DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No.11,862,894. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: the claims of present case define obvious variant of the parent case claims with only minor difference in wording.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a, 1) as being anticipated by de Chazal (U. S. Patent 10396486)
Regarding claim 2, de Chazal, see figures 1-3B, discloses an energy storage module cap 102 comprising: a plate 104; a power output terminal 106a about which the plate 104 is molded; an electromechanical connector about which the plate 104 is molded (see column 5, lines 5-7); an auxiliary pin 106b about which the electromechanical connector is molded; and a gasket 136 disposed on the plate 104.
Regarding claim 3, de Chazal, see figures 1-3B, discloses comprising a plurality of power output terminals 106a.
Regarding claim 4, de Chazal, see figures 1-3B discloses comprising a plurality of auxiliary pins 106b.
Regarding claim 5, de Chazal, see figures 1-3B discloses the plurality of auxiliary pins 106b comprises one or more signal pins (see column 5, lines 30-35), one or more sensor pins, or one or more current carrying pins.
Regarding claim 6, de Chazal, see figures 1-3B, discloses further comprising one or more holes 122 for fasteners.
Regarding claim 7, de Chazal, see figures 1-3B discloses further comprising one or more spacers (inside element 104).
Regarding claim 8, de Chazal, see figures 1-3B discloses further comprising at least one nut- gasket 136 assembly to engage fasteners through one or more holes 122.
Regarding claim 9, de Chazal, see figures 1-3B, discloses the gasket 136 is overmolded onto the plate 104.
Regarding claim 10, de Chazal, see figures 1-3B, discloses the gasket 136 is adhered in place.
Regarding claim 11, de Chazal, see figures 1-3B, discloses the gasket 136 is dispensed in place.
Regarding claim 12, de Chazal, see figures 1-3B, discloses the gasket 136 comprises a crosslinked or vulcanized polymer.
Regarding claim 13, de Chazal, see figures 1-3B discloses the electromechanical connector comprises a flange 118.
Regarding claim 14, de Chazal, see figures 1-3B, discloses the flange 118 is tapered.
Regarding claim 15, de Chazal, see figures 1-3B, discloses the flange 118 comprises one or more pass-through openings.
Regarding claim 16, de Chazal, see figures 1-3B, discloses a pass-through opening is chamfered.
Regarding claim 17, de Chazal, see figures 1-3B, discloses the electromechanical connector is insert molded over the auxiliary pin 106b.
Regarding claim 18, de Chazal, see figures 1-3B, discloses the auxiliary pin 106b comprises one or more grooves.
Regarding claim 19, de Chazal, see figures 1-3B, discloses the auxiliary pin 106b comprises a retention opening.
/PHUONG K DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831