from the second network node and receives the requested SIB1 from the second base station, Maleki does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the second base station, an acknowledgement for the SIB1 request; and receiving, from the second base station an SIB1 based on the acknowledgement.
Agiwal is directed to providing apparatus and method for signaling system information. More specifically, Agiwal teaches receiving, from the second base station, an acknowledgement for the SIB1 request ([Para. 0225], There can be several small cells in coverage of macro cell. A first cell (e.g., Macro cell) provides information about one or more second cells (e.g., small cells). [Para. 0048 and 0062], a cell may broadcast some of the SIs in the first category of system information (essential SI). The remaining SIs in the first category of system information of a cell can be broadcasted or provided on demand by another cell. [Para. 0169], In order to receive the other system information, UE sends random access preamble (PRACH-SI). The random access preamble acts as SI request. [Para. 0171 and 0173], PRACH time/frequency resource can be provided in essential system information [Examiner’s Note: Based on paragraphs 0225, 0048 and 0062, the preamble resource for requesting SI from the second cell can be provided by the system information from the first cell]. [Para. 0182], On receiving the PRACH-SI, BS transmits a RAR. [Para. 0183], SIs (i.e. SIBs) requested by UE are provided within some time window after sending the SI request. [Para. 0184], after sending the SI request, for receiving the requested SIB, UE monitors the SI window of requested SIB in SI periods of that SIB. [Para. 0185], In an embodiment in which SI response is broadcasted in SI window, RAR may still be transmitted to acknowledge the successful reception of SI request. In an embodiment in which SI response is broadcasted in SI window, successful reception of SI request can be indicated by BS by including an indication in minimum SI [Examiner’s Note: Maleki and Agiwal teach that the requested SI can be SIB 1]), and receiving, from the second base station an SIB1 based on the acknowledgement ([Para. 0169], In order to receive the other system information, UE sends random access preamble (PRACH-SI). The random access preamble acts as SI request. [Para. 0171 and 0173], PRACH time/frequency resource can be provided in essential system information. [Para. 0182], On receiving the PRACH-SI, BS transmits a RAR. [Para. 0183], One or more SIs (i.e. SIBs) requested by UE are provided within some time window after sending the SI request. [Para. 0184], after sending the SI request, for receiving the requested SIB, UE monitors the SI window of requested SIB in SI periods of that SIB. [Para. 0185], In an embodiment in which SI response is broadcasted in SI window, RAR may still be transmitted to acknowledge the successful reception of SI request. In an embodiment in which SI response is broadcasted in SI window, successful reception of SI request can be indicated by BS by including an indication in minimum SI [Examiner’s Note: That RAR may still be transmitted to acknowledge the successful reception of SI request indicates that the reception of requested SI and the acknowledgement are related]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Maleki, so that the acknowledgement to the request for SIB is transmitted to the UE before the requested SIB is transmitted to the UE, as taught by Agiwal. The modification would have enabled the UE and BS to signal system information efficiently in a wireless communication system (Agiwal [Para. 0020]).
For claim 6, Maleki discloses a method performed by a second base station serving a second cell in a wireless communication system ([Para. 0019], a method for transmitting on-demand information by a second network node associated with a second cell includes receiving a request to transmit on-demand information for the second cell for a UE served by a first network node in a first cell), the method comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a random access preamble for a system information block (SIB)1 request based on an SIB related to the second base station ([Para. 0151] and [FIG. 1], The UE 112 is served by a first network node 55 associated with a first cell 60. At step 702, the UE 112 obtaining an indication of whether to request on-demand information for a second cell 70A from a first network node 55 associated with a first cell 60. A second network node 65A associated with the second cell 70A. Based on the indication, the UE 112 transmits, to the second network node 65A, a request for the on-demand information for the second cell 70A. [Para. 0152], obtaining the indication of whether to request the on-demand information from the second network node comprises: receiving a SIB transmitted from the first cell. [Para. 00157], the on-demand information comprises SIB1. [Para. 0062], the first network node 55 may advertise (e.g., through its broadcast system information) that, in case there is an interest SIB1 for second network nodes 65A-B, a UE may ask for provision of said information. The first network node 55 may have configured different set(s) of preambles for different nodes 65A-B. A set of preambles may be provided per node for requesting SIB1 individually for nodes 65A-B. [Para. 0073], the first network node 55 may transmit an SSB related to a second cell that a UE may use to perform the Random Access procedure with regard to the second cell [Examiner’s Note: The preamble is the Random Access preamble]), and transmitting, to the UE an SIB 1 based on the acknowledgement ([Para. 0051], in response to a UE demand, the second cell starts transmitting SIB1 on the second cell, and the UE receives SIB1 on the second cell.) and wherein the SIB related to the second base station is transmitted by a first base station serving a first cell to the UE ([Para. 0048], the UE may be configured to ask for on-demand SIB1 to be transmitted from a second network node associated with the second cell. [Para. 0051], in response to a UE demand, the second cell starts transmitting SIB1 on the second cell, and the UE receives SIB1 on the second cell. [Para. 0151] and [FIG. 1], The UE 112 is served by a first network node 55 associated with a first cell 60. At step 702, the UE 112 obtaining an indication of whether to request on-demand information for a second cell 70A from a first network node 55 associated with a first cell 60. A second network node 65A associated with the second cell 70A. Based on the indication, the UE 112 transmits, to the second network node 65A, a request for the on-demand information for the second cell 70A, at step 704. At step 706, the UE 112 receives the on-demand information for the second cell. [Para. 0152], obtaining the indication of whether to request the on-demand information from the second network node comprises: receiving a SIB transmitted from the first cell. [Para. 0157], the on-demand information comprises a SIB1).
Although teaching that the second base station receives from the UE a SIB 1 request and retransmits the requested SIB1 to the UE, Maleki does not explicitly disclose transmitting, to the UE an acknowledgement for the SIB 1 request; and transmitting, to the UE an SIB 1 based on the acknowledgement.
Agiwal is directed to providing apparatus and method for signaling system information. More specifically, Agiwal teaches transmitting, to the UE an acknowledgement for the SIB 1 request ([Para. 0225], There can be several small cells in coverage of macro cell. A first cell (e.g., Macro cell) provides information about one or more second cells (e.g., small cells). [Para. 0048 and 0062], a cell may broadcast some of the SIs in the first category of system information (essential SI). The remaining SIs in the first category of system information of a cell can be broadcasted or provided on demand by another cell. [Para. 0169], In order to receive the other system information, UE sends random access preamble (PRACH-SI). The random access preamble acts as SI request. [Para. 0171 and 0173], PRACH time/frequency resource can be provided in essential system information [Examiner’s Note: Based on paragraphs 0225, 0048 and 0062, the preamble resource for requesting SI from the second cell can be provided by the system information from the first cell]. [Para. 0182], On receiving the PRACH-SI, BS transmits a RAR. [Para. 0183], SIs (i.e. SIBs) requested by UE are provided within some time window after sending the SI request. [Para. 0184], after sending the SI request, for receiving the requested SIB, UE monitors the SI window of requested SIB in SI periods of that SIB. [Para. 0185], In an embodiment in which SI response is broadcasted in SI window, RAR may still be transmitted to acknowledge the successful reception of SI request. In an embodiment in which SI response is broadcasted in SI window, successful reception of SI request can be indicated by BS by including an indication in minimum SI [Examiner’s Note: Maleki and Agiwal teach that the requested SI can be SIB 1]); and transmitting, to the UE an SIB 1 based on the acknowledgement ([Para. 0169], In order to receive the other system information, UE sends random access preamble (PRACH-SI). The random access preamble acts as SI request. [Para. 0171 and 0173], PRACH time/frequency resource can be provided in essential system information. [Para. 0182], On receiving the PRACH-SI, BS transmits a RAR. [Para. 0183], One or more SIs (i.e. SIBs) requested by UE are provided within some time window after sending the SI request. [Para. 0184], after sending the SI request, for receiving the requested SIB, UE monitors the SI window of requested SIB in SI periods of that SIB. [Para. 0185], In an embodiment in which SI response is broadcasted in SI window, RAR may still be transmitted to acknowledge the successful reception of SI request. In an embodiment in which SI response is broadcasted in SI window, successful reception of SI request can be indicated by BS by including an indication in minimum SI [Examiner’s Note: That RAR may still be transmitted to acknowledge the successful reception of SI request indicates that the reception of requested SI and the acknowledgement are related]. [Para. 0225], There can be several small cells in coverage of macro cell. A first cell (e.g., Macro cell) provides information about one or more second cells (e.g., small cells). [Para. 0048 and 0062], a cell may broadcast some of the SIs in the first category of system information (essential SI). The remaining SIs in the first category of system information of a cell can be broadcasted or provided on demand by another cell).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Maleki, so that the acknowledgement to the request for SIB is transmitted to the UE before the requested SIB is transmitted to the UE, as taught by Agiwal. The modification would have enabled the UE and BS to signal system information efficiently in a wireless communication system (Agiwal [Para. 0020]).
For claim 11, Maleki discloses a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system ([Para. 0014], systems are provided for a UE, [Para. 0036], UE is referred to any type of wireless device communicating with a network node and/or with another UE in a cellular or mobile communication system), the UE comprising: a transceiver ([Para. 0103], UEs may contain transmitters and receivers); and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to ([Para. 0103] and [FIG. 3], The UE includes processing circuitry that is operatively coupled to a communication interface. UEs may contain transmitters and receivers): receive, from a first base station serving a first cell, a system information block (SIB) related to a second base station serving a second cell ([Para. 0151] and [FIG. 1], The UE 112 is served by a first network node 55 associated with a first cell 60. At step 702, the UE 112 obtaining an indication of whether to request on-demand information for a second cell 70A from a first network node 55 associated with a first cell 60. A second network node 65A associated with the second cell 70A. [Para. 0152], obtaining the indication of whether to request the on-demand information from the second network node comprises: receiving a SIB transmitted from the first cell); transmit, to the second base station a random access preamble for an SIB1 request based on the SIB related to the second base station ([Para. 0151], Based on the indication, the UE 112 transmits, to the second network node 65A, a request for the on-demand information for the second cell 70A. [Para. 00157], the on-demand information comprises SIB1. [Para. 0062], the first network node 55 may advertise (e.g., through its broadcast system information) that, in case there is an interest SIB1 for second network nodes 65A-B, a UE may ask for provision of said information. The first network node 55 may have configured different set(s) of preambles for different nodes 65A-B. A set of preambles may be provided per node for requesting SIB1 individually for nodes 65A-B. [Para. 0073], the first network node 55 may transmit an SSB related to a second cell that a UE may use to perform the Random Access procedure with regard to the second cell [Examiner’s Note: The preamble is the Random Access preamble]), and receive, from the second base station an SIB1 based on the acknowledgement ([Para. 0048], the UE may be configured to ask for on-demand SIB1 to be transmitted from a second network node associated with the second cell. [Para. 0051], in response to a UE demand, the second cell starts transmitting SIB1 on the second cell. If it was transmitting them, and the UE receives SIB on the second cell. [Para. 0151], at step 704. At step 706, the UE 112 receives the on-demand information for the second cell. [Para. 0157], the on-demand information comprises at least one of: a SIB1).
Although teaching that the UE receives SIB from the first network node to request SIB1 from the second network node and receives the requested SIB1 from the second base station, Maleki does not explicitly disclose receive, from the second base station, an acknowledgement for the SIB1 request; and receive, from the second base station an SIB1 based on the acknowledgement.
Agiwal is directed to providing apparatus and method for signaling system information. More specifically, Agiwal teaches receive, from the second base station, an acknowledgement for the SIB1 request ([Para. 0225], There can be several small cells in coverage of macro cell. A first cell (e.g., Macro cell) provides information about one or more second cells (e.g., small cells). [Para. 0048 and 0062], a cell may broadcast some of the SIs in the first category of system information (essential SI). The remaining SIs in the first category of system information of a cell can be broadcasted or provided on demand by another cell. [Para. 0169], In order to receive the other system information, UE sends random access preamble (PRACH-SI). The random access preamble acts as SI request. [Para. 0171 and 0173], PRACH time/frequency resource can be provided in essential system information [Examiner’s Note: Based on paragraphs 0225, 0048 and 0062, the preamble resource for requesting SI from the second cell can be provided by the system information from the first cell]. [Para. 0182], On receiving the PRACH-SI, BS transmits a RAR. [Para. 0183], SIs (i.e. SIBs) requested by UE are provided within some time window after sending the SI request. [Para. 0184], after sending the SI request, for receiving the requested SIB, UE monitors the SI window of requested SIB in SI periods of that SIB. [Para. 0185], In an embodiment in which SI response is broadcasted in SI window, RAR may still be transmitted to acknowledge the successful reception of SI request. In an embodiment in which SI response is broadcasted in SI window, successful reception of SI request can be indicated by BS by including an indication in minimum SI [Examiner’s Note: Maleki and Agiwal teach that the requested SI can be SIB 1]), and receive, from the second base station an SIB1 based on the acknowledgement ([Para. 0169], In order to receive the other system information, UE sends random access preamble (PRACH-SI). The random access preamble acts as SI request. [Para. 0171 and 0173], PRACH time/frequency resource can be provided in essential system information. [Para. 0182], On receiving the PRACH-SI, BS transmits a RAR. [Para. 0183], One or more SIs (i.e. SIBs) requested by UE are provided within some time window after sending the SI request. [Para. 0184], after sending the SI request, for receiving the requested SIB, UE monitors the SI window of requested SIB in SI periods of that SIB. [Para. 0185], In an embodiment in which SI response is broadcasted in SI window, RAR may still be transmitted to acknowledge the successful reception of SI request. In an embodiment in which SI response is broadcasted in SI window, successful reception of SI request can be indicated by BS by including an indication in minimum SI [Examiner’s Note: That RAR may still be transmitted to acknowledge the successful reception of SI request indicates that the reception of requested SI and the acknowledgement are related]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Maleki, so that the acknowledgement to the request for SIB is transmitted to the UE before the requested SIB is transmitted to the UE, as taught by Agiwal. The modification would have enabled the UE and BS to signal system information efficiently in a wireless communication system (Agiwal [Para. 0020]).
For claim 16, Maleki discloses a second base station serving a second cell in a wireless communication system ([Para. 0020], a second network node associated with a second cell is provided for transmitting on-demand information), the second base station comprising: a transceiver ([Para. 0119] and [FIG. 4], network node 300 includes a communication interface 306); and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to ([Para. 0119] and [FIG. 4], The network node 300 includes a processing circuitry 302 and communication interface 306 [Examiner’s Note: FIG. 4 shows that the processing circuitry 302 is coupled with communication interface 306 including antenna 310]): receive, from a user equipment (UE), a random access preamble for a system information block (SIB)1 request based on an SIB related to the second base station ([Para. 0151] and [FIG. 1], The UE 112 is served by a first network node 55 associated with a first cell 60. At step 702, the UE 112 obtaining an indication of whether to request on-demand information for a second cell 70A from a first network node 55 associated with a first cell 60. A second network node 65A associated with the second cell 70A. Based on the indication, the UE 112 transmits, to the second network node 65A, a request for the on-demand information for the second cell 70A. [Para. 0152], obtaining the indication of whether to request the on-demand information from the second network node comprises: receiving a SIB transmitted from the first cell. [Para. 00157], the on-demand information comprises SIB1. [Para. 0062], the first network node 55 may advertise (e.g., through its broadcast system information) that, in case there is an interest SIB1 for second network nodes 65A-B, a UE may ask for provision of said information. The first network node 55 may have configured different set(s) of preambles for different nodes 65A-B. A set of preambles may be provided per node for requesting SIB1 individually for nodes 65A-B. [Para. 0073], the first network node 55 may transmit an SSB related to a second cell that a UE may use to perform the Random Access procedure with regard to the second cell [Examiner’s Note: The preamble is the Random Access preamble]), and transmit, to the UE an SIB 1 based on the acknowledgement ([Para. 0051], in response to a UE demand, the second cell starts transmitting SIB1 on the second cell, and the UE receives SIB1 on the second cell) and wherein the SIB related to the second base station is transmitted by a first base station serving a first cell to the UE ([Para. 0048], the UE may be configured to ask for on-demand SIB1 to be transmitted from a second network node associated with the second cell. [Para. 0051], in response to a UE demand, the second cell starts transmitting SIB1 on the second cell, and the UE receives SIB1 on the second cell. [Para. 0151] and [FIG. 1], The UE 112 is served by a first network node 55 associated with a first cell 60. At step 702, the UE 112 obtaining an indication of whether to request on-demand information for a second cell 70A from a first network node 55 associated with a first cell 60. A second network node 65A associated with the second cell 70A. Based on the indication, the UE 112 transmits, to the second network node 65A, a request for the on-demand information for the second cell 70A, at step 704. At step 706, the UE 112 receives the on-demand information for the second cell. [Para. 0152], obtaining the indication of whether to request the on-demand information from the second network node comprises: receiving a SIB transmitted from the first cell. [Para. 0157], the on-demand information comprises a SIB1).
Although teaching that the second base station receives from the UE a SIB 1 request and retransmits the requested SIB1 to the UE, Maleki does not explicitly disclose transmit, to the UE an acknowledgement for the SIB 1 request; and transmit, to the UE an SIB 1 based on the acknowledgement.
Agiwal is directed to providing apparatus and method for signaling system information. More specifically, Agiwal teaches transmit, to the UE an acknowledgement for the SIB 1 request ([Para. 0225], There can be several small cells in coverage of macro cell. A first cell (e.g., Macro cell) provides information about one or more second cells (e.g., small cells). [Para. 0048 and 0062], a cell may broadcast some of the SIs in the first category of system information (essential SI). The remaining SIs in the first category of system information of a cell can be broadcasted or provided on demand by another cell. [Para. 0169], In order to receive the other system information, UE sends random access preamble (PRACH-SI). The random access preamble acts as SI request. [Para. 0171 and 0173], PRACH time/frequency resource can be provided in essential system information [Examiner’s Note: Based on paragraphs 0225, 0048 and 0062, the preamble resource for requesting SI from the second cell can be provided by the system information from the first cell]. [Para. 0182], On receiving the PRACH-SI, BS transmits a RAR. [Para. 0183], SIs (i.e. SIBs) requested by UE are provided within some time window after sending the SI request. [Para. 0184], after sending the SI request, for receiving the requested SIB, UE monitors the SI window of requested SIB in SI periods of that SIB. [Para. 0185], In an embodiment in which SI response is broadcasted in SI window, RAR may still be transmitted to acknowledge the successful reception of SI request. In an embodiment in which SI response is broadcasted in SI window, successful reception of SI request can be indicated by BS by including an indication in minimum SI [Examiner’s Note: Maleki and Agiwal teach that the requested SI can be SIB 1]); and transmit, to the UE an SIB 1 based on the acknowledgement ([Para. 0169], In order to receive the other system information, UE sends random access preamble (PRACH-SI). The random access preamble acts as SI request. [Para. 0171 and 0173], PRACH time/frequency resource can be provided in essential system information. [Para. 0182], On receiving the PRACH-SI, BS transmits a RAR. [Para. 0183], One or more SIs (i.e. SIBs) requested by UE are provided within some time window after sending the SI request. [Para. 0184], after sending the SI request, for receiving the requested SIB, UE monitors the SI window of requested SIB in SI periods of that SIB. [Para. 0185], In an embodiment in which SI response is broadcasted in SI window, RAR may still be transmitted to acknowledge the successful reception of SI request. In an embodiment in which SI response is broadcasted in SI window, successful reception of SI request can be indicated by BS by including an indication in minimum SI [Examiner’s Note: That RAR may still be transmitted to acknowledge the successful reception of SI request indicates that the reception of requested SI and the acknowledgement are related]. [Para. 0225], There can be several small cells in coverage of macro cell. A first cell (e.g., Macro cell) provides information about one or more second cells (e.g., small cells). [Para. 0048 and 0062], a cell may broadcast some of the SIs in the first category of system information (essential SI). The remaining SIs in the first category of system information of a cell can be broadcasted or provided on demand by another cell).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Maleki, so that the acknowledgement to the request for SIB is transmitted to the UE before the requested SIB is transmitted to the UE, as taught by Agiwal. The modification would have enabled the UE and BS to signal system information efficiently in a wireless communication system (Agiwal [Para. 0020]).
Claims 2-3, 7-8, 12-13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki et al. (US20260101298A1, hereinafter Maleki) in view of in view of Agiwal et al. (US20170251500A1, hereinafter Agiwal), and further in view of Huawei et al. (3GPP TSG-RAN2 Meeting #96 R2-167580, hereinafter Huawei).
For claim 2, Maleki and Agiwal teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the SIB related to the second base station includes random access preamble resource information for the SIB1 request (Maleki [Para. 0151-0152], obtaining an indication of whether to request on-demand information for a second cell 70A from a first network node 55. The indication comprises SIB. Maleki [Para. 0062], the first network node 55 may advertise (e.g., through its broadcast system information) that, in case there is an interest in SIB1 for second network nodes 65A-B, a UE may ask for provision of said information. The first network node 55 may have configured different set(s) of preambles for different nodes 65A-B. A set of preambles may be provided per node for requesting SIB1 individually for nodes 65A-B).
Although Maleki teaches the UE receives SIB from the first network node to request SIB1 from the second network code and the first network node configures the UE with the random access preamble for the request, indicating that the UE receives from the first base station random access preamble resource information, Maleki and Agiwal do not explicitly disclose wherein the SIB related to the second base station includes random access preamble resource information for the SIB1 request.
Huawei teaches wherein the SIB related to the second base station includes random access preamble resource information for the SIB1 request ([Page 2, 2.2 SI request procedure, last paragraph], for other SIs which will be delivered on demand, the network will indicate the other SI specific preambles and/ or potential resources. Each preamble will be mapped with one or multiple other SI types. The mapping relationship can be notified to UE via Minimum SI. When UE requires some other SI, it first checks the related preamble and sends it as MSG1 to the gNB. The gNB may respond the requested other SI at predefined period in MSG2 to the UE)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Maleki and Agiwal, so that the preambles with the corresponding resource for requesting the specific SIB is included in the system information UE receives, as taught by Huawei. The modification would have reused RACH-like procedure to perform the acquisition of other SI which is delivered on demand without state transition of UE (Huawei [Page 2, 2.2 SI request procedure, second last paragraph]).
For claim 3, Maleki, Agiwal and Huawei teach the method of claim 2. The references further teach further comprising: selecting the random access preamble based on the random access preamble resource information (Maleki [Para. 0062], the first network node 55 may advertise (e.g., through its broadcast system information) that, in case there is an interest in SIB1 for second network nodes 65A-B, a UE may ask for provision of said information. The first network node 55 may have configured different set(s) of preambles for different nodes 65A-B. A set of preambles may be provided per node as there may be several preambles for requesting SSB/MIB/SIB1/OSI individually for the different nodes 65A-B [Examiner’s Note: The set of preambles include the preamble for requesting SIB1 individually]. Huawei [Page 2, 2.2 SI request procedure, last paragraph], for other SIs which will be delivered on demand, the network will indicate the other SI specific preambles and/ or potential resources. Each preamble will be mapped with one or multiple other SI types. The mapping relationship can be notified to UE via Minimum SI. When UE requires some other SI, it first checks the related preamble and sends it as MSG1 to the gNB)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Maleki and Agiwal, so that the preamble for requesting the specific SIB is selected to request the SIB, as taught by Huawei. The modification would have reused RACH-like procedure to perform the acquisition of other SI which is delivered on demand without state transition of UE (Huawei [Page 2, 2.2 SI request procedure, second last paragraph]).
Claims 7-8 are method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 2-3. Therefore, claims 7-8 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 2-3.
Claims 12-13 are apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 2-3. Therefore, claims 12-13 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 2-3.
Claims 17-18 are apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 2-3. Therefore, claims 17-18 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 2-3.
Claims 4, 9, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki et al. (US20260101298A1, hereinafter Maleki) in view of Agiwal et al. (US20170251500A1, hereinafter Agiwal), and further in view of Sakhnini et al. (US20240008088A1, hereinafter Sakhnini).
For claim 4, Maleki and Agiwal teach the method of claim 1. Although the references further teach the second network node transmits SIB1 after a temporary period, indicating a time duration for SIB 1 transmission (Maleki [Para. 0064], the first network node 55 provides the information for the second network node 65A-B temporarily until the second network node 65A-B itself starts transmitting the information. Maleki [Para. 0052], in response to a UE demand, the second cell starts transmitting SIB1 on the second cell and the first cell stops its transmission), Maleki and Agiwal do not explicitly disclose wherein the SIB1 is transmitted for a time duration.
Sakhnini is directed to providing combined random access response and remaining minimum system information. More specifically, Sakhnini teaches wherein the SIB1 is transmitted for a time duration ([Para. 0074], The network entity may transmit the dedicated SIB1 PDSCH based on a request received from a UE. The UE may transmit, to the network entity, a RACH message and the RACH message may indicate the request. [Para. 0082], the UE may monitor, within a window of time and after transmission of the PRACH communication, for DCI that schedules a SIB1. The window of time may be based on system information associated with a cell that is separate from the network node [Examiner’s Note: The cell separate from the network node corresponds to the first base station and the network node corresponds to the second base station]. [Para. 0084], the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive, DCI that schedules a single PDSCH communication that includes SIB1 information).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Maleki and Agiwal, so that the requested SIB1 is transmitted in a time duration, as taught by Sakhnini. The modification would have reduced the consumption of available downlink resources in initial access (Sakhnini [Para. 0074]).
Claim 9 is method claims and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 4. Therefore, claim 9 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 4.
Claim 14 is apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 4. Therefore, claim 14 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 4.
Claim 19 is apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 4. Therefore, claim 19 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 4.
Claims 5, 10, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki et al. (US20260101298A1, hereinafter Maleki) in view of Agiwal et al. (US20170251500A1, hereinafter Agiwal), and further in view of Lu (US20250168748A1, hereinafter Lu).
For claim 5, Maleki and Agiwal teach the method of claim 1. Although Maleki and Agiwal teach the UE receives SIB from the first network node to request SIB1 from the second network node and the information about when to find the sparse SSB transmissions of the second network node from the first network node (Maleki [Para. 0059], The UE may then receive information about when to find the sparse SSB transmissions of the second network node from the first network node), the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the SIB related to the second base station includes downlink (DL) timing information of the second base station with respect to the first base station.
Lu is directed to providing information transceiving method, information processing method and apparatuses thereof. More specifically, Lu teaches wherein the SIB related to the second base station includes downlink (DL) timing information of the second base station with respect to the first base station ([Para. 0079], when the configuration information of the discovery reference signal indicated by the second indication information is broadcast via system information of the second cell or the neighboring cell of the first cell, the configuration information of the discovery reference signal may further include a synchronization timing offset between the first cell and the second cell, or a synchronization timing offset between the first cell and the neighboring cell [Examiner’s Note: The second cell and first cell in Lu correspond to the first cell and second cell of this application. The synchronization timing offset between the first cell and the second cell is the timing information of the second cell with respect to the first cell]. [Para. 0069], the discovery reference signal may provide downlink channel estimation information for the first cell, or, in other words, the terminal equipment may perform downlink reception of the reference signal of the first cell).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Maleki and Agiwal, so that downlink timing offset with respect to the first cell is transmitted by the second cell in system information to the terminal, as taught by Lu. The modification would have increased energy saving of the NR base station (Lu [Para. 0004]).
Claim 10 is method claims and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 5. Therefore, claim 10 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 5.
Claim 15 is apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 5. Therefore, claim 15 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 5.
Claim 20 is apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 5. Therefore, claim 20 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417