Claim Objections
Claim 38 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 38 missing period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-23, 28-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE et al. (US 20230189041).
Regarding claims 18, 31, LEE et al. (US 20230189041) teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (par. 61, 69, 74, 78, 79, UE), comprising:
one or more memories (par. 61, 69, 74, 78, 79, UE);
and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE (par. 61, 69, 74, 78, 79, UE) to:
receive a first gap measurement configuration for measurement during an active period of cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) or discontinuous reception (DRX) operation of a first cell and a second gap measurement configuration for measurement during a non-active period of the cell DTX or DRX operation of the first cell (par. 61, 69, 74, 78, 79, measurement gaps are typically configured with an offset (e.g., gapOffset), length (e.g., mgl), repetition period (e.g., mgrp), and timing advance (e.g., mgta)…measurement gap 802b overlaps with an eCDRX active time in which a PDSCH is sent carrying a portion of Burst Traffic #2. During the measurement gap 802b, the inactivity timer expires and the UE enters the inactive state at the end of the measurement gap 802b…the UE may receive a measurement gap configuration from a BS (e.g., a gNB)… measurement gaps do not overlap with eCDRX active cycles (i.e., they occur in eCDRX inactive cycles), the UE may perform the measurement gap procedure in these measurement gaps without impact on burst traffic delivery); and
measure, during the non-active period using the second gap measurement configuration, a signal of a second cell during a gap in signals of the first cell (par. 59, 69, 78, 79, 86, the UE may measure neighboring cells in a multi-cellular network during measurement gaps… During the measurement gap 802b, the inactivity timer expires and the UE enters the inactive state at the end of the measurement gap 802b…measurement gaps do not overlap with eCDRX active cycles (i.e., they occur in eCDRX inactive cycles), the UE may perform the measurement gap procedure in these measurement gaps).
Regarding claims 19, 32, LEE et al. (US 20230189041) teaches the apparatus of claim 18, wherein a frequency resource associated with the first cell is a same frequency resource as a frequency resource associated with the second cell (par. 60, measurement gaps may be used in certain operating frequency ranges (e.g., FR2) for a UE to perform a receive (Rx) beam search for intra-frequency handover).
Regarding claims 20, 33, LEE et al. (US 20230189041) teaches the apparatus of claim 18, wherein a frequency resource associated with the first cell and a frequency resource associated with the second cell are different (par. 60, measurement gaps may be used for inter-frequency handover (within a same radio access technology/RAT), as well as for inter-RAT handover).
Regarding claims 21, 34, LEE et al. (US 20230189041) teaches the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the first cell is associated with a first radio access technology and the second cell is associated with a second radio access technology (par. 60, measurement gaps may be used for inter-frequency handover…as well as for inter-RAT handover).
Regarding claims 22, 35, LEE et al. (US 20230189041) teaches the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to measure, in the active period, a signal of the second cell during a gap using the first gap measurement configuration (par. 59, 69, the UE may measure neighboring cells in a multi-cellular network during measurement gaps… measurement gap 802b overlaps with an eCDRX active time in which a PDSCH is sent carrying a portion of Burst Traffic #2).
Regarding claims 23, 36, LEE et al. (US 20230189041) teaches the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the signal of the second cell is a synchronization signal block (par. 61, The measurement gap may be designed to include a target cell synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC)).
Regarding claim 28, 37, LEE et al. (US 20230189041) teaches the apparatus of claim 18, wherein a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration corresponds to the active period (par. 59, 69, 75, the UE may measure neighboring cells in a multi-cellular network during measurement gaps… measurement gap 802b overlaps with an eCDRX active time in which a PDSCH is sent carrying a portion of Burst Traffic #2).
Regarding claim 29, LEE et al. (US 20230189041) teaches the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the first PDSCH configuration indicates one or more parameters for transmission of a PDSCH (par. 59, 69, 75, the indication may be provided via an RRC information element (IE), mgPriority, which can configure the priority between the normal data traffic and the measurement gaps (per measGapConfig or measObject). This mgPriority IE may indicate whether the UE is to prioritize data traffic over a measurement gap procedure (e.g., if mgPriority=1) or to prioritize the measurement gap procedure over data traffic (e.g., if mgPriority=0). In other words, if the mgPriority IE is set, the data traffic (PDSCH/PUSCH) of eCDRX active cycle may have a higher priority than the measurement gaps, and the UE is able to keep receiving data packets from (or transmitting data packets to) the gNB).
Regarding claims 30, 38, LEE et al. (US 20230189041) teaches the apparatus of claim 18, wherein a second physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration corresponds to the non-active period (par. 59, 69, 75, measurement gap 802b overlaps with an eCDRX active time in which a PDSCH is sent carrying a portion of Burst Traffic #2…Similarly, measurement gap 802c overlaps with that subsequent on duration, causing the UE to enter the inactive state after transmitting only a portion of Burst Traffic #3 and to delay transmission of a remainder of Burst Traffic #3 until a subsequent on duration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-27, 39-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 20230189041) in view of UKIL et al. (US 20220264382).
Regarding claim 24, 39, LEE et al. (US 20230189041) teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (par. 61, 69, 74, 78, 79, BS (e.g., a gNB)), comprising:
one or more memories (par. 61, 69, 74, 78, 79, BS (e.g., a gNB)); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the network entity (par. 61, 69, 74, 78, 79, BS (e.g., a gNB)) to:
transmit a first gap measurement configuration for measurement during an active period of cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) or discontinuous reception (DRX) operation of a first cell and a second gap measurement configuration for measurement during a non-active period of the cell DTX or DRX operation of the first cell (par. 61, 69, 74, 78, 79, measurement gaps are typically configured with an offset (e.g., gapOffset), length (e.g., mgl), repetition period (e.g., mgrp), and timing advance (e.g., mgta)…measurement gap 802b overlaps with an eCDRX active time in which a PDSCH is sent carrying a portion of Burst Traffic #2. During the measurement gap 802b, the inactivity timer expires and the UE enters the inactive state at the end of the measurement gap 802b…the UE may receive a measurement gap configuration from a BS (e.g., a gNB)… measurement gaps do not overlap with eCDRX active cycles (i.e., they occur in eCDRX inactive cycles), the UE may perform the measurement gap procedure in these measurement gaps without impact on burst traffic delivery); and
receive, after being in the non-active period, a measurement of a signal of a second cell (par. 93, 101, the network may trigger CLI measurement and reporting from a UE to learn of inter-UE interference… selective prioritization of processing data traffic over CLI measurement (or vice-versa) during CLI measurement occasions (an example of a measurement gap)).
However, LEE does not explicitly teach receive, after being in the non-active period, a measurement of a signal of a second cell.
But, UKIL et al. (US 20220264382) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches receive, after being in the non-active period, a measurement of a signal of a second cell (par. 58, 73, 74, 85, 86, 99, reports the measurement results back to the network for handover considerations.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by UKIL in the system of LEE to report the measurement.
The motivation would have been to manage overall network resource allocation at the network.
Regarding claim 25, 40, LEE et al. (US 20230189041) teaches the apparatus of claim 24, wherein a frequency resource associated with the first cell and a frequency resource associated with the second cell are the same (par. 60, measurement gaps may be used in certain operating frequency ranges (e.g., FR2) for a UE to perform a receive (Rx) beam search for intra-frequency handover).
Regarding claim 26, 41, LEE et al. (US 20230189041) teaches the apparatus of claim 24, wherein a frequency resource associated with the first cell and a frequency resource associated with the second cell are different (par. 60, measurement gaps may be used for inter-frequency handover (within a same radio access technology/RAT), as well as for inter-RAT handover).
Regarding claim 27, 42, LEE et al. (US 20230189041) teaches the apparatus of claim 24, wherein the first cell is associated with a first radio access technology and the second cell is associated with a second radio access technology (par. 60, measurement gaps may be used for inter-frequency handover…as well as for inter-RAT handover).
Conclusion
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 03/16/2026