DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected product, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/08/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP 2021-056301 (henceforth JP ‘301).
JP ‘301 teaches a photocurable varnish for use as a postprocessing liquid to be applied to a toner image in an electrophotographic image forming method (abstract). Additionally, the photocurable varnish is taught to have a surface tension of 10 to 50 mN/m ([0143]). In embodiments the photocurable varnishes taught by JP ‘301 have surface tensions of 24.3 and 22.4 mN/m at 25 °C (see Table 4). While JP ‘301 does not teach an interfacial tension of the photocurable varnish to water, the varnishes do have surface tensions within the range recited by the Applicant in pending claim 2. Furthermore, the varnishes of JP ‘301 are structurally similar to those taught by the Applicant in the instant specification. Namely, both JP ‘301 and the Applicant teach the use of varnishes formed from hexanediol diacrylates (see [0466-471 and Tables III to V of the instant specification and Table 4 of JP ‘301). Additionally, the varnishes of both JP ‘301 and the instant application are taught to include silicone-based surfactants such as dimethylsiloxanes (see [0142] of JP ‘301 and [0467-468] of the instant specification). As such, the varnishes of JP ‘301 would be expected to inherently possess interfacial tension to water within the range recited in pending claim 1.
In the method of JP ‘301 the photocurable varnish is irradiated with an active ray in order to effect curing ([0145]). As stated above, the varnish is applied and irradiated over an image formed by an electrophotographic process. The surfactant in the varnish is taught to be a polyether-modified polydimethylsiloxane and therefore reads on the dimethylsiloxane having an ethylene oxide group in a side chain recited in pending claim 5 ([0142]). The varnish of JP ‘301 is further taught to contain a bifunctional active ray reactive monomer having an alkyl group in a main chain within a range of 40 to 80 mass % with respect to a total amount of the varnish ([0136-139]). As stated above, the range of suitable surface tension values encompasses the Applicant’s ranges recited in pending claims 9-10. The toner taught by JP ‘301 (printing material) is taught to comprise a hydrocarbon wax ([0090-99]). The toner image is formed by using developer drums, photoreceptor drums and transfer drums and therefore reads on the Applicant’s recitation of a “roll-to-roll” method ([0028-34]).
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2021-056301 (henceforth JP ‘301).
The complete discussion of JP ‘301 above is included herein. While JP ’301 teaches the use of a polyether-modified polydimethylsiloxane surfactant but does not teach a mole fraction of the polyether group. However, according to the MPEP, “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP 2144.05 II A) Given that JP ‘301 does not teach a suitable amount of the mole fraction of the polyether group it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to have ascertained a suitable molar amount through routine experimentation.
JP ‘301 also does not teach forming an additional cured layer from the photocurable varnish as is recited by the Applicant in pending claim 13 nor a suitable thickness for the varnish layer as is recited in pending claim 15. However, JP ‘301 teaches that the varnish layer may be applied to cover either the entire image or to cover only a select portion of the image ([0132]). Furthermore, JP ‘301 teaches several coating methods that would readily allow for multiple coats of varnish such as a roll coater ([0133]). The MPEP teaches that duplication of parts in an invention is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.04 IV) and therefore it would have been obvious to any person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have either formed two photocured layers in sequence or to have coated the printed image in step wise fashion by coating select portions of the image with the cured layer. The MPEP also teaches that changes in size/proportion are prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.04 IV) and therefore it would have been obvious to any person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have determined and applied the cured layer with a suitable or desired thickness and to have optimized said thickness.
Conclusion
/PETER L VAJDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 08/27/2026