DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/31/2023 and 12/11/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 10/31/2023 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 10, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Charpentier (U.S. Patent No. 4,176,335).
With respect to claim 1, Charpentier teaches a transformer (FIG. 1) comprising:
a first electrical conductor 5 and or 6 having a plurality of turns; and
a second electrical conductor 13B having only a single turn comprising a first leg 13c (annotated FIG. 1) and a second leg 13d, wherein a first electrical connection 1B for the second electrical conductor is formed at an end 13e of the first leg, a second electrical connection 3B for the second electrical conductor is formed at an end 13f of the second leg, and a middle point electrical connection 2B for the second electrical conductor is formed at a juncture 13g of the first leg and the second leg (col. 4, lines 6-11 and 66-68, col. 5, lines 3-7).
With respect to claim 2, Charpentier teaches the transformer according to claim 1 wherein the second electrical conductor comprises a plate (col. 4, lines 15-18).
With respect to claim 5, Charpentier teaches the transformer according to claim 1 further comprising a ferromagnetic material 10 surrounding the first electrical conductor and the second electrical conductor (col. 3, line 67 to col. 4, line 3) .
With respect to claim 6, Charpentier teaches the transformer according to claim 1 wherein the first electrical conductor comprises a wire (col. 4, lines 6-12).
With respect to claim 7, Charpentier teaches the transformer according to claim 6 further comprising a plastic reel 12a for supporting the wire (col. 4, lines 4-12).
With respect to claim 8, Charpentier teaches the transformer according to claim 1 wherein the first electrical connection comprises at least one member (a piece of electrical connection 1B) extending from the end of the first leg (col. 5, lines 3-7).
With respect to claim 10, Charpentier teaches the transformer according to claim 1 wherein the second electrical connection comprises at least one member (a piece of electrical connection 3B) extending from the end of the second leg (col. 5, lines 3-7).
With respect to claim 12, Charpentier teaches the transformer according to claim 1 wherein the middle point electrical connection comprises at least one member (a piece of electrical connection 2B) extending from the juncture of the first leg and the second leg (col 4, lines 66-68).
With respect to claim 14, Charpentier teaches the transformer according to claim 1 wherein the first coil receives a voltage of greater than or equal to 48 volts and the second coil produces a voltage of less than or equal to 24 volts (col. 3, lines 12-20). Charpentier teaches the transformer structure as claimed. Therefore, the transformer of Charpentier would inherently have the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charpentier, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Fang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,446,642 B2, hereinafter “Fang”).
With respect to claim 3, Charpentier teaches the transformer according to claim 1. Charpentier does not expressly teach a ferromagnetic core interposed between the first electrical conductor and the second electrical conductor.
Fang teaches a transformer 2 (FIG. 3) comprising a ferromagnetic core 25 interposed between the first electrical conductor 22 and the second electrical conductor 23 (col. 3, lines 1-4). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the ferromagnetic core between the first and second electrical conductors as taught by Fang to the transformer of Charpentier to provide the required magnetic path to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 4, Charpentier in view of Fang teaches the transformer according to claim 3 wherein the ferromagnetic core comprises a plate (Fang, col. 3, lines 1-4).
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charpentier, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Tsai et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2009/0309684 A1, hereinafter “Tsai”).
With respect to claim 9, Charpentier teaches the transformer according to claim 1. Charpentier does not expressly teach the first electrical connection provides electrical connection and mechanical fixation of the transformer to a printed circuit board.
Tsai teaches a transformer 1 (FIGs. 1 and 2), wherein the first electrical connection 131 provides electrical connection and mechanical fixation of the transformer to a printed circuit board 2 (para. [0024]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electrical connection mechanical fixation of the transformer to a printed circuit board as taught by Tsai to the transformer of Charpentier to provide the required electrical connection between the transformer and other electrical elements.
With respect to claim 11, Charpentier teaches the transformer according to claim 1. Charpentier does not expressly teach the second electrical connection provides electrical connection and mechanical fixation of the transformer to a printed circuit board.
Tsai teaches a transformer 1 (FIGs. 1 and 2), wherein the second electrical connection 131 provides electrical connection and mechanical fixation of the transformer to a printed circuit board 2 (para. [0024]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electrical connection mechanical fixation of the transformer to a printed circuit board as taught by Tsai to the transformer of Charpentier to provide the required electrical connection between the transformer and other electrical elements.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charpentier, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Lazzerini et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,000,878 B1, hereinafter “Lazzerini”).
With respect to claim 13, Charpentier teaches the transformer according to claim 1. Charpentier does not expressly teach the middle point electrical connection provides electrical connection and mechanical fixation of the transformer to a printed circuit board.
Lazzerini teaches a transformer 1 (FIG. 10B), wherein the middle point electrical connection 202 provides electrical connection and mechanical fixation of the transformer to a printed circuit board (not expressly shown) (col. 9, lines 35-41). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electrical connection mechanical fixation of the transformer to a printed circuit board as taught by Tsai to the transformer of Charpentier to provide the required electrical connection between the transformer and other electrical elements.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Charpentier.
With respect to claim 15, Tsai teaches a DC-to-DC converter (FIG. 4) comprising the transformer 1 (para. [0026]). Tsai does not expressly teach the transformer according to claim 1.
Charpentier teaches a transformer (FIG. 1) according to claim 1 (col. 4, lines 6-11 and 66-68, col. 5, lines 3-7). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the transformer as taught by Charpentier to the DC-to-DC converter of Tsai to provide low impedance output paths (col. 2, lines 25-32).
Claims 16, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charpentier in view of Lazzerini.
With respect to claim 16, Charpentier teaches a transformer (FIG. 1) comprising:
a first electrical conductor 5 and or 6 having a plurality of turns;
a second electrical conductor 13B having only a single turn comprising a first leg 13c (annotated FIG. 1) and a second leg 13d;
a first electrical connection 1B for the second electrical conductor comprising at least one member extending from the first leg;
a second electrical connection 3B for the second electrical conductor comprising at least one member extending from the end of the second leg; and
a middle point electrical connection 2B for the second electrical conductor comprising at least one member extending from a juncture of the first leg and the second leg (col. 4, lines 6-11 and 66-68, col. 5, lines 3-7).
Charpentier does not expressly teach
a first electrical connection for the second electrical conductor comprising at least one member extending from the first leg to provide electrical connection and mechanical fixation of the transformer to a printed circuit board;
a second electrical connection for the second electrical conductor comprising at least one member extending from the end of the second leg to provide electrical connection and mechanical fixation of the transformer to the printed circuit board; and
a middle point electrical connection for the second electrical conductor comprising at least one member extending from a juncture of the first leg and the second leg to provide electrical connection and mechanical fixation of the transformer to the printed circuit board.
Lazzerini teaches a transformer 1 (FIGs. 1 and 2) comprising:
a first electrical connection 200 a for the second electrical conductor comprising at least one member (end member) extending from the first leg to provide electrical connection and mechanical fixation of the transformer to a printed circuit board (not expressly shown);
a second electrical connection 204 for the second electrical conductor comprising at least one member (end member) extending from the end of the second leg to provide electrical connection and mechanical fixation of the transformer to the printed circuit board; and
a middle point electrical connection 202 for the second electrical conductor comprising at least one member (end member) extending from a juncture of the first leg and the second leg to provide electrical connection and mechanical fixation of the transformer to the printed circuit board (col. 9, lines 35-41). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electrical connection mechanical fixation of the transformer to a printed circuit board as taught by Tsai to the transformer of Charpentier to provide a center tap connection of the transformer to get different output as needed to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 17, Charpentier in view of Lazzerini teaches the transformer according to claim 16 wherein the second electrical conductor comprises a plate (Charpentier, col. 4, lines 15-18).
With respect to claim 19, Charpentier in view of Lazzerini teaches the transformer according to claim 16 wherein the first coil receives a voltage of greater than or equal to 48 volts and the second coil produces a voltage of less than or equal to 24 volts (Charpentier, col. 3, lines 12-20). Charpentier teaches the transformer structure as claimed. Therefore, the transformer of Charpentier would inherently have the claimed limitations.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charpentier in view of Lazzerini, as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Fang.
With respect to claim 18, Charpentier in view of Lazzerini teaches the transformer according to claim 16. Charpentier in view of Lazzerini does not expressly teach a ferromagnetic plate interposed between the first electrical conductor and the second electrical conductor.
Fang teaches a transformer 2 (FIG. 3) comprising a ferromagnetic core 25 interposed between the first electrical conductor 22 and the second electrical conductor 23 (col. 3, lines 1-4). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the ferromagnetic core between the first and second electrical conductors as taught by Fang to the transformer of Charpentier in view of Lazzerini to provide the required magnetic path to meet design requirements.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Charpentier and Lazzerini.
With respect to claim 20, Tsai teaches a DC-to-DC converter (FIG. 4) comprising the transformer (para. [0026]). Tsai does not expressly teach the transformer according to claim 16.
Charpentier in view of Lazzerini teaches a transformer (FIG. 1) according to claim 1 (col. 4, lines 6-11 and 66-68, col. 5, lines 3-7). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the transformer as taught by Charpentier in view of Lazzerini to the DC-to-DC converter of Tsai to provide low impedance output paths (col. 2, lines 25-32).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837