DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species (Inventions II, III, and/or Species B), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on February 13, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I and Species A (claims 1 – 6) in the reply filed on February 13, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the subject matter between Inventions I – III and Species A and B are sufficiently related that a thorough search of any one Invention and Species would necessarily require a search of the remaining Inventions and Species, and there is thus no serious burden on the examiner to examine the entire set of claims together. This is not found persuasive because a prima facie showing of serious burden is different classifications. Such is the case here. The elected claims are classified in B25J 15/0658, while the non-elected claims are classified in B64D 1/22 and B25B 11/005. Having to perform three, non-overlapping searches would indeed be a burden on the examiner.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“suction device” recited in claim 1
The limitation “suction device” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because:
(A) The limitation uses a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder for performing the claimed function (“device”).
(B) The generic placeholder is modified by functional language (“suction” or ‘configured for suction’).
(C) The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
Due to the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the limitation “suction device” will be interpreted so as to comprise a ‘suction cup,’ as taught by the Specification (paragraph 24), or an equivalent thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the self-sealing suction device is incorporated into a robot arm.” Examiner notes that the claim is directed towards “a self-sealing suction device system.” Therefore, it is unclear as to whether Applicant intends the claim to positively require the ‘self-sealing suction device system’ to be incorporated into a ‘robotic arm,’ such that the claim is directed towards the combination of the ‘self-sealing suction device system’ and the ‘robotic arm,’ or whether Applicant intends the limitation to recite functional language of the ‘self-sealing suction device system,’ such that the claim is directed only towards the ‘self-sealing suction device system.’ For the purposes of this Office Action, Examiner will interpret the limitation so as to recite functional language of the ‘self-sealing suction device system.’
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0333866) in view of Tanaka (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0207808).
As to claim 1, Wagner teaches a self-sealing suction device system (abstract), comprising: a suction device comprising a suction cup (figures 2 and 4, elements 40 and 60 being the ‘suction device’ and ‘suction cup’; paragraphs 32 and 35); a sensor in communication with the section device (paragraphs 38 – 40); a vacuum supply in communication with the suction device (figure 2, element 36 being the ‘vacuum supply’; paragraph 32); a solenoid valve in communication with the suction device and the vacuum supply (figure 2, element 34 being the ‘solenoid valve’; paragraph 32); and a controller programmed to: turn on the vacuum supply responsive to the sensor detecting a specified level of air flow within the suction device, wherein the solenoid valve maintains the air flow within the suction device (figure 7b, elements 1014 – 1018; paragraphs 38 – 39); turn off the vacuum supply responsive to the sensor detecting a specified level of air flow within the suction device, wherein the solenoid valve maintains the air flow within the suction device (figure 7b, elements 1014 – 1018; paragraphs 38 – 39); and maneuver the solenoid valve to equilibrate the suction device with atmospheric pressure (figure 2, element 34; paragraph 32).
However, Wagner teaches that the sensor is an air flow sensor (paragraphs 38 – 40), such that the controller is programmed to detect an air flow in the suction device, rather than an air pressure. Tanaka teaches a self-sealing suction device system (abstract), comprising: a suction device (figure 1, element 18 being the ‘suction device’; paragraph 22); a pressure sensor in communication with the suction device (figure 1, element 8a being the ‘pressure sensor’; paragraph 36); a vacuum supply in communication with the suction device (figure 1, element 8d being the ‘vacuum supply’; paragraph 36); and a controller programmed to: turn on the vacuum supply responsive to the pressure sensor detecting air pressure within the suction device above a specified threshold; and turn off the vacuum supply responsive to the pressure sensor detecting a specified level of negative pressure within the suction device (figure 1, element 8c being the ‘controller’; paragraphs 36 – 38 and 41). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the air flow sensor of Wagner for the pressure sensor of Tanaka, because Wagner and Tanaka teaches that either a pressure or air flow sensor is configured to provide the benefit of detecting air pressure, including negative pressure, or air flow in the suction device so as to determine if the vacuum generated by the vacuum supply in the suction device is sufficient to lift a workpiece (Wagner, paragraphs 38 – 39; Tanaka, paragraphs 36 – 38 and 41).
As to claim 2, Wagner further teaches a second sensor that monitors for negative air flow through the self-sealing suction device system generated by the vacuum supply (paragraphs 38 – 39). Examiner notes that this can be found because Wagner teaches the use of multiple sensors (paragraph 39).
As to claim 3, Wagner further teaches a check valve that prevents backflow of positive air pressure into the self-sealing suction device system when the vacuum supply is turned off (figure 2, element 38 being the ‘chuck valve’; paragraphs 31 – 32).
As to claim 4, Wagner teaches that the solenoid valve isolates the suction device from atmospheric pressure when in a first position and vents the suction device to atmospheric pressure when in a second position (figure 2, element 34; paragraph 32).
As to claim 5, Wagner teaches that the controller maneuvers the solenoid valve to the second position after completion of a task (figure 2, element 34; paragraph 32).
As to claim 6, Wagner teaches that the self-sealing suction device system is configured to be incorporated into a robot arm (paragraphs 6 and 8).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J. BESLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726