DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This Office Action acknowledges the applicant’s amendment filed on 4/1/2026. Claims 1 and 6-10 are pending in the application. Claims 2-5 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson et al. US 7,221,136 B2 in view of SHERIFF US 1,566,983 and further in view of Valderrama et al. US 10,919,672 B2.
With regards to claim 1, Olsson (Fig. 7-8; shown above) discloses a case 100 with screw thread (Col 7:20-28) in sealed manner for communication equipment, comprising: an upper cover 102 having a first side wall (shown above), a connecting wall (shown above) and a second side wall (shown above), the first side wall having an inner surface disposed with an internal thread (shown above), and the connecting wall extending radially and connected between the first side wall and the second side wall; and a bottom cover 104 having a base (shown above) and an outer side wall (shown above) arranged on a top surface of the base along a circumference, the outer side wall having an outer surface disposed with an external thread (shown above), and when the external thread is being screwed to the internal thread, the inner surface of the first side wall of the upper cover and the outer surface of the outer side wall of the bottom cover forming an accommodating space (shown above) in a sealed state; and a washer 106.
Olsson discloses a washer 106 but it does not specifically disclose the washer having a first ring portion and a second ring portion, the first ring portion having a top surface and a bottom surface respectively abutting against a bottom surface of the connecting wall of the upper cover and a top surface of the outer side wall of the bottom cover, and the second ring portion protruding downwards from the bottom surface of the first ring portion and having an outer surface abutting against an inner surface of the outer side wall of the bottom cover.
However, SHERIFF (Fig. 2-3) teaches that it was known in the art to have a container 10 have a closure 3 that includes a washer (20/19; Fig. 2, pg. 2:4-12, two part cut ring positioned as shown in Fig. 3) having a first ring portion 20 and a second ring portion 19, the first ring portion 20 having a top surface and a bottom surface respectively that would abut against a bottom surface of the connecting wall 18 of the upper cover 18 and a top surface of the outer side wall of the bottom cover 10, and the second ring portion 19 protruding downwards from the bottom surface of the first ring portion and having an outer surface that would abut against an inner surface 12 of the outer side wall of the bottom cover.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the washer in Olsson by providing a first and second portion as taught by SHERIFF for the purposes of assisting in keeping the washer in place.
Olsson discloses the housing is firmly locked together but it does not specifically disclose the inner surface of the first side wall of the upper cover has a marking portion, and the marking portion is located below the internal thread and is used to mark locking tightness of the bottom cover.
However, Valderrama teaches it was known in the art to have an upper cover 5 and a bottom cover 15 including the inner surface of the first side wall of the upper cover has a marking portion 10/30/35 (Figs. 1, 2 and 3), the marking portion is located below the internal thread and is used to mark a locking tightness of the bottom cover. (Col 3:17-27)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the upper and bottom covers in Olsson by providing marking portions located below the internal threads as taught by Valderrama for the purposes of providing an indication that a seal between the upper and bottom cover is achieved.
With regards to claim 6, Valderrama further teaches the marking portion 10/30/35 is a groove or rib extending axially. (Figs. 1, 2 and 3)
With regards to claim 7, Valderrama further teaches the base has a bottom surface with an indicating portion 46/132/133, and the indicating portion 10/30/35 points to the marking portion. (Col 3:17-27)
With regards to claim 8, Olsson (Fig. 7-8; shown above) discloses a printed circuit board 112 is installed in the accommodating space.
With regards to claim 9, Olsson (Fig. 7-8; shown above) discloses further comprising a support base 132, the support base being located below the upper cover, a gap (shown above) being formed between an outer side wall of the support base and the upper cover 102, and the bottom cover 104 being disposed on the support base.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson et al. US 7,221,136 B2 in view of SHERIFF US 1,566,983, in view of Valderrama et al. US 10,919,672 B2 and further in view of Renaud et al. US 2014/0273541 A1.
With regards to claim 10, Olsson discloses internal thread and the external
thread on the upper cover and bottom cover and glue to seal the upper and bottom cover, respectively, but it does not specifically disclose an anti-loose glue, and the anti-loose glue being coated between the internal thread and the external thread.
However Renaud teaches that it was known in the art to have an upper cover 214 and bottom cover 211 have an anti-loose glue being coated between them. (end of Para. 0074)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the internal thread and the
external thread on the upper cover and bottom cover in Olsson by providing anti-loose glue as taught by Renaud for the purposes of providing a strong connection between the two structures and connect them as one unit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 6-10 have been considered but are moot because of a new ground of rejection. However, the Applicant has supplied remarks, that Olsson or HURLEY do not disclose or teach the limitation “the inner surface of the first side wall of the upper cover has a marking portion, and the marking portion is located below the internal thread and is used to mark locking tightness of the bottom cover”. The HURLEY reference is no longer cited in the above rejection. The reference Valderrama et al. US 10,919,672 B2, has been cited to teach that it was known in the art to have a container have markings on the bottom portion to indicate to a user that a proper seal has been made.
Conclusion
/JENINE SPICER/Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736