DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1-31 are cancelled and claims 32-51 are new, resulting in claims 32-51 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arpin (US 2010/0292367) in view of Szekely (WO 2020/047406) and Kaprinidis (US 2004/0097620). Supporting evidence provided by Hirsch (US 4145556).
With respect to claims 32 and 45, Arpin teaches a polyester composition comprising at least one polyester resin (paragraph [0011]). The polyester resin is preferably selected from thermoplastic polyesters derived from one or more dicarboxylic acids and one or more diols, copolyester thermoplastic elastomers (TPC) and mixtures thereof (paragraph [0012]). The copolyester thermoplastic elastomer (TPC) may be a polyetherester (paragraph [0013]).
To one of ordinary skill in the art it would have been obvious to try the different thermoplastic polyesters listed in paragraphs [0012] and [0016], which includes a copolyesther-ester in order to determine which provides the desired mechanical properties and surface appearance (see e.g., paragraph [0002]).
Arpin further teaches the polyester composition may include a phosphorus-based antioxidant (paragraph [0037]), one or more flame retardants (paragraph [0038]), and epoxy-containing compounds (paragraph [0044]). Arpin further teaches the polyester composition may further include a phenolic-based antioxidant (Table 1; paragraphs [0037], [0054]) which is preferably a sterically hindered phenol (paragraph [0037]).
Arpin is silent as to the polyester composition including a metal deactivator, specifically a bis(3,5-di-tert-butyl-4-hydroxyhydrocinnamoyl)hydrazine.
Szekely teaches a copolyetherester resin composition comprising (A) at least one copolyetherester; (B) at least one phenolic antioxidant; (C) at least one thioester antioxidant; (D) at least one phosphite and/or phosphonite antioxidant; and (E) at least one epoxy compound (page 1, lines 27-33). The phenolic antioxidant is not particularly limited provided it is a hindered phenol capable of acting as radial scavengers (page 8, lines 15-17). A suitable phenolic antioxidant includes 1,2-bis(3,5-di-tert-butyl-4-hydroxyhydrocinnamoyl)hydrazine (page 8, lines 25-34).
Since both Arpin and Szekely teach copolyetherester resins comprising a hindered phenolic antioxidant, a phosphorus-containing antioxidant, and an epoxy compound, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the phenolic antioxidant of Arpin to be 1,2-bis(3,5-di-tert-butyl-4-hydroxyhydrocinnamoyl)hydrazine as described by Szekely because it is known in the art as a suitable phenolic antioxidant for polyetherester and would provide the predictable result of a polyethereater protected from oxidation. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Arpin in view of Szekely does not explicitly teach that the 1,2-bis(3,5-di-tert-butyl-4-hydroxyhydrocinnamoyl)hydrazine is a metal deactivator, however it is reasonable to presume it would perform as a metal deactivator because the instant specification discloses bis(3,5-di-tert-butyl-4-hydroxyhydrocinnamoyl)hydrazine as a suitable metal deactivator (see e.g., claim 45). Additionally, Szekely identifies suitable metal deactivators as including hydrazines (page 14, lines 2-5) and it is known in the art that antioxidants may also perform as metal deactivators (Hirsch; col. 2, lines 8-20).
Arpin in view of Szekely is silent as to the polyester composition including an acid scavenger.
Kaprinidis teaches a flame retardant polymer composition which comprises (a) an organic polymer substrate and (b) an effective flame retarding amount of a synergistic mixture of (i) at least one sterically hindered amine stabilizer, (ii) at least one conventional flame retardant such as an organohalogen, and (iii) at least one acid scavenger (paragraphs [0023]-[0028]). A suitable polymer substrate includes block copolyether esters (paragraphs [0039], [0064]). The acid scavengers aid in the present composition in color, odor, and stability (paragraph [0271]).
Since both Arpin in view of Szekely and Kaprinidis teach polyetherester compositions comprising a flame retardant, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polyester composition of Arpin in view of Szekely to include an acid scavenger to aid in the color, odor, and stability of the composition.
With respect to claim 33, Arpin in view of Szekely and Kaprinidis teaches all the limitations of claim 32 above. Arpin further teaches the polyester composition may further include a phenolic-based antioxidant (Table 1; paragraphs [0037], [0054]).
With respect to claim 34, Arpin in view of Szekely and Kaprinidis teaches all the limitations of claim 32 above. Arpin further teaches the copolyetheresters have a multiplicity of recurring long-chain ester units and short chain ester units (paragraph [0013]). Preferred long chain ester units are poly(alkylene oxide glycols) such as poly(tetramethylene oxide) glycol, poly(trimethylene oxide) glycol, poly(propylene oxide) glycol, and mixtures thereof (paragraph [0014]). The short-chain ester units are made by reacting a low molecular weight diol with a dicarboxylic acid to form ester units (paragraph [0015]). A preferred diol is 1,4-butanediol (paragraph [0015]). The dicarboxylic acid preferably comprises terephthalic acid or isophthalic acid (paragraph [0012]).
With respect to claim 35, Arpin in view of Szekely and Kaprinidis teaches all the limitations of claim 32 above. Arpin further teaches the flame retardant may be a halogenated flame retardant such as bromine-containing compounds (paragraphs [0038]-[0039]).
With respect to claim 36, Arpin in view of Szekely and Kaprinidis teaches all the limitations of claim 32 above. Arpin further teaches the flame retardant comprises from at or about 5 to at or about 30 wt.%, or preferably from at or about 10 to at or about 25 wt.%, the weight percentages being based on the total weight of the polyester composition (paragraph [0043]).
The amount of flame retardant range of Arpin substantially overlaps the claimed range in the instant claim 36. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Arpin, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
With respect to claims 37-38, Arpin in view of Szekely and Kaprinidis teaches all the limitations of claim 32 above. Arpin further teaches preferred examples of the phosphorus-based antioxidants are phosphite and phosphonite stabilizers, preferably diphosphite stabilizers (paragraph [0037]).
With respect to claims 39-40, Arpin in view of Szekely and Kaprinidis teaches all the limitations of claim 32 above.
Arpin in view of Skekely is silent as to the phosphorous-containing antioxidant being selected from the lists presented in claims 39-40.
Kaprinidis further teaches that suitable phosphite and phosphonite antioxidants include bis(2,6-di-ter-butyl-4-methylphenyl)pentaerythritol-di-phosphite and bis(2,4-di-t-butylphenyl)pentaerythritol diphosphate (page 12, lines 1-16).
Since both Arpin in view of Szekely and Kaprinidis teach polyetherester compositions comprising a flame retardant, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the phosphorus antioxidant of Arpin to be bis(2,6-di-ter-butyl-4-methylphenyl)pentaerythritol-di-phosphite or bis(2,4-di-t-butylphenyl)pentaerythritol diphosphate as described by Kaprinidis because it is known in the art as a suitable phosphorus antioxidant for polyetherester and would provide the predictable result of a polyethereater protected from oxidation. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
With respect to claim 41, Arpin in view of Szekely and Kaprinidis teaches all the limitations of claim 32 above. Arpin further teaches the antioxidants are comprise from at or about 0.1 to at or about 3 wt%, or preferably from at or about 0.1 to at or about 1 wt%, more preferably from at or about 0.1 to 0.8 wt%, the weight percentages being based on the total weight of the polyester composition (paragraph [0037]).
With respect to claims 42-43, Arpin in view of Szekely and Kaprinidis teaches all the limitations of claim 32 above. Arpin further teaches the epoxy-containing compound may be a bisphenol epoxy resin produced from the condensation of bisphenol A and epichlorohydrin (paragraphs [0044], [0054]).
With respect to claim 44, Arpin in view of Szekely and Kaprinidis teaches all the limitations of claim 32 above. Arpin further teaches examples which use 0.60 wt% epoxy resin (Table 1; paragraph [0054]).
With respect to claim 46, Arpin in view of Szekely and Kaprinidis teaches all the limitations of claim 32 above. Arpin further teaches the phenolic-based antioxidants may comprise from or about 0.1 to at or about 3 wt%, or preferably from at or about 0.1 to at or about 1 wt%, more preferably from at or about 0.1 to at or about 0.8 wt%, the weight percentages being based on the total weight of the polyester composition (paragraph [0037]). Szekely similarly teaches the phenolic antioxidant is preferably present in an amount of from 0.10 to 0.6 wt%, more preferably from 0.1 to 0.3 wt%, more particularly preferably 0.2 to 0.3 wt% based on the total weight of the copolyetherester resin composition (page 9, lines 18-21). As discussed in the rejection of claim 32 above, the phenolic antioxidant bis(3,5-di-tert-butyl-4-hydroxyhydrocinnamoyl)hydrazine of Arpin in view of Szekely is a metal deactivator.
With respect to claim 47, Arpin in view of Szekely and Kaprinidis teaches all the limitations of claim 32 above. Kaprindis further teaches the acid scavengers are present in the polymeric compositions at a level of about 0.1% to about 1.0% by weight (paragraph [0270]).
With respect to claim 48, Arpin in view of Szekely and Kaprinidis teaches all the limitations of claim 32 above. The example of Arpin uses only diphosphite based antioxidant and phenolic based antioxidant (Table 1; paragraph [0054]), and is therefore free of thioester antioxidants.
With respect to claim 49, Arpin in view of Szekely and Kaprinidis teaches all the limitations of claim 32 above. Arpin further teaches the polyester compositions are suited for a wide variety of uses such as automative parts and electrical/electronic parts (paragraph [0053]).
Arpin is silent as to the polyester composition being used as a cable.
Szekely further teaches that the copolyetherester resin composition may be shaped into articles such as wire and cable coatings (page 22, lines 14-31).
Since both Arpin and Szekely teach copolyetherester resins comprising a hindered phenolic antioxidant, a phosphorus-containing antioxidant, and an epoxy compound, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the polyester composition as a cable because polyetherester resins are known in the art as suitable for cables and would provide the predictable result of a molded cable.
Claim(s) 50-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arpin (US 2010/0292367) in view of Szekely (WO 2020/047406) and Kaprinidis (US 2004/0097620) as applied to claim49 above, and further in view of Nakane (US 5034440).
With respect to claims 50-51, Arpin in view of Szekely and Kaprinidis teaches all the limitations of claim 49 above. Arpin further teaches the polyester compositions are suited for a wide variety of uses such as automative parts and electrical/electronic parts (paragraph [0053]) and Szekely further teaches that the copolyetherester resin composition may be shaped into articles such as wire and cable coatings (page 22, lines 14-31).
Arpin in view of Szekely and Kaprinidis is silent as to the cable having an outer diameter ranging from about 0.8 mm to about 1.5 mm and an ultrathin wall thickness ranging from about 0.1 mm to about 0.5 mm.
Nakane teaches a resin composition comprising a polyester and a specified flame retarding agent containing an epoxy and a halogen and an electric wire coated as a covering layer with the polyester resin (col. 1, lines 6-16). Nakane further teaches that although the thickness of the covering insulator is restricted by, e.g., processability and covering characteristics of the covering material, it is preferred that the thickness be as small as possible (col. 3, lines 14-24). When the outer diameter of the conductor is 3.7 mm or less, the lower limit of the thickness of the conventional covering material is 0.9 to 0.6 mm, whereas the covering material of the presented invention enables thicknesses to be reduced to 0.4 mm or less and even reduced to 0.3 mm or less (col. 3, lines 14-24). An example provided a copper wire with a diameter of 1 mm and a coating thickness of 0.2 mm (col. 9, lines 43-47). This would result in the cable having an outer diameter of 1.4 mm. The reduction of the thickness impairs the mechanical and electrical characteristics and also attains excellent flexing property (col. 8, lines 47-52).
Since both Arpin in view of Szekely and Kaprinidis and Nakane teach polyester coatings for wires and cables, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polyester composition coating the wire to have a reduced thickness, for example less than 0.3 mm, such as 0.2 mm, on a wire that is conventionally less than 3.7 mm in diameter, such as 1 mm, in order to provide a coated wire that has excellent flexing properties.
Conclusion
LARISSA ROWE EMRICH
Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/LARISSA ROWE EMRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 1789