CTNF 18/497,916 CTNF 85366 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 7 recites the limitation "R a and R b " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of this office action, claim 7 will be interpreted as depending from claim 6. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 6-10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Zheng et al. (“Exploring high-voltage fluorinated carbonate electrolytes for LiNi 0.5 Mn 1.5 O 4 ”) . Regarding claim 1, Zheng et al. discloses a rechargeable lithium battery (P63/§2.3/¶1) comprising: an electrolyte (P63/§2.2/¶1) comprising a non-aqueous organic solvent (P63/§2.2/¶1), a lithium salt (P63/§2.2/¶1), and an additive (P63/§2.2/¶1); a positive electrode (P63/§2.3/¶1) comprising a positive electrode active material (P63/§2.3/¶1); and a negative electrode (P63/§2.3/¶1) comprising a negative electrode active material (P63/§2.3/¶1); wherein the non-aqueous organic solvent (P63/§2.2/¶1) comprises less than about 5 wt% of ethylene carbonate (P63/§2.2/¶1) based on the total weight of the non-aqueous organic solvent (P63/§2.2/¶1), the positive electrode active material (P63/§2.3/¶1) comprises a lithium nickel manganese-based oxide (Title), and the additive comprises ethylene sulfate (P63/§2.2/¶1, “DTD” is ethylene sulfate). Regarding claim 2, Zheng et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the non-aqueous organic solvent composed of only chain carbonate (P63/§2.2/¶1). Regarding claim 3, Zheng et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the chain carbonate is ethyl (2,2,2-trifluoroethyl) carbonate (P63/§2.2/¶1, “ETFEC”). Regarding claim 6, Zheng et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses chemical formula 1B is present (P63/§2.2/¶1, “ETFEC”). Regarding claim 7, Zheng et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses all R groups are independently hydrogen (P63/§2.2/¶1). Regarding claim 8, Zheng et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses n in chemical formula 1 is 1 (P63/§2.2/¶1, “DTD” is ethylene sulfate). Regarding claim 9, Zheng et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the compound represent by chemical formula 1 is ethylene sulfate. Regarding claim 10, Zheng et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the compound represented by chemical formula 1 is 2% by wt (P63/§2.2/¶1, “DTD” is ethylene sulfate). Regarding claim 16, Zheng et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses a charging upper limit voltage of the rechargeable lithium battery is greater than or equal to about 4.35 V (P64/Figs 1, P65/Figs 3) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 4, 5, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (“Exploring high-voltage fluorinated carbonate electrolytes for LiNi 0.5 Mn 1.5 O 4 ”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takamori et al. (US 2012/0244411) . Regarding claims 4, 5, 11 and 15, Zheng et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses DEC (P63/§2.2/¶1), but does not explicitly disclose DMC, nor DEC:DMC 50:50 and LiBF4. Takamori et al. discloses a lithium secondary battery including an electrolyte comprising LiBF4 ([0055]) and DEC:DMC at 50:50 ratio ([0069]) and a negative electrode active material comprising graphite ([0032]). This configuration enhances battery cycling performance ([0069]-[0070]). Takamori et al. and Zheng et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the LiBF4 and DEC:DMC 50:50 and graphite disclosed by Takamori et al. into the electrolyte and negative electrode of Zheng et al., respectfully, to enhance battery cycle performance . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (“Exploring high-voltage fluorinated carbonate electrolytes for LiNi 0.5 Mn 1.5 O 4 ”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yi et al. (“Delineating the Roles of Mn, Al, and Co by Comparing Three Layered Oxide Cathodes with the Same Nickel Content of 70% for Lithium-ion Batteries”) . Regarding claims 12-14, Zheng et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose LiNi 0.7 Mn 0.25 Al 0.05 O 2 . Yi et al. discloses a secondary lithium battery (P629/Abstract) including a positive electrode active material comprising LiNi 0.7 Mn 0.25 Al 0.05 O 2 (P629/Abstract). This configuration enhances battery cycling and overall performance (P629/Abstract). Yi et al. and Zheng et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate LiNi 0.7 Mn 0.25 Al 0.05 O 2 the disclosed by Yi et al. into the positive active material of Zheng et al. to enhance battery cycling and overall performance . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Noguchi et al. (US 2016/0308199) discloses in Figs 1-4, a lithium secondary battery (Abstract) including a positive electrode active material including Li/Ni/Mn/Al oxide ([0107]). Golodnitsky et al. (US 2013/0244102) discloses in Figs 1-9, a lithium secondary battery including a positive electrode active material including L(Al, Ni, Mn) O2 ([0018]). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KENNETH J DOUYETTE whose telephone number is (571)270-1212. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8A - 4P EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Basia Ridley can be reached at 571-272-1453. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/497,916 Page 2 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/497,916 Page 3 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/497,916 Page 4 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/497,916 Page 5 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/497,916 Page 6 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/497,916 Page 7 Art Unit: 1725