DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20210381115 A1) in view of Trassl (US 20240021776 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Kang teaches a manufacturing method of a lithium battery negative electrode, comprising: providing an electroplating equipment (Figures 6A & 6B), wherein the electroplating equipment has a drying chamber (682), and, an electroplating wheel set (633); disposing a copper foil (611); transporting the copper foil (611) via the electroplating wheel set (611) to form a lithium metal layer on the copper foil, and the copper foil and the lithium metal layer form a copper-lithium composite metal layer (618), and a film sticking wheel set; and transporting the copper-lithium composite metal layer and attaching a protective film (685) to the copper-lithium composite metal layer via the film sticking wheel set (wheel above device (685)) (as illustrated) (para. [0044]).
Kang fails to teach wherein the drying chamber comprises an electroplating tank and fails to teach disposing a copper foil (611) in the drying chamber similar to the drying chamber (Figure 2, 110) instantly claimed. Trassl teaches the need to handle lithium in an inert gas atmosphere or a dry room due to it being unstable and highly reactive with a variety of substances such as air, oxygen, nitrogen and carbon dioxide (para. [0006]). Therefore, operating and containing the electroplating apparatus of Kang in an inert atmosphere within a room comprising chamber walls would read on the instantly recited limitations of “a drying chamber, wherein the drying chamber comprises an electroplating tank”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to operate and contain the electroplating apparatus of Kang in a room comprising a dry room or an inert atmosphere, as taught by Trassl, in order to prevent lithium from reacting with substances such as air, oxygen, nitrogen and carbon dioxide.
With respect to claim 3, Kang teaches wherein the drying chamber further comprises a copper foil supply device (606) and a protective film (685) supply device, the copper foil supply device (606) is connected to the electroplating wheel set (633), and the protective film supply device (685) is connected to the film sticking wheel set (wheel above device (685)) (as illustrated) (para. [0044]).
With respect to claim 4, Kang teaches wherein a material of the protective film comprises a polyimide film, a polyester film (polymer), or a water and gas barrier film (para. [0044]).
With respect to claim 5, Kang teaches wherein the drying chamber further comprises a drying device (682), and the drying device is configured to remove an organic solvent on the copper-lithium composite metal layer.
With respect to claim 6, Kang teaches wherein the drying device comprises an air knife, a roller, an infrared heater, or a combination thereof (para. [0044]).
With respect to claim 8, Kang teaches wherein the protective film (685) at least completely covers a surface of the lithium metal layer (609) (para. [0044]).
With respect to claim 9, Kang teaches wherein the protective film (685) is directly in contact with the lithium metal layer (609) and the copper foil (as illustrated) (para. [0044]).
With respect to claim 10, Kang teaches wherein an electroplating solution in the electroplating tank comprises a lithium salt and an organic solvent (para. [0007]), and the lithium salt comprises lithium hexafluorophosphate, lithium hexafluoroborate, lithium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonate)amide, or a combination thereof, and the organic solvent comprises ethylene carbonate, propylene carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, glycol dimethyl ether, dimethyl ether, or a combination thereof (para. [0007]-[0009]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20210381115 A1) in view of Trassl (US 20240021776 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KR 20130027484 A (to Ryoichi) – translation attached.
With respect to claim 2, Kang discloses all claim limitations as set forth above including wherein the electroplating tank (620) comprises a first electrode (631), and the electroplating wheel set (633) comprises: a first guide wheel (633) and a second guide wheel (633) disposed in the electroplating tank (620), wherein the first guide wheel (633) and the second guide wheel (633) are configured so that the copper foil (611) in the electroplating tank (620) is parallel to the first electrode (631) (as illustrated); and a first conductive wheel (690) and a second conductive wheel (690) disposed outside the electroplating tank (620). Kang teaches a second electrode inside the tank but fails to teach wherein the first conductive wheel (690) and the second conductive wheel (690) are used as second electrodes. Ryoichi teaches an electroplating tank (12) wherein a conductive wheel (7) is positioned outside of the tank (12) and wherein the conductive wheel (7) is used as a second electrode as an alternative to using a second electrode inside the tank.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to use the outside wheels in Kang as second electrodes, as taught by Ryoichi, as an alternative option to using a second electrode inside the tank.
Conclusion
/KAITY V CHANDLER/ 5/30/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725