DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 5, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on October 31, 2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9-10, 14, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ram et al. (hereinafter “Ram”, US 2014/0233734).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 19, Ram discloses a method, and access point, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon, comprising:
obtaining, by an access point (AP) (i.e., AP 120A as shown in Fig. 1A), a multicast frame in a wireless local area network (WLAN) (i.e., multicast frames sent from the AP 120 as described in paragraph 0022), the WLAN including a plurality of sub-networks with a same service set identifier (SSID) (i.e., VLAN 1 105A and VLAN 2 105B as shown in Fig. 1A, and these VLANs share the same BSSID as described in paragraphs 0028, and 0032);
determining, by the AP and based on the multicast frame, a target sub-network of the plurality of sub-networks for receiving the multicast frame (i.e., when frames addressed to any VLAN are received, the AP 120 uses a corresponding group key for encryption before broadcasting to connected stations as described in paragraph 0022);
obtaining, by the AP, a unique group temporal key (GTK) for the target sub-network, the plurality of sub-networks being assigned with a plurality of different GTKs (i.e., each VLAN is associated with a unique group key as described in Abstract);
encrypting, by the AP, the multicast frame using the obtained unique GTK for the target sub-network (i.e., the AP 120 uses a corresponding group key for encryption before broadcasting to connected stations as described in paragraph 0022); and
transmitting, by the AP, the encrypted multicast frame to one or more client devices in the target sub-network (i.e., the AP 120 uses a corresponding group key for encryption before broadcasting to connected stations as described in paragraph 0022).
With further regard to claim 10, Ram also discloses an access point (i.e., computing device 600 as described in paragraphs 0059-0060, and as shown in Fig. 6) comprising at least one processor (i.e., memory 610) and a memory coupled to the at least one processor (i.e., the memory 610 is coupled to a processor 620).
Regarding claims 5, and 14, Ram discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ram also discloses wherein obtaining the GTK for the target sub-network comprises:
obtaining a mapping relationship between the plurality of different GTKs and the plurality of sub-networks (i.e., a first VLAN is configured by sending a first group key to each station that is a member of the first VLAN as described in Abstract); and
determining the unique GTK for the target sub-network based on the mapping relationship (i.e., a first group key is sent to members of the first VLAN, and a second group key is sent to members of the second VLAN as described in paragraph 0022).
Regarding claims 9, and 18, Ram discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ram also discloses assigning the unique GTK to the one or more client devices during authentication processes for the one or more client devices (i.e., the VLAN causes transmission of the group key during authentication as described in paragraph 0036).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 6, 11-12, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ram in view of Zhang et al. (hereinafter “Zhang”, US 2015/0103727).
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 20, Ram discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of these claims.
In a similar endeavor, Zhang discloses method and system for determining the existence of broadcast and multicast frames buffered in an access point. Zhang also discloses wherein obtaining the multicast frame in the WLAN comprises:
generating a predetermined type of frame (i.e., beacon frame as described in paragraphs 0006-0007, 0016, and 0032-0035), a frame header of the predetermined type of frame including a receiver address field (i.e., association ID and/ MAC address of the STA as described in paragraph 0006), a group identifier flag field for a sub-network (i.e., the index value associates the broadcast/multicast indication bit as described in paragraph 0032) and a group identifier field for the sub-network (i.e., the AP allocates an index value for each SSID and/or multicast group as described in paragraph 0032);
determining the receiver address field based on a multicast address (i.e., association ID and/ MAC address of the STA as described in paragraph 0006);
determining the group identifier flag field based on a predetermined value to indicate that an identifier of the target sub-network is used in the predetermined type of frame (i.e., the AP sets a broadcast/multicast indication bit that associates the service network and/or multicast group to the valid state as described in paragraphs 0019-0022, and in Abstract); and
determining the group identifier field based on the identifier of the target sub-network (i.e., the index value is associated with the SSID and/or multicast group as described in paragraph 0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to avoid unnecessary wakening the stations in order to deliver the buffered data.
Regarding claims 3, and 12, Ram and Zhang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Zhang also discloses:
transmitting the identifier for the target sub-network to the one or more client devices in the target sub-network (i.e., each SSID and/or multicast group is allocated with an index value and the STA obtains that index value and uses it with the indication with in the Beacon frame as described in paragraphs 0032-0035).
Regarding claims 6, and 15, Ram and Zhang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Zhang also discloses wherein transmitting the encrypted multicast frame to the one or more client devices in the target sub-network comprises:
checking power save (PS) status of all client devices in the target sub-network (i.e., determining the STA is in PS status as described in paragraph 0006);
determining that all client devices in the target sub-network are not in PS status (i.e., the STA wakes up and sends a short Power Supply Poll frame to the AP indicating that the STA is not in the PS status as described in paragraphs 0006, and 0016); and
transmitting the encrypted multicast frame to one or more client devices in the target sub-network (i.e., transmitting to STAs as described in paragraph 0006).
Claim(s) 4, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ram in view of Allan et al. (hereinafter “Allan”, US 2014/0219275).
Regarding claims 4, and 13, Ram discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of these claims.
In a similar endeavor, Allan discloses a method and system of shortest path bridging enhanced resilience with loop mitigation. Allan also discloses wherein determining the target sub-network of the plurality of sub-networks for receiving the multicast frame comprises:
determining a source address in a frame header of the multicast frame (i.e., determining source MAC address as described in paragraph 0007); and
determining the target sub-network based on the source address (i.e., a determined multicast frame is processed for frame forwarding if there is a match as described in paragraph 0007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to effectively select a shortest path to route traffic within a network.
Claim(s) 7, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ram in view of Jakkahalli et al. (hereinafter “Jakkahalli”, US 2007/0081477).
Regarding claims 7, and 16, Ram discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of these claims.
In a similar endeavor, Jakkahalli discloses virtual LAN override in a multiple BSSID mode of operation. Jakkahalli also discloses
receiving a connecting request from a target client device, the connecting request including a credential (i.e., user credentials and parameters of a connection request are sent as a series of RADIUS request messages as described in paragraph 0041); and
determining the target sub-network including the target client device based on the credential (i.e., accept based on the credentials during the authentication process as described in paragraphs 0041-0043, and assigning a VLAN to a wireless client after successful EAP authentication as described in paragraph 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to prevent unauthorized access to the network.
Claim(s) 8, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ram in view of Jakkahalli, and further in view of Smith (US 2025/0008328).
Regarding claims 8, and 17, Ram, and Jakkahalli also discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but do not expressly disclose features of these claims.
In a similar endeavor, Smith discloses methods and systems for micro edge applications and grouping. Smith also discloses wherein credentials from all the client devices in the target network are the same (i.e., a pre-shared key (PSK) is the credential shared by all devices as described in paragraph 0630).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to prevent unauthorized access to the network.
Conclusion
/Wayne H Cai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644