DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed 08/01/2026 has been entered. Claim 11 was amended.
Claims 4-15 are currently pending and considered below.
Double Patenting
Claims 4-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,802,627 (hereinafter "the '627 patent'), the latter of which recites subject matter that contains all the subject matter of claims 4-15 of the current application except for the limitations (in the presently filed claims) of the valve being used "for regulating the flow of urine from a bladder". However, this subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the '627 patent because it recites mere intended use of the valve that does not limit its structure. Further, this recitation in the preamble is not necessary to give life, meaning or vitality to the claim (see Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165-66 (Fed. Cir. 1999)).
Moreover, the pending claims recite "an inlet for receiving the urine into the first housing 10 and an outlet for allowing the urine to leave the first housing 10"; but this subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the '627 patent because it recites mere function of the inlet and outlet that are inherent characteristics of the '627 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claims 4, 6, 9, 10, 11 and 13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Flinchbaugh (U.S. Pat. 6,673,051 B2, hereinafter "Flinchbaugh").
Regarding claim 4, Flinchbaugh discloses a valve for regulating the flow of urine from a bladder comprising (see col. 4, lines 11-17):
a first housing (combination of housing sections 2 and 3; see Fig. 2) having an inlet 11 (see Fig. 2) for receiving the urine into the first housing, and an outlet (at filter 6; see Fig. 2) for allowing the urine to leave the first housing;
a second housing 5 (see Fig. 2) removably attachable to the first housing (housing 5 can be slid onto the housing end 3, as illustrated in Fig. 1; Flinchbaugh makes no mention that the first and second housings are permanently attached);
a first magnet 7 (see Fig. 2) disposed in the first housing in a predetermined position, the first magnet being stationary relative to the first housing 10 (magnetic member 7 is disclosed as being "fixed" or held in place by prongs 4.6 extending from wall 4 having openings/slots 4.3 therebetween; see col. 5, lines 40-45);
a second magnet 20 (see Fig. 1) disposed in the first housing (both magnets are disposed in the combination of housing portions 2 and 3; see Fig. 3), the second magnet movable relative to the first magnet and the first housing between a first position and a second position and making contact with at least a portion of the first housing and closing a resealable opening in the first housing in the first position due to the attraction between the first magnet and the second magnet (see col. 8, lines 31-51).
Regarding claim 6, Flinchbaugh discloses the valve for regulating the flow of urine according to claim 4, further comprising a vent disposed in the second housing (see the longitudinally arranged rectangular channels in the cover 5 that would permit air or fluid to flow through them).
Regarding claim 9, Flinchbaugh discloses the valve for regulating the flow of urine according to claim 4, wherein the first housing comprises:
a catheter connector 11 (see Fig. 2) having a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end of the catheter connector having the inlet, the inlet configured to engage a tubing (using barbs on the inlet; see col. 6, line 42);
a first magnet housing 2 (see Fig. 2) disposed in the distal end of the catheter connector, the first magnet housing having the first magnet 7 secured therein (see Fig. 3);
a second magnet housing 3 (see Fig. 2) attached to the first magnet housing, the second magnet housing having the second magnet 8 disposed therein (see Fig. 3);
and a drain end (at 11.2; see Fig. 5) attached to the second magnet housing and having the outlet, the outlet in fluid communication with the inlet in the catheter connector (when the valve is open).
Regarding claim 10, Flinchbaugh discloses the valve for regulating the flow of urine according to claim 9, wherein the second magnet is slidingly disposed in the second magnet housing and engages a portion of the first magnet housing in the first position to prevent the liquid from passing through the first housing (see col. 8, lines 31-51).
Regarding claim 11, Flinchbaugh discloses the valve for regulating the flow of urine according to claim 9, the tubing is configured to be inserted into the bladder of a person (see col. 6, lines 45-57).
Regarding claim 13, Flinchbaugh discloses a valve for regulating the flow of liquid therethrough (see col. 4, lines 11-17), comprising::
a first housing 2 (see Fig. 2) having an inlet 11 (see Fig. 2) for receiving the liquid into the first housing, and an outlet (at port 4; see Fig. 2) for allowing the liquid to leave the first housing, the inlet and outlet being in fluid communication with one another;
a second housing 5 (see Fig. 2) removably attachable to the first housing (housing 5 can be slid onto the housing end 3, as illustrated in Fig. 1; Flinchbaugh makes no mention that the first and second housings are permanently attached);
a magnetically sealable opening (defined by port wall 4) disposed in the first housing between the inlet and the outlet (see Fig. 5);
at least one magnet 20 (see Fig. 2) disposed in the first housing and disposed in the first housing adjacent the magnetically sealable opening to make contact with at least a portion of the first housing and seal the magnetically sealable opening (see col. 8, lines 31-51); and
and a sealing member 9 (see Fig. 8A) disposed in the first housing adjacent the outlet, the sealing member sealing the distal end of the outlet in the first housing when the second housing is disengaged from the first housing (i.e., the sealing member 9 seals the distal end of the outlet regardless of whether the cover 5 is engaged to the housing).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in Remarks on 08/01/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant has amended claim 11 to depend from claim 9; this amendment obviated the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) made in the Office action dated 03/02/2026.
The rejection of claims 4-15 under nonstatutory double patenting is maintained because Applicant has not overcome the rejection or made any argument as to its propriety.
The rejection of claims 4 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 102 is withdrawn in light of Applicant's arguments1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited.
THIS ACTION IS MADE NON-FINAL.
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783
08/11/2026
1 It is noted that claim 4 does not recite that "the releasable opening in the first housing in the first position is due to the attraction between the first magnet and the second magnet", as alleged by Applicant. Rather, the claim recites that "the closing" of the aforementioned resalable opening in the first housing in the first position is "due to the attraction between the first magnet and the second magnet".