DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action acknowledges the applicant’s amendment filed on 9/30/2025. Claims 1 and 5-10 are pending in the application. Claims 2-4 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5-7 depend from a cancelled claim 4. Claims 5-7 have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson et al. US 7,221,136 B2 in view of HURLEY US 2,736,457.
With regards to claim 1, Olsson (Fig. 7-8; shown above) discloses a case 100 with screw thread (Col 7:20-28) in sealed manner for communication equipment, comprising: an upper cover 102 having a first side wall, a connecting wall and a second side wall, the first side wall having an inner surface disposed with an internal thread, and the connecting wall extending radially and connected between the first side wall and the second side wall; and a bottom cover 104 having a base and an outer side wall arranged on a top surface of the base along a circumference, the outer side wall having an outer surface disposed with an external thread, and when the external thread is being screwed to the internal thread, the inner surface of the first side wall of the upper cover and the outer surface of the outer side wall of the bottom cover forming an accommodating space in a sealed state; and a washer 106.
Olsson discloses a washer 106 but it does not specifically disclose the washer having a first ring portion and a second ring portion, the first ring portion having a top surface and a bottom surface respectively abutting against a bottom surface of the connecting wall of the upper cover and a top surface of the outer side wall of the bottom cover, and the second ring portion protruding downwards from the bottom surface of the first ring portion and having an outer surface abutting against an inner surface of the outer side wall of the bottom cover.
However, Hurley teaches that it was known in the art to have a container have a closure that includes a washer 30 having a first ring portion and a second ring portion, the first ring portion 31 having a top surface and a bottom surface respectively that would abut against a bottom surface of the connecting wall of the upper cover and a top surface of the outer side wall of the bottom cover, and the second ring portion 34 protruding downwards from the bottom surface of the first ring portion and having an outer surface that would abut against an inner surface of the outer side wall of the bottom cover.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the washer in Olsson by providing a first and second portion as taught by HURLEY for the purposes of assisting in keeping the washer in place.
With regards to claim 8, Olsson (Fig. 7-8; shown above) discloses a printed circuit board 112 is installed in the accommodating space.
With regards to claim 9, Olsson (Fig. 7-8; shown above) discloses further comprising a support base 112, the support base being located below the upper cover, a gap being formed between an outer side wall of the support base and the upper cover 102, and the bottom cover 104 being disposed on the support base.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson et al. US 7,221,136 B2 in view of HURLEY US 2,736,457 and further in view of Renaud et al. US 2014/0273541 A1.
With regards to claim 10, Olsson discloses internal thread and the external
thread on the upper cover and bottom cover and glue to seal the upper and bottom cover, respectively, but it does not specifically disclose an anti-loose glue, and the anti-loose glue being coated between the internal thread and the external thread.
However Renaud teaches that it was known in the art to have an upper cover 214 and bottom cover 211 have an anti-loose glue being coated between them. (end of Para. 0074)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the internal thread and the
external thread on the upper cover and bottom cover in Olsson by providing anti-loose glue as taught by Renaud for the purposes of providing a strong connection between the two structures and connect them as one unit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 5-10 have been considered but are moot because a new ground of rejection. However, the Applicant has not provided any arguments with regards to the previous cited art Renaud.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENINE SPICER/Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736