DETAILED ACTION
This final action on the merits is in response to the remarks and amendment
received by the office on 05 May 2026. Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11-16 are pending. Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 15, and 16 are amended. Claims 2, 4, 7, 10 and 17-20 are cancelled. No claims are added.
Specification
Examiner acknowledges receipt on 05 May 2026 of amendments to the specification. The amendments are ACCEPTED.
Claim Interpretation
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“supply module” in claims 1, 2, 14, 15, 16 and 17 and allegedly shown in Figs 4-7
“first cleaning module” in claims 1, 4, 13, 14, 16, and 18 and described in Figs. 8-11
“second cleaning module” in claims 1, 7, 13, 14, 16, and 19 and allegedly shown in Figs. 12-15
“drying and post-curing module” in claims 1, 10, 13, 14, 16, and 20 and allegedly shown in Figs. 16-19
“basket transfer unit” in claims 2 and 3 and allegedly shown in Fig. 4
“basket transfer module” in claims 17 and allegedly shown in Fig. 4
“basket supply module” in claim 2 and allegedly shown in Figs. 1 and 3
“supply horizontal transfer system” in claim 3 and allegedly shown in Fig. 4 and 5
“supply vertical transfer system” in claim 3 and allegedly shown in Fig. 4 and 5
“first cleaning system” in claims 4, 5, and 18 and allegedly shown in Fig 8
“first basket cleaning transfer unit” in claims 4, 6, and 18 and allegedly shown in Fig. 8
“first cleaning solution temperature maintenance system” in claim 5 and allegedly shown in Fig. 8
“first cleaning horizontal transfer system” in claim 6 and allegedly shown in Fig. 8
“first cleaning vertical transfer system” in claim 6 and allegedly shown in Fig. 8
“second cleaning system” in claims 7, 8 and 19 and allegedly shown in Fig. 12
“second basket cleaning transfer unit” 7, 9 and 19 and allegedly shown in Fig. 12
“second cleaning solution temperature maintenance system” in claim 8 and allegedly shown in Fig. 12
“second cleaning horizontal transfer system” in claim 9 and allegedly shown in Fig. 12
“second cleaning vertical transfer system” in claim 9 and allegedly shown in Fig. 12
“drying and post-curing system” in claims 10, 11 and 20 and allegedly shown in Fig. 16
“drying and post-curing transfer unit” in claims 10, 12 and 20 and allegedly shown in Fig. 15
“drying and post-curing horizontal transfer system” in claim 12 and allegedly shown in Fig. 15
“drying and post-curing vertical transfer system in claim 12 and allegedly shown in Fig. 15
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “first cleaning solution temperature maintenance system” in claim 5 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The text of the original disclosure introduces and states that the first cleaning solution temperature maintenance system is potentially part of the first cleaning system (see paragraphs 0013 and 0101), but does not otherwise describe this structure except to state that the second cleaning solution temperature maintenance system detects via an associated sensor and maintains the temperature of the second cleaning solution (paragraph 0109). The second cleaning system temperature maintenance system is shown in Fig. 8 (item 224). However the Figure merely provides a location within the first cleaning module, and does not inform one possessed of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing of any other particulars. In fact, the original disclosure does not appraise the ordinary artisan whether the system heats or cools or both the first cleaning solution. Or if the first cleaning system temperature maintenance system is active or passive in nature. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “second cleaning solution temperature maintenance system” in claim 8 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The text of the original disclosure introduces and states that the second cleaning solution temperature maintenance system is potentially part of the second cleaning system (see paragraphs 0016 and 0125), but does not otherwise describe this structure except to state that the second cleaning solution temperature maintenance system detects via an associated sensor and maintains the temperature of the second cleaning solution (paragraph 0133). The second cleaning system temperature maintenance system is shown in Fig. 12 (item 324), however the Figure merely provides a location withing the second cleaning module, and does not inform one possessed of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing of any other particulars. In fact, the original disclosure does not appraise the ordinary artisan whether the system heats or cools or both the second cleaning solution. Or if the second cleaning system temperature maintenance system is active or passive in nature. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0075957 to Kim et al. (‘957 hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, ‘957 teaches a three-dimensional (3D) printer output post-processing apparatus comprising at least one of a supply module configured to receive an output from 3D printers (Fig. 7 item 290), a first cleaning module configured to clean the output, a second cleaning module configured to clean the output, and a drying and post-curing module configured to dry and solidify the output, wherein the supply module, the first cleaning module, the second cleaning module, and the drying and post-curing module are modularized, wherein the supply module includes a basket transfer unit configured to horizontally or vertically transfer a basket or rotate the basket, and a basket supply module configured to supply the basket to the basket transfer unit, wherein the basket transfer unit contains an output recognition sensor configured to recognize the output (Fig 7 item 290 and paragraph 0072), a supply horizontal transfer system configured to horizontally transfer the basket, a supply vertical transfer system configured to vertically transfer the basket, a supply circular stage configured to horizontally rotate the basket, the supply horizontal transfer system, and the supply vertical transfer system (Fig 7 item 290), wherein the first cleaning module includes a first cleaning system configured to clean the output using a first cleaning solution, and a first basket cleaning transfer unit configured to horizontally or vertically transfer the basket or rotate the basket, wherein the first cleaning system contains a cleaning container configured to store the first cleaning solution, wherein the first basket cleaning transfer unit includes a first cleaning horizontal transfer system configured to horizontally transfer the basket, a first cleaning vertical transfer system configured to vertically transfer the basket, a first cleaning circular stage configured to horizontally rotate the basket, the first cleaning horizontal transfer system, and the first cleaning vertical transfer system, wherein the second cleaning module includes a second cleaning system configured to clean the output using a second cleaning solution, and a second basket cleaning transfer unit configured to horizontally or vertically transfer a basket or rotate the basket, wherein the second cleaning system contains a cleaning container configured to store the second cleaning solution, wherein the second basket cleaning transfer unit includes a second cleaning horizontal transfer system configured to horizontally transfer the basket, a second cleaning vertical transfer system configured to vertically transfer the basket, a second cleaning circular stage configured to horizontally rotate the basket, the second cleaning horizontal transfer system, and the second cleaning vertical transfer system, and wherein the drying and post-curing module includes a drying and post-curing system configured to dry and solidify the output, and a drying and post-curing transfer unit configured to horizontally or vertically transfer the basket or rotate the basket, wherein the drying and post-curing system contains a drying container configured to accommodate the basket, wherein the drying and post-curing transfer unit contains a drying and post-curing horizontal transfer system configured to horizontally transfer the basket, a drying and post-curing vertical transfer system configured to vertically transfer the basket, a drying and post-curing circular stage configured to horizontally rotate the basket, the drying and post-curing horizontal transfer system, and the drying and post-curing vertical transfer system.
Regarding claim 3, ‘957 teaches the 3D printer output post-processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the basket transfer unit further includes a supply horizontal position detector configured to detect a position of the basket in a horizontal direction, a supply vertical position detector configured to detect a position of the basket in a vertical direction, and a supply rotation position detector configured to detect a rotation position of the supply circular stage (Fig 7 item 292).
Regarding claim 5, ‘957 teaches the 3D printer output post-processing apparatus wherein the first cleaning system further contains a multi-nozzle system configured to generate high-pressure flow to a center from each side surface and a bottom of the cleaning container, and a first cleaning solution temperature maintenance system configured to detect a temperature of the first cleaning solution through a first cleaning solution temperature sensor and maintain the temperature of the first cleaning solution in a predetermined first set cleaning solution temperature range according to the detected temperature of the first cleaning solution insofar as this limitation is only optionally required while the cited prior art teaches the claimed supply module.
Regarding claim 6. ‘957 teaches the 3D printer output post-processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first basket cleaning transfer unit further contains a first cleaning horizontal position detector configured to detect a position of the basket in a horizontal direction, a first cleaning vertical position detector configured to detect a position of the basket in a vertical direction, and a first cleaning rotation position detector configured to detect a rotation position of the first cleaning circular stage insofar as this limitation is only optionally required while the cited prior art teaches the claimed supply module.
Regarding claim 8, ‘957 teaches the 3D printer output post-processing apparatus wherein the second cleaning system further contains, a multi-nozzle system configured to generate high-pressure flow to a center from each side surface and a bottom of the cleaning container, and a second cleaning solution temperature maintenance system configured to detect a temperature of the second cleaning solution through a second cleaning solution temperature sensor and maintain the temperature of the second cleaning solution in a predetermined second set cleaning solution temperature range according to the detected temperature of the second cleaning solution insofar as this limitation is only optionally required while the cited prior art teaches the claimed supply module.
Regarding claim 9, ‘957 teaches the 3D printer output post-processing apparatus wherein the second basket cleaning transfer unit further contains a second cleaning horizontal position detector configured to detect a position of the basket in a horizontal direction, a second cleaning vertical position detector configured to detect a position of the basket in a vertical direction, and a second cleaning rotation position detector configured to detect a rotation position of the second cleaning circular stage insofar as this limitation is only optionally required while the cited prior art teaches the claimed supply module.
Regarding claim 11, ‘957 teaches the 3D printer output post-processing apparatus wherein the drying and post-curing system further contains and a fan heater configured to send hot air into the drying container insofar as this limitation is only optionally required while the cited prior art teaches the claimed supply module.
Regarding claim 12, ‘957 teaches the 3D printer output post-processing apparatus, wherein the drying and post-curing transfer unit further contains a drying and post-curing horizontal position detector configured to detect a position of the basket in a horizontal direction, a drying and post-curing vertical position detector configured to detect a position of the basket in a vertical direction, and a drying and post-curing rotation position detector configured to detect a rotation position of the drying and post-curing circular stage insofar as this limitation is only optionally required while the cited prior art teaches the claimed supply module.
Regarding claim 13 ‘957 teaches the 3D printer output post-processing apparatus wherein at least one of the first cleaning module, the second cleaning module, and the drying and post-curing module is installed in plural insofar as this limitation is only optionally required while the cited prior art teaches the claimed supply module.
Regarding claim 14 ‘957 teaches the 3D printer output post-processing apparatus wherein at least one of the supply module, the first cleaning module, the second cleaning module, and the drying and post-curing module is connected in at least one direction insofar as this limitation is only optionally required while the cited prior art teaches the claimed supply module.
Regarding claim 15 ‘957 teaches the 3D printer output post-processing apparatus wherein the supply module is connected to at least one of the 3D printers to receive the output from any one of the printers (Fig 7 items 290 and 298 paragraph 0061).
Regarding claim 16 ‘957 teaches a three-dimensional (3D) printer output post-processing apparatus comprising: a supply module configured to receive an output manufactured by 3D printers (Fig. 7 item 290); a first cleaning module configured to receive the output from the supply module and clean the output (Fig 7 item 226); a second cleaning module configured to clean the output cleaned in the first cleaning module (Fig. 7 item 278); and a drying and post-curing module configured to dry and solidify the output cleaned in the second cleaning module (paragraph 0060), wherein the supply module includes a basket transfer unit configured to horizontally or vertically transfer a basket or rotate the basket (fig. 7 item 290), and a basket supply module configured to supply the basket to the basket transfer unit, wherein the basket transfer unit contains an output recognition sensor configured to recognize the output (Fig 7 item 298), a supply horizontal transfer system configured to horizontally transfer the basket, a supply vertical transfer system configured to vertically transfer the basket, a supply circular stage configured to horizontally rotate the basket, the supply horizontal transfer system, and the supply vertical transfer system (Fig 7 item 290), wherein the first cleaning module includes a first cleaning system configured to clean the output using a first cleaning solution (Fig 7 item 226), and a first basket cleaning transfer unit configured to horizontally or vertically transfer the basket or rotate the basket (Fig 7 item 290), wherein the first cleaning system contains a cleaning container configured to store the first cleaning solution Fig 7 item 216), wherein the first basket cleaning transfer unit includes a first cleaning horizontal transfer system configured to horizontally transfer the basket, a first cleaning vertical transfer system configured to vertically transfer the basket, a first cleaning circular stage configured to horizontally rotate the basket, the first cleaning horizontal transfer system, and the first cleaning vertical transfer system (Fig 7 item 290), wherein the second cleaning module includes a second cleaning system configured to clean the output using a second cleaning solution, and a second basket cleaning transfer unit configured to horizontally or vertically transfer a basket or rotate the basket, wherein the second cleaning system contains a cleaning container configured to store the second cleaning solution (Fig 7 item 278), wherein the second basket cleaning transfer unit includes a second cleaning horizontal transfer system configured to horizontally transfer the basket, a second cleaning vertical transfer system configured to vertically transfer the basket, a second cleaning circular stage configured to horizontally rotate the basket, the second cleaning horizontal transfer system, and the second cleaning vertical transfer system (Fig 7 item 290), and wherein the drying and post-curing module includes a drying and post-curing system configured to dry and solidify the output (paragraph 0060), and a drying and post-curing transfer unit configured to horizontally or vertically transfer the basket or rotate the basket, wherein the drying and post-curing system contains a drying container configured to accommodate the basket, wherein the drying and post-curing transfer unit contains a drying and post-curing horizontal transfer system configured to horizontally transfer the basket, a drying and post-curing vertical transfer system configured to vertically transfer the basket, a drying and post-curing circular stage configured to horizontally rotate the basket, the drying and post-curing horizontal transfer system, and the drying and post-curing vertical transfer system (Fig 7 item 290).
Response to Arguments
Applicant has advanced several arguments in support of the patentability of the instant claims. They are:
The amendments to the specification overcome the specification objection proffered in the office action mailed 05 February 2026.
The amendments to the claims overcome and obviate the 112(f) interpretation taken by the office in the previous office action.
The amendment to claim 1 overcomes the 35 USC 112(b) of claims 1-15
The amendment to claims 5 and 8 overcomes the 35 USC 112(b) of claims 5 and 8.
The previous prior art combination does not teach the claims as instantly amended.
Regarding argument (i), examiner agrees. Accordingly the specification objection is withdrawn.
Regarding argument (ii), examiner does not agree. The amendments presented recite considerable additional function but no further structural recitation. The 35 USC 112(f) interpretation will be maintained.
Regarding argument (iii), examiner agrees. Accordingly the rejection is withdrawn.
Regarding argument (iv), examiner disagrees. The additional limitations do not cure the previously identified deficiencies. The rejection is maintained.
Regarding argument (v), examiner agrees. Accordingly a new prior art rejection is proffered above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JPR/Examiner, Art Unit 1743 /GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743